Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,916 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #54

Apr 012013

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Submission from re recall K39 and exclusions. The consumer stated he experienced the exact problem that was addressed in the recall where the gear was stuck in park. The consumer was informed his vehicle didn't have the mopar replacement part installed prior to June 24, 2007, and therefore the recall did not apply to his vehicle. The consumer would like Chrysler to acknowledge the defect and pay for the repairs. Updated 04/30/13 updated 05/06/13 updated 06/10/13

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #53

Jun 242012

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. While parked, the contact attempted to move the gear shifter from park to drive but was unable to. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V460000 (power train:automatic transmission) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 98,500. Updated 08/07/12 the consumer stated the repair can cost between $600 and $700 dollars. Updated 08/15/2012

- Harker Heights, TX, USA

problem #52

Jan 152012

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,448 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that after starting the engine, the vehicle failed to shift out of park. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the dealer confirmed the shifter failure, which needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 86,448 and the current mileage is 94,000. Updated 03/05/12 updated 03/07/12.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #51

Aug 172010

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,171 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated the gear shift became stuck in park. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the shifter assembly was replaced. The failure mileage was 52,171 and the current mileage was 57.000. Updated 02/01/12 updated 03/16/12

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #50

Oct 112011

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,088 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300 C. the contact stated that vehicle failed to shift out of park. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the mechanic confirmed that the transmission shifter interlock lever needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and they confirmed the VIN did not qualify for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V460000(power train:automatic transmission). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 51,088. Updated 11/07/11

- Suisun City, CA, USA

problem #49

Jul 202011

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the shifter completely fractured, causing the vehicle to remain stuck in park. The contact had the vehicle towed to a dealer where the dealer replaced the shifter and shifter assembly. The contact called the manufacturer regarding NHTSA campaign id number: 05V460000 (power train:automatic transmission)but was advised that his VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 10/19/11 updated 10/21/11

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #48

Aug 272011

300

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that she was unable to shift out of park and the vehicle remained stuck in park. An authorized dealer informed the contact that there were no recalls addressing the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 88,000.

- Houston, TN, USA

problem #47

Aug 192010

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact started the vehicle and the gear selector would not shift from the park position. The vehicle was repaired by a certified mechanic. One year later, the identical failure recurred. The vehicle had not been repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Lamar, MS, USA

problem #46

Aug 172005

300

  • miles
Shifter failure.

- Plant City, FL, USA

problem #45

Oct 122010

300 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
My Chrysler 300 gear shift sticks in park.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #44

Aug 022011

300 6-cyl

  • 77,302 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chrysler 300 won't come out of park - there is a defective part on car and Chrysler I am told is aware of it - there is a pink plastic piece that has a spring to pull out of gear the spring becomes dislodged therefore not able to get out of park gear - had to take off the console in middle and shift assembly to replace the plastic arm which is broke that the spring hooks into

- Sedalia, MO, USA

problem #43

Jul 182011

300

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the shifter assembly and the cable gear would not go into gear. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who replaced the shifter assembly at a cost to the contact which was $662. There was no recall for this repair. The manufacturer was contacted who stated to call NHTSA and file a complaint. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Smyrna, TN, USA

problem #42

Jun 112011

300

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle was stuck in the park position. The override switch to manually shift the gear from park, was also defective. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but did not assist the contact with the failure. The failure and current mileage was 117,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Ft. Wayne, IN, USA

problem #41

Jul 062011

300 6-cyl

  • 71,069 miles
2005 Chrysler 300 touring 70,000 miles the car gets stuck in park. Looking on the internet it looks like alot of 300's are doing the same thing. We have a 2007 Chrysler sebring that did the same thing but it was covered under a recall. Why isn't the 300 covered under the same recall?

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #40

Jun 302011

300 6-cyl

  • 84,525 miles
The shifter on my 2005 Chrysler 300 broke resulting in the inability to put the vehicle in park. There has been thus far no recall on the vehicle even though there were numerous complaints on the internet and the Dodge stratus and avenger have already been recalled for the exact problem. Chrysler dealership replaced the part for $282.

- Midland, NC, USA

problem #39

May 052011

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. While the vehicle was parked the contact attempted to place the gear shift into drive but it was stuck in park and would not move. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 05V460000 (power train:automatic transmission) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The contact also stated while driving approximately 30 mph the vehicle suddenly stalled. While driving at higher speeds the vehicle would lunge forward. NHTSA campaign id number: 04V334000 (electrical system:battery:cables) may also be related to the recent failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 07/20/11 the consumer stated the problem was the fuel tank. The vehicle was repaired with the gear stuck in park. Updated 09/16/11

- Vernon, TX, USA

problem #38

Jun 092011

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,524 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle would not shift out of park. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. An authorized dealer was notified, but offered no assistance. Updated 07/20/11 the consumer stated the vehicle would not come out of park. A recall was issued for a defective part within the transmission. The part was replaced under the recall. Updated 09/19/11

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #37

Apr 212011

300 6-cyl

  • miles
We are a used car dealership and we have sold a number of Chrysler. Recently we have been having complaints of the same problem; the shifter gets stuck in park and renders the vehicle inoperable. One of the vehicles that have had this problem is VIN# [xxx] (2005 Chrysler 300). The entire shifter assembly may need to be replaced. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Parlier , CA, USA

problem #36

Oct 012010

300

  • 95,000 miles
About 6 months ago, my gear shift started "sticking" in park. Would not go into reverse without a lot of coaxing. What I did was to keep pumping the brakes and after about 10 or so pumps, the gear shift would release. More recently, my car will just die even when I am going over 40 mph. Most of the time, I can just shift it into neutral and restart it. I am not sure of what the outcome would be if I were perhaps going around a corner since the power steering goes out when this occurs. Actually as I think about it, it also did this when it was brand new, when I took it to the dealership they said there was no record of it on the computer therefore they could not fix it.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #35

Nov 182010

300

  • 28,153 miles
I drove my Chrysler 300 home a parked in my garage. The next day I could not shift it out of park. 11/18/10, I had it towed to a Chrysler dealer and they replaced the gear shift assembly. I was informed that the dealer replace four to five per week and that the town of 7000 people 12 Chrysler 300 had the same problem and that one lady was on her third replacement. The closest dealer is 40 miles and the tow charge is $125. I contacted Chrysler and was informed that there has not been enough problems for a recall. Apparently they don't look at the internet.

- Marlin, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?