Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,655 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Feb 022015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Chevrolet Impala. Customer unsatisfied with GM response to fixing life safety issue. Consumer sent additional correspondence. The consumer stated the vehicle continues to have an engineering defect in the ignition switch, that could lead to the switch coming out of the run position. The consumer stated GM's fix was to modify the key and use smaller key rings. The consumer stated that was just a patch, that does not resolve the underlying engineering design manufacturing defect in the ignition. Status update 02/10/15 updated 06/22/15.

- Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA

problem #43

Nov 222014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to GM recall 14299.* ld the consumer stated there were three sets of keys to the vehicle. However, GM stated they would only correct two keys under the recall.

- Canton, MA, USA

problem #42

Nov 012014

Impala

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the air conditioning system made an abnormal noise. The failure caused the interior of the vehicle to become extremely hot and occurred whether the vehicle was on or off. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the auxiliary motor power needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #41

Jan 012015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to GM recall 14299 and 12104. The consumer learned of the ignition switch and lower control arm recall. However, the dealer stated they would only address the ignition switch recall, because they had not been notified of any other recalls or problems with the suspension. The consumer stated from time to time, when she turned the steering wheel to the left or right, there was a noise similar to the tire rubbing the fender.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #40

Jan 282015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Enid, MS, USA

problem #39

Dec 102014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
Odometer and transmission position went blank.

- Maitland, FL, USA

problem #38

Jun 292012

Impala

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, the following lights came on 3 months after purchase. Service stabilitrak, engine power reduced, service traction control. Turned car off for about 30 minutes, and lights went off and were able to drive home. That Monday, took car to dealer, and were told it was a part that had something to do with the fuel. Out of warrant, but they covered it anyway considering I just purchased the vehicle. Same lights came on again roughly about 6 months later, noticeably when it's wet out. Lights would eventually go off after car sits so after reading threads, I assumed this was normal when it was wet out. Late 2013 lights came on again, had wheel bearing replaced and lights went off for a while. Early 2014 lights are on again, and I start noticing hard shifting in transmission, but ignored because I know there¿'s no way my trans could be bad considering the car was only 2 years old at the time. Thanksgiving 2014, I was planning a shopping trip to indianapolis, and no lights, but transmission went out. Car would not move whatsoever, and I had to get the car towed. Took car to several dealers and some said it was the trans and some said it was not. Either way, it was going to cost me a whole lot of money I did not have considering the transmission went out 3000 miles after warranty ended. Had transmission replaced, and walllah lights are back on. One dealer said I had another bad wheel baring, but did not produce any paper work with the code. Took it elsewhere for a second opinion, and found out that the dealer forgot to connect the line that's connected to the wheel baring. Lights are now off and I'm happy. Today, the day after christmas, now that I'm flat broke and have $30 to my name, lights are back on and I'm mentally exhausted. Cannot report as a lemon because I have had the vehicle longer than 1 year, and my warranty is exhausted.

- Pontiac, MI, USA

problem #37

Dec 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chevrolet Impala. Problems with the ignition switch. The consumer stated the fix GM proposed was not acceptable and the ignition switch should be replaced, instead of adding rings and altering the key slot.

- Horton, KS, USA

problem #36

Jun 142014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 53,723 miles
Upon cranking the car using the key, the car started to make a ticking noise on the right side appearing to come from the engine when the temperature knob is set to heat; however, when the noise stops when the temperature is moved to cold air. The car was service when I purchased it in June 2014 by willett Honda South. Now, December 2014, the noise has started again, as well as, the transmission has gone in this car!!!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #35

Dec 012014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chevrolet Impala consumer not satisfied with ignition recall

- Brooklyn, MI, USA

problem #34

Aug 172012

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received my first recall notice 14299, in mid August and I am still unable to get this taken care of. The second letter we received in October said the dealership had parts but when I called for an appointment they said they did not have the parts. So far, all they have done is put us on a list for an appointment. The repairs will consist of 2 16 mm key rings, along with an insert for the key slot, or a cover over the key head. If this is a problem with the ignition, do you consider this the proper way for repairs to be made ? supposedly the repairs are to take 15 minutes, and meantime we are driving a car with 38,000 miles on it, that may just stop in traffic. There has to be more done to protect the public, and it seems your office should get behind these repairs.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #33

Mar 142013

Impala

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the check engine and stability control warning lights illuminated. Also, the vehicle's speed reduced independently as the engine reduced power light illuminated. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000.

- Deridder, LA, USA

problem #32

Oct 202014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 67,435 miles
The GM recall to repair faulty ignition switches is a sham. The problem was announced last winter; in August 2014 I received a letter telling me about the recall and that I would receive a further letter when the parts to repair the problem became available. Friday, October 17, 2014, I received a letter from GM's Chevrolet division, which they dated "September 2014" informing me that my "2011 model year Chevrolet Impala was involved in GM recall 14299. This letter is to inform you that parts are now available to repair your vehicle." A call this morning, Monday, October 20, 2014, to my Chevrolet dealer, johnson motors, brighton, Colorado, that services my vehicle informed me that they did not have the parts, and did not know when they would be available. "I should keep calling back." I asked if could be put on a list to call when the part(s) became available, and was told a blunt "no." They do not keep a list of customers to call. A call to GM's customer service informed me that the 'parts' consisted of a device, likely plastic, maybe metal, that fits on the ignition key itself, doing nothing for the defective ignition switch, which is the major problem to begin with. I was further told that there was no way to be informed when the part(s) would be available. At that point I lost my temper. This is a patently absurd response on the part of GM to a serious ignition switch problem that has caused at least 25 deaths so far and untold numbers of non-fatal accidents. Their "fix" has nothing to do with the ignition switch, but instead a sham piece of plastic will be added to the owner's key, if she/he is persistent enough to find one available. You, the NHTSA, should be levying heavy fines against GM for every day this sham response of theirs is perpetrated. I will be copying this to both my U.S. senators and to my congressman.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #31

Oct 132014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Gardenia, CA, USA

problem #30

Aug 012013

Impala

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated when making a turn, the ABS and the traction warning lights illuminated. The contact also stated that the vehicle hesitated to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #29

Oct 082014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was unavailable. The dealer stated that they were receiving limited parts and that the contact may be placed on a waiting list. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Haven, WV, USA

problem #28

Aug 052013

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice in August, 2014 on my car. It is now Oct, and when I call anyone, I only get told that the parts are not yet available. This means that it has been 2 months since the notice, and GM has know for over a year about this defect. It doesn't seem that they are very interested in getting this defect corrected. The parts needed for this are not difficult to make or install nor are they expensive. What is the hold-up" do additional people have to die while they dawdle? doesn't the highway safety commission have the responsibility to get these repairs done in a timely manner, or are they as ineffective as other government agencies"

- Brigham City , UT, USA

problem #27

Oct 032014

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/09/14 updated 06/1/2015

- Wrights Town, NJ, USA

problem #26

Aug 252014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for months. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #25

Sep 302014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V355000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?