Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,709 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Volkswagen Routan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Volkswagen Routan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Volkswagen Routan Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Aug 012014

Routan

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. After the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 11V151000 (electrical system), the vehicle began stalling while driving various speeds. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer several times. The dealer replaced the wind module twice, along with the battery and key fob, but the failure recurred. The dealer was unable to correct the failure and stated that the failure was not due to the recall. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Morriston , FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 292014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Car battery is in good shape because I recently replaced it with a new one. The problem is occasionally I try to start the vehicle and it will not start when the electronic throttle control light is blinking but if I use my car keys to lock and unlock the car, then the electronic throttle control light will go off and car will start. Last week it occurred two times and I took the car to Volkswagen dealership but they told me, the diagnostic test is not showing any code and hence there is no problem with my car but I think there is a problem because I have experienced this problem five times in total. They requested I tow my car to them the next time it occurs to see if the code can be determined but I still not comfortable because I don't know what is coming next.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #25

Oct 302010

Routan 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
October 30, 2010 - went to start the vehicle but nothing happened. I thought that perhaps I had not engaged the shift properly and then restarted. The dash lights came on but could not start the vehicle. It was not occurring significantly until 2014. Took to our dealer but they could not find anything wrong with the vehicle as no indicators were tripped and no trouble lights to identify problem. Frequency of not starting has been more significant (twice a week now). Took back to dealer when the engine light displayed and the service manager stated there was a recall but not for our vehicle. In addition, when using the remote start, the engine would not turn over but would just click (same problem). Seems to be the exact same issue we are experiencing as the recall states. Dealership wants almost $1000 to replace ignition and gear shifter to repair the problem. And that is if this is the correct diagnosis according to VW. There should be an investigation into this issue and if found to be a common defect, a recall should be issued for all vehicles immediately. We do not know the consumer safety element involved and believe this issue should be given great priority to launch an investigation as most vans as this are used for child transportation. We drive our four children in this vehicle wherever we travel. Please investigate.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #24

Aug 142014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 45,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On August 14th, 2014, I placed my key in the ignition of my 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The car/engine made an odd sound when the key was turned and all the lights went out. Additionally, the dash lights started flashing and my key became permanently stuck in the ignition. I heard a very rapid "clicking" noise under the hood so I opened it and discovered the fuse box under the hood was the source. Upon opening it, I heard a very fast clicking sound and felt each fuse and found the large fuse, 2nd from the left front was clicking very fast and loudly. I needed the vehicle so I used jumper cables and this eventually enabled my car's key to release. All the warning lights were lit up and I left the engine run for approximately 8 min., then turned off the car - to verify it would start again. It did, and now only the engine warning light that lights upon an incident is still lit. I called my closest VW dealer, who has services my car in the past, and they claimed no knowledge of the issue and stated the recall #66665 electrical system - ignition switch - is not applicable to my vehicle. Sure it isn't! exact same issue that is noted in the recall, but somehow my vehicle is not one of the ones affected. I am pursuing thing with the service manager, but so far only push back.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #23

Jun 182014

Routan 6-cyl

  • miles
We bought out VW in 2013. We just found out on July 23 that there was a recall on the 2010 VW Routan. Headlights are not coming on and the its an ignition switch problem but the dealership won't fix it.

- Cameron, NC, USA

problem #22

Apr 242014

Routan 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Sent my 2010 Volkswagen Routan to a detail shop on April 23, 2014 at 930 a.M. in mcallen Texas. While being worked on and thereafter completed, the technician had difficulty getting is started in which a hazard warning indicated a "bad key".technician was able to get it started and we drove our van West approximately 45 miles. Upon arrival at residence noted that ignition stayed stuck in accessory mode and drained my battery. Sent to dealership for diagnostics and repairs, and after six days of research and study, end result is a faulty ignition switch. I did some research and found campaign - recall id # 66665 for my vehicle but only to the manufactured date of July 2010. My vehicle was manufactured August 2010. Looking at that it is only a matter of days of those 12000 vehicles that were called in to repair free of charge, that perhaps my vehicle could be one of hundreds more to come forward with the same complaint? I only thank god that while driving 65 to 70mph that ignition switch did not accidentally go into accessory mode from the on position and risk accident thus resulting in injury or death. My VIN# [xxx] and mileage is at 56,000. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rio Grande City, TX, USA

problem #21

Jan 062014

Routan

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who replaced the battery and alternator but the failure occurred. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 11V151000 (electrical system ) but the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #20

Jan 012014

Routan

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and could not be restarted. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 11V151000(electrical system) but was advised by the dealer that the repairs were previously performed. The contact stated that the failure was recurring over a two-week period. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Warren, RI, USA

problem #19

Oct 232013

Routan

  • miles
This is more of a question than a complaint. Recall # 11V-151000 sudden engine shut off was reported March 2011 as of April 2012 Volkswagen quarterly performance report says: Over 80% affected have been fixed and only 166 were unreachable. So why do I see the same complaint on your website as late as Aug 2013 could this be the few that were not fixed" or is it possible the problem is affecting more cars than reported? I have a 2010 Routan, I am seriously thinking about trading it in before the "sudden engine shut off" happens to my family. Am I paranoid? or do I have a valid point. Can someone tell me" Volkswagen says I am paranoid. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #18

Oct 122013

Routan

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Volkswagen Routan. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the 'bad key' message illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician replaced the key and reprogrammed the system. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #17

Aug 222012

Routan 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was making a left turn in my 2010 Volkswagen Routan VIN# [xxx] onto a busy street and car suddenly stalled out. I lost power steering and nearly jumped the curb and hit a woman with a baby stroller. I had my 3 kids with me in the car ages 5, 4, and 1. car started back up right away. This problem happened once before when I was driving straight at about 30mph on a residential street but I thought it was a freak incident since the car was brand new with barely 10,000 miles on it. This time it nearly cost people their lives. I took it to the dealer. They kept it for 6 days. Meanwhile I had to use a much smaller loaner car which was not made for a family of five. They told me they couldn't duplicate the problem and that everything seems fine and that there is nothing they can do and if it happens again to make another appointment. Well it happened again. 3 more times in fact. I called up the dealer again. He tried to deter me from going in saying "you can bring it in again but if we cant duplicate the problem then there is nothing they can do." Also made it a point to tell me that they only have small loaner cars available. I also called Volkswagen and told them the story. They told me to bring it to dealer. This stalling issue which occurred again on 4/16/2013 is the last straw. I refuse to get into this deathtrap to take it to the dealer. Its a shame the car only has 18000 miles on it yet it is having these issues. I will never buy a Volkswagen again. They can send a tow truck. It is very dangerous. I guess legal action is called for here. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #16

Jan 122012

Routan 6-cyl

  • miles
We where driving on the expressway(freeway) and the vehicle shut down on us from 65-0 in seconds, it tool about a minute and it came back up this happened about 3-4 times. About a month later it id the same this time when we first turned on the van. About March time frame the van would not start anymore after a long trip away from home the cables had been eroded and severely damaged to the point of no power going to the van. The dealer replaced the electric cables but about 1 1/2 months later the same erosion started to happen. We continued to inform VW about the issues and they always said the same bring it in when it happens. We finally had to get rid of the van we can not afford a fatality to try and prove a point.

- Fort Polk, LA, USA

problem #15

May 022012

Routan

  • 29,000 miles
This is the third experience we have had of our car shutting off all of the sudden. The first time it happened I could hardly pull the car off the road because when it shut off I was on the highway and was very difficult to steer of the road. The second and third time this happened I was in town and also had a hard time pulling over. After each incident I had to turn key to off position put car in park and restart it. Then it seemed to be ok until the next time it happened. This is very scary and could cause an accident. I am scared to drive this car now. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Potsdam , NY, USA

problem #14

Jun 272011

Routan

  • 2,800 miles
Purchased the vehicle from the dealership in April 2011. We took a family vacation in June and noticed that the vehicle shut itself off a few times while in motion; causing the vehicle to lose power and all steering. On the same trip, when using the key fob, the entire electrical system would freeze and shut itself off. It eventually turns back on after 5 or so minutes. The wynn module was replaced. Before departing for the vacation, we had brake issues with them making a grinding noise and, sometimes no stopping power. Dealer replaced rotors. The passenger slider doors have issues. When closing, the door's safety mechanism would not back track the doors when it hit something coming or going into/out of the vehicle. The door shut on my son! the vehicle has been to the dealership more times than a new vehicle should.... did I mention that we still have brake issues and electrical issues. It seems that all the dealership can say is that we cannot duplicate the situation. Each time that the vehicle goes to the dealer, they have it for a week or more! I have owned Chrysler/Dodge products before this and this is why I went to a VW. Needless to say, I didn't do my homework before purchasing. It seems that this VW is a "Chrysler". as of today, 15 January, I am looking into the "lemon law" and possibly seeking legal action. Something needs to be done. Why do we have to wait until this VW vehicle causes serious damage to property, person and maybe even death before the NHTSA looks into the VW situations?

- Glendale, MO, USA

problem #13

Aug 112011

Routan

  • 6,000 miles
August 11, 2010 the check engine light was one. Codes P0038 and P0032 for 02 sensor faults populated. The codes were cleared. We were without the use of our vehicle for approximately day. September 13, 2010 the check engine light continued to come on. The grounds were tightened and the vehicle was test driven. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 2 days. December 3, 2010 the check engine light was still coming on and off. Check and found fault codes stored for rear 02 sensor. The faulty rear 02 sensor was replaced. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 4 days. February 18, 2011 the check engine light was still coming on. It was determined that the ECM needed to be reset. The ECM was reset and rechecked for codes. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 1 day. May 13, 2011 the check engine light was still coming on. The Routan stalled out twice in one day while driving. The win module was replaced and two new keys were programmed for the vehicle. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 10 days. October 31, 2011 the vehicle was humming during acceleration and pulling without properly switching gears. Metal was found in the pan bell, housing and compounds. The transmission was replaced. A loaner/rental vehicle was issued for approximately 13 days. December 7, 2011 the Routan stalled out twice when going from reverse to drive. A loaner vehicle was issued and we were without the use of our vehicle for approximately one day. December 16, 2011 the vehicle stalled while in motion twice, once while stopping at a traffic signal and again while parking and placing the vehicle in reverse. We took the vehicle to your dealership to be tested and repaired. We were issued a loaner vehicle. As of today, December 16, 2011, we are still without the use of our vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #12

Jul 202011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
VW has a recall on 2010 Routan vans on a part call a winn module which controls the car ignition. Our van is on the recall list and has shut-off twice in traffic. You have no engine power and lose power steering. On low speed roads not as big a problem as on a freeway were it could be life threatening. Our van has been at South town VW and we have been waiting for 8 weeks for a part that should come in next week. Richard the service manager at South town finally admitted they had no idea when the part would come in. So I called VW corporate and spoke with multiple people, one said they had no idea there was a backorder, I informed him the dealer said that they had 30 vans waiting for the part, at one dealer in Utah. Finally today, after a week a VW manager named erik walowksi called my wife and said they had no eta on the part and they were still researching the kind of backorder it is. What a relief that they have no idea when part will come in and I have a family van that will quit in traffic. Is it possible for this backorder problem to be looked at by someone other the VW before someone gets hurt. Thank you

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #11

Sep 032011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Was driving on a freeway with a baby when the car will not move forward while running at 60mph. Very dangerous especially with a baby. The car was also backing up if we do not step on the handbrake. The previous day brought the car to the dealer because I told them that the car will not move even if I step on the gas and the engine light is on. Also told them to check thoroughly because I am going on a roadtrip. They called and said the car does not have a problem. I found out that Volkswagen has an issue with transmission. Service center should have look into this being that it is common problem with Volkswagen before releasing the car. Also when I called their roadside assistance they said that the nearest dealer will not take our car because we need an appointment. ( for an emergency) what do we do, I even told them we have a baby with us and we are in a busy freeway. We had to call again and tell them the situation. Then the dealer helped us. Called Volkswagen customer service on 9/06 told a guy named[xxx]. about their warranty and said talk it out with the dealer, dealers are a private owned company. Who do we then bring the car for repair for cars under warranty? when I called their customer service seems like transmission issue is not something important but not for somebody like me who drives with a baby it is very important. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 012011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
2010 VW Routan van. Car has stalled while driving three times. Each time we have brought it in for repair where they replaced ignition, key, etc. A national recall was done for this problem and we took it in for the recall. Now it's done it again after the recall. It's in the shop now and we have filed a complaint with VW usa and dealer. We're waiting for their decision as we know from other people at the dealer in the service dept that this is a real problem and another person we know directly with the same make/model has the same problem. We will not take the car back no matter what. This is a life threatening defect. We are prepared to take legal lemon law action if VW doesn't do the right thing.

- Towaco, NJ, USA

problem #9

May 132010

Routan

  • 13,000 miles
Volkswagen Routan (2010) stalls while driving. This has happened 3 times while I am driving. Twice I am driving 55 miles an hour, another time driving about 35 mph. It does restart after I put the car in neutral, but could have been very dangerous as the steering wheel locks until I can restart it! dangerous.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #8

Jun 102011

Routan 6-cyl

  • 12,450 miles
Our 2010 Routan had engine failure multiple times since we purchased it in June 2010.we would start the car&the ignition would click back off. It has progressed to the point of the ignition turning off while driving. Several times it happened while on road in traffic, causing car to crash into curbs or fences.it culminated in a collision on the freeway due to the ignition shutting off & we were unable to properly brake or swerve away from colliding into back of car. We had informed the dealer several times of the problem&they were never able to locate problem.may was the most recent time we had informed mckenna VW twice of the problem, once at a service appt&once by phone after car had collided with curb after engine failed on street.in June, after collision on freeway, we were made aware of a recall on the ignition of 2010 Routans. This recall was made because the ignition switch from on to accessory and thereby could cause crashes.the air bags also did not deploy in the crash.the Routan was going roughly 45 mph at had severe front end damage.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?