Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,916 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Oct 262010

300

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chrysler 2005 gear shift gets stuck in park causing you to replace gear shift. Have replaced 3 gearshifts in 6 years. Water gets inside transmission causing the purchase of a new transmission anywhere from 40,000 to 95,000 miles.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #33

Oct 192010

300

  • 93,850 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while trying to shift into reverse, the vehicle would not respond. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the gear shift was defective. The vehicle was repaired at the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 93,850 and the current mileage was 93,859.

- Desemmer , AL, USA

problem #32

Aug 162010

300

  • 136,000 miles
I have never had a problem with my Chrysler 300 up until this morning as I started my car for work. My car was stuck in "park". as I researched this deficiency online it I noticed that it has been an ongoing occurrence with Chrysler of all type. I called many Chrysler dealerships and found that this is a problem that has been repaired on a normal basis. My complaint is there is no recall on this deficiency and this is costing consumer too much money that we don't have to spend on this. I have my car serviced regularly so this should have not happened.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #31

Mar 072010

300

  • 56,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was parked in drivewaythe previous day. On date below, the vehicle was started to leave and the transmission shift lever would not come out of park. The vehicle is equipped with an emergency release button in the shift console and that would not release the shifter. Tow truck had to be called.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #30

Dec 082009

300

  • 918,030 miles
Without any warning the gear shift would not move out of park. I had the vehicle towed to the shop and found that I had to replaced the gear shifter component in my Chrysler 300 vehicle. I later found out that this part has been recalled on other Dodge and chrsyler vehicles, but not on mine. Now today my car is showing symptoms that the gear boc may be failing again. The key will not come out of the ignition because the gear is not go holding property in park. I am going to take the car to a Chrysler dealership and see if Chrysler will fix it. I repaired the vehicle less than 5 months ago.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #29

Oct 122009

300

  • 51,000 miles
I parked my car in my work parking lot. When I went out at the end of the day I was unable to get the car out of park. With motor running & brake applied there was still no release. I was forced to call a tow truck. The tow truck driver informed me he had towed 10 Chrysler 300 that day for the exact same problem.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #28

Sep 042009

300

  • 74,962 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission stuck in park, towed to dealer 9/24/09 part 4578029ac shifter no recall noted this happened on 9/21/07 same issue same part; complaint filed then too no recall noted.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #27

Jul 242009

300

  • 78,288 miles
My husband and I were traveling South on I5 just merging into I99 just South of bakersfield California when the car lurched to a almost total halt. We were able to coast to the shoulder. This occurred about 6:00pm. We didn't arrive home until after 10:00pm having been towed over the hill to santa clarita. Needless to say having our vehicle lose power like that on crowded fast freeway was extremely hazardous.

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #26

Jul 302009

300

  • 97,004 miles
I have a Chrysler 300 that within the last $25,000 miles has had the shifter fail twice. This has resulted in the inability of the car to be shifted out of park to any gear. I have found this issue reported on numerous websites which leads me to believe that my failure is not an isolated case. Chrysler has repaired the shifter both times ( once under warranty and once out ) but I feel that the part as basic as a shifter should not fail and poses a safety issue to the consumer since the failure completely immobilizes the car.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 152008

300

  • 24,000 miles
2005 Chrysler 300 touring - gear sift gets stuck in park. Have had the dealer check to see if they can diagnose the problem everytime it goes in for service. Have had this fixed once over two years ago - dealer stated that they adjusted the linkage. It worked fine for a while have since moved to another city and go to a different dealer. New dealer has been able to recreate the problem once in their shop but after they had the interior apart hey couldn't get the car to do it again - so it has not been fixed. Car has 61,000 miles and has had this problem since 24,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #24

Apr 012008

300

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Went to start my car and it was fine. However I could not get the car to shift out of park.. I called the dealership and they told me about the pink little thing inside the gear console and that didn't' work either. Finally had the car towed and had to pay for the shift replacement about $400 with no explanation on why or what happened.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #23

Sep 042008

300

  • 54,400 miles
Gear shift on 2005 Chrysler 300 touring malfunctioned. Couldn't remove from park position and at times had difficulty putting car in park. Tried to use the manual to release. Information in manual stated by depressing pink button next to gear shift would release gear from park position; but did not work. My husband is a certified technician and stated that the pink button was not connected to anything; but he was able to release it by taking apart the console to expose the main release so that we would not incurr a $150 towing cost. The vehicle was then taken to ganley/Dodge/Chrysler dealer and the entire gear shift had to be replaced; but they could not explain why it went bad nor why this pink button was not connected nor able to release. Dealer also said that there were no recalls on this type of repair and the cost would be my responsibilty. Cost of repair approximately $375 plus the part is back ordered for approximately three (3) days. I will take vacation days from work in order to have my car repaired and will be without transportation. Need to know if this is a manufacturer's defeat since the infomation in the manual stated procedures to follow in the release but not effective and whether or not I can be reimbursed for the repairs and if I can send the original part back to the manufacturer so that a technician can honestly analyze if the part was installed properly and/or why it did not perform as indicated in the manual. Will miss time off from work and no loaner was provided or offered. I understand that repairs must be made but something that was not done by the owner should be the responsibility of the manufacuturer if this type of repair is due to the production of the vehicle. To some, this may be inexpensive; but to others with today's economic situation; there should be no need for a consumer to endure an additional expense "just because" without a justifiable explanation. Your response to this matter would be greatly appreciated.

- Maple Heights, OH, USA

problem #22

Sep 022008

300

  • 53,000 miles
My car is stuck in park and had to be towed to a mechanic. The mechanic told me that the part needed was part of a recall. When I called Chrysler they told me that even though there is a recall my car was not part of the batch. They stated that they pick a certain amount of cars to be part of the recall but that the other ones get omitted. I called Chrysler and they gave me a case number 17859460 and when I asked to speak to a manager they hung up on me. I don't feel that it is fair that I need to pay for the part and labor because Chrysler decided that my car was not part of the batch. Chrysler wants me to have to pay for the parts so that they can make money off of me but I feel that they need to take responsibility for something that they are in default for.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #21

Aug 202008

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact started the ignition and attempted to shift from park into reverse; however, the gear was stuck in the park position. There were no warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and has not yet been repaired for the gear malfunction. The failure and current mileages were 44,000. Updated 09/24/08. The dealer replaced the shifter assembly. Updated 10/0/108.

- Upland , CA, USA

problem #20

Oct 222005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. While driving 15-20 mph and shifting gears, the contact heard a loud noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of failure. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V460000 (powertrain: Automatic transmission). The failure mileage was 25,000 and current mileage was 44,939.

- Dalzell, SC, USA

problem #19

Oct 252004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
Since day one of ownership the car has made a bang/clanking noise while ambient temperatures were hot or cold. After a 45 minute drive to work in the morning the 2005 Chrysler 300 touring sst all day until about 3:30 pm) upon leaving work within the first 100 yards the transmission made a loud bang/clung sound when shifting from first to second gear. The sound of a transmission slipping into gear or an extremely loose drifeshaft. Has been looked at by dealer multiple times, and they could not duplicate the problem. I offered for them to meet me at my work place in the afternoon to witness the event, and I was told they do not do house calls. I am 2 miles from the dealer. It is now two years later, I have 79,000 miles on the car and I still have a transmission that shifts hard into second gear.

- Cedar Hill, MO, USA

problem #18

Jan 122005

300

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
I purchased a 2005 Chrysler 300C on Dec 9 2004 from warnock of NJ. Noticed right away pulling in front end of the vehicle. Brought the car back into the dealer on 12/12/05. The dealer stated there was no problem brought the car back in on 3/22/05 the dealer states no problem. Brought it back in on 6/24/05 for the steering wheel being crooked they fixed the problem. Had to bring the car back in on 6/30/05 for moaning in the steering the tires were worn down already after 2 rotations. They did an alignment and fixed the moaning. Brought the car to Chrysler of paramus on 9/8/05 for the pulling again in the front end. They fixed that.had the car back into warnock Chrysler 11/10/05 for the rims on my car were rusted. They wouldnt replace them I had to fight with Chrysler. 12/24/05 took car to westwood Chrysler for pulling in the front end and sunroof leaking.they fixed the roof and the fronend.2/22/06 took car back to Chrysler of westwood for replacement of my rims that were rusted. Also had them check the pulling again in the frontend. The sunroof was still leaking they had to fix it again. While it was leaking into my car all along. 5/06 took car to westwood for new tires. Continental wouldnt take responsibility for the wear of the tires. While all along they couldnt fix the pulling in the frontend.9/06 took car back to westwood for the tires wearing out again I purchased another set of tires not the continentals they were offering. Had to pay out of pocket again. 9/06 took car back for steering & rattling in frontend. Couldnt find the problem. 11/06 had a transmission leak in my driveway they fixed that. Jan 07 had to pay for new upper ball joints on the car and struts Chrysler wouldnt take on responsibility go figure when all along I complained of the problem. Tried to trade car in lost the value of car. People we need to work together and go after Chrysler they produced a car not worth driving and were paying for the mistake. Anyone intrested in class action.

- Kearny, NJ, USA

problem #17

Feb 162007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300C. While driving 15 mph and making a left or right turn the transmission shifted hard into second gear. The contact heared a loud bang and the vehicle would jolt with excessive force into gear. The dealer on several occasions diagnosed the vehicle to be operating normally, and at higher speeds the driver would not experience the problem. The current mileage is 37,200.

- Dalzell, SC, USA

problem #16

Aug 012006

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Chrysler 300's transmission hesitated when cold. The vehicle continues to hesitate/shudder until it warms up.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jul 272006

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
: the contact stated the transmission shudders and hesitates when the weather is cold. The dealership determined these are the characteristics of this particular transmission. Updated 8/14/2006 -

- Clifton, NJ, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?