Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
47,636 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Mar 192011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle accident and air bags did not deploy. The consumer stated her daughter was involved in an accident on March 19, 2011. Her daughter claimed, she had no idea what happened, when she lost control of the vehicle and it flew across the road, into the other lane, and lodged itself between two trees.

- Jermyn, PA, USA

problem #66

Apr 282014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the front driver and the passenger side seatbelts failed to retract intermittently. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Pinconning, MI, USA

problem #65

Apr 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to perform the repairs. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the prolonged delay. The vehicle was not repaired. There were no failures.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #64

Jun 042014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 21 year old sons car is on the recall 14V047 and 14V171. I got a letter several months back that it was on recall and of course it is on the news. I got 2nd letter yesterday. When I called lakeside Chevrolet in rockwall I was given a vm for these recalls and they said they would order the part and it could take up to 90 days. My concern is 2 years ago this was a recall. We went to jupiter Chevrolet in garland and they said oh no ignition is fine its his key. At that time was a "possible recall". they made him a new key and charged him $39. At that time when he went in you had to shake column around to get key to work. I am now thinking with all the deaths shouldn't that car be recalled and shouldn't they be hurrying to get them fixed instead of waiting 90 day. Please help with this situation.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #63

Jun 202013

Cobalt

  • 94,000 miles
I have a 2008 Chevy Cobalt, I have many problems with it. It shut off itself 3 times at 60 miller per hour, the lights start blink and the power lock it's locking and unlocking by itself many times. I call the Chevy recall center and they told me that I have to pay for the diagnostic, but I am doing payments on this car still and I can't pay for the diagnostic. The recall # is.. 14V047 and 14V171.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #62

Apr 072014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. The contact had not experienced the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #61

Apr 012014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the notification for NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer failed to repair the vehicle in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated that parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available...updated 08/11/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on July 10. Updated 08/20/2014

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #60

Jun 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I am very disappointed in GM's handling of the February 10 and April 10, 2014 recalls of 2008 Chevrolet Cobalts. I am a 2008 Cobalt owner, and I still have not received a letter nor has my uncle who is the registered owner. I bought the vehicle used but do not feel that is an adequate excuse for not being notified of this recall. I was not able to order the designated parts for repair until 3 days ago, as the dealership I contacted in regards to the problem did not get back to me. I do not feel that this recall is a situation to make light of. People are dying from this deficiency in the vehicle, and I was never even informed of the possibility of my air bags not deploying. I do not feel safe driving my car and I do not feel secure knowing that without my taking the initiative to investigate this problem, I would never have known that my car had been recalled. I also am not satisfied with the listing on the official GM letter on the NHTSA website that all ignition switches will be replaced, when the posted recall on cars.com from GM states a problem with the ignition cylinder as well. I also feel that my air bags, steering and entire electrical system should be tested and replaced if there is even the slightest chance that they have be ineffective. I lose power steering if my ignition switch fails, in addition to my air bags failing, further compromising my safety. I am very concerned about these defects on my vehicle, as I have no other form of transportation back and forth to work etc., and the length of time it is taking for it to be repaired. The dealership that ordered the parts for me told me it would be 6 weeks before the parts arrived, at which point I could make my appointment which may mean additional waiting. I, as a consumer, feel slighted and certainly disregarded. I will not recommend any GM sedan of this nature to anyone.

- Kenmore, NY, USA

problem #59

May 232014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated after the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA recall campaign number: 14V171000, electrical system the air bag light illuminated sporadically and the power steering failed to function normally. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic for the failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 79,873.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #58

Nov 212013

Cobalt

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the ignition switch however, the failure recurred. The contact placed the gear in neutral and was able to shift into drive, but the vehicle continued to stall several times. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number 14V171000 (electrical system), but the contact was notified of the recall after the failure had occurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Silsbee, TX, USA

problem #57

Jan 152014

Cobalt

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired for NHTSA recall campaign number:14V171000 (electrical system). The contact stated that she was notified that the parts were not available; as a result, the repairs were unable to be performed. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. There were no failures at this time.

- Gouverneur, NY, USA

problem #56

Mar 022014

Cobalt

  • miles
My car is part of the GM recall. I have 2 parts on my car which are to be replaced by GM. My car has been shutting off and is unsafe to drive. I have been speaking with GM and Chevy dealers to get a loaner vehicle. To no avail. I have been dealing with this since April 11. I understand that GM says it will provide courtesy cars to customers, however, this is not the case. They just give the run around.

- East Setauket, NY, USA

problem #55

Mar 272014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the driver was traveling 55 mph and drove over a pot hole when the vehicle suddenly stalled, causing the driver to crash into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The force of the impact caused the vehicle to explode, causing fatal injuries to a passenger. The driver was removed from the vehicle within seconds of the explosion however, the passenger could not be rescued. A police report was filed. The driver was transported to the hospital for treatment of severe bruising, lacerations and fractures to both legs. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 ( air bags, electrical system) and stated that the recall notification was not received until after the incident. The VIN and failure mileage was not available.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #54

May 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system), however the parts needed were currently unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plainfield , IL, USA

problem #53

Jun 022012

Cobalt

  • 36,758 miles
On several occasions the battery in the vehicle died for no reason. When trying to start the car when unaware that the battery was dead the key gets stuck in the ignition and are unable to get the key out unless the battery is recharged. However, since there is no power to the vehicle you cannot open the trunk to get to the battery" before recall in 2010 my key would get stuck in the ignition several times when the battery was fine and I would have to forcefully try to get the key into the start position or off position and pull the key out. Problems still remain with this ignition problem? dealership states this is how GM designed the car"

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #52

Jan 132014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received the recall notice related to NHTSA campaign id number 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. There are no failures at this time. The manufacturer was notified and stated there was no rental vehicle available. Updated 05/28/14 MA updated 06/02/2014

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #51

Apr 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to steering wheel column recall. The consumer stated in 2010 he steering motor was recalled, and corrected. Recently, the consumer had to replace the steering wheel column, which was part of the key ignition that has been in the media. The consumer spent $1200 for repairs and notified Chevrolet about the situation and reimbursement.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #50

Mar 252014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 95,487 miles
Was driving over to a friends house got pulled over for a front headlight being out. Found out its the same headlight I replaced 3 months ago and this is the same issue that I have with this cars lights every 3 to 4 months. Its either the front headlight bulbs need to be replace or rear light bulbs need to be replace and I can not plug in a car charge for my phone cause of a burning smell that comes from somewhere within the car. I had this investigated by three people who service cars and they can not find the problem they tell me to bring it to the dealer.

- 02144, MA, USA

problem #49

Oct 092013

Cobalt

  • 55,000 miles
The contact was owns a 2008 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the button located on the gear shifter housing became completely detached. In addition, the turn signal and windshield wiper mechanism fractured upon engaging. The dealer informed the contact that they would be responsible for fifty percent of the repair expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Loutz, FL, USA

problem #48

Jul 272013

Cobalt

  • miles
I previously contacted GM befcause of a power steering issue weeks before my accident.I was crossing the railroad track when I lost all power to my car and it caught on fire.

- Prattville , AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?