Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,107 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jun 222014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 151,041 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I filled up the tank with gas and was on a long road trip. I had reset the trip at the time of fill up and I had tracked the highway mileage using a little less than 1/2 tank then refilled it then took how many miles I had gone divided it by how many gallons of gas it took to fill it back up. I was getting 21 miles per gallon. When the gas gauge reached 1/2 tank, it dropped straight to empty. I had only gone roughly 200 miles and figured at 21 miles per gallon I should easily get 350 to 400 miles before needing gas so I carried on. After I had traveled 220 miles on a full tank, (20 gallons) the motor just shut itself off. I pulled over and called for help. They brought 2 gallons of gas and put it in and it fired right up. I drove 2 miles back to the gas station and filled it back up and it only took 8 gallons to fill it back up. 10 if you include the 2 we had just put in on the side of the road. That is 1/2 a tank of gas. When I got home I looked up recalls and there is a recall F44 on my vehicle that describes this problem but when I called Chrysler, they said my vehicle was not manufactured within the dates of the recall. If my vehicle is having the issue shouldn't they cover it?

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 092014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 157,761 miles
We have a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica that we purchased used in 2008. The car stalls when turning like the 2004-2005 models that had a recall F44. We contacted Chrysler customer care at 800 992 1997and found out that the previous owner had taken the car in for repair during the initial recall. Chrysler customer care told us to take the car back to Chrysler because it is covered under the safety recall warranty for 10 years. When we took the car in we learned that the engine cradle is corroding another recall X26. The dealer told us it would cost a couple of thousand dollars to repair. Additionally, we were told that we need two new fuel pumps and that this is not covered by the F44 recall because our 2006 car is outside of the 2004 - 2005 model year recall to replace the fuel pumps. We paid the dealer the cost of the service charge $103 for the information and were told we might consider buying a new car. I am surprised/frustrated and angry that Chrysler is not taking any accountability for both very dangerous safety issues and in essence made $103 profit off of their negligence to create a safe car.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #19

Mar 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
I had the brakes repaired in 2012; the next month the ABS light came on and the sensor was replaced. Ten months later, the sensor light came on again. I was told it was insignificant, that the brakes are fine. In the fall of 2013, I had the car towed to a shop because it tried to accelerate while I was pressing the brakes. I spent over $800 having a bunch of codes cleared with the transmission and other things. The engine light was off for a few days but came back on. There was an error that read gas cap. I replaced the gas cap but the engine light remains on. In March 2014 the brake light came on, I was told that I needed to replace the calibers but later was told that I didn't. I had someone else to check and they said that I needed new front brakes. I had those replaced. On 4/7/2014, I was leaving the parking garage at the doctor's office and the gas pedal was stuck. Lucky for me it was on a downhill slope and I was able to stop at the stop sign and put the car in park and press the accelerator to unstick it. Today, April 13, 2014 the brake light is back on and there is a noise in the frontend. I love my car but it just does not feel safe to drive.

- Chickasaw, AL, USA

problem #18

Feb 262014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 123,522 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was bought 1 year ago from used car dealership, no carfax available, had 120,000 miles, ran great for 4 months. Started having stalling problems, check light coming off/on, had diagnosed as possible fuel pump gage reading wrong, catalytic converter possible. Had check light reset, continued to have major stalling of engine at any speed. Replaced both primary and secondary fuel pump, catalytic converter, 02 sensor (rear). Total repairs $2,718.74, still has same problem. Problem when vehicle stalls, loss of power unexpectedly, loss of control due to shutdown causes concern, accident waiting to happen, expenses beyond expectations for general maintenance of vehicle. No help from Chrysler dealership. Says mileage too high, no warranty for defect, beyond dealership scope of concern for customer.

- Gooyear, AZ, USA

problem #17

Aug 052013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I called Chrysler, concerning the F44 recall. Would you believe my car missed the recall period by four days. The recall covered autos built until late Nov 2006 my car was built Dec 2006. But the notice did not go out until late part Nov 2006. A decent company would have ended the recall as Dec 2006. I guarantee some part of the Dec 2006 auto was already in assembly, before the Nov 2006 recall date, this is so wrong. On that same recall bulletin my VIN was included, but as I continue to read the recall bulletin, it stated that all vehicles are not covered within this VIN series. Chrysler Corp is a billion dollar company, I am just one small consumer, and I need your help with this repair.

- Apopka, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Feb 012007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
Throttle has been sticking for seven years. The dealer has sprayed the throttle body several times over the years to fix the problem. The dealer fix is only temporary.

- Burlington, WI, USA

problem #15

Nov 222011

Pacifica

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that fuel spilled out from the filler neck while refueling. The contact also stated that the fuel tank was equipped to hold twenty gallons, but would only accept ten gallons. As a result, the vehicle ran out of fuel and stalled several times. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the only way to remedy the failure was to replace the fuel tank. The dealer also admitted that the vehicle was not equipped with the proper fuel tank. The VIN was not unavailable. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Alamogroreo, NM, USA

problem #14

Apr 062011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Ive had this car for just over one year. I have replaced 2 motor mounts, 6 months apart. The electric cooling fan motor bearing went bad and you cant replace just the motor, you have to replace both motors, both fans and the shroud ( ridiculous ). my check engine light is on and says fuel cap on dash but I replaced the cap and now as I'm looking on this site I know its probably the gas tank lines cracked. Ive also got the sticky gas pedal, transmission bangs into 2nd randomly. My conclusion after reading about so many problems that many people are having with this vehicle is that there should be recalls. I mean jesus were talking about fire hazards and a sticking accelerator potentially causing an accident. Nothing but problems with this car at such low miles. Never again Chrysler.

- Lancaster , CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 082012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Obtained car brand new in 2006, yr later had to replace engine, was said they gave us a new one, prior to that we had sunroof issue that still persist to this day 6years later... electrical off. One minute you have gas and next minute literally fuel light is on..fast forward a tad 2007 stalling problems, ...fast forward even more 30,000miles later.... stalling allllllllot, especially while I'm driving with my kids. Making a U-turn and just simply parking into a space no go.. gas cap light is on, check engine light on.... currently vehicle is at dealership which was charging us $2,632 to fix problems, besides overcharging ridiculously, Chrysler offered to pay most of bill after doing research and realizing we were getting ripped off, a two day job is now turned into 1week, no vehicle, no loaner.. 6yrs. Later failed emissions test is what prompted me to take it to a dealership...now I cannot pass an emissions test nor register my vehicle @ end month>( today). Would like to trade, however they low balled me & said $4,000.they cannot get car to reset, and still could not find out why it is stalling. After letting dealership know I have an open case seems like they are singing a different tune...still no car/ no fix...

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Sep 012011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
About 5 months ago my car would not stop completely when braking. I would let off brakes and reapply & it still did not stop promptly. ABS light came on & engine light came on. I took it to Chrysler repair center in delray beach Florida. They said my nvl pump & ABS sensor needed replaced. They also said if I do not replace the nvl pump my car will begin to stall. The car began stalling about 3-4 weeks later. It happened about 4-6 times at low speeds or when the car was at idol. I had the pump replaced by another mechanic a few weeks later. The car kept stalling after the part was replaced. Then the car started completely lock up & turn off right in the middle of driving. I have no power, no steering...nothing. I can't believe I haven't been in an accident yet! I took it back in to 3 different mechanics for an inspection & diagnostic. All three mechanics say now I have O2 sensors & mounts that are bad. They all say that everything else is fine.they all 3 say the mounts & O2 sensors doesn't explain why the car stalls & locks up/turns off while driving. My last mechanic ran a recall search for my car & found a recall for my make & model that completely explains my problem. However when I called Chrysler back in the middle of January they said my VIN # does not qualify"!?!? I called Chrysler home office to see if there was some kind of error as to why my car is not eligible for the recall & they haven't called back. How can Chrysler not honor this defect in my car when it honors it in others. It is dangerous. I have 2 children that I drive around. I need my car to be safe. I have researched that many other people with my car have the same exact problems. Chrysler obviously is aware of the problem but will not deal with it. This should be illegal! please can someone help me"

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 032011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This last Friday, the 11/18/11, was the last incident where it finally stalls completely and I have to move out of traffic. For over a month now, the gas gauge has dropped to zero (when I know I have gas in there) so I have to keep up with that on the side, the electrical trip mileage gauge says gas cap, checked it, kind of jittery, where it would jerk and not accelerate on the road, until this last Friday when I turned a corner, and it just stalled. Started it up, and went down the road and as soon as I accelerated in oncoming traffic, it stalled again, pulled off the road towards oncoming traffic and sat for a moment, gentleman stopped to help me, and said it might be overheating, to turn my heater on and leave it running since I still had several miles to go to get home and everyone was gone at the house. So I turned it back on and heated it up and away I went, got about a mile and it stalled again, so I went on the shoulder and coasted for about another mile and started it up and coasted it again, 'til I got to our small town and started it up, went to take a corner, and it stalled on the corner, so I coasted a bit again, and started up, and went down about a mile, put into neutral (so not to use gas and accelerate) around the corner and went down about another mile, put into neutral again, took the corner, back into drive and down the road to the house, took another turn in neutral, and coasted into the drive way. I've noticed that there is a recall with 2006 Chrysler Pacifica for the fuel pump and control module with power train. According to www.motortrend.com recall id#57629 powertrain:at:control module (tcm, PCM). It is sitting and want it fixed as soon as possible before me driving with the kids in the car and I can't make it out in an intersection because of a problem with Chrysler and their parts/recall. Otherwise, I'll look into legal action.

- Calhan, CO, USA

problem #10

May 242011

Pacifica

  • 60,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated the fuel tank was leaking fumes. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who performed a diagnostic test and confirmed that there was a leak. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,500.

- Rockvale, TN, USA

problem #9

Apr 132011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 116,500 miles
On April 13, 2011, while driving vehicle at approximately 10 mph and while making a left turn, vehicle suddenly stopped abruptly resulting in a vehicle stall. All electrical power was lost, along with engine stalling. Restarted vehicle and proceeded to drive again when it then suddenly started to drive rough for approximately a couple of seconds, as if it again wanted to stall, but didn't. after this, the vehicle drove normal. Took vehicle to pepboys on the same day and they diagnosed a 420 and a 700 fault code. On Thursday April 14, 2011 took vehicle to alliance Chrysler dealer in ft. Worth, tx. I explained what had happened and mentioned that my vehicle experienced the same symptoms described in the PCM/fuel pump recall issued against 2006 Pacificas. I also mentioned that this recall did not cover my vehicle which they confirmed. However, I raised concerns on whether the recall applicability needed to be expanded to cover other Pacificas. The dealer has yet to figure out the problem besides telling me that they confirmed a 420 and 700 fault code which they stated would require me to replace the catalytic converter and the transmission shifting solenoid. I questioned whether the sudden stall of the vehicle could have resulted in a misleading fault code. Dealer technician mentioned that the stall could have been caused by a faulty transmission solenoid. I mentioned that my vehicle had shown no indication of a transmission problem with the gear shift. Besides, if a faulty transmission shift solenoid is capable of causing a vehicle stall, then this vehicle has a serious design flaw since a stall while driving could result in serious injury or a catastrophic accident. Dealer mentioned that mechanic was unable to replicate the failure and would continue to investigate the problem and get back to me. As of April 20, 2011, dealer has been unable to explained why the vehicle stalled. I suggested they perform the 2006 PCM/fuel pump recall fix.

- Haslet, TX, USA

problem #8

Mar 142011

Pacifica

  • 26,000 miles
The check engine light came on for the evap system. Had it checked out at the dealership and they found a broken hose fitting in the top of the fuel tank in the fuel pump control module.

- Mary Esther, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 202011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Gas pedal sticks/jams. Have to stomp on gas pedal to unstick which causes the car to speed forward or backward.

- Blackwood, NJ, USA

problem #6

Aug 202010

Pacifica

  • 65,000 miles
Throttle sticks or will not move for first 1/4" of travel. When the pedal finally becomes unstuck, this causes rapid acceleration in stop and go traffic.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #5

Aug 012009

Pacifica

  • 111,000 miles
Ongoing issue with gas pedal sticks intermittently at idle. Have to press gas pedal very hard to unstick causing vehicle to jump forward or backward rapidly.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #4

Nov 022009

Pacifica

  • 90,000 miles
Ongoing issue with gas pedal sticks intermittently at idle since November 2009. Have to press gas pedal very hard to unstick causing vehicle to jump forward or backward rapidly.

- Weston, FL, USA

problem #3

Feb 202010

Pacifica

  • 98,342 miles
I have a 2006 Chrysler Pacifica that emits a strong natural gas smell. The problem started 3 days ago (2/20/10). I went to the Chrysler dealership today to fix the problem. They confirmed the smell of natural gas, but could not offer a solution to the problem. They drove the car and upon braking and acceleration the fumes were emitted. The Chrysler mechanics said that żthey could not find anything mechanical that would cause the smell.ż my lungs hurt and my nerves are really getting bad! just by driving around trying to find someone who can fix it! I drive with the windows down and IżM still affected by the fumes. We just had a snow storm and IżM freezing in my car, trying to breathe! I live in detroit, we are the hardest hit by this recession and I need a car to keep my job! I have to travel to my customers. I donżT have another vehicle, nor can I afford one. Please help.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #2

Jul 222009

Pacifica

  • miles
Engine light came on, had vehicle checked and it turned out to be an evap leak. Bought a new gas cap first, that didn't fix it, mechanic pulled the gas tank and found the fuel pump line had cracked, evidently the gas tank is plastic and sunk in at the top causing the plastic line on the pump to crack. This is potentially a very dangerous situation we had to add some extra line to fuel line just to put the tank back up and keep from braking the new fuel pump.

- Lexington, SC, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?