If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

1.5

hardy worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
111,509 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Oct 212013

Pacifica

  • 101,869 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While in for repairs, our mechanic diagnosed that the engine cradle of our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica touring AWD sports tourer 4-dr has rusted almost completely through and advised that the vehicle is unsafe to drive without immediate repairs. According the mechanic, the engine cradle supports both the engine and the front steering/suspension assembly components, that could cause the driver to lose control upon failure, and cause a crash. After conducting research on various websites, I found that numerous consumers/owners of Pacifica models manufactured between 2004 and 2006 are reporting this issue and Chrysler is aware of this specific problem and listed it as a possible defective part. In response, Chrysler has issued an extended warranty, limited to certain states (which they refer to as 'salt belt states") covering repairs for this problem. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where we purchased it, examined and submitted a request to Chrysler for coverage, which was denied. We were told that our vehicle was not covered because we did not live in one of these defined "salt state zones". despite offering to provide evidence from kydot and local county transportation offices verifying that our area does in fact experience a high volume of roadway salt use, Chrysler continues to deny extending any coverage for the affected vehicle. Given the seriousness of the problem, and the large number of consumers potentially affected, I would ask that NHTSA & ODI conduct an independent investigation and negotiate with Chrysler to broaden the coverage to include any Pacifica exhibiting signs of this defect.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #41

Sep 232013

Pacifica

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the engine cradle, frame and cross member was found to be severely corroded with holes. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 130,000.

- Carteret, NJ, USA

problem #40

Sep 122013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle shook with the illumination of the ABS light. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.... updated 10-17-13 when braking the car started shaking. Steering was lost, and the ABS light illuminated. Upon inspection it was found the front engine cradle had rusted so to the point there were big holes. The only thing holding the engine cradle together was the motor mounts.

- Emmett, MI, USA

problem #39

Sep 042013

Pacifica

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was informed by our mechanic that the front crossmember/engine cradle/K-frame had rusted through and that this was a common problem with this make/model/year vehicle. Chrysler issued a recall due to this defect, but it only covered manufacturing dates up to March 31, 2004 and our vehicle was manufactured in June of 2004. I have seen that this continued to be a very common problem with vehicles after the March manufacture date and called Chrysler to see what could be done as this is a very expensive repair of a known issue that had been recalled on other vehicles. Chrysler stated that this was not covered by recall and there was nothing they were willing to do to assist us.

- Old Orchard Beach, ME, USA

problem #38

Sep 062013

Pacifica

  • 142,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica and I was experiencing problems with a "clicking noise" coming from underneath the front end of my car. Upon inspection by my mechanic it became evident that the "engine cradle" which holds up engine was completely rotted through with about 80% of visible corrosion (I really wish I could actual attach pictures of corrosion provided to me by my mechanic). Upon further investigation, I discovered that this "engine cradle" corrosion problem has been acknowledged by Chrysler and an extended warranty was issued to repair this part for 04 and 05 Pacifica's. extended warranty letter id is: 0004617/#45543/X26...however, when I contacted Chrysler, I was informed that based on the VIN # of my car, I did not qualify for Chrysler extended warranty for this issue (10 yrs or 150,000 miles) - the letter Chrysler issued for this extended warranty clearly states that it covers 2004-2005 Chrysler Pacifica's, and even though I fall within the model year, geographical region, and the 10yr/150,000mile guidelines of extended warranty, Chrysler claims that my 2005 was not manufactured within some narrow manufacturing window to qualify for this extended warranty. In closing, unfortunately, due to financial constraints, and the costly nature of this repair (2-3K), I have no choice but to drive this car the way it is at the moment - I do understand that it is clearly unsafe to drive this car and it probably shouldn't be on the road - however, I do have a valid state inspection sticker from previous year, so my car is "legal to drive", and I really have no choice but to continue to utilize this car until I can come up with a resolution (all I can do at this point is keep my fingers crossed and pray that I don't cause any harm to myself or anybody else). What should I / can I do to next? can you please help me and advise accordingly. Thank you sincerely

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #37

Aug 212013

Pacifica

  • 94,000 miles
I recently took my 2005 Chrysler pacficia to the shop to have the pulleys changed on the engine for the serpentine belt, and new tires and alignment. When the car was on the lift, my mechanic pointed out to me that the engine cradle is rusted and will need to be replaced at a cost of $5000. The car only has 94K miles on it. This seems to be a wide spread issue. I am the 2nd owner, the 1st was a lease through Chrysler and I purchased the car from a local Chrysler dealer in 2008. Going to start contacting Chrysler and the attorney generals office in MA to see what can be done since there is no recall on this.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #36

Jun 062013

Pacifica

  • 107,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chrysler Pacifica 107000 miles rusted engine cradle. Garage kept and serviced only at a Chrysler dealership, service dept never told me the engine cradle was extremely rusted and cracked. After several calls and emails to Chrysler corporation they refused to work out any financial assistance on repair bills.

- Geneva, IL, USA

problem #35

Jul 312013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 129,820 miles
I was told when I took my car in for an oil change that the subframe was rusted out & that this was a safety issue. I would need to get this fixed or the engine/transmission could fall out. My car has always been stored in a garage. There is no way a car of this caliber should have a problem like this. It isn't even something that our service guy has seen on very old cars. Was quoted @ $4200 for new one & around $1200 for used. My repair shop ordered 6 of them before they could find one that wasn't also rusted out. Of course they got more expensive as it went along. Very disappointed in Chrysler saying that it wasn't covered & they wouldn't stand by there product/defect.

- Reedsburg, WI, USA

problem #34

Nov 132012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 99,419 miles
November 10, 2012 took my car in for shaking-mechanic stated front motor mount broken-repaired 11/13/2013. April 28, 2013 drove car out of town approximately 280 miles speed 65 mph. Car began to violently shake 20 miles before I reached my destination. Car was taken to a mechanic. They stated my front motor mount was broken-was repaired again. June 28th, 2013 car began to shake again in town speed around 35 mph is at the mechanic now. They called July 1, 2013 and stated the front motor is broken.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #33

Jun 032013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 170,004 miles
While driving on the freeway I glanced in my rear-view mirror and noticed smoke coming from out the back of my Pacifica. I proceeded to exit the freeway at the nearest exit and the car jerked and made a noise. I told my two daughters who were in the car with me not to panic and then drove to the nearest gas station. I assumed the car was overheating and when I pulled up to the pump to put in coolant, someone in the car next to me told me my car was on fire. Three good samaritans pushed my car away from the gas pump, the fire department was called, and I watched the front end of my car burst into flames. The only salvageable part of the car was the rear area. The fire department hosed it down with water and had to use an ax to break open the hood of the car. The car was a total loss and I have contacted Chrysler who will send someone out to investigate the cause. I am awaiting on a response from them currently.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #32

May 302013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 118,451 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving back from a picnic with my family, going home my car just stopped white smoke was pouring out of the tailpipeand smelt gas really bad it was a horrible experience but my main problem is I only have had this car sine February 19 2013 and so I called my insurance company and had it towed to my home.I called my warranty company they said bring it to the nearest Chrysler dealership and have it looked at so I did in the mean time I check to see any recalls on my vehicle and there is one for the fuel module and power train so I got a phone call from the person that I was speaking with he said my car caught on fire and now I need a new engine this is a 5000.0 dollar engine that I don't have now my warranty said they were not going to cover it and the guy I am financing the car said for me to eat the loss well I am very unhappy right now because I have no car and no answers to why this happened I also don't want anyone else to go through this kind of thing thank god my family was not in the car when it caught on fire or there would be more serious consciences if anyone could please contact me in trying to help me figure out what happened that would be great everyone I talk to said that Chrysler should be able to help me. I am not looking to have to bring in a lawyer or anything like that I would just like to know how would you feel if it happened to you and if possible how to restore my faith in Chrysler again.

- Taunton, MA, USA

problem #31

May 302013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle was inspected for an unrelated issue when the cradle was found to be corroded. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic, whom advised the contact that the cradle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in a manufacturer's extended warranty for the cradle failure. The failure and current mileage was 124,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 06/28/13 the consumer stated the engine cradle was corroded. Large holes were found in the subframe. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer offered no assistance stating that the VIN is not covered in the extended warranty. 07/02/2013

- Pittsford , NY, USA

problem #30

May 082013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where it was advised to the contact that the motor mount and computer system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the problem persisted. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Hazel Crest , IL, USA

problem #29

Feb 152013

Pacifica

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that there was corrosion on the frame and the engine cradle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection but was not repaired. The failure was not reported to the manufacturer. The failure and current mileage was 137,000.

- Coventry , RI, USA

problem #28

May 072013

Pacifica

  • 100,000 miles
Sub-frame is totally rotted out!!!!!!!!!!!

- Coventry, RI, USA

problem #27

Apr 192013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 97,269 miles
The subframe (which holds up the engine) has thoroughly rusted through creating the danger of the engine and transmission falling from the frame. I am told the car is unsafe to drive. Chrysler has acknowledged a defect in materials used to construct cars in February and March of 2004 and has extended the warranty to 150,000 miles for those vehicles. As mine was produced 4 months later they are denying any liability and refusing any assistance. The defect is identical to one that is covered on cars made 4 months prior, and they have been unable to provide any documentation showing the material used on my vehicle is not from the defective batch. I may have defective parts but they cannot provide a method to identify those defective parts. Chrysler is unwilling to even examine the vehicle, instead using the VIN as their only reference as to coverage. I found it interesting that when I referenced others receiving assistance outside the parameters of the extended warranty I was told that based on customer loyalty there may be assistance for some but it was not available to me. I am concerned that customer loyalty plays a role in the safety of their (past) customers. I'm not sure how many people expect their frame to fail in 8 years but this could be a major safety factor for both passengers and any vehicle around them when an engine falls from a car. How many complaints are needed before action is taken?

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #26

Apr 052013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
Driving down the road the car began to shake uncontrollable. I pulled over and turned the car off and turned it back on to see if that rest something. It did nothing, I drove the car 3 miles very slowly to the auto repair shop. They told me 3 of the motor mounts are broke, which caused the engine to move and rest upon the front axles. They said that is a culprit of the car shaking.

- Hayward, WI, USA

problem #25

Apr 082013

Pacifica

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while receiving a repair at a private mechanic, the mechanic noticed that the engine cradle was corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 115,000.

- Davisburg, MI, USA

problem #24

Mar 272013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Driving down the street and the car started shaking and then something sounded like it snapped and the steering wheel was almost locked and could not steer. Had it towed to the mechanics and he said the under frame and the brackets attached from the chasis to the frame holding up the engine had broken off. I got home looked online and found out that there are a lot of complaints about rusting in the under frame and that it is a very unsafe condition.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #23

Mar 232011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Two month after I bought my Pacifica my ABS light came on and has continued to come on even after it was fixed. Apparently it is the sensor that keeps having issues. It reads a different speed than the other sensors. Also I keep having an issue with my engine light coming on randomly. I have taken the car in for evaluation 3 times and every time they tell me I need to turn the gas cap so many times to stop this from coming on. This actually does not solve the problem, as it is still continues to come on and turn off randomly. Again I assume a sensor, the automotive places are sure I just need to turn the cap, how many times will it need to be turned 20 cause 3, 4, 5,6 none of these stop the problem, super annoying Chrysler cannot just fix the problem, they made the car it cannot be that hard to fix.

- Appleton, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?