Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 32
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 6 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #103

Sep 112012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the driver side window started opening and closing independently. In addition, the side mirror started moving forward and backward independently and without activation. After parking the vehicle, the engine would shut itself off and the entire electrical system would become inoperable. Also, none of the doors could be unlocked and the failure would recur for several minutes before the contact would be able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer who advised that the power window module was defective, causing all of the electrical system to become inoperable. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000: (electrical system) but her VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who confirmed that the contact's VIN was not included in the recall, offering no further assistance. The failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 10/10/12 updated 10/10/2012

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #102

Dec 032010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Gas gauge began to malfunction in December. It would go from full to empty every once in a while. Over time it got worse and worse, until now, where it does not work at all.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #101

Sep 052012

Trailblazer

  • 69,100 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that when she entered the vehicle, she smelled a burning odor. The contact was unaware of where the odor was coming from however, she later discovered a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed her that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 69,100.

- Morristown, PA, USA

problem #100

Aug 062012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle windows open and close randomly. The front driver panel controls all windows and will close the windows randomly if open. My child has been close to injured due to this. The side view mirror will randomly move in the downward direction while I am driving. The front driver door will stay locked even after turning the vehicle in park and shutting the vehicle off, locking me in. The manual switch to unlock the driver door doesn't always work either, so I need to climb over to the passenger side of the vehicle to get out. All these occurrences are dangerous to me and my children and I would like this to be addressed. I have contacted the dealership and GM and they said I do not fall under the recall due to my location, even though I spend a significant amount of time in the northeast coastal area. The dealer also refused to fix the problem saying they don't have the protocol on the recall repair of this vehicle. GM has that record. Updated 08/11/12

- Danielsville, GA, USA

problem #99

May 012012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact was driving 60 mph when a short caused the power door locks and window switches to function intermittently until becoming inoperable. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V406000 (visibility:power window devices and controls )however the manufacturer informed the contact that the vehicle was not eligible under the recall based on the state in which she resided. The vehicle had not been repaired. The mileage was unavailable. Updated 9/25/12 updated 10/04/12

- Woodstock , GA, USA

problem #98

Aug 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 89,880 miles
While on vacation in NY I went to move my Trailblazer to be able to pack up for the trip home and when moving it I noticed a strong smell of electrical fire and noticed smoke coming from the area around the drivers door master window switch. I quickly turned the truck off and pulled the switch plate out of the door but it was to late. The damage had already been done. The switch had shorted and melted all of the ribbon cable in the switch and rendered it inoperable. There was a slight misty rain when all of this occurred, I am just glad it happened in the driveway and not on the highway. I called and talked with Chevy and they told me there was no recall for this and there was nothing they could do to help and then stated that it was VIN specific. So which is it no recall or VIN specific?

- Pickens, SC, USA

problem #97

Aug 202012

Trailblazer

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet trail Blazer. The contact stated that the driver was traveling 35 mph when the headlights and the control panel lights illuminated intermittently. The front driver side window also failed to work and a burning smell was emitted inside of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 92,000.

- Del City, OK, USA

problem #96

Aug 072012

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer est. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, burning fumes started to come inside the vehicle. The contact mentioned that smoke was emitting from the driver side window control panel and a result, the panel melted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included on any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 138,000 and the current mileage was 138,100...updated 09/12/12 updated 09/12/2012...updated 10/19/12 the consumer stated the driver's side mirror stopped working and the door lock and top half of the driver's seat no longer moved. Updated 10/25/12

- Wise , VA, USA

problem #95

Aug 132012

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
I was driving down a highway when my driver side door started smoking, no visible fire but clearly black smoke. I continued to pullover and try to exit my vehicle. When I pulled over I tried to open the door but it did not work, so I continued to get out my passenger door. Upon my own further inspection I opened the master control unit was melted.....updated 08-24-12

- Oceanside, NY, USA

problem #94

Apr 152011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Initially the interior lights as well as the head lights will flicker while the car is running in park. The drivers side window stopped working in April 2012. The other three windows continued to work. June 2012 the radio began to cut out when hitting a bump in the road. The dash radio lights would go blank and the clock reset to 12:00. This occurred on at least 4-5 occasions. Other times when hitting a bump the radio would make a static cut out sound but wouldn't fully go out. July 2012 on 3-4 different occasions all of the dash lights came on at once while driving down the road, the gas gauge dropped to empty on a full tank and the ding ding ding sound came on while driving. August 19, 2012, after driving about 8 miles the car smelled really funny like burning rubber or wire. Sniffing around the smell was originating from the front drivers side dash/door hinge area. At this time the rear drivers side window stopped working. The two remaining passenger windows continue to work, however hours later the smell still remains in the car.

- Quincy, IL, USA

problem #93

Jan 152007

Trailblazer

  • 7,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This not a formal complaint, simply information. We had a 2006 Trailblazer that had the power equipment switchplate melt down when the vehicle was garaged. When I parked it the windows were up and when I went to the garage 2 hours later the drivers window was down and the smell of smoke came from inside the drivers door panel. Switchplate was in-operative. My point is GM know about this as early as 2007 and neglected to do anything about it. This Agency almost killed off Toyota for allegedly hiding known defects; perhaps it is GM, S time in the chair? [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #92

Jul 052011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 113,845 miles
A 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The air conditioning unit, harness and the master switch on the drivers side window failed. The check engine light illuminated whenever the vehicle was turned off. The master switch malfunction prevented all the windows from working properly. Only 1 speaker works radio plays at low volume.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #91

Aug 112012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2006 Chevy Trailblazer driver side door caught on fire sometime early morning while we slept. Now my vehicle will not start and driver side door and window module is totally melted. I have had issues with other things prior to this. My door chimes stopped working. My air will not blow out of the vents and my radio speakers are not working. My teenager drives this vehicle so this is a big concern for me. I really would love GM to step up to the plate and honor their product. I feel taken advantage of. I have seen websites with complaint after complaint with the Trailblazer's electrical problems. We need a voice. Someone who has the power or pull to force Chevy to recall the electrical issues regarding their workmanship or the quality of their product. Updated 8/17/12

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #90

Mar 012012

Trailblazer

  • 122,000 miles
Our Trailblazer has the service engine light on and off constantly. Had it checked by our regular mechanic with the tester and it read the thermostat needed replacing which was done. The light is still going on and off and having it rechecked the reading said a problem with the cooling fan. Checked fan and nothing. The headlights go on and off. The windshield wipers come on by themselves and then off. When it is raining they only work on fast speed. The window cleaner comes on when the wipers due which is hazardous when it is raining causing a visibility problem. I will be going to the dealer with the check engine light as we are going on a long trip in two weeks. Didn't know there were so many problems with this vehicle as listed on the complaints section.

- Altoona, FL, USA

problem #89

Aug 062012

Trailblazer

  • 47,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the air conditioning unit, harness and the master switch on the driver's side window failed. The check engine light illuminated whenever the vehicle was turned off. The master switch malfunction prevented all the windows from working properly. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who advised the contact that the master switch and the air conditioning unit were defective and needed to be replaced. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage and current mileages were 47,500.

- Bordentown, NJ, USA

problem #88

Aug 042012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 108,003 miles
2006 Trailblazer was parked not running. When I opened the door there was a burning plastic smell and smoke coming from the drivers door. When I pulled the door window switch panel out, the side of it was melted and had melted part of the door panel, window, door lock, and window lock button don't work. I have to manually lock the drivers door, because the remote doesn't work on that door. Looked up recalls and was surprised when it wasn't on your website. Multiple complaints all over the internet about this same issue. Updated 08/21/12

- Desmoines, IA, USA

problem #87

Aug 192009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Driving about 30 mph, smelled burning plastic?, smoke comes from drivers door, now windows not working, automatic door locks not working, gas gauge not working. Told master window switch and wiring in door needs replacing due to melting.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #86

Sep 222011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
The fuel gauge read 3/4 of a tank so we did not stop to get gas, thinking we had enough to get home. 3min later we ran out on the hwy with 4 children in the car 2 that are under the age of 2.

- Morrow , OH, USA

problem #85

Nov 162011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that he attempted to open the driver side window but the window would not respond. All of the remaining windows also failed. The vehicle was not taken the vehicle to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 95,000. Updated 8/28/12 the consumer stated he was driving when the windows stopped working. The entire dash cluster shut down, the windshield wipers came on by themselves, the side mirrors started moving, and all the lights came on, the vent blowers stopped and the windows rolled up on their own. After 30 minutes, the dash cluster stared functioning again, and the mirrors stopped moving, but the driver side door panel was not working as the vent blowers did not come back on. The consumer was quoted $200 just to take the driver's side door panel off and look at it. Updated 08/29/12

- Gainsville, GA, USA

problem #84

Jul 182012

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Vehicle was parked at store. Upon entering vehicle and starting the vehicle, noticed thick smoke coming from drivers door. Vehicle was shut down, smoldering stopped. Removed window control module to find melted plastic and evidence of high heat.

- Marietta, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?