Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 32
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 2 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #183

Apr 102015

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 136,800 miles


We were traveling from spokane, wa to portland, or, when we got to richland, wa the check engine light came on. We stopped and scanned the computer and gave us a code for a faulty pedal sensor. We erased the code and turned the Trailblazer on and it came back on in about 10 minutes. We read online that other people that have Trailblazer ss are having this issues and there was a recall on the sensor and they are getting theirs replaced. I talked to autonation Chevrolet and camp Chevrolet here in spokane, wa and they both have heard of the recall and the issue but since it won't show up under my VIN number they will not honor the recall. They won't 100 to 150 to diagnose when it took me 5 seconds and they want us to pay about 600+ dollars for an repair that should be free. I read about the sensor and our truck is doing everything it says it will do. When you are at a light and go to push the gas pedal it boggs down like about to die then lunges forward and shifting hard between gear 1 or 2. can someone please help us with this and help us get the dealership to work with us. If we continue to drive it an accident could happen any moment. This is a huge hazard!!!

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #182

Apr 082015

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 121,146 miles
I recently purchased this vehicle 3 weeks ago from a dealer in St augustine, Florida. The engine will just shut off when I am driving, I have two young children and am concerned that this could cause an accident when driving. I have not been able to get any help from the dealer where I purchased the vehicle even to do a diagnostic on the vehicle. Has there been any problems/ recalls with the ignition switch on this make and model, even when at idle it will shut off, without touching anything.

- St Augustine, FL, USA

problem #181

Jun 272014


  • 100,000 miles
Hello, my name is [xxx] owner of a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The issue with my vehicle is that my wife was driving it down a highway in northern Michigan, driving at about 45-50 mph and the vehicle just shut off while driving. When the vehicle shut down she lost power to steer and brakes. If this incident happened in the city or on the freeway this could have been fatal. I called Chevrolet and started a claim, the person I talked to couldn't speak much english or understand it as well. I told them what had happened and they wrote back with a entirely different story. They sent me to a local dealership, to get advise. The only thing they could tell me was there is no recall on that switch. All I was trying to do was make Chevrolet knowledgeable about the situation. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #180

Mar 162015


  • 110,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, smoke started coming through the vents of the vehicle. In addition, the contact stated that the windshield wipers became inoperable. A fire and a police report were not filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the circuit board needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V406000 (electrical system, visibility); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #179

Mar 152013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the low beam head lamps shut off intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000. Updated 4/30/15

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #178

Dec 262014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
4WD disengages and becomes 2wd only 4WD will not reengage.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #177

Feb 052015

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 139,624 miles


The drivers side low beam headlight was not working. When my dad opened the hood there was an aroma of burning wire. My dad removed the rubber cap for the low beam headlight and found the plastic electrical connector to the low beam bulb was burnt and charred. My dad removed the connector in order to avoid a fire. I contacted GM customer service and they informed me that there was not a current recall for my VIN number and that I would have to take it to a dealer for repair. I contacted a dealer and they informed me that the repair could run hundreds of dollars and they could not confirm that the problem would not happen again.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #176

Feb 152014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Engine light came on and never went off. Have had in garage 4 times and no one able to fix. I have had every code fixed and cleared but light still stays on. The last time in shop light was off when all codes reset and as soon as I drove it a short distance, light returned. Now light goes on and then off and on again. It can last for days or a short drive. Car runs fine and no one can see to find problem.

- Clackamas , OR, USA

problem #175

Jan 192015


  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the door lock system failed and caused the contact to be locked inside the vehicle. The contact was able to exit the vehicle through the hatch back door. In addition, the headlights failed to illuminate. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V248000 (electrical system, visibility door module) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V755000 (exterior lighting) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The failure mileage was 127,000.

- Collinsville, VA, USA

problem #174

Jan 092015

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,083 miles
(on or about Jan 9, 2015) upon driving at approximately 40 mph, the 2006 Trailblazer stalled. I was very fortunate that no car was behind me since it was a two lane highway, and I surely would have been rear ended. At that time the passlock light lit on the dashboard. I immediately put the car in park and it started. (again on Feb 4, 2015) driving on a three lane highway and traveling at approximately 25 mph (intending to turn left in a approx 50 yards) in the middle lane, the Trailblazer stalled. Again the passlock light lit on the dashboard, I again quickly put the car in park and it started. Again we were fortunate not to have a car directly behind us, or we would have surely been rear ended!

- Tamaqua, PA, USA

problem #173

Jan 302015


  • miles


Have not owned this vehicle since 2010-traded in to independence Honda, bloomsburg, pa please take me off list- I continue to get every recall. Thank you, [xxx] żinformation redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).ż

- Mountain Top, PA, USA

problem #172

Jan 212015

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 109,465 miles
The problem started on Wednesday January 21, 2015; I started my car up to let it warm up while I dusted off the snow. I notice my heated seats were not working. I turned the car off and restarted it. As soon as I restarted it the car began to backfire and stale. It would start but then stale out. I had to get the trucked towed to the local mechanic. I pick up my truck that evening and it ran fine. The next morning Thursday January 22, I got in my truck and it started right up. However, every stop I came to the truck just shut off. I restarted it and then would just shut off at the next stop. The engine light did not come on until I was drive to the mechanic. Again that evening I picked up my truck and everything was fine. Friday January 23, I was driving my 7 year old to school and the car just shut off while I was driving down a steep hill. I had no brakes or steering. This happened 3 times. I again took my car to the mechanic. He kept my car for 4 day. I finally picked it up yesterday January 24 and it is still not fixed. My mechanic said he is stumped. It drove great after picking it up. Then this morning January 25, as I was taking my daughter to school, my car shut off 3 time while I was driving down two hills. Then it staled 2 more times while I was a red lights. I nearly missed two accidents. By doing research online I found hundreds upon hundreds of complaints from people having the same issue. I call the local Chevy mechanic and he said this is an known problem. I called Chevy directly and they too are aware of the problem and number of complaints. I even found complaints on this very site. I'm just curious if someone has to die before this problem gets fixed. I have a recall on my drivers door for a part that catches fire, but no recall for the truck just shutting off when in motion. Doesn't make sense to me.

- Pittsburgh , PA, USA

problem #171

Jan 242015

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 77,500 miles
Ignition switch key cant be released when trying to go to the lock position when in park.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #170

Nov 232014


  • 133,800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 45 mph, the engine seized without warning. As a result, the vehicle lost all electricity and power steering. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 133,800.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #169

Nov 132013


  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that smoke started to emit from the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the air conditioner and heat became inoperable preventing the windows from defrosting. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that the climate control panel needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000.

- Barrington, NH, USA

problem #168

Oct 212014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
On Tuesday, October 21, 2014, at approximately 11:30 a.M. while my husband and I were driving on the West side of the standing rock sioux reservation my 2006 Trailblazer ext caught on fire. We both smelled smoke, parked (didn't turn off the ignition) and flames began to shoot out from underneath the front driver's side of the vehicle. We got out and ran to the West side of the roadway as the fire engulfed the entire front motor area. My purse was still in the burning vehicle and I told my husband he ran back to the burning vehicle to retrieve it. He sustained burns to his hands, face, legs and feet. In addition he received smoke inhalation to a degree of a "black out" stage. We witnessed the tires burn up one after another, beginning with the front driver's side, then the passenger side, the rear driver's and the passenger's side - at this point we moved further away from the burning vehicle as we expected the car to explode once it reached the gas tank area, but somehow the gas tank didn't explode. In fact, the spare tire which sits underneath the gas tank received a slight singe and did not burn (along with the gas tank). The only warning we had was the "smell of smoke" - the Trailblazer's dash warning light did not appear to indicate anything was wrong. In addition, on or about October 25, 2014, another Trailblazer (same area) also burnt up (as reported by bureau of land management).

- Fort Hall, ID, USA

problem #167

Nov 102014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
We own a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer with 86492 miles on it. Yesterday after filling the vehicle to a full tank of gas. The fuel gauge would drop to empty and the empty tank light will come on.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #166

Oct 302014

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 163,863 miles
I was driving approximately 40 mph and all of a sudden I lost power in the vehicle. I had no acceleration, I lose power steering. Vehicle was still powered on but I could not pick up speed or steer vehicle. I had to pull over to the shoulder and cut off ignition then restart vehicle. Once restarted I had full functionality again. This has happened 4 times in the last 30 days. Vehicle has also started stalling when attempt to start up.

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #165

Oct 162014


  • 180,300 miles
My door module went bad. The part has a recall, the manufacture doesn't have a fix. The manufacture wants me to pay for another defective part. Then reimburse me when they have the fix. I couldn't make sense of this since the part is under recall just swap it out for another defective part. When ever they have a fix let me know I will take my vehicle. Why pay for something that has a recall. If your going to reimburse me anyway! I will like to keep my 500+ and not wait for GM to pay me back. Plus they want to pay a diagnostic fee when I told them what the problem is.

- East Stroudsburg , PA, USA

problem #164

Aug 012014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet trail Blazer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V404000 (electrical). However, the part for repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experience the failure.

- Freemont, NE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?