10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #210

Sep 112014

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has 148,000 miles. The air bag and seatbelt light have been coming on for over a year. This same exact problem was repaired by BMW for us in 2010. Our mechanic told us about the current recall on the airbags. Our car does have the sport seats and does fall within the dates of manufacture (Jan, 2006). However, after speaking with [xxx] at BMW today she informed me that our vehicle was not included in the recall. Obviously it is the part that is bad not the age of the part. I feel that our vehicle should be included in this recall due to the fact that I am not so sure that the airbags would even work if we were to get into an accident.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #209

Apr 152014

325

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. While driving 65 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #208

Jul 092014

325 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
When a passenger sits in the passenger seat, periodically receive message from bmw325I alert system stating that the airbag/seat belt system for passenger seat is faulty in its operation and needs to be checked immediately. Informed by dealership that airbag sensor mat is faulty and needs to be replaced. Feel this vehicle should be added to BMW's recent recall list and repair should not be the responsibility of the owner to repair at owner's expense.

- Browns Summit, NC, USA

problem #207

Aug 182014

325 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my car in for a standard oil change and front driver side light turning signal not working and I also advised the airbag light would come on when I turned on the car for the past few months. I was advised that the air bag for the passenger side had to be replaced which would cost me more than 800 dollars. I questioned if it was part of the most recent recall but was advised no. Seeing all the complaints on this site of the same vehicle and issue and not being included, this does not make sense. Please advise how cars are picked as it seems the cars that were not notified are the ones that are having the exact or similar issue of what the recall is for. I recently moved as well so I'm wondering what happens if the letter if there was one was sent to the incorrect place.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #206

Jun 292012

325

  • 50,000 miles
This complaint is regarding a passenger restraint system malfunction alert/issue that seems to be covered by a recent BMW recall I found on your website. This alert started to come up in my car intermittently almost 2 years ago, but it now stays on. I heard about a recall and was waiting for additional information from BMW but have not received any. I went to the BMW center in alexandria, va this week (8/15/14) to see if this was covered by the recall and was told that it was not. I also called their 1-800 customer service number and was told the same thing. However, I just found a recall notice for this issue (see link below) on this website where it specifically includes my model year car (BMW 2006 325xi). My car is now not passing va inspection due to this issue. I was told this repair would cost over $2,000, which I don't have at this moment. Please advise as to how I can best expedite the necessary repairs under this recall, to deal with this security issue and so that I can renew my inspection sticker as required by va law.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #205

Aug 092014

325

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. While the vehicle was being inspected, the mechanic noticed that the mat sensor was fractured. In addition, the contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #204

Jul 012013

325 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The dealer stated that the weight sensors needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.....updated 09-09-14 updated 11/18/14

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #203

May 012012

325

  • 80,000 miles
Car started showing "passenger restraint system malfunction". I researched the matter, and found that there is a recall. When I called BMW and gave them my VIN, they claimed that there is no recall. Almost every other BMW from that series/model was recalled and got the issue rectified under the recall. Please advise. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #202

Aug 112014

325

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- N. Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #201

Jul 012014

325 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated in the vehicle. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000. Updated 08-28-14

- Cinellas Park, FL, USA

problem #200

Jul 292014

325

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL * the contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated in the vehicle. An independent mechanic stated that the front passenger seat occupant detection may be defective. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bag). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 66,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #199

Jul 152014

325 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
2006 BMW 325I with 125,000 miles and standard seats. Front passenger airbag and seatbelt light has been illuminated for last year. Finally took in today after learning about recall. Even though same problem, mine not covered under recall because mine was produced in June 2006, not during the timeframe of the recall. Dealer gave me report saying, "replace seat mat (found seat mat faulty)" for cost of $1056.25. My advisor at the dealership suggested I contact BMW customer service and ask for a "goodwill" repair with either 75% or 100% covered since my vehicle sits just outside the recall dates. Denied!! reason denied by[xxx] #8408 of BMW customer relations: 1)I am not original owner 2) veh out of warranty too long (had extended warranty until 100,00 so it is 25000 out ) and 3) veh has over 100,000 miles! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #198

Jul 142014

325 6-cyl

  • 76,800 miles
The air bag light / occupant detect sensor needed to be replaced because it was defective. I paid over $1000 to repair. My mechanic told me there is a safety recall of the air bag frontal sensor control module for my vehicle year, make and model. I never received the recall notice and BMW claims the recall is VIN specific. This seems unsafe and unfair as this is the very problem that I repaired. I have traveled thousands of miles transporting my family in the front passenger seat without knowing that they were not protected by the air bags.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #197

Jan 012014

325 6-cyl

  • 75,700 miles
Dec. 2008 I received a consumer advisory letter from BMW of North America. The letter states that depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks may develop in the passenger seat occupant detection mat. If this condition exists, the front passenger air bag and side air bag will deactivate, and both the air bag warning lamp and front passenger "on-off" lamp will illuminate. In this situation the front passenger air bag and side air bag will not deploy, even in a severe accident. They are extending the warranty coverage for 10 years. In January of this year both the air bag warning lamp and the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp are illuminated in my 2006 325I BMW. The letter states should this happen have the vehicle checked without delay at an authorized BMW center. I did that and was told the problem is different from what the advisory letter states and will cost me $1300. I contacted BMW customer relations of North America and spoke to a person by the name of "[xxx]" who told me she would check with the authorized BMW center. I told her I am the only driver of my car and very seldom do I have any passengers with me and I never had any accident with my car, so the air bags never deployed. Several weeks later her reply was because of the age of my BMW they would not honor the warranty "but" they would discount the cost of the repair and instead of charging $1300 they would charge $1002! so that's my story and my air bag warning lamp is still lighted! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

problem #196

Apr 262012

325 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
BMW recall 2006 13V564000 was issued in November of 2013 to recall the front passenger seat occupant detection mat that determines if and how the passenger frontal air bag should deploy in a crash because it may fatigue and develop cracks which could lead to a system failure. My vehicle, a 2006 BMW 325xi with was not included in the recall. However, this exact problem occurred to me in April of 2012. The front passenger seat mat failed (cracked) and would not allow the air bag to deploy. The service team at towne BMW in williamsville, NY stated "we have seen a lot of these" at that time. I believe my vehicle should be included in the recall. It seems odd that this recall would be issued to a select number of vehicles that were affected when additional vehicles, including mine, were affected by the same manufacturer's defect.

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #195

May 192014

325

  • 65,946 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated in the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician decided to reset the system however, the contact continued to experience the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags) but the VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,946.

- Bethlaham, PA, USA

problem #194

Jun 242014

325 6-cyl

  • 104,603 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 104,603... updated 08-20-14 updated 09/3/2014

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #193

Jun 132014

325

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that his vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags) however, the failure had recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 123,000.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #192

May 122014

325 6-cyl

  • 14,240 miles
On May 12, 2014, as I pulled into my driveway, I put the vehicle into park, so that I can open the garage door, to get inside of my garage. As I put my foot on the brake and proceeded to put the vehicle into drive, the vehicle surged forward unexpectedly, at a high rate of acceleration. I instinctively applied the brakes, however, this sudden unintended acceleration, safety defect, caused me to crash into the backside wall of my garage, thus causing extensive damage. It should be noted that the airbag failed to deploy, which may have something to do the November 2013, BMW recall relating to air bags. The mileage on the vehicle was 14,240, at the time that this sudden unintended acceleration defect, manifested itself. The vehicle was towed to my local BMW dealership, however, because this sudden unintended acceleration defect, is more than likely, embedded operating system related, the dealership's service technicians were unable to find a hardware related, mechanical cause, to this stated defect. On May 30, 2014, I picked up my vehicle from the dealership, with my husband accompanying me. As I arrived on my street and about to put the vehicle into park, the vehicle surged forward unexpectedly, once again, almost striking my postal carrier. My husband, as well as my postal carrier, were witnesses to this second incidence of sudden unintended acceleration. The mileage of the vehicle, at the time of this second occurrence, of the stated defect is 14,247. It should be noted that sudden unintended acceleration has plagued BMW vehicles, since at least the 1990's. BMW 325 1990, BMW 750il 1991, BMW 525 1992, BMW 318is 1993, BMW 528I 1997, BMW 328I 1998, BMW 318 1998, BMW 528I 1998, BMW 328I 1999, BMW 528I 1999, BMW R1100 1999, BMW 750li 2006, BMW 530I 2007, BMW 1 series, etc., have all been reported by BMW owners as having this sudden unintended acceleration, safety defect.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #191

Jan 162014

325

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325xi. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph, the front passenger air bag indicator illuminated. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred only when the front passenger seat was occupied. The vehicle was diagnosed and the detection mat system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 74,000.

- Belvedere, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?