Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,632 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Dec 012006

Pacifica

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the vehicle began emitting steam from under the front hood. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the water pump was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 45,000.

- Sacramento , CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 212011

Pacifica

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that a clicking noise was coming from the top of the engine. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was advised to replace the engines lifters. The vehicle was not repaired. Neither the dealer, nor the manufacturer were notified. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 80,200. The VIN was unavailable.

- Benicia, CA, USA

problem #30

Oct 152010

Pacifica

  • 78,400 miles
Car has had the service engine soon light on for over 6 months. Tried to get dealer to honor warranty - 48/50,000 - but had no luck. As of October, 15th, 2010, the car became inoperable due to a heavy knocking sound associated with the engine. I tried relentlessly again to have the dealer honor the warranty. I was told to bring the car in and I did so. Their testing found that there is sludge in the motor, whatever that is. The repairs will take $11,000 to fix, which is more than the worth of the vehicle in some cases. I have tried Consumer Affairs in Maryland but the dealer has not budged. The car is still in the dealer's possession.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #29

Sep 042009

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 77,958 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Valve lifter noise cause by sheared off pins on lifter shart causing shaft to rotate and oil feeds not supplying lifters. I had this repair done @ 77,000 miles in September 2009. It has happened again in February 2011 @ 104,000 miles.

- Lagrangeville, NY, USA

problem #28

Feb 062010

Pacifica

  • miles
My 2006 Chrysler pacific has tapping noise coming from the engine and dealers don't seem to know what's wrong. Another check it and said its the lifters. Warranty is on the car and the noise is annoying. Chrysler need to fix the problem.

- Eastover, SC, USA

problem #27

May 102007

Pacifica

  • miles
2006 Chrysler Pacifica - throttle sticks for first 1/4" of travel. This causes rapid acceleration in stop and go traffic. This occurs more often in warm or hot weather. Chrysler has not repaired issue. Mechanics have not been "able to reproduce events".

- Jeannette, PA, USA

problem #26

Feb 102010

Pacifica

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Extreme oil consumption have to put an xtra bottle of oil in every other week...dealership told me nothing they can do and its common on every Pacifica... / ABS sensor problems -light kept turning on randomly and brakes fluttering randomly when trying to stop/ faulty engine temperature sensor- car overheated several times causing major smoke to billow out of hood had to replace sensor/ tie rod replacement before 40K miles/ now gas pedal sticking along with separate terrible engine noises-- sounds like struggling and making a hollow sound as if you are blowing into an empty glass bottle..no one can tell me what is causing it or how to fix it..nothing but a money pit with one problem after another! very upset that Chrysler is getting away with this while we all suffer and keep throwing our hard earned money out the window!

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #25

Mar 162009

Pacifica

  • 50,000 miles
I drive a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica touring. I have had issues with the ABS light coming on and off. It does not make a difference the speed I am traveling and when I come to a stop it begins to vibrate and I rearended the people infront of me. I have also had issues with my car stalling for no apparent reason. It is hard to believe that there is not a recall on this particular unit. I have called the dealership and also Chrysler and they said no problems have ever been documented...they need to start checking this site and see that all of the problems are the same.

- Polk City, IA, USA

problem #24

Jul 102009

Pacifica

  • 35,000 miles
2006 Chrysler Pacifica: Uses a quart of oil every 1000 miles, ongoing since purchase with 35,000 miles, current mileage 49,300 their are no leaks nor have their been any, no smoke from exhaust either.

- Leroy, MI, USA

problem #23

Feb 152008

Pacifica

  • 45,000 miles
Lifter failure starting at low mileage.

- Wills Point, TX, USA

problem #22

Oct 102009

Pacifica

  • 71,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pressed the gas pedal and a loud noise like a bump came from the engine. Took the car to the dealer and they said it was the motor mount. They said the motor mounts are on back order and they don't know when they could do it.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #21

May 122009

Pacifica

  • 39,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica touring with around 40K miles. These days I have heard the ticking noise from engine. I tried to fix this problem from many mechanics, but they can not fix it. The noise makes me crazy. I could not find anything wrong. Furthermore, many mechanics could not find what is the problem.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 012009

Pacifica

  • 24,000 miles
We bought a 2006 Pacifica touring this car burns a quart of oil 1000 mile. Its like clockwork, I have to check it all the time!!!! because it consistently burns oil. No vehicle with 37000 should do that we have a 2003 Chevy with a V-6 with 137000 miles and it doe not burn near the oil if any. This need to be seriously looked at by Chrysler my problem is at 37000 miles our warranty expired!!

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #19

Jun 122009

Pacifica

  • 31,700 miles
2006 Chrysler Pacifica fwd 3.6ohc with 31K miles 1) events leading up: To failure driving the car as usual; 450+ miles into a 575 mile trip 2) failure: The lifters started pinging/knocking. Knocking noise became louder / more severe as driving continued. 3) lifter assembly is currently being replaced. Other owners of this same model (different years) have posted their experiences of this failure (www.chryslerforum.com/forum/showthread.php?T=7626).

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #18

May 202009

Pacifica

  • 55,827 miles
Own 2006 Chrysler Pacifica, local dealership reported front motor mount was broken but dealership told me it can be dangerous if not repaired but part is on backorder and there is nothing that can be done. After reading blogs this is a national issue.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #17

Feb 262009

Pacifica

  • 45,000 miles
Broken motor mounts and axle. ABS sensors had to replace battery and both headlights all before 50000 miles. 2006 Chrysler Pacifica is a safety hazard and I don't know why these motor mounts have not been recalled. Furthermore motor mounts on 2 month back order unable to fix so putting more stress on my car needing more repairs.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #16

Jan 012009

Pacifica

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. While accelerating at 25 mph, the engine made knocking noises. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they discovered that the engine mounts failed. New mounts were ordered in January of 2009, but the dealer stated that they would not arrive until March 10, 2009. The contact received the parts and is aware of numerous complaints regarding the engine mounts for this vehicle. He would like the manufacturer to repair the vehicle for free since they realized that there was a major defect. The VIN was unknown. The current mileage was 54,000 and failure mileage was 50,000.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 262008

Pacifica

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the valve train assembly in the engine made a clicking noise and the pins in the rocker arms failed. The noise has been occurring since 2008. The contact stated that the engine could eventually fail and fall out of the vehicle. The dealer stated that this was a common failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #14

Aug 022008

Pacifica

  • 40,840 miles
I purchased a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica in May 2007 w/ 20,134 miles on it. It started a tapping noise at the beginning of Aug 2008 (apprx 40,840 miles) and went into the shop on 08/04/08. The dealership called me on 08/08/08 to P/U my vehicle and reported that the noise was due to my using non-mopar oil and filter (they changed the oil and filter that day). The car was still making the noise when I started it but the mechanic informed me that "well it sounds better than it did, you just need to drive it for a few days". I left the dealership and drove it the 35 miles home. By the time I got home the noise was worse than ever. My husband hauled the car back to the dealership 08/11/08 (all tow drivers picked by roadside assistance wanted at least $100 over the $100 daimler warranty pays). The car sat there for a week and when I tried to P/U a rental car 08/15/08, the service manager stated that my car was drivable even though they had just ordered new lifters. He also told this to daimler so they would only pay for 5 days rental which of course did not cover the full time they took to complete the repairs on 08/22/08. The noise was gone when I got it that day. On 09/06/08 the noise started again and is now in the shop (a different dealership this time) for the 3rd time in a month for the same problem.

- Holdenville, OK, USA

problem #13

Jun 052008

Pacifica

  • 29,000 miles
We bought a brand new 2006 Chrysler Pacifica (in June of 2006) and, with only, 29,000 miles, it already has an internal engine failure and the air conditioning has broken down (possibly a computer chip error). Chrysler refuses to accept the warranty claim and is trying to get us to pay for it all. The total charges are now over $2,000.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?