Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,636 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #182

May 162014

325 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The idrive control panel is showing an alert that the passenger airbag has failed. I contacted BMW customer service and they say my VIN is not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V564000 (air bags) even though the description of the problem matches my problem exactly. I have a 2006 BMW 325xi with standard seats and according to 13V564000 I should be eligible for coverage under the extended warranty. BMW is telling me I am responsible for the repairs.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #181

May 062014

325 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
I am an owner of 2006 BMW 330I sedan with sports seat (manufacture date: 5/2005). Recently, the passenger airbag sensor became malfunction, and the passenger side airbag is indicated as 'passenger airbag off' as the result. After researching on NHTSA website, I noticed that this is a known issue, and BMW is issuing a recall on affected vehicles. However, in further reviewing the related documents on the NHTSA website, although BMW has recalled 2006 330I sedan with sport seats, the manufacture date of the affected vehicles that are included in the recall are from Dec 2005 to Sept 2006, and because of this, it excludes my vehicle. With other complaints listed, it is clear that the same issue has impacted a lot of owners of 2006 330I sedan with sport seat prior to the manufacture date that BMW has specified on the recall. Due to this reason, the recall should have been considered to include earlier manufacture date of the model considered this is not an isolated issue.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

problem #180

May 042014

325 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 95,000. Updated 9/4/14

- Marlborough, CT, USA

problem #179

Dec 112013

325

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325 I. the contact stated that the air bag warning light, navigational system, and the overhead console lights illuminated independently. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V564000 (air bags). The contact called the dealer and was advised not to drive the vehicle and that the parts needed to complete the recall repair were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #178

Jan 062013

325

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continued to illuminate intermittently even when the front passenger seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop more than once but the failure was not able to replicated or diagnosed. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Valejo, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #177

Nov 132013

325 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I received a recall notice from BMW in January 2014 (recall campaign number 13V-564: Front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat). The recall notice states that in the current condition, the vehicle is unsafe to drive with a passenger in the front passenger seat. The recall notice states that the parts needed to perform the repair are scheduled to be available in March 2014. It is now May 6, 2014 and BMW customer relations has indicated that the parts are still not available and they are unable to provide an estimate on when they will be. It has now been nearly 5 months since receiving the original recall notice. During this time I essentially have a vehicle that is unsafe to drive with a passenger in the front passenger seat. BMW does not appear to be taking this issue seriously and providing a prompt resolution to this problem. I have placed repeated calls into BMW customer relations and continue to be informed that nothing can be done until the required parts are made available. Any assistance you can provide is greatly appreciated.

- Woodinville, WA, USA

problem #176

May 022014

325

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that the air bag sensor would remain illuminated. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags) but had experienced the same failure as listed in the recall. The vehicle was to be inspected, diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 112000. Updated 08/12/14

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #175

Apr 282014

325

  • 106,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the front passenger's side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred when an occupant was present in the front passenger's seat. Additionally, the seat belt warning indicator illuminated. There was a recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags), however the VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 106,500.

- New Bruns, NJ, USA

problem #174

Jun 122013

325 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Several months ago I noticed that by airbag disabled light flickering on and off while driving. At this same time the overhead light passenger airbag disabled would flicker off and on. Since then it is currently on the whole time, even if someone is sitting in the passenger seat. Thus my passenger airbag will not deploy even if I am in an accident. I read this recall and assumed that my car would be covered under the recall since the recall lists my make, model and year as being covered. However, the when I called my dealership they said that my VIN is not covered under the recall. So I do not understand why the recall lists my make, model and year as being covered (plus I have the exact faults listed as to why this recall is occurring) but the dealership is telling me that their records show I am not covered. I do not believe BMW is being honest about all the cars that are affected by this recall.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #173

Dec 182013

325 6-cyl

  • miles
BMW 2006 325I. Driver's and/or front passenger's airbags malfunctioning light in red I have contacted performance BMW(919-942-3191) in chapel hill, nc who states my vehicle is not part of this recall. I have asked the service person that I spoke with (monica) to help with contacting BMW and they refused, stating they did have the phone number. I would like to ask that BMW usa please include my vehicle in the recall due to the safety that is involved with the possibility of the air bags not deploying if the vehicle were to be hit or involved in an accident. NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 component(s): Air bags potential number of units affected: 76,565 manufacturer: BMW of North America, llc

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #172

Sep 022013

325

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger seat pad is defective in my 2006 BMW 325I. It has been diagnosed by the dealer as defective. In December of 2013 BMW recalled 76K of these pads for my make/model/year, but excluded my VIN as a result of a NHTSA investigation. I am requesting an explanation of how BMW was allowed to exclude my VIN when the recall is obviously more widespread. Please check your records for a copy of the December 2013 recall or reference the below link: Recall subject : front seat occupant protection mat report receipt date: Nov 12, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 component(s): Air bags potential number of units affected: 76,565 manufacturer: BMW of North America, llc summary: BMW of North America llc (BMW) is recalling certain model year 2006 325I, 325xi, 330I, 330xi sedans and 325xi sports wagons, model year 2007 328I, 328xi, 335I, 335xi sedans and 328I and 328xi sports wagons, model year 2006-2007 525I, 525xi, 530I, 530xi, 550I sedans and 530xi sports wagons, model year 2006 760I sedans, model year 2006-2007 750I, 750li, and 760li sedans, and model year 2006 X5 sports activity vehicles, equipped with certain seat types. The front passenger seat occupant detection mat that determines if and how the passenger frontal air bag should deploy in a crash may fatigue and develop cracks which could lead to a system failure. Consequence: Should the system fail, in the event of a crash, the front passenger air bag would be deactivated, increasing the risk of personal injury. Remedy: BMW will notify owners with an interim notification letter in January 2014 since parts are not currently available. When parts are available, anticipated to be in March 2014, BMW will send a second letter and dealers will repair the occupant detection mat to eliminate the possibility that it may crack, free of charge.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #171

Apr 072014

325

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the seatbelt and air bag warning lights illuminated continuously while driving for an extended period of time. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who reset the seatbelt sensor but the failure recurred. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #170

Mar 052014

325 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
My airbag indicator came on in early March so I made an appointment with the dealer. After being diagnosed as a passenger airbag issue requiring a new sensor pad under the passenger seat (at significant cost) I searched and found that there is an existing recall around this exact issue that my car apparently did not qualify for due to the manufacture date being 2/05-11/05 and my car being built in 1/06. After speaking to BMW North America I was informed there is an extended warranty that should cover my model with manufacturer dates of 12/05 - 9/06. I have yet to be notified of whether my vehicle qualifies, but because it was a safety issue I had to undertake the costly repair without the benefit of the extended warranty despite BMW's definitive knowledge of the exact same issue.

- Hopkinton, MA, USA

problem #169

Dec 302013

325 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I am writing to you to address a current NHTSA safety recall affecting my vehicle (and presumably many similar vehicles). I currently own a 06 BMW 325I 4dr and have recently experienced a front passenger seat detection mat malfunction. This sensor malfunction affects the deployment of the front passenger seat airbag in the event of a collision. The error codes my vehicle is displaying are the same as those addressed in the NHTSA safety recall campaign number 13V564000, dated 13 Nov 2013. The NHTSA recall indicated BMW is recalling 06-07 3-series equipped with seat types that may produce similar errors due to cracking that develops with age. This cracking is true in my vehicle and has been verified by local mechanics. In Dec 2013, I consulted my local BMW dealership to determine if my vehicle was covered under the NHTSA safety recall. I was informed by the dealer that my vehicle was covered* under any current recalls and included no extended warranties. I informed the dealer that an NHTSA safety recall currently addresses my vehicle's problems; however, it did not seem to be their problem. In Jan 2014, I contacted BMW na to address the same issue. I was informed that an NHTSA recall did affect current 06 325I vehicles, however, their recall only affects owners of vehicles with "sport" seats. They informed me while, my vehicle is experiencing similar issues, BMW na did not plan to recall non-sport seat sensors. Frankly, I find it ridiculous that other vehicles with the same year, make, and model are experiencing the exact same malfunctions and errors as my vehicle. In the end, my front passenger airbag will not deploy in the event of a collision for the same malfunctioning seat sensor, yet, BMW has turned a blind eye to myself and I presume a large number of owners with this same problem.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #168

Mar 252014

325 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Airbag and seatbelt sensor comes on and off randomly. Appears to be a sensor or connection error.

- Shenandoah , VA, USA

problem #167

Jan 012014

325

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was sporadically illuminated. In addition, the passenger's side air bag would not activate when the passenger's seat was occupied. The dealer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The contact was concerned that in the even of a crash, the air bags would possibly not deploy. The manufacture confirmed that the vehicle was not included in the recall and declined to provide additional assistance to the contact. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Halethorpe, MD, USA

problem #166

Oct 152013

325 6-cyl

  • 84,356 miles
Fault light for air bag & seatbelt on dash lghted, had scan done it shows a faulty passenger seat sensor I am concerned because the air bag for the passenger is not working.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #165

Mar 102011

325

  • 82,000 miles
BMW refusing to provide recall service id # 13V564 for 2006 air bag light indicator while my car is showing the same failure mode as described in the BMW air bag recall notice :- NHTSA campaign id number : 13V564 manufacturer : BMW of North America, llc make / model years : BMW / 2006-2007 subject : front seat occupant protection mat

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #164

Jan 222014

325 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 3 series. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall due to the unavailability of the part. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they were not able to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/19/14 the consumer stated the first time the warning light illuminated was in 2009. The dealer and manufacturer refused acknowledge a safety issue. Passengers have not been permitted to ride in the front seating area. Updated 05/28/2014

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #163

Mar 162014

325

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. In addition, the front passenger's air bag off indicator illuminated. There was a recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 08V384000 (air bags). The VIN was not included and the vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Fallston, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?