Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

4.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,404 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments

problem #7

Mar 142010

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated the accelerator pedal stuck; he stated that it would release when he pressed hard on the pedal. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 66,000. The current mileage is approximately 67,000. Updated 10/27/10 updated 11/01/10

- North Lima, OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 152008

Pacifica

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica with a sticky accelerator pedal. We took it to the dealer during the summer 2008 and we were told the throttle cable in the accelerator had carbon build up and had to be cleaned. The dealer cleaned it and it was fine until we had to take it back on 12/21/09. Again they cleaned the throttle cable. The first repair was covered by the warranty. The second time cost us $125. I believe our Pacifica has the same problem as the Toyota'. I'm sure we'll have to take it back again.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #5

Dec 202008

Pacifica

  • 35,000 miles
My 2005 Pacifica has a gas pedal that sticks. Sometimes you must push it super hard causing a jerking of the car. Also, the ABS light comes on after 3 or 4 min. I will feel a hard brake pedal [like their not working] before this happens.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #4

Sep 102005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,826 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My problems began on 10/03/05 @ 2,826 miles. Since that time there have been a litany of problems through eighteen months. Wheel sensors -6 were replaced. Front end noise like a rubbing sound. Returned to dealer several times. Accelerator sticking. Returned to dealer several times each time they lubricated the linkage but after two weeks the problem continued. At this point nothing else was done concerning the accelerator. Next, problem a defective axle, replaced. Power module replaced. Doors would not lock and car would not start after installation of the power module. The car had to be towed to the dealer. It was repaired. Parking brake assembly fell apart in the rear brakes as I was driving down the highway. Parking brake assembly replaced by the dealer. Front end vibration again brought to dealers attention. Another wheel sensor replaced. On 5/24/07 brought my Pacifica back to the dealer concerning the front end noise. They replaced the power steering pump on 5/30/07. On 6/04/07 returned to the dealer noise in front end still there. Also, the accelerator still sticks. Concerning the front end noise, they said that a power steering line was leaking and they repaired it. The accelerator butterfly was finally replaced after over a year of complaints. On 6/08/07 I returned the car because of the same noise in the front end every time you turn left or right. At this point they decided to replace the steering rack. I picked up the car on 6/14/07 the vibration rubbing noise was still there. I returned to the dealer on 6/15/07. The service manager told me that they could not fix the car and to take the car home and wait for Chrysler to call. It has now been 6 weeks and they have not called. I have called the dealer several times for up dates, they say that they do not have any information. Chrysler's letter, dated 6/26/07 states, " we consider this matter closed, " even though the car has still not been repaired.

- West End, NC, USA

problem #3

Oct 082006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. On three occasions the gas pedal on this car has stuck. The car is under warranty. I took it to the dealer, kerry in milford, Ohio and asked to have this potentially dangerous situation corrected. Their service people tell me that this is "wear and tear" and not covered by the warranty, and that I can pay $170 for them to clean out the "gunk" under the car, which is likely to be causing the sticking. In over 40 years of driving I have never had this problem before. I wrote Chrysler who initially told me that they couldn't repair because the warranty was run, and then, when I corrected that error, said it was not covered under the bumper to bumper warranty.

- Milford, OH, USA

problem #2

Nov 212005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Accelerator sticks in idle position. The problem is continuous once engine reaches operating temperature. Occasionally accelerator sticks requiring very heavy foot pressure to break loose causing the vehicle to lurch forward.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #1

Dec 012004

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Upon parking the vehicle surged/accelerated. This happened three times. Consumer contacted Chrysler. But, Chrysler would do nothing to assist the consumer.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?