Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,112 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Volkswagen Passat drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments

problem #17

Sep 052016


  • 92,300 miles


Check engine light was on and car would rattle loudly. One day the car just starts driving slow and shuts off. I took it to mechanic and after several tests, it was noted that the engine coils and turbo cap was broken. Hefty price to get it fix. After two days, the check engine light is back on. I research and talked with mechanic, it seems to be a growing problem with VW cars.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #16

Jul 252016


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Volkswagen Passat. While driving approximately 65 mph, the transmission stopped shifting into first gear. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they were not able to duplicate the failure. The failure occurred every day during the summer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #15

Sep 252014


  • 60,000 miles
Turbo charger is faulty. I still owe $12,00 on this car. It is appearing thru the forums online that the diesel engine is not the only engine affected by the recent emmision failure of volkswagon car. Please investigate and recall for 2006...not just 2009 thru 2014 cars. This is not fair. Car is smoling so badly you cant see the car behind you and mechanic said that even tho I only have 60,000 miles my turbo charger is toast.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 112014


  • 130,537 miles


Has I was driven the car will came up with need services soon and will show brake light on and dead systems failed check parking brake and if you press the parking brake button on and off the car will nearly such gears or nearly move at all where if you shout it of the car and then wait for 5_10 min and turn it back on it will go like nothing wrong at all. Transmission has oil and I don't know what it is.

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #13

Oct 102014


  • 138,360 miles
I'm having concerns with open road Volkswagen of bridgewater NJ in reference to what I believe was negligence on the part of the service department. My car was serviced in June 2014 and then again in October 2014. On October 13th, I received a call from them stating my transmission was gone and would cost $10,000 to replace. This price is extremely high! after that news, we were told that my car had transmission issues in June when it was serviced, but the open road Volkswagen of bridgewater did not tell us "because they knew I wouldn't pay." So, instead of telling me in June 2014 when I could have resolved the issue for less than $10,000, they tell me in October when the cost is high. Not to mention I could have had an accident and injured my family or another vehicle. I believe they were negligent in this matter. I wrote a letter to the general manager, [xxx]. and would like you to assist him with resolving this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Middlesex, NJ, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

May 242014

Passat 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Passat 3.6 on February 20th,2014 and making payments on it. Two weeks later I had to take it back to the dealer because the idle was up and down. They charged me $700 because the car was as is. Once I got the car back I starter seeing the epc light which is a common issue with Volkswagen and now the car wont go over 40mph, two weeks ago I saw smoke coming from under the hood and oil was all over the place and I cant locate any type of leak. Here a link of other Passat owner with the same issue and as of now there's no recall on it, I am begging for you guys help

- Pompano Beach, FM, USA

problem #11

May 082014


  • 109,000 miles


Started driving on the highway, at 55mph suddenly the car lost power and check engine light came on car wouldn't start after I pulled over, loud noise and vibrating came from engine also cra indicated low oil pressure.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 132013

Passat 6-cyl

  • 62,185 miles
I was getting onto the highway in my 2006 3.6 Passat. The car lost power, check engine light & epc light came on in the car. The car would not allow me to go over 40mph, so I exited the highway & drove car to the mechanic. They removed the transmission to find the issue of the bolt holding the oil pump was partially removed. The car detected a timing issue & was the reason that it would not allow me to go over 40 mph. When the mechanic removed the bolt to replace it, it came off in two pieces. He stated that the bolt was not the appropriate bolt & the new guidelines required a different bolt with additional torque. This was an engineered manufacturer defect with Volkswagen & should be required to be recalled.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #9

Feb 012013

Passat 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Oil pump bolt broken as in the other VW Passats from 2006 & 7 and reported on this site. Damaged timing chain cover, timing chain and a number of other parts. Car was serviced and inspected 5,000 miles previously. All service up to this point completed per owners manual at VW dealer. This problem is covered extensively at**official-24V-3.6L-engine-%28oil-pump-bolt%29-failure-thread** as well as not only is this a potentially dangerous and known problem involving failure of mechanical systems, but extremely expensive to repair. I received a quote for $6300 for a car with 78,000 miles. This is a known problem on 3.6L V6S that is being ignored by VW of America who refused to help even cover replacement parts.

- Happy Valley, OR, USA

problem #8

Jul 072012


  • 75,000 miles
Like many others, the oil bolt in my transmission sheared-off. Apparently VW is aware of the design flaw and has manufactured a replacement bolt, but VW still expects unsuspecting owners to pay $1,000's to replace it. I bought the car as a certified used car from VW on 9/11/10 and was not told of this issue. This issue needs to be addressed in a recall if VW will not warn customers or fix the issue on their own.

- Washburn, WI, USA

problem #7

Jun 292012

Passat 4-cyl

  • 230,000 miles


Car continues to stop while being driven.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #6

Mar 272012


  • 81,000 miles
2006 VW Passat 3.6L 4motion, 81K miles. Check engine light (cel) and electronic power control (epc) lights came on at cruising speed. Codes pointed to a cam/crank timing issue. Access to timing chain on this model/trim requires removal of transmission. Upon removal, technician discovered that the oil pump bolt had completely sheared off which could have led to complete engine failure; the only thing keeping the oil pump assembly in place was the cover. The oil pump bolt for this model/trim appears to be defective.

- Corvallis, OR, USA

problem #5

Jun 132010


  • 58,000 miles
On hot day (90 degree +/-) the 3.6 engine will suddenly begin to idle at 1000 RPM after being driven for a while. In my latest episode, I had been driving in stop and go city traffic for 30-45 minutes when the engine suddenly began to race. The first notice is when you are stopping or stopped. When stopped it takes extra brake. Pressure and concentration to keep the car braked. This has happened a number of times but, I only recently linked the car's behavior with the high air temps. Dealer was unable to duplicate and did not detect any error codes when the car was taken in for service.

- Lakeville, MA, USA

problem #4

Nov 152008


  • 55,500 miles
Failure of bolt for oil pump and timing chain caused sudden loss of power. Car currently at dealer awaiting parts including new reinforced bolt. This is a common problem with this make and model of vehicle and has lead to catastrophic engine failures due to loss of oil pressure. According to dealer parts are restricted due to the frequency of this problem.

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #3

Oct 012007


  • miles
Over the past 2 years of leasing my new 2006 VW Passat, from time to time when the car down shifts to first gear it makes a very noticeable "hard" down shift. The noise associated with the hard down shift is very startling -- it sounds like something is coming through the floorboard. I'm not aware of any particular condition that causes the car to do seems always seem to happen when I'm slowing down to stop for a traffic light. I took my car to the VW dealership in dulles, va and they said they can't fix the problem unless they can experience the problem.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #2

Jul 072006

Passat 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles
Vehicles throttle- by- wire system creates unsafe delay in acceleration and an exaggerated lunging effect when unexpected. Unsafe in the event of an evasive maneuver, merging, passing and stop and go traffic.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #1

Jul 212006

Passat 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My wife and I leased a 2006 Passat value edition on 06/24/06 for this company. It came to my wife's attention on 07/20/06 while at work that the car is leaking oil. She called me and I called the dealer. Paul auerbach of mountain states informed me that they would fix the problem. I scheduled the appointment for my wife at 6-6.30pm since she uses the vehicle. Their service department closes at 7.00pm. He also advised me that they might have to keep the vehicle depending on the problem so they would give us a loaner if necessary. My wife took the car in at around 5.40pm on 07/20/06. When she got there someone told her that she would have to wait til 07/21/06 to have it looked at.this was not the agreement. My wife called me when she got to the dealership and I told her to tell them that we weren't going to pay for the repair. She told paul that in the presence of the sales guy who sold us the car(kenny). Then paul went to the serivce guy and he informed him that the damagae was not covered under warranty. I accept that, but this paul a sales manager specifically told my wife that they would repair it at no cost to us. Unless he and kenny are willing to call my wife a liar I consider that a verbal contract. They want us to pay $506 to have it fixed. Now my wife and I have owned a few vehicles in our life and never had a problem like this. I think that this is a manufacturing defect and the dealer should fix it at no cost to us because they said they would, seeing that the car is barnd new. Also the sales guy, kenny was nto forth coming with us when he told us that the car takes any type of fuel. Grade 87 or higher of course. That in it self is ture, but he failed to mention that it was highly recommended to use only premium fuel. No problem.

- Denver, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?