Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 3 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #356

Jan 082015

Impala

  • 130,434 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the car used at dealership in rochester NY it had around 128000 when bought it died out at about 131000 they claimed that the car was fully inspected was a total failure had to spend a 1000 plus dollars at good year to months after bought had no heat sh*t heads could fix it I want my money back for the car I way over pay I paid 5300 with taxes and sitting in my drive way dead... the call the deaker no response I have warranty but they wont answer or do work.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #355

Oct 152014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 83,817 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, one of the keys was not repaired. The contact mentioned that when the spare key was used the security light illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 83,817. Updated 5/5/15 updated 9/16/2015

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #354

Apr 012014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 03/30/15

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #353

Nov 072013

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Chevrolet Impala. Customer received repairs due to recall and is requesting repairs. The consumer stated the transmission had to be replaced, because the vehicle would to hesitate and then jerk. Pieces of metal were discovered in the transmission pan indicating an internal fault. Also, the ignition and cylinder were replaced.

- Galt, CA, USA

problem #352

Mar 042013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The car will not start all lights and heat comes on or air the security light flashes will take anywhere from 5mins to 30 minutes to start you guys really need to address this issue I have seen so many complaints about it and im not understanding why there has not been a recall issued as of yet. Me and my 2 year were stuck in the car in 0 below conditions for at least 20 mins I cried the whole time thinking my baby was freezing were we had left from had just closed and there was nothing to do but wait I need my car to get around please recall and fix this issue for your customer we look to you guys to give us safe cars.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #351

Mar 012013

Impala

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The contact mentioned that there were no other keys on the ring and no additional weight other than the single ignition key. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 14V400000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Bellville, OH, USA

problem #350

Oct 012014

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #349

Jan 182015

Impala

  • 116,000 miles
Hello, I just purchased this vehicle from a used car dealer and drove it to work two days later. I work an hour away and take the turnpike....I noticed while I was driving that the speedometer was near 90, and when I pulled into my jobs parking lot I was near 40 mph...the parking lot's speed limit is 10 miles per hour with speedbumps so I knew something was wrong. When I got off of work my gas tank read past the full mark....I have been filling the tank every other day to prevent being stranded. I immediately called the dealer and he took a look at it. I purchased the car on 01/17/15 and today's date is 02/01/15 and I am still waiting to get the problem resolved. I've researched online and seen a lot Chevy Impala have this problem. Most notably 2001-2005 I would be eternally grateful if the matter can be resolved. Thanks, [xxx] P.S. there weren't specific options for the problems. They are:the gas gauge, speedometer, the whole panel....I found out this is called a cluster" or cluster panel" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #348

Jan 272015

Impala

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at approximately 25 mph, the passlock security system disabled independently. Additionally, the security lights and exterior lighting began to flash. The vehicle failed to restart. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #347

Dec 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer had car fixed and received no reimbursement. The consumer replaced the dash lights and there was an issue with the air condition and heat..

- Feasterville-Trevose, PA, USA

problem #346

Jun 182014

Impala

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the speedometer and tachometer gauge failed to read the accurate reading levels. The contact mentioned that the gauges sporadically increased and decreased. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #345

Oct 032008

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Impala ls ignition lock cylinder was replaced. The consumer is seeking reimbursement, in light of the recall.

- Grabill, IN, USA

problem #344

Dec 012013

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Impala dealer has not received part for recall the consumer stated in December 2013, he began to experience a problem while driving on the interstate at 65 mph. The vehicle would lose power, including the speedometer dropping to zero. A local repair shop inspected the vehicle, and informed the consumer, the speedometer in the cluster had apparently gone bad. The cluster was replaced. However, the problem happened again. The consumer went to another shop and they stated the speed control sensor was not functioning properly. The part was replaced and the problem did not return.

- South Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #343

Dec 222014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Berkeley Springs, WV, USA

problem #342

May 072014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Impala keys and ignition switch. The consumer stated the repairs were done on October 13, 2014. However, she did not believe the recall adequately addressed the problem she experienced with the ignition. On May 7, 2014, she was unable to start the vehicle, because the security light malfunctioned and locked the ignition. The ignition cylinder was replaced at a cost of $ $525.21. Updated 12/10/14.

- New Prague, MN, USA

problem #341

Nov 032014

Impala

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and crashed into a barrier and a speed sign. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Danville, AL, USA

problem #340

Oct 302013

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Chevrolet Impala. Customer requesting reimbursement car quit, due to ignition switch malfunction.

- Berea, KY, USA

problem #339

Oct 102014

Impala

  • 55 miles
Driving down the road with my high beams on, my headlights went out completely. My low beams work ok but if I use high beams they randomly go out. This is the second GM vehicle I have had with this problem. The mechanic at the GM dealership said 4 of his 6 family members have had same problem. A former co-worker had same problem. I contacted GM and was told my car was to old for them to fix it...

- Clymer, NY, USA

problem #338

Feb 032014

Impala

  • 160,000 miles
The key switch is bad some times after it is started all dash is not working and security system is locked and you have to shut it down some times more then once have been told the key switch is bad I ask someone at G.M. if they could send me the switch but told me I had to take it to a shop did that and all that was done is put a piece of something in the key that did not help that the switch is bad is there any one that can help or just send me a switch I can put it in.

- Frankfort , KY, USA

problem #337

Nov 132014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
I just bought a 2004 Chevy Impala just 1 week ago (70K miles), and I'm already having major ignition trouble. When I turn the key, nothing happens -- the security light blinks a few times. We replaced the battery and cranking relay switch, and no luck. I've search the web and youtube, and this appears to be a common problem. Some say that the car needs to "relearn" my key. Other sites say I need to deactivate/reset the security system. Sometimes the car stars with no problem. I don't know what triggers the issue. This is beyond frustrating, and I don't have any more money to put in this car. Please, please help. Thanks!

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?