Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,782 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 11 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #253

Jul 012014

Malibu

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel became extremely rough and difficult to steer. The contact stated while traveling on a major highway or roadway, there was a loud noise heard as the power steering sensor illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The contact had to turn the vehicle off and on before the steering wheel would unlock. The contact was able to unlock the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed and repaired the power steering module. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #252

Jul 032014

Malibu

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the steering wheel seized while making a loud noise without warning. The failure occurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the electronic control unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #251

Jul 182014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Steering wheel locked up and I was unable to make a turn. I had to brake sudden so as to not run into the back of another car. Message came across radio saying power steering. I pulled the car over with alot of difficulty and called my husband to come to see if we needed a tow. When he arrived and started car it worked fine. We called our dealer as we purchased the vehicle only 4 days prior to this and they stated that they would investigate as there was currently no recalls for this year. I am worried about driving the vehicle now since this may happen again and since reading other comments from others that this is apparently an issue that GM is aware of and not correcting.

- Bear Creek Twp, PA, USA

problem #250

May 052014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 174,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the steering wheel would tighten when driving at lower speeds and attempting to accelerate. This failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing, who stated that the ignition coil and module assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 174,000. Updated 9/18/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The vehicle would exhibit loss of power when accelerating and clicking nooses from the dash at the same time. The steering would tighten and want to turn. The battery warning light flashes with the dinging sound. Updated 2/11/2015

- New Franken, WI, USA

problem #249

May 012014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
Backing out of my parking spot, my steering wheel locked up. It has done this 5 or 6 times now. Sometimes it will locked up just once, then release. Other times, it locks up then releases and will repeat this several times.

- Webb City, MO, USA

problem #248

Jul 152014

Malibu

  • 75,000 miles
It's happened 3 times, driving various speeds the steering locks up. First time I was making a right turn and the car instantly locked up. I put the car in park and powered car off then started it back up it was fine. Second time about 3 months after the first time went threw a stop light started up a hill and the dash lights all flicker the radio powered off and the seat belt noise went off 2 or 3 times and the car locked up. I parked the car powered it off. Started it again it was fine. Last time it happened I was at a stop light making a right turn and again the steering locked up and I had to park my car and power it off on a main street where it's very busy. I started it again and it was fine this last time was on July 15, 2014. This car with all the recalls I feel is a death trap.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #247

Jul 212014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 137,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering assist suddenly quit several times while driving; both at freeway speed and while exiting the freeway at about 15 mph. When the power steering fails the steering column would make a clicking sound, sometimes there would be a chime and the battery light indicator on the dash. Only one time the center console displayed "power steering." We narrowly avoided a crash while going around a curve in the freeway. The loss of power assist required exerting more force than normal to avoid colliding with the divider. When the power steering re-engaged without warning we swerved towards a truck in the adjacent lane. We took it to the nearest dealer who said it's a faulty ignition coil causing a short in the power steering. Cost quoted was $500 to fix in addition to $450 for the shifter cable that also went out.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #246

Jun 262014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 174,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was an intermittent loss of power steering. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 174,000.. updated 09/02/14 the consumer stated the steering tightens up and wants to turn on the acceleration and loss of power occurs. At this time, a clicking sound could be heard from the steering column. The battery light flashed from the steering column. The battery light flashed on and off at times with a dinging sound. Updated 11/4/2014

- New Franklen, WI, USA

problem #245

Jul 042014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 134,146 miles
Steering shakes while driving and at idle. Steering wheel jerks to left side while driving also. Starts shaking at ignition start up and continues until completely powered down. At speeds above 30 mph vehicle steering wheel hard to control and jerks to the left more often.

- Parkton, NC, USA

problem #244

Jun 232014

Malibu

  • 91,000 miles
The steering wheel on my 2007 Malibu ls suddenly started jerking both to the left and right as I was driving down a residential road going about 30 mph. As I turned right, the car was harder to turn as the steering wheel was still jerking and moving the whole car in several degrees further than I moved it and then jerked in the opposite direction. As I was at a red light and my foot was on the brake, I removed my hands from the steering wheel and it was moving on its own left and right. About 3 minutes later the warning came on my radio indicator. I took the car in to get checked and was told the power steering motor was out and so was the steering angle sensor and that with parts, labor and tax it would cost $1,478.69 to fix at the dealership where I purchased.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #243

Aug 132010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 14,950 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This incident report should actually count as three complaints, since the power steering failure on this car has happened three times. The first time was on 8/13/10, mileage 14950. The second time was on 3/17/11, mileage 18001. The third time was yesterday, 6/2/14, mileage 49852, this is getting to be ridiculous that I keep having to replace the power steering unit on this vehicle. Counting the original, this will be the fourth power steering unit. When the pump fails, all driveability is lost, and the car becomes impossible to steer. Luckily, in two of the incidents, I was driving a speed of around 35mph. Yesterday's failure happened in our driveway. My wife was getting ready to go to denver, and was to be driving on I-25. Now I'm not sure what would have happened if the failure happened on the interstate, but I now have absolutely not confidence that this 2007 Malibu is safe to drive on the road. GM should offer free replacement of the power steering units, in these cars, for the life of the vehicle. Averaging a life of 12K miles for the unit is totally unacceptable. I would love if the CEO of GM, [xxx], would take this car off my hands for about a month, and use it to drive her family around. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #242

May 122009

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
When I would turn a corner the steering wheel would vibrate. I took it to get a wheel alignment thinking that was the problem. As time went by it got harder to steer, the steering wheel would jerk. It was getting so hard to drive I was afraid to take it anywhere.I had to go to olympia for supplies. I was driving from my home in grapeview to olympia and the wheel pulled so violent on hwy 101 I was afraid I would drive into another car.it was mostly jerking to the right so I stayed in the right lane so I wouldn't hit another car but just go off the hwy. It pulled so fast and hard it hurt my wrists. I would have called for a tow but didn't have my cell phone. I was closer to olympia than home so I made the decision to go there. I drove it to the titis-will Chevrolet in olympia and they advised me to leave it there because it was too dangerous to drive. And they repaired it a few days later. I read on the internet others were having the same problem but Chevrolet company wouldn't help them.

- Grapeview, WA, USA

problem #241

Jun 192014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
My car steering wheel started to shake and pull to the left I got out and checked my wheels as I got back into the car the steering wheel was turning on its own. Car is not safe to drive it can't be steered.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #240

Jun 222014

Malibu

  • 124,000 miles
Power steering warning on dash display, failed. Power steering did come back on restart, but still have warning. Dealer says requires motor, steering column, intermediate shaft, almost $2000. Says he thinks there will be recall - maybe!

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #239

Jun 162014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Mid shaft on steering column rattles on uneven surfaces. Dealer states this is normal in the 2007 Chevy Malibu.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #238

May 242014

Malibu

  • 135,405 miles
While turning onto a freeway on-ramp the power steering failed entirely for several seconds and a clicking sound similar to when the turn signal comes on came from the steering column. After traveling about 100 meters, the power steering came back on causing us to over-correct and narrowly miss the barriers.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #237

Apr 092014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
See claim number 10575777. When is the power steering problems on the 2007 Malibu going to be added to the recall list?

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #236

Jun 022014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator blumenthal on behalf of constituent of broad brook, Connecticut, regarding issue she is experiencing with her 2007 Chevrolet Malibu ls and wish to learn whether a recall has been issued for this issue. The consumer stated the steering wheel shifted around uncontrollably. She stated the power steering light illuminated, when the vehicle was in park or while she was driving.

- Broad Brook, CT, USA

problem #235

Jun 122014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Was driving home and the power steering went out. When I start the car now it works fine until I shift the car in gear and then the steering goes out again. I haven't even had the car a week and I have found that all years but 2007 have been recalled for power steering issues. Something needs to be done about the 2007!

- Vandalia, MO, USA

problem #234

Feb 242014

Malibu

  • 106,888 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the power steering failed. The contact mentioned that the steering wheel was very hard to turn. The failure occurred on two occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who replaced the electronic steering column and air bag module. The contact stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000(electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The approximate failure mileage was 106,888.

- Urbana, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?