ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

Excessive Oil Consumption

2008 Scion tC (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Scion dealer.

8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$4,000
Average Mileage:
113,200 miles
Total Complaints:
21 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (15 reports)
  2. replace engine (4 reports)
  3. fixed (1 reports)
  4. replace pistons and rings (1 reports)
2008 Scion tC engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Scion tC:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Scion tC Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

May 012018

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 148,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car burns oil. I dont have enough money to keep adding oil. It's a pain in the ass adding oil almost every 1000 miles. I'm a college student funds are low. I get an oil change and it don't even last. Someone needs to fix this matter. Toyota burning oil issue. Adding oil all the time is not fun.

- Jennifer C., Pomona, CA, US

problem #20

Aug 302018

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 172,000 miles

Purchased this car for my teenage daughter 2 months ago. Car runs like a champ. Recently just had to add oil to it as it was a quart and a half low. Just changed the oil in it Saturday and yesterday was 2 quarts low. Have seen numerous complaints online about others having the same problem but yet there's no recall issued and should be as this is an expensive fix and obviously an ongoing problem that Toyota has failed to issue a recall on. I will going above and beyond to try and get this matter resolved as negligence on Toyota's behalf.

Update from Sep 2, 2018: Apparently the piston rings is a notorious problem with these vehicles of this year and Toyota just issued a letter, no recall because it's not a safety concern and the only way they are fixing the problem is if it's covered under the power train warranty still which is a 60,000 mile warranty but most people with this problem is after warranty has expired in which case you're responsible for all expenses to repair. From what I've found there is apparently a lawsuit still pending as a result of no recall and people having to pay for the repairs due to negligence on Toyota for no recall being issued and problem starting once power train warranty has expired.

- Amanda T., Patriot, US

problem #19

Jun 012017

tC

  • Manual transmission
  • 169,000 miles

Just upset with the fact that Toyota said it passed the 1st oil consumption test and now I have over 200000 miles on it and it has gotten worse.

- Larry D B., Lake Elsinore, CA, US

problem #18

May 102017

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just got my scion tc and now I'm finding out that I have a oil leak and it is because of the piston rings... now I have no idea what to do...

- Nick H., middletown, CT, US

problem #17

Oct 252017

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles

Around 147,000 miles the car just started burning oil at an excessive rate. Its weird cause it happened sort of quickly. one day it consumed oil at a normal rate and the next oil change it was burning oil rapidly.

- Ryland D., Canyon Country, US

problem #16

Sep 142010

tC 2.4L I4

  • Manual transmission
  • 85,000 miles

At roughly 35000 miles my car began consuming oil. I thought this was normal so I simply began using thicker oil. However, the problem not only persisted but it actually worsened. Fast forward to last year, 2016, and one of my mechanic friends said there was an issue with excessive oil consumption and Toyota would fix it. However, I have taken my car in and had them perform an oil consumption test twice and, per Toyota's standards, my vehicle passed. However, just the other day my oil light came on and I had to add 2 quarts of oil after only 3500 miles of having performed an oil change. I feel like whoever is having issues that don't come about within 1200 miles is getting screwed by Toyota. Toyota has neglected to fix this issue. I was hoping to have this car for years to come but that seems highly unlikely at this point. I even took it to another Toyota store and the service writer simply told me that after 150000 miles they will not even look at it. Thanks Toyota.

- Lupe S., Santa Ana, CA, US

problem #15

Jan 092017

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Changed my oil regularly and took care of my car very well... When one day, during my visit in the north in the winter, the engine sounded a little funky. I figured it was just because of the cold temperatures, but I took it in anyway. Mechanic said I just needed oil, which was odd because I got it done about 2 months before. So got that done. Then for the next 3ish months, the odd sound got worse... and worse.. and worse....... until I decided to bring it back in again (to two very good mechanics) and both proceeded to tell me that my car either had a rod bearing knock or a wrist pin slap due to lack of oil and it was going to cost me about $4000 to fix as I may just need to get a new engine. It's not even worth it because my car at this point is.. excuse me, WAS, only worth about $4-5,000. Now they tell me I probably wouldn't even get $1,000 because of this. I don't even drive my car a lot.

- Alexis B., Fort Lauderdale, FL, US

problem #14

Jun 012016

tC TC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

In about June 2016 in between my oil changes I was having my check engine light coming on and bad shaking of my car. Because I'm no mechanic I took my car to the dealership Toyota in Colorado Springs motor city to get it figured out. I've always worked with a office gentleman named Kevin 5 years+ unless he was off that day. On our last occasion he mentioned doing a Oil consumption test because in between oil changes I would be driving into the dealer-ship with engine light on always the problem of low on oil maybe 2x's per 3,000 miles. When the oil consumption test was at its 1000 miles review point it failed. Kevin told me he was going to submit the warranty to toyota corporate and get back to me upon approval. Well 2 weeks had went by and no contact from Kevin and no returned messages left so I stopped into Toyota and was informed Kevin was let go. I was not at all concerned at the time of why Kevin was let go so I continued bussiness as usual but now with a gentleman named John whom at that moment I told my situation to and he assisted me as kind and honest as Kevin did. Well when John went to look for the report submitted to corporate and see what the status was with my name and car he had came to tell me" Toyota needs more loss of oil to be replaced" I was shocked but still confident this was no worry. I requested another test be done eminently even thoe my oil was not due but wanted to get this done and over with. It was obvious the oil was a problem and there were no puddles in my garage to show where the oil was going. I thought it would be resolved quickly. Comming back to get the results of my oil test I'm sitting in the waiting room when a office tech comes to me and tells me "your oil test is voided, you removed all 3 tamper tape telling us you been messing with the oil". FYI Not John the guy I'm now working with in the office. I'm Pissed I tell the guy I cant rember the last time I looked or even lifted my hood to the engine area. The mechanic shop already has my car parked in the to go area, as if the service was done. I walk over to Johns table desk to find out what he has to say and he is on the phone and not hanging up in my opinion appropriate time. I start talking loud to the kid that just told me I voided the test and wanted proof and knowlage of where this "Tape I removed" was located at because 1st I did NOT know how many or where the tape was located. I'm talking so loud the manager DOUG comes out to see what is going on. I tell him and he orders my car to be pulled to the back garage for all of us to see.(5 people) Doug,John,Myself,Kid who told me of tape, & mechanic. When they lifted the hood the mechanic told us "the oil dip stick tape was missing". So I start off on the kid of why he accused me of removing all 3 when 1 was only said by mechanic. Next the mechanic told us all the oil level was fine. So I ask where the other tape was located because I did NOT know and questioned "If the oil level was fine why would they even make a BIG deal of the Tape being removed?" What a idiot I am I asked how would you get oil out of a dip stick area and they told me ---A straw-- Ok so I drove my oil test car here and it passed oil level and they lied about tape being removed....Weriod!!! So Kevin tells us all Toyota will make this right with me and pay for yet another oil test but this time put 2 pieces of tamper tape on all 3 areas....I agree this will be fine.. Took my car back and Guess what....IT PASSED... But now get this...Its been about 3 weeks since the final inspection of the test. Doug was in the mechanic shop when the last test was inspected he requested me ask for him when I brought my car back.... But get this as I stated already my car started shaking bad and of course I know that feeling and relation to issue of why oh so well.. So this time I look at the dip stick while parked in front of a auto store and NO Oil at all on stick, after taking off the lid to add a quart my engine hole was smoking but this is the best part. MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS NOT TRIPPED OR ON!!! These guys at toyota after looking into this issue and seeing if there are any recalls on this matter lead me to believe are a bunch of clowns. If any one has suggestions on getting this resolved please call I have 20,000 left before warranty is up and went to a regular mechanic shop today and asked if they can do a toyota oil consumption test and submit if there is a problem...THE ANSWER WAS "NO YOU NEED TO GO TO YOUR DEALERSHIP" Because your warranty is with them and their mechanic shop.. Great so when I bought my car and paid it off with adding ALL the warrantys and extra help offered. I did not know that a issue is not a issue till someone at the dealership feels like doing their job. P.S. Doug the manager that got involved had told me he was looking into the substantiate papers the gentleman Kevin originally placed for the request of a new engine and NO RECORD WAS FOUND... But when I walked in and talked to John looking for Kevin, John told me "Toyota requested more oil be lost to replace issue"... WHAT A BUNCH OF CLOWNS!!! money wasted on what was sapose to help me in situations like this. Christina Medina 719-232-4323

- chrisxiname, Colorado Springs, US

problem #13

Jan 022016

tC E 2az Fe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption

This Toyota engine has a faulty piston ring design that causes excessive oil consumption. There are thousands of people that have the same problem in both Toyota and Scion vehicles (same company). However, there is not recall for this problem. There should be because it's an obvious design flaw. My Scion Tc burns/consumes 1 quart of oil a month or about every 1000 miles. Way too excessive. The only fix is to replace the pistons/piston rings.

- Jerry M., Spring Valley, CA, US

problem #12

Jan 232017

tC 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 97,000 miles

I bought this car in December 2016 because of the good reputation. Now that I am at my first oil change. I find out that the car was 2qts low on oil. I find out that it is typical for that engine. It is not right. I could see an engine using a little oil, not 2qts. This problem should be fixed by the dealer.

Update from Feb 14, 2017: An update of oil consumption. I took it in to do the test. After they did their thing, I drove the car back to work. After it sitting for a few hours I decided to check what they did. I saw that they zip tied my dip stick down. I'm not the trusting type. So I cut the zip tie. I noticed that they over filled my oil, not just a little bit. But by half an inch. I put zip ties back on and left it alone. I drove the mileage that they said to and took it back in. They did their thing again and told me that it didn't use any oil, because it was on the full mark. I told them what I did and they said that they would never do anything like that. So I'm stuck with this oil drinker because it was the 2nd test. My advise is for everyone that got tested. Don't believe what they are saying because they will lie straight to your face. Also call and write everyone you can. I know I will never have anything to do with another Toyota product ever again.

- Mathew C., Mossyrock, WA, USA

problem #11

Jan 012017

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just got the vehicle from a friend and she told me it was using oil. I just assumed she was not using a full synthetic or was being told that was what was put in it and wasn't. So I changed the oil and used 5w20 full synthetic Castrol Edge High Mileage. It has not been but 500 miles since then and I checked the oil and it was almost off stick. There are no external oil leaks.

- Alissa A., Dunn, NC, USA

problem #10

Feb 232015

tC

  • Manual transmission
  • 67,404 miles

Just never know when I'm running out of oil and constantly need to be buying and adding quarts of oil because of the consumption.

- Jesus G., Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 302016

tC

  • Manual transmission
  • 56,000 miles

The dealer asked me to come back after 1,200 miles as a follow up. My car is 9 years old, and I have 56,000 miles (only) on it. I did not notice low oil until last oil change when the light was coming on and I had a friend check before service. I told the dealer it was not holding oil and that is when he mentioned the possible recall. I am heading back today for the check. However, I do not really have $3,000 to pay to replace pistons....and I am hopeful they will repair at not cost to me. Stay tuned.....

Update from Jul 16, 2016: Went for my follow-up on Friday, July 15th. I checked the oil level before the appointment and took a picture of the low level (line 1). At my appointment, service told me my car passed with flying colors. When getting home, I rechecked the oil level and it was now topped off to the top (level 3).
They totally lied. I now have an appointment with the manager on Monday.

- Diane C., Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #8

May 132016

tC Spec 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 131,000 miles

Bought the car used 2 months ago got my first oil change last month, I was driving down the road and it started knocking and died on me, pulled over to the side of the road and saw no oil on the dipstick, took the car to a Toyota dealership and they did test the engine and said it seemed like it was under the excessive oil consumption warranty and that they would have to repair the engine and I would be reimbursed. They took the engine apart and determined that the engine needed replaced because there was damage done internally due to no oil in the engine. Toyota now wants $5,500 to repair it and most likely no reimbursement, if damage was done due to a defective motor that was known to have a problem how am I at fault? I had no prior knowledge to this issue as I just purchased the vehicle 2 months ago and am now stuck making payments on a vehicle that doesn't run.

- William G., Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #7

May 082016

tC 2.4L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 139,000 miles

My husband called me Mothers Day afternoon to tell me he was stranded on the side of 77 and when checking out his vehicle while waiting on his father, he found that he had NO OIL what so ever in his tank.He had not reached his next oil change mark nor had any of his indicator lights come on so this was just strange. We had the car towed to a local mechanic who, i kid you not, called me back and asked what the hell id been doing to this car. He began telling me that the insides of the motor and seals looked like they had been stripped. Basically the motor is no good without extensive repair. Knowing I keep good care of my vehicles, I begin calling anyone i think can enlighten me, so i start with my mom in law who sends me to the Toyota Dealership (where we purchased the vehicle), who strikes an attitude with me and hangs up on me. Frustrated we are deciding to pursue matters legally. and so we called one more time saying in a nut shell, 1. I've done my part to take care of my vehicle 2.I was not informed of therefore should not be responsible for being uninformed of a manufacturer error 3. is there anything you can do to help. I was then insulted further by lies and rude comments such as "you purchased after we were informed of the issue," "toyota is not responsible for any repairs before diagnostics is run,"and "you dont qualify for a warranty so it would be a waste of time anyway."

People I encourage you to be informed because in doing research on the matter, I found that Toyota actually issued an extended warranty known as the Limited Service Campaign which would cover us;Toyota would be responsible for all problems approved through the diagnostic test, and the first reported TSB (technical Service Bulletin) issued by Toyota was August 11 2011 which means when we bought the car in 2013, we should have been told about this. Toyota also issued letters which we did not receive.I do understand how I am expected to pay for something that is clearly a huge problem if i qualify, especially if the diagnostics tests proves it. I just dont get it.

- Allie H., Winston Salem, NC, US

problem #6

Dec 192015

tC ES 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,005 miles

I have a 2008 tc Scion with 141585 Miles. On 12-19-15, I was advised to put in High Mileage Oil due to telling the mechanic I just put oil in my car 2 months prior. Well as of today, 2-4-2016, my red (oil can) light began appearing when I would press on my breaks. My mileage is currently at 141585 Miles, using 1580 miles. Yes, of course I was told to come back at 3k.

What would be suggested in this case?

- D R., Houston, TX, USA

problem #5

Sep 152015

tC

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

I noticed my 08 Scion Tc was using oil. I got a notice to go to Scion (Toyota). I had test but they said it was in the limits and they had no liability. I have one more chance to try again after 6 mos. The Tech said the usage had to be over 3 quarts in 1200 mi. in order to qualify for them to fix it! I now see this was an out and out lie. It is 1 qt. per 1200 mi. I now have put in 2.5 - 3 qts in less than 4000 miles.

Even my old 69 GMC straight 6 didn't use oil like this. This is ridiculous for a Toyota. I'm going to join a class action lawsuit. and try another dealer with the clear understanding of what their responsibility is. If they don't fix it as far as I'm concerned the car will become trash and it has less than 100,000 miles. I bought the Scion for dependability, I own 4 other products. Toyota is foolish to screw around with loyal customers.

- John B., Chapin, SC, USA

problem #4

Aug 292014

tC

  • Manual transmission
  • 83,526 miles

I financed the car in Aug. 2014, with about 83,000 miles on it, About 2 weeks later my engine began to make a ticking noise. I checked my oil and saw I had little/no oil. I did an oil change and the car had less the a quart in it. My maintenance, check engine, or oil pressure light never came on. I replaced the oil and noise faded. About 1,000 miles in my oil pressure light began to flash every time I pushed on my brakes. I checked my oil and noticed it was low. I bought oil and needed about 1 1/2 quarts.

I Took it to my dealership and they said to take it up with Toyota/Scion dealership (I bought mine at a Chevrolet Dealer). I got nowhere with either one, now my car has a ticking noise coming from the engine. I took it to a mechanic, he said I need a new engine. I don't have 3 to $4,000 to buy a new engine. Toyota knows about the problem but does nothing about it. I find it unfair to me and anyone else who is still making payments on a car with a defective engine. TOYOTA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS IMMEDIATELY.

- Jesus A., El Mirage, AZ, USA

problem #3

Sep 152014

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,101 miles

I have a 2008 Scion tC, with 104K miles. I have had regular oil changes at 3,000 to 5,000 miles (usually closer to 3,000), along with other maintenance (fluid flushes, etc.). Just before my last oil change was due, my oil light started to come on every time I braked. I brought it to the lube place, and they told me I was almost out of oil. There were no leaks, the exhaust pipe had black smut, and they believed I was burning oil. I did some research on the internet, and found out this is a common problem with Toyotas and Scions, especially on cars with 100K or more miles.

I phoned Fred Haas Toyota, where I bought my car. I explained the problem, and they said it was common for cars with 100K miles to burn a quart of oil every 800 to 1,000 miles. Crazy! They said there is no recall for this problem, even when I said that the technical bulletin issued by Toyota to its dealers said that defective pistons were used to manufacture these cars. Why would I buy a brand new car with defective parts? Why should a manufacturer believe it's acceptable to make and sell cars with defective parts? Fred Haas Toyota advised me to change my oil every 3,000 miles. And to check my oil level after 1,200 miles and top it off if low.

The cost of replacing the engine is about $6,000 (about 25% the cost of a new vehicle) and appears to be the only solution to this problem. The fact that a manufacturer can get away with selling sub standard vehicles and basically stealing from people is disgraceful and immoral.

- Paula B., Spring, TX, USA

problem #2

Oct 012013

tC 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

Purchased 2nd owner at 14k miles. Purchased extended warranty through Toyota (7 yrs/100k). This is my daughter's car who lives in another location from myself. When she visited I noticed oil was low (2012). I kept checking when visiting and noticed 1 qt. maybe each 2-3k. Contacted Toyota and basically told to pound sand. This car has 54k miles....that is right, 54k and unless there is a car fairy I do not believe this problem will get better.

I found the TSB and Toyota will not repair under extended warranty since car is not using more than 1 qt every 1200 miles. This is wrong on so many levels I do not need to explain further. I have contacted law firm that has filed class action lawsuit for this problem. This engine has 4 qts of oil in the engine, so to "loose" 1 - 2 qts between oil changes can not be good for engine long term. This will cost Toyota millions of dollars considering how many cars have this engine.

Update from Jun 7, 2014: Toyota paying for new short block....finally. Actual oil consumption never completely documented, but it was evident that car was burning over 1 qt every 2k. I believe their final justification was only 54k on the car. I need to pay for a valve job, which makes sense and no complaints since they are paying well over $3k for the short block + whatever labor will cost them. My heart goes out to all you who are dealing with this problem, but do not give up. I only hope this provides the longevity on this car. We expect at least 150k miles and/or 15 years.

- Ken V., La Mesa, CA, US

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?