Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,421 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Jul 162014

Cobalt 4-cyl Diesel

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have received the recall notice in may that this vehicle model has been involved in numerous wrecks related to fatalities/injuries and I was directed to contact the dealership to have the defective ignition switch replaced. I contacted the dealership on 5/15/2014 and they told me they would order the parts and they would call me when the parts came in so they could fix it. As of today(7/16/2014) this problem has not been corrected. GM apparently has been aware of this problem since 2004 and neglected to notify the public or take corrective measures in the manufacturing process since 2004. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle and do not see the problem being corrected in a timely manner. I am requesting you evaluate if there is any way GM can be required to buy these vehicles from us so we can purchase another vehicle and not continue to put my life and many others in the same situation at risk on a daily basis.

- Annville, KY, USA

problem #149

Apr 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #148

Jan 032014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Noticed that my steering was not stable sometimes, especially going around corners. Thought it was maybe tires or front end. It is in the steering. Whether I go slow around town or on the highway it tightens up sometimes or seems loose.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #147

Jul 122014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000. Updated 08/27/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 09/16/2014

- Plainville, CT, USA

problem #146

Jul 112014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
My power steering goes in and out on my Chevy Cobalt.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #145

Jun 032014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 75,800 miles
While attempting to merge into traffic during rush hour, the power steering stopped working and the message "power steering" was displayed on the dash. This made the car very difficult to steer. The other drivers hit their brakes suddenly to avoid hitting me as I struggled to complete the lane change. This resulted in pulled muscles in my shoulders and arms, along with the mental distress of almost being hit by oncoming traffic. This vehicle was already involved in two ignition recalls for a switch and cylinder. Approximately 3 weeks ago I received a notice that this vehicle is now involved in another recall, this one to replace the power steering motor. As yet no parts are available for this repair, and no accommodations are being made for owners who have already experienced issues with the steering. I protested picking up my Cobalt from the dealer when the ignition was repaired due to the power steering issue, and was told that picking it up and waiting for another letter stating that parts are now available is the best they can do.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #144

Jul 282013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After having our new ignition switch about a week or so earlier, I went to drive our 2010 colbalt to a nearby town. On about June 28th or 29th, I was about halfway to the place I was going, my steering all of a sudden got harder to steer. I looked at the dashboard and saw the words power steering on it. So I took the car home and called a Chevrolet dealership and they said to bring the car in. We were informed that they, (dealership), had heard about a recall on the steering, but have not received any paperwork to be instructed to fix this as a recall item. I looked up possible recall list on the Chevrolet and the one I read is from March 31, 2014. Why is it taking so long for them to decide if it is a recall if there are other problems out there" are they waiting for somebody to be seriously injured before they make that decision" and our vehicle had just had the ignition switch put in a week or so earlier.

- Black River Falls, WI, USA

problem #143

May 082014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Power steering failed, steering wheel becomes very hard to turn. This happens all the time now but the dealer says my car is not covered under the recall. How can only some 2010 Cobalts be covered, obviously my car has the issue.

- Maryland Heights, MO, USA

problem #142

Mar 012013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Having problems with power steering, believing the first in 3/2013..the power steering flashes on dash and stops steering car making it hard to control. Was happening randomly at first, but now 6/2014, it happens daily and is unsafe to drive. On Saturday,6/21/2014 it happened 5 times in a 15 mile stretch, and on Monday 6/23/2014, it happened 4 times in a 30 mile stretch. You literally have to pull off the road and turn the car off so the power steering can reset electronically. Luckily, I was able to do so because it is scary when it goes. This car is an accident waiting to happen, and Chevy says this Cobalt is not included in the power steering recall. A lot of times I've had to drive a mile or so to find a safe place to pull over and shut the car off...and it happened in a parking lot before when you can't control it! come on GM, fix my car, you built it that way. If this car has the ignition and lock recall, don't you think it is related to power steering! do you want another death on your hands!!!!

- Center Lovell, ME, USA

problem #141

Jun 032014

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the steering wheel was unstable, the vehicle would shake abnormally and the rear would sway back and forth with the illumination of all of the instrument panel lights. The contact also stated that the rear view failed and became detached from the vehicle, falling and damaging the brake pedal. Received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V047000 (air bags and electrical system), 14V171000 (electrical system) and 14E021000. The contact was advised by the dealer that the parts were not available and was unable to provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer also could not provide an estimated date when the parts would become available. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Stanton, DE, USA

problem #140

Jun 062014

Cobalt 4-cyl Diesel

  • 49,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On June 6 I was traveling on the highway going to my home with my family I was going about 40 miles. When I try to make a left turn the steering wheel got tight and when I try to stop I had to pull over to the side of the road I almost had an terrible accident my wife is still in shock. Thank god I did not wreak my car. Rite now I cant drive my car. I am very scared. I received a recall mail to fix my ignition switch but still waiting.I would like my steering and ignition to be fix. I will appreciate your cooperation on this matter [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #139

May 082014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 50,357 miles
Steering works fine when car is started and driven for awhile. All of a sudden, it will start binging and "power steering" will show on dash just before power steering stops working. I contacted the dealership where it was originally purchased to inquire about recall. They asked for my VIN and informed me that the power steering assist motor had been recalled and replaced before leaving the dealership when there was only 3 miles on the vehicle. The service representative then went on to tell me that the part used for the repair was going to be recalled but hadn't been yet. During a later conversation with my mother in-law, the service department at this same dealership told her there had never been a recall on this car.

- East Bernstadt, KY, USA

problem #138

Nov 032013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 65,600 miles
On Sunday November 3,2013 my son was on his way home from the james madison university traveling East on Virginia route 66 heading towards the capital beltway (495). At mile post 26 on route 66 he lost control of the vehicle in the fast lane. The car was traveling at the speed limit (approximately 70 mph) the car moved into the median where the vehicle rolled over three times smashing the front bumper area, the hood and crushed the roof (blowing out all windows).landed upside down in the oncoming traffic lane on the West bound side of the divided median. The front air bags did not deploy.the car ended up on its roof. An ambulance and police both arrived as well as other people stopped on the opposite side of the median. The passenger had to crawl out of the passenger window. The driver was trapped in the vehicle and was removed by emt personal and flown to a trauma center. The passenger was taken by ambulance to a local hospital. They both survived with injuries.we have pictures of the car showing the damage.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #137

May 072014

Cobalt

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle became difficult to maneuver as the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 85,000.

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #136

Jan 302014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
My sister borrowed my 2010 Chevy Cobalt in January to take my cousin for his drivers license. While practice driving before his test the power steering stopped working and he nearly hit a tree. I took the car back to the dealer and was told the problem was not covered under warranty and I had to pay to fix the problem. The dealer replaced the power steering motor. I now find there is a major recall for this issue with the 2010 Chevy Cobalt but I'm told my car is not being recalled for this issue. Coincidence or are they not correcting this problem on all of the affected vehicles? if my cousin crashed the car that day and someone was injured, Chevrolet would be in litigation with me over this issue right now.

- Winslow, NJ, USA

problem #135

May 012014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I have a Chevy Cobalt lt 2010. I got it used with 40000 miles on last year. I was in my car driving back home from school. All the sudden I smelled gas or burned oil. It is happening every once a while but I never paid attention to it. I pulled over. I turned my car off and I turned it back on in some couple minutes. Also it takes me a while to switch the gear when I am in the highway. The brakes also are not working as I am pushing them hard. They have a delay to stop my car. I did not know anything about the Chevy Cobalt recall. When I got the notification letter from GM I realized that I should report these issues that have been constantly happening to my car. I am student. I do really need my car for my daily commute. I am going to ask GM to rent a car for me until the part gets fixed. However, even after this car gets fixed I am thinking that this car is not reliable to drive any more. I am not really feeling safe driving this car. I have heard that there have been some accidents due to the engine ignition issues and other issues regarding to this car. I am really scared about driving my car again, even if this gets fixed.

- Blacksburg, VA, USA

problem #134

May 112012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
In the middle of driving, the vehicle will shut off and on (multiple times) which affects the fuel and RPM gauges, loss of all power steering, all electrical starts going crazy (locks and unlocks the doors), starts flashing "low fuel" and "power steering" warnings and then car will go into complete lock mode. As of 4/30: Has been fixed under the recall issue, however vehicle is still having these problems.

- Hollister, CA, USA

problem #133

Oct 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
While driving on the highway at 70mph an alarm went off and the dash information board flashed that the power steering was out. When you turn the car off and restart, the power steering works again. Back in 2012, it may work for 30 minutes. That lasted a few weeks. Now the power steering goes out in 30 seconds. I checked in 2012 and there was no recall for the power steering. I tried to get the car inspected today and it failed because of the lack of power steering. I checked again with Chevy and it still is not recalled even though most Cobalts have been recalled for this failure. I don't know why mine isn't on the list. I can't get the car inspected and parts are hard to come by because of the recall.

- Port Lavaca, TX, USA

problem #132

Apr 172014

Cobalt

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated as the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering motor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 58,000.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #131

Apr 072014

Cobalt

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the power steering assist failed and made the steering wheel extremely difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 15,000.

- Elgin , IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?