Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,666 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Feb 202015

200

  • 2,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact heard an abnormal noise coming from the engine and brakes, the dashboard overheated, and the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:15V470000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,100.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #70

Sep 232015

200

  • 11,000 miles
Car was running beautifully on September 22nd. It was parked in the garage overnight. When I started it the morning of the 23rd, the check engine light flashed and the car was idling very roughly. I drove slowly to the dealer, doug smith Chrysler in american fork, ut. They diagnosed the problem as being a cart and horse concern: Apparently the coil on the #6 cylinder had failed and also the coil driver in the PCM had also failed. They don't know which occurred first and then likely caused the other problem. My concern is that the car was nearly undriveable as it was; what if the PCM had suffered a cascading damage of some sort" especially, what if this had happened while I was traveling 70mph on the freeway? I just think that a component of such importance as the PCM should not fail after only 11000 miles. I now have concerns about the replacement: Will it be brand new or rebuilt? if rebuilt, how reliable will that end up being" I also feel that a spark plug coil should be more robust than to fail at only 11000 miles. I believe this failure could represent a severe danger to myself and possibly to others if it happened while the car was being driven.

- Highland, UT, USA

problem #69

Mar 242015

200

  • 14,500 miles
When I put my car in drive it bucks, hesitate and pulls off terribly rough, I have took car back to dealer 3 times and they can't seem to find anything wrong, I went to Chicago which is about 3 hrs from my home. I parked went shopping for about 2hrs. Came back hit locks nothing happened, walked closer to car hit locks nothing happened, tried trunk nothing for about 20 min I'm locked out of my car, the car seemed to have lost power.after standing there trying to locks finally it powered on the car had a bad ride at take off I heard noises under hood I continue to drive after the second stop I came back to car no problem it opened, I'm not happy with this car from day one it has been something this is the worst car I have ever had, on;Y had the car for 7months, it was thrown together not manufactured for perfection. This car has a problem with stalling and not wanting to pull off it just sits there then it jumps in gear the take off is very slow. I really need my car I hope there is something that can be done about this, I had a blow out on my front driver side tire hit a small hole on highway the tire instantly burst I was about 300miles from home the tires seem to have been dry rotten. The power lost just happened on 09/19/2015. The other happened stating 03/15.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #68

Aug 072015

200

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the expressway at approx 65 mph my vehicle cut off without warning. I lost all power. I was able to manuever to the shoulder and then the check engine light and transmission failure light came on. It took several minutes turning vehicle on and off and trying to shift before the vehicle would come on and shift into drive. This occured on two other occassions. The last time almost resulted in an accident because I couldn't get out of the way of cars coming behind me.

- Zion, IL, USA

problem #67

Jun 302015

200

  • 2,100 miles
My car jerks and/or hesitates while driving or accelerating from stop or coasting at 30 - 55mph. From a complete stop position my car has sputtered and rattled like the transmission or engine was having trouble engaging. I have a rattling sound coming from the engine compartment and you can hear it clearly coming from the passenger side with the windows down. A brand new car and it has a lot of transmission issues. Chrysler doesn't do anything unless it throws a code. 15 times in the repair shop. The car is at the shop now, and the tech is having trouble recreating the issue. Please someone do something about this.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #66

Sep 012015

200 4-cyl

  • miles
2015 Chrysler 200. Consumer writes in regards to unexplained sudden acceleration when coasting or trying to slow down. The consumer stated the first problem he encountered with the vehicle, was a squeaking brake system. After two visits to the shop, the resolved the problem. Then it took three to four trips to resolve a problem with the trunk latch that would not release the trunk lid. Then it tool a couple of other trips to resolve a problem with a yellow engine earning light that came on for no apparent reason.

- Neosho, MO, USA

problem #65

Apr 012015

200 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,812 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V0909000 (power train) was received in April of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/19/15 updated 1/14/2016

- Mount Holly Springs, PA, USA

problem #64

Aug 242015

200

  • 33,000 miles
Vehicle has stalled and loses all power and you are unable to put the car in park. It stays in drive. The car will not re-start and is stuck in drive. You are unable to move the shifter to put it in park. This has happened twice. Once before it went in for service and then again the day after it was picked up from being repaired. Service department indicated they did an R08 recall. This is very dangerous and I am afraid that someone is going to be injured or killed with this car. Currently vehicle is in the shop again. Dealership thinks it may be another recall R24 that came out three days ago but parts are not available and they do not know when it will be fixed. I now have no vehicle at all and do not know for how long!

- Waymart, PA, USA

problem #63

Sep 132015

200

  • 12,000 miles
I was on my way home from work when at a red light my check engine light goes on, transmission and park break service lights go on and as the light turned green my car did not accelerate. I put my car on park turned my emergency lights and then shifted to drive. My car then kept changing shifts. As an attempt to get my car home which is only 7 min from work I drove it slowly and every stop I made my car would take at least 2-3 minutes to accelerate. As I arrived home the steering wheel got hard and displayed a warning to put emergency break to prevent from rolling.it then displayed service transmission, service park break, service engine. The next day I took my car to the dealership but was told nothing about a recall for my car.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #62

Aug 312015

200

  • 7,700 miles
My car jerks and/or hesitates while driving. From a complete stop position my car has sputtered without going any place. I would have to turn off my vehicle in the middle of the road and turn it back on so I can get it to go. I have a rattling sound coming from the engine compartment and you can hear it clearly coming from the passenger side with the windows down. A brand new car and it has a lot of tranny issues. The 9 speed automatic is the worst design with major flaws. Chrysler doesn't do anything unless it throws a code. 15 times in the repair shop and it is still there with the same issue that no tech can figure out. Please someone do something about this. The buyback program they offer is a sham don't believe them.

- West Haven , CT, USA

problem #61

Sep 022015

200

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failure it was replaced once and went again so less than 20K miles and it went through 2 transmissions. I feel very unsafe and refuse to drive the car after the last incident. A/C froze up had to replace carpet in vehicle 2X I have had a rental car for the last 2 months while it was being repaired. Transmission failed going up hill 70 mph in pa with semi-truck behind me who almost rear ended me the vehicle shut off and I lost all power including power steering. I slowed down at 15 mph the car went into park and the E-brake went on and jerked us all over the car.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #60

May 072015

200

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at an unknown speed with the cruise control activated, the vehicle rapidly shifted from 8th to 7th, then back to 8th,7th, 6th, and down to 4th gear, all within ten seconds. On another occasion, while driving approximately 20 mph, the accelerator pedal was released and the vehicle accelerated independently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,500. Updated 11/06/15

- Coshocton , OH, USA

problem #59

Mar 182015

200

  • 5,000 miles
Driving down highway car just shuts off and are stuck in middle of road, car wont restart and have to wait 15min then it will restart. You can not push car off road. Have contacted Chrysler after 4 times to dealer ship for same problem and have been told can't duplicate or don't know what is wrong with it. Chrysler has opened up 2 cases and still no resolution. They declined to buyout the vehicle or replacement. I get same story, bring it in for service and we are sorry. No you will be sorry when my wife and kids are injured in this defective car. There has been numerous time of broken down on road and having dump truck or 18 wheelers dodging my car to avoid accidents. They have replaced computer, transmission parts and sensors. I truly believe it will never be fixed. Need to get the word out and Chrysler needs to be held responsible. I urge everyone to avoid these cars, unsafe and accident waiting to happen and dealership and Chrysler does not care!!!

- Brownsmills, NJ, USA

problem #58

Aug 282015

200

  • 5,000 miles
I was stopped at stop sign when I took foot off brake pedal to accelerate it couldn't get traction with back tiers it felt like the back right tire locked up and it jerked back and forth until I took foot off accelerator. I stopped but couldn't see anything wrong. This happened on 8-28-15. On 8-29-15 was in a drive thru and when car is in park and I put in drive it makes a clicking sound from engine and car jerks somewhat with my foot on the brake. I have noticed that when I accelerate it hesitates to go. I am very concerned about this problem because I am almost scared to drive it because of the hesitation to go, and could cause a wreck if the tire thing happens again.

- Cordele, GA, USA

problem #57

Sep 112014

200

  • 1,500 miles
2015 Chrysler 200 rented from enterprise rac in dallas, tx. 2.4L four-cylinder/9-speed automatic transmission. Vehicle traveling at steady 55-60 mph on a controlled-access toll road. I began accelerating to approx. 65 mph to pass a vehicle ahead, triggering a downshift. I then determined traffic conditions were not favorable to pass, so I reduced pressure on the accelerator pedal to slow down; however, the vehicle continued to accelerate in passing gear for several seconds after I removed my foot from the accelerator pedal before slowing. I was able to duplicate this situation several times at speeds between 55-75 mph, and each time it took the car between 4-7 seconds after removing my foot from the accelerator for the vehicle to stop accelerating and begin to slow.

- Corrales, NM, USA

problem #56

Aug 202015

200

  • 7,205 miles
Loss of speed& shaking of car as it slowed down & showed to put it P & start. Happened also at 30 miles an hour in parking lot, then ran ok 5 miles to dealership. Fear to take it any where.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #55

Aug 082015

200

  • 4,500 miles
My wife was driving home and the engine suddenly stopped without any warning. The electrical system continued to run, but no engine. The service engine light and battery light came on. She managed to get the car to the side of the road. She waited about 10 minutes and was able to restart the car and drive home ( about 10 miles). I drove the car to work and back ( about 24 miles round trip ) the next day without any problems. I drove the car the next day to work and it happened two times to me before I got to work. I called the dealer to have it towed in. I had done some research online to see if there were any other complaints when I found this website. I saw a complaint from someone in lakewood California that listed a recall #, (14113 RO1 recall wc 0.50 to reprogram the PCM (power control module) and the tcm (trans control module)) so when we took the car to the dealer I gave them this information. They had the car 5 days and test drove it several times. They said they did the reprogramming and also secured a wiring harness ( which was also mentioned in several complaints) along with a couple of other updates that were covered under the warranty. We have the car back now, time and miles will tell if this was the solution or not.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #54

Jul 022015

200

  • 8,700 miles
Vehicle shut off while driving approx. 40 mph. Vehicle started blinking put car in park, service transmission, service park break. Then, it shut off on its own. All gears locked up and car would not restart. I was a sitting duck in the roadway. This has happened X2, July 2nd, 2015 and August 10th, 2015. Had it towed both times. First time Chrysler dealer stated they replaced tcm. This second time they are stating the car is reading multiple codes and they don't know what to fix.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #53

Jun 092015

200

  • 1,600 miles
When I am driving my whole panel turns off and on, I go to take off and it hesiate a few seconds than goes, it does it at stop lights and while on the highway in traffic, brakes make a real loud noise I leave it park most of the time I am at 6320 mile I bought it in April 17, 2015 I should be over 10,000 mile but I am afraid to drive

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #52

Aug 202015

200

  • 13,810 miles
When using cruise control it will not hold speed going down hill - will shift down more than once & will go up to 60+ miles per hour. Going over a small hill will shift down more than once usually - not all the time. This has been flashed several times with no change to the problem. When first starting the car the tach stays very high & will decrease as you shift into reverse, but not enough. Have to hold your foot on the brake all the time. When leaving from a stop sign the transmission will not go "in" right away - it takes a bit to actually "go".. as you're pulling onto a highway.

- Monroe, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?