Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,760 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments

problem #13

Jan 142011

Pacifica

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving approximately 55 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle would not restart and it was towed to an independent mechanic who stated that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Carthage, TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 042009

Pacifica

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. When making left turns the vehicle stalled without prior warnings. Usually after waiting for several minutes the vehicle can be restarted. His model year was affected by recall # 06V432000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module )(tcm, PCM). According to the recall the dealers will reprogram the power train control module. The fuel pump module will also be replaced on vehicles built from August 1, 2004 through September 30, 2004. The dealer will only update the software for his vehicle. He has to pay for the fuel pump. The failure mileage 80,000.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #11

Jul 032008

Pacifica

  • 53,000 miles
Car stalls and reads that the tank is empty even when there is gas in the vehicle. It occurs regularly. Nothing has been done yet. I was told egr system, then throttle body, and now I supposedly need a $1000 fuel pump job. Very irritated.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #10

Oct 102007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle coasted to a stop and failed. The vehicle was pushed into a parking lot. The following day, gasoline was added and the vehicle was restarted. The vehicle failed six times and was then taken to the dealer. The dealer stated that both fuel pumps needed to be replaced. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current mileage was 67,350 and failure mileage was 65,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 052007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact was involved in two crashes. In the first crash, the contact struck a deer and the air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repair, but the more it was repaired, the more failures were found. In the second crash, the vehicle automatically accelerated uphill at a high rate of speed and spun out. The vehicle flipped over repeatedly and landed upside down, nearly killing the contact. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. After the crashes, she received a safety recall notice for the fuel pump module or program PCM. The speed, recall number, and mileages were unknown.

- Yukon, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Jan 122005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,207 miles
I have had multiple problems with this vehicle since its purchase date. 1/12/05- initially vehicle stalled while driving ~10 mph after slight right curve. No problem found. 6/9/05- the 2nd time it occurred was on a hill, coming to a stop to turn right. No problem found. 7/22/05- during left turn at an intersection, straightening wheel to right stalled. After speaking with Chrysler technician, fuel tank believed to have problem, replaced fuel pump. 2/27/06- stalled again- no problem found 9/26/06- sensor failure occurred on ABS and traction control. 12/12/06- vehicle lost all front lights in dash and wipers. -replaced body control computer. 1/16/07 vehicle stalled while driving on state route at 45 mph- no problem found.

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #7

Sep 302006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Chrysler Pacifica stalled while turning left at a slow speed. This happened while going around a roundabout in the road. Unsafe because the power steering and brakes make controlling car very hard.

- Oxford, MS, USA

problem #6

Aug 042006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
2005 Chrysler Pacifica - 13,000 miles - same issue as NHTSA investigation #EA06-013. Gas gauge is misreading and vehicle stalls without warning. New fuel pump cannot be provided at this time, is on backorder from manufacturer.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #5

Jul 262006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact stated turning left into a drive or a private lot that has an incline the vehicle stalls. The vehicle restarts each time. The dealership installed a co-Pilot and determined the fuel pump was losing power. The fuel pump was replaced. The problem continued and the dealership was unable to determine the problem. The left turn signal failed, the ABS light illuminated, which resulted in the replacement of the wheel speed sensor, the left real tail light and battery were replaced. Updated 08/14/06.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #4

Jun 022006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
During the first week of June, 2006 I noticed a few things that seemed to all begin at the same time. My Pacifica would not start right away when I first attempted to start it after it had been sitting over night, it would hesitate when I took off from a stop if I had been on a downhill incline and the gas gauge would drop to empty as soon as the tank was down to five-eighths full. The problem went away as soon as I filled the tank, but the next week it happened again when the tank got down to five-eighths. I called the dealer to make an appointment to have it looked at and the earliest they could take it was June 21st. The problem got much worse by the time the 21st came around. Every time I came to a stop the engine would stall. It would start back up if the car was put in drive, but if it was on a downhill incline it would not restart. I took the car to the dealer on June 21st and was told it needed a fuel pump. They called me later that day and said the part was back ordered, but they should have it in a day or two. Well, today is July 19th and my car is still at the dealer waiting for a part. Evidently the Pacificas have a primary fuel pump and a jet pump. So many of the cars have had this problem (there are hundreds of complaints listed on edmunds.com forum) that evidently they can't keep up with the demand for these pumps. I filed a complaint with the Chrysler customer assistance center on July 11th. I don't know if it has done any good, but they do call the dealer each time I call them while they have me on the phone. I am trying to be patient because I love this car, but this is getting ridiculous. It is also having a new power seat memory module installed because both power seats stopped working and it had a new transfer case installed because of a clicking/clunking noise in the front end during turns.

- Hampstead, MD, USA

problem #3

May 272006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the last two months my car has not wanted to start on the first try. Always have to turn the key a second time. This happens first thing in the morning since the car has sat all night. Also, my fuel gauge is not reading appropriately to the level of gas in the tank. At approximately a 1/4 of a tank the gauge instantly goes to empty. I put in 2 gallons of gas and miraculously the gas gauge reads 1/2 tank. Now those who own a pacifies know that two gallons does not fill your tank half way. This morning my fuel gauge read 3/4 tank and my od read approx. 111 miles for the trip thus far. I wanted to fill it up but the car would only take in 2 gallons. Turned on the car the fuel gauge did not move from 3/4 tank. Drove 25 miles and somehow my gauge read almost full. I have also noticed that at time when I step on the gas pedal my car does not seem to speed up. It is almost as if I was in neutral. I have brought my car back to the dealer on two occasions and have another appointment scheduled and they tell me that they can not duplicate the problem. They claim the car starts fine for them, even if left overnight. Also, they claim to have syphoned gas out of my tank and the gauge reads appropriately to the amount of gas that was in the tank. Approximately a year ago my car did stall as I was taking a left hand turn at a low speed. I immediately contacted the dealer and was told they it normal for a car to occasionally do that. These are very serious and potentially dangerous incident as I have my toddler with me in the car most of the time.

- Dedham, MA, USA

problem #2

Nov 292004

Pacifica 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,675 miles
The contact stated vehicle stall with no warning while making a left turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they could not duplicate the problem. The vehicle was taken back to the dealership, and they installed the autopilot. When they checked the autopilot, they state it was not working. Upon further inspection, the dealership found there was a problem with the fuel pump. The part was ordered, but according to the manufacturer, the part was being redesigned, and will not be available until the end of the year. The engine light came on, and the dealership suggested he ignore it. After filling the gas tank the gas gauge showed empty. The dealership stated this was part of the fuel pump problem. The gas gauge still is inoperable, and he has to constantly put fuel in the vehicle. Updated 12/7/2005.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 132005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
On the first day of owning our Pacifica the fuel gauge dropped down from about a 1/2 tank to less than a 1/4 tank and almost stalled on us twice. Fueling the car back up with just a few dollars put the gas gauge back past the 1/2 way mark which there's obviously no way this could happen. Since that night, the car has subsequently stalled twice while exhibiting the same problem of the gas gauge dropping down to almost empty. This is a major safety concern, what if this car stalls in an intersection etc... this needs to be fixed asap before someone is hurt.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

Not what you are looking for?