Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #136

Mar 232016

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My engine cradle is rusted/rotted out and completely unsafe to drive. I was told it can't pass inspection and will be approximately $2,000 to fix. My mechanic told me not to drive the car anymore, since the engine could fall out.after researching online, this is a very common problem with the 2005 Pacificas. Will there be a recall? would appreciate it if someone would get back to me asap, since I need my car to get to work. Thank you.

- Auburn, ME, USA

problem #135

Apr 202015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I took my car to a shop for repairs, and the mechanic was alarmed to find that the frame is so rusted under the engine that he deemed it unsafe to drive. My car has 185,000 miles on it, and is in otherwise good condition. It is not safe to drive as the engine could fall to the ground, potentially causing an accident. I was advised to get rid of the vehicle, but obviously I cannot sell it. I was never notified of this potential problem, although I have become aware that Chrysler knew the problem existed.

- Walker, IA, USA

problem #134

Mar 182015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 108,100 miles
We took our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica into local dealership to find source of oil leak. Upon examination we are told that a motor mount is leaking and that the supporting frame is completely rusted thru and said they wont repair the motor mount without replacing the sub frame. They tell us that Chrysler knows they have a issue but only will repair a very small number of the vehicles that are affected. People wonder why people don't buy american products when they wont stand behind their shoddy products. It is the last Chrysler that I will purchase. If the government organizations don't do anything about it what's the sense in having them.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #133

Mar 182015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 110,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took our 2005 Pacifica into the local dealership for a oil leak. Finding the motor mount leaking we also discovered the subframe completely rusted through. Upon further examination we find out this is a common issue on these cars and Chrysler refuses to take care of this issue.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #132

Feb 172015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
We bought our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica from a private seller... two days later we brougth it into the shop to get a mysterious clunk checked out and found the engine cradle was almost rotted away. After owning the vehicle for not even 48 hours it is now unsafe to drive, I called into Chrysler customer service because I saw a recall that at one point covered this model and I was told, " I aplogize but there is nothing we can do". my question is... if at one point this vehicle was not safe to opperate because of the engine cradle rust problem, what changed to exclude this model? I have plenty of pictures that show I should not be driving this vehicle with my children in it.

- Wayland , MI, USA

problem #131

Jan 162015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I was just informed by my mechanic today that the engine cradle in my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica is corroding. The cradle has to be replaced. I did a little bit of research on this issue and found that Chrysler issued an extended warranty for some 2005 Pacificas, but not others. Apparently, the process used to coat the piece was insufficient, which has lead to corrosion problems in an unknown number of vehicles. My vehicle was not included in the extended warranty, but I feel it should be, because we are clearly having the same problem as others who have been covered. In addition, this is a serious safety issue that should be addressed. We were told that the engine could fall out of the vehicle, which obviously could cause a serious, if not fatal, accident. I don't know what filing this type of complaint can accomplish, but I would hope that Chrysler can be made to take responsibility for this safety issue. I would also like a response from the nthsb so I know my voice was heard. Thank you.

- Schwenksville, PA, USA

problem #130

Jul 072014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought my vehicle in to my trusted local repair shop for a review and tune up and request to review rotors due to vehicle shake. When on the lift, it was discovered that the entire engine cradle was rusted to a point where it was barely attached to the vehicle. Initial technical service bulletins published (12-001-10 in Oct 2010) state that this condition could affect all 2004 - 05 Pacificas. It was later superceded by the current bulletin 13-001-12 dated March 16, 2012 which limits affected population to an ~6 week range of vins, which my car does not fall under and I have been told that I am out of warranty. Comparing photos to other complaints as well as the story on nbcchicago.com (see reference story below), my vehicle condition and the material defect is undeniably the same as what Chrysler is currently considering as the "affected population" and is at a point where my vehicle has been considered unsafe to drive. This condition is extremely unsafe and I have been met with 4 months worth of arguments and side stepping from Chrysler customer care at this time regarding acknowledgement of the material defect, the safety implications to myself, my family and other drivers of this model, and especially the $2,600 quote to replace the cradle and hardware at a Chrysler dealership, which effectively scraps my vehicle. I am aghast that all of the complaints filed for this condition on this site and elsewhere have not resulted in a more through review of this clear trend from the NHTSA. References: www.nbcchicago.com/investigations/minivan-owners-want-Chrysler-to-concede-rust-problems-241535881.html.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #129

Jan 062015

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 48,742 miles
Took our 2005 Chrysler Pacifica in for oil change and they informed us that the engine cradle is rotting out and that our engine could fall out and that would result in a bad accident. We called Chrysler and they would do nothing!!! we found out that many other people who own this same car had the same problem on the internet because the Chrysler manufacturer of this car did not coat the frame correctly when it was built. This was Chrysler mistake when this car was made and it is no fault of the owners that purchased these cars to have this terrible costly and dangerous problem. This should be under a recall but it is "not" and now it will cost us $3000 to have it repaired to make our car safe. We are the original owners of this car and it has always been keep in a garage. There is only 4800 miles on this car and this should never have happened. We are retired on a fixed income and this put us at a hardship. We feel we have to have this repaired to protect us, our family and other people on the road. We feel this should certainly be addressed and that the Chrysler manufacturer should recall and stand behind all 2005 Pacifica cars. Many people who own this car might never know this is happening and it is dangerous to have these cars on the road as this could cause a serious /fatal accident to many people! help!

- Mundelein, IL, USA

problem #128

Jan 032015

Pacifica

  • miles
I'm was driving my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica when I noticed that my car had been shaking, I brought it to a independent automotive shop, the problem the mechanic stated was that the sub-frame/engine cradle was rotted with rust, and wasn't safe to drive, bc the engine could literally fall out, I did some quick research on the issue, and to my findings this seems to be a problem for many people, with 04-05 Pacificas, I found a letter that other people posted from Chrysler online that stated, that 04-05 Pacificas warranty would be extended to 10 year or 150,000 miles which ever came first, I contacted Chrysler in reference to this letter, they recognized the letter, but claimed my vehicle wouldn't qualify, because it does not meet the dates from 2/23/04-3/31/04 of manufactured, there are thousand of complaints that are on line from people in the same situation as me, this is completely a safety issue, the risk people are taken, some don't even know that your engine could literally fall out, at high speeds this could result in death or serious injury.

- Troy , NY, USA

problem #127

Dec 232014

Pacifica

  • 94,000 miles
This is an update on the common engine cradle rust issue of the 2004-2005 Pacificas. I just had the engine cradle on my 2005 Pacifica replaced by the dealership. A micrometer analysis of the problematic area of the engine cradle reveals that it rusted from the inside out, indicating that the problem was indeed due to a failure of the rust-proofing process at manufacture, and not due do rusting which occurs through the normal vehicle operation, which would develop from the outside and work its way inward. Chrysler has admitted there was a problem with frame manufacture, but since there is no date of manufacture stamped on the frames they are visually indistinguishable from any others, meaning that they do not become individually identifiable until assembly occurs, and that can (either purposefully or inadvertently) be months or even years after the frame manufacturing occurs. In other words, it is entirely possible that Chrysler purposefully withheld frames known to be dangerous from the normal assembly process in order to surreptitiously work them in to subsequent assembly runs a few dozen at a time over the course of a couple years so as to avoid having it appear as if it was a singular manufacturing defect. Since there is no way for anyone to determine when each of the improperly manufactured frames were actually used for vehicle assembly, using vehicle assembly dates for determining which vehicles have bad frames is capricious and arbitrary. For the sake of the safety and well-being of the people who own these vehicles, I am strongly pleading the NHTSA to re-investigate this problem more closely on the grounds that both statistical and physical analytical evidence indicates that all of these engine cradle rust complaints are in fact related, and that Chrysler's response is logically insufficient to address the issue, let alone to insure public safety.

- Kent City, MI, USA

problem #126

Dec 172014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rusted out engine cradle. I took my vehicle in for a oil change. The tech told me and showed me the rusted out engine cradle. He also informed me not to drive this vehicle any where but home.since the dealership was a few miles away I drove it there for an inspection. After a day without a vehicle, the dealership called to tell me it would cost around $2700 or more to replace the rusted out engine cradle. No why am I going to pay that kind of money on a vehicle that only has 60,000 miles on it.I called Chrysler customer service, gave them all the information. They would not cover any of this due to I am the 3rd owner( whatever that has to do with it!) and its out of warranty! the second owner was my step dad who bought this vehicle at the dealerships used car lot where I took it to get it inspected. Even this dealership would not work with me.I feel that Chrysler should pay for this repair on a vehicle with only 60,000miles on it.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #125

Dec 152014

Pacifica

  • 114,000 miles
I was doing my oil change, when I noticed that my engine cradle was rusting through. I immediately called, both local Chrysler dealers, was told that although Chrysler is aware of the problem I was not covered. I called Chrysler directly, it was explained to me that although my state is listed in the extended warranty, but because it was originally sold in a state not listed, I was not covered.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #124

Dec 042014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased this car new in 2005. It has 140,00 miles on it. This week my wife took it in for a oil change and they said the motor is ready to fall out as the engine cradle is rusted out. They said the cost to fix this was $3-$4 thousand dollars. We don't have this kind of money and it's the car my 16 year old daughter drives 22 miles to school. I have resurched this issue and it's one that you are aware of and don't seem to care about. After the GM issues I'm disappointed that you have not made owners like me aware of this. Does someone need to get killed before you force Chrysler to recall these?

- Morenci, MI, USA

problem #123

Nov 222014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
Rusted engine cradle. Known issue by many Pacifica owners. Alot of owners complaining via internet. Am sure you have received hundreds of complaints for this rusted frame issue where the engine can fall out while driving and killing passengers. Chrysler is aware of the issues and never notified owners of this vehicle and the aforementioned problems.

- Carmel, NY, USA

problem #122

Nov 182014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 87,378 miles
Engine cradle rusting out on passenger side. No help from dealer or Chrysler customer care. They have known about this problem for some time. So many of these vehicles are still on the road and people do not realize they are driving a death trap. Cant imagine what would happen at 70 mph and the engine falls out.

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #121

Jul 032009

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 56,797 miles
In July 2009, during the vehicle safety inspection, the first signs that the engine cradle was rusted and even perforated in some places were reported. Now, it is getting worse and worse, vibrations can be felt when driving and great concerns are made on this vehicle safety. Updated 12/08/14

- France, DC, USA

problem #120

Oct 232014

Pacifica

  • 108,000 miles
Engine cradle/frame assembly is severley rusted. This was detected by conrad's located in green, Ohio 10/23/14 when servicing the vehicle. It is verified by duanne's automotive center, North canton, Ohio 10/25/14. Chrysler never sent me a recall notification for the rust condition. It was a recall item. It is very dangerous. It is costing me in excess of $1200 (parts and labor to install used cradle assembly - new is not available for purchase) to replace.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #119

Oct 172014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 108,800 miles
After getting a routine oil change the dealership told me that my engine cradle (subframe) had a hole in it about the size of a grapefruit. It was rusted through. The engine could fall out. Contacted Chrysler and they will not fix the problem. The car drives terribly. This is extremely dangerous and should be recalled.

- Sussex, WI, USA

problem #118

Oct 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 83,865 miles
Brought to garage due to constant stalling. Mechanic advised subframe was rotting out. Car only has 83,600 miles. This definitely is not normal wear and tear - defective materials.

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #117

Oct 032014

Pacifica

  • 171,515 miles
I have just performed routine (10/03/20014) maintenance on my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The mechanic called to inform me of significant corrosion problem with the cross member (cradle) that supports the engine, transmission, front suspension and steering. His visual inspection, as well as mine, showed more then 75% of the passenger side cradle rusted away. An open case # 25736224 has been established by Chrysler customer support. My Pacifica was produced September 30, 2004 which is outside of the assembly dates established by Chrysler for extended warranty coverage. Failure of the cross member (cradle) would cause loss of steering, engine and transmission failure, and severed brake lines. Because this is a major safety issue it should be repaired by Chrysler corporation.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?