Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,421 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 7 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Jul 162013

Cobalt

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering warning light illuminated. The dealer advised that vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 10V073000 (steering). The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 65,000.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #69

Jun 202013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Power steering failed with a chime and display. My wife was driving and could not steer vehicle safely. She was near home and managed to get in our driveway. I started car and it was fine. Next day, same thing when I was driving. I shut down the car, restarted, and it was fine. Next day same thing. Dealer was contacted, no recall for our VIN. Mfg date was Feb. 2010; recall was March 3, 2010. Called Chevy, case file: 71-1197613449 but no interest from them. Called dealer, and we were still under warranty so car was repaired no cost. Seems fine now but in seeing so many other complaints, not sure it will last. How many complaints like this does it take for a recall to be expanded"????"

- Green Lane, PA, USA

problem #68

Jul 102013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 56,970 miles
While driving this vehicle, the power steering motor failed without warning, making the car difficult to steer.

- Taylorsville, UT, USA

problem #67

Mar 012013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Newton, NJ, USA

problem #66

Apr 112013

Cobalt

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the power steering warning light illuminates as the power steering system malfunctioned. The contact had the vehicle remedied under the NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 10V073000 (steering) but the repair did not stop the power steering system from malfunctioning. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 63,000. The VIN was not available.

- Bristol , WI, USA

problem #65

Jun 262013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated as the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #64

Jun 032013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While beginning to turn at a corner my power steering light came on making it very difficult to turn the steering wheel of the car. I called my husband and he said to pull over and turn the car off and restart. So I did but after driving a few more miles the power steering light came on again and this continued until I made it home.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #63

Jun 202013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 2,400 miles
Sudden warning display and loss of power steering resulting in sudden increase in steering effort, especially at low speeds. Fortunately I was on a straight residential street and had sufficient strength to maintain control of the vehicle. I am an adult male. Others may have less strength which could easily result in loss of control of the vehicle.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #62

Jun 112013

Cobalt

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 20 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated as the vehicle lost power steering assistance. The vehicle was shut down then restarted and functioned normally. The contact stated that the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V073000 (steering). The failure mileage was approximately 53,000.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #61

Jun 132013

Cobalt

  • 13,173 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the power steering indicator illuminated with a loud chime. There was a sudden loss of the steering wheel, which became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was being driven in extremely hot and humid temperatures when the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis and repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired in 2010 under NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering), however the remedy did not prevent the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 13,173.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #60

Jun 112013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 61,082 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 75 mph, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver as the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electric power steering motor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure where it was advised that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 10V073000 (steering). The manufacturer did not provide any further assistance. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 61,082.

- Davison, MI, USA

problem #59

Jun 062013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Driving at 35 mph and panel light comes on showing power steering. Steering becomes real hard making turning the vehicle extremely difficult to maneuver. Due to the excessive force needed to turn the vehicle slightly and the unexpected frequent occurrence of the problem, makes this a safety violation and could cause a crash or even a life. The dealer was contacted on this and I was told my particular VIN model number was not covered. I was also informed by the dealer that this problem was not occurring on 2010 models and that they had not received any complaints from owners of 2010 Cobalts. If this is the case, why are some 2010 models covered while others are not? I feel the dealer does not want to cover this recall even though it is a safety hazard and they are picking and choosing which vehicles to repair. If there is a recall, then the vehicle should be fixed. There is a recall and T he NHTSA should make them repair all 2010S needing this repair and the dealer should not have the option to pick and choose.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #58

Jun 092013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 44,495 miles
No power steering assist. Vehicle was hard to turn. Message appeared on dic. Would reset after turning vehicle off and restarting but problem would reoccur after driving approximately 20 to 50 feet. Vehicle stored a dtc C0475. Chevrolet claimed that this vehicle was not covered by the recall. An eps motor was replaced to correct this fault at a cost of $84. No labor cost due to performing own maintenance.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #57

Jun 042013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 54,599 miles
While driving my power steering went out so I had to pull to the side of the road to avoid an accident. I then turned my car off and then back on and it appeared fine. A few miles down the road it did the exact same thing again.

- Great Falls, MT, USA

problem #56

May 132013

Cobalt

  • 55,689 miles
I drove my car to work and could not shut the car off. Ignition cylinder froze in run position. Had to let car run for hours until I could leave work and take to dealer. The tech at dealer said there is a tsb 09-02-35-005B. Oh wait that's just for automatics. The dealership had the Chevrolet Cobalt part in stock. Cost 213.70! john bowman Chevrolet invoice #[xxx]. GM jerked me around for three weeks before they denied my claim. Please help. Is a car that won't shut off a safety item? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Holly , MI, USA

problem #55

Jun 032013

Cobalt

  • 56,000 miles
Driving to work I noticed the steering became increasingly difficult to maneuver. I made it to work and called my local service center and was told it was an electrical issue. Online I looked up a few things and others with the same problem said it was approximately $1,200 to repair. I also saw where Chevrolet issued a recall back in 2010 for this vehicle and the press release stated that "this is a condition that takes time to develop" -- which is why it did not occur in my vehicle until 3 years later (this vehicle was purchased in April 2010). Can the recall still be used to obtain this repair?

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #54

May 272013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 32,240 miles
While driving down the street, I heard a chime and the power steering light came on my dashboard. Immediately after, my power steering stopped working & I had to slow down and pull over. After lifting the hood to check my fluids, I realized that I have electric power steering. I got back into the car and turned it on. The power steering worked for another 5 miles then shut off again. Luckily, I was almost home when it turned off and was able to manually steer it into my parking space.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #53

Apr 112013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
I own a 2010 Cobalt lt, on April 11, 2013 I was backing out of a parking space and the power steering light came on and the power steering went out. I went to the dealership and they were closed, I then went to an auto store for help. Discovered I had electronic power steering. After about 15 mins it was fine. Car was fine until April 18, 2013, it happened again, I was driving in a parking lot and the light came on and no power steering, I shut off the car for a couple of hours it was ok. Then on April 24, 2013 it did it again as I was driving, again turned off the car it was ok for a short time and went out again. Happened again several times when driving on April 25 & 26.each time I shut off the car it would be ok for a few mins then shut off again. I called Chevrolet customer service on April 11, 2013 and they told me there were no recalls on my specific car yet I've read several articles about 2007-2010 Cobalts. I also contacted the dealership and they are refusing to take care of even a diagnostic test I believe this is a safety issue, I am afraid to drive my car very much because of this.the dealership says that the recall is closed, yet the article I read says that it takes some time for this to happen. I bought my car used in 2011 and if I had known there was a recall I never would have bought the car. The dealership people were very rude as I was very upset at trying to get this rectified.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #52

Apr 092013

Cobalt

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the steering wheel seized as the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure was experienced numerous times. The steering wheel returned to normal function when the engine was restarted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 52,000.

- Fort Irwin , CA, USA

problem #51

Jun 012012

Cobalt

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering was lost and the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure occurred intermittently and frequently. The contact was able to resolve the issue by restarting the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection who stated the failure was caused by an emission problem. No repairs were made. The manufacturer was notified. There was a recall NHTSA campaign id number:10V073000 (steering); however, the VIN was not included. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000. The current mileage was 45,000.

- Alliance, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?