Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,102 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Jun 282014


  • 101,000 miles


Motor mounts replaced, tie rods replaced, control arms replaced all done in the last month !! why doesn't Chrysler have a recall out on this issues since it's known for it! oh did I mention the gas pedal gets stuck all the time! other thing is my check engine light keeps coming on and's been diagnosed as the fuel pump....really at this point I'm tired of putting money into the car.

- Wappinger Falls, NC, USA

problem #17

Jul 182014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
I took my 2006 Pacifica in to a dealer on 7/18/2014 to have a noise coming from the front end inspected. The dealer told me that the tie rod bushings had failed for a second time in about a year. Then he told me that part of the problem was that the sub frame was rusting and cracking to the point that the engine and transmission could fall out. I found out that Chrysler had a recall for 2004 and 2005 Pacificas with the same issue but would not cover it for any other years. The fact that they know they had a problem coupled with the number of issues that I have seen online, I don't understand why they wouldn't cover this failure on all model years. Why hasn't this been recalled? this will be the last Chrysler that I will ever buy.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

problem #16

Jul 092014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 126,449 miles
I took my vehicle to my mechanic for it's regular tire rotation & oil change on July 9, 2014. He called me to come over and showed me the rust on the front of the subframe. I've religiously maintained this vehicle and had no idea that it was a known problem on the Pacifica. I've never received any notice advising me that it could be a problem and I've been a loyal Chrysler customer for at least the last 20 years. This car is only 8 years old!!!

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #15

Jul 082014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 97,728 miles


Vehicle was taken in to local dealership for a brake job and for issues with the ride and an odor in the interior cabin that appeared after prolonged acceleration. Upon inspection, it was reported that the vehicle was unsafe due to the sub-frame being rotted and the motor mounts worn to such a degree that the engine could fall out of the vehicle entirely. The entire exhaust system was compromised as well, including the exhaust manifolds. In addition, much of the front suspension was shot and needed replacement. Our family purchased this vehicle new and have had it serviced many, many times at a Chrysler facility over the eight years we owned it. We were never informed once that the sub-frame had any sign of excessive corrosion until now. We believe the corrosion is the result of poor design and possibility poor material. We also believe the engine instability contributed to some of the other damage. The total repair bill exceeded $6,500.

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #14

Jun 062014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 51,421 miles
During routine oil change, significant rust-through was discovered on engine cradle. This car has been garaged all its life and only has 51,000 miles. I see through investigation that this problem has been occurring since 2004 and there seems to be no help from Chrysler for the 2006 model year. Well my days of being a "Chrysler and Dodge man" are over!

- North Canton, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

May 202014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Took my 2006 Pacifica in for inspection. The engine cradle is rusted through and unsafe. I found out that there is extended coverage on some of these cars. I called Chrysler and was told I should pay for it (2500.00) now and save my receipts because there may be a recall someday that will cover my car. They obviously know this is a major problem but are not standing behind their product. I have found several hundred complaints on multiple websites about this same issue and even found a petition on, which I signed. I also found that several people are trying to put together a class action lawsuit, count me in.

- Hinckley, OH, USA

problem #12

Apr 262014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 84,205 miles


During a routine oil change, a mechanic informed me that there was severe rust (50%) to the support system holding up the engine on the passengers side. The car only has 84,000 miles. He said that it is a very dangerous situation, that, if not repaired, would eventually break way and the engine would drop out of the support system. When I contacted Chrysler care, the intake operator basically read from a script and stated that my vehicle wasn't covered in the recall, even though the same part was affected, and that there was nothing that they could do to assist me. After doing some research online, I found over 700 other complaints about the same issue. This is the third Chrysler that I have owned (and my second Pacifica) with 100% satisfaction until this point. Unless Chrysler deals with this issue to my satisfaction and my safety is they first concern, I will never own another Chrysler product again. I have taken pictures of the part in question and intend to pursue this issue until it is fixed!

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #11

Mar 202012


  • 100,000 miles
On March 20th 2012 I was driving home from work when the driver side strut mount broke, slightly allowing the strut to damage my hood and break my inner tie rod end. I immediately parked the vehicle called aaa and had it towed to my house. On March 23 I purchased a new strut mount and on the 24th replaced the broken one with the new one. Unfortunately I did the work myself and didn't notice my inner tie rod broke. Which led to my vehicle needing to be checked by my mechanic about 8 months later when my outer tie rod end gave way damaging in the process the wheel bearings and the driver side axle. I had everything fixed and ran into no more problems until July 17th 2013 when my front end alignment started to slip and a noticeable knocking noise started coming from my front end. I immediately set up an appointment to have my vehicle serviced at kelly Chrysler dealership in lehigh valley and they were able to get me in a week later. It took them roughly a week to fix my car. But they replaced my upper engine mount, front lower engine mount, L/F inner outer tie rod ends and removed a damaged exhaust shield. But they still couldn't' tell me why my alignment was off and what the knocking noise was. Towards the end of August my passenger side strut mount broke and I had it replaced right away. Then again in November this time completely ripping through the hood. Then again in February, March and now today 5/7/2014 I noticed the passenger side strut mount is on the verge of breaking again. After speaking to a couple of Pacifica owners in my area I have come to find out these problems are common along with engine shut offs and check engine lights being on for no reason. Its apparent that the 3/8th inch thick plate that the struts sit on are not adequate enough to handle the weight of the vehicles along with the constant jerking motion off the car from the sticky gas peddle.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 022014


  • 100,000 miles
After having $1600 of front end work on my vehicle the mechanic informed me that I should get rid of this car because the sub frame is severely rotted and not safe. This sub frame supports the whole engine and if it fails the engine will collapse to the ground. This vehicle has been well taken care of and there is no rot at all on any other part of the car. I've researched this vehicle and there was a recall for the 2004 and 2005 models. I've read hundreds of complaints about the same problems with these vehicles made in every year not just 2004-2005. I've contacted Chrysler and they say no help is available. It is defective steel that was used and I've had much older cars that the frame hasn't rotted through and I feel it's a deadly accident waiting to happen.

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #9

Mar 182014


  • 110,117 miles
As I had my car serviced the mechanic told me my engine cradle is rusting out.

- Albion, MI, USA

problem #8

Jun 122013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 77,382 miles


The subframe in the front of the vehicle, also referred to as the engine cradle was rusted away to such an extent that it would not pass our state safety inspection. It is in fact the core structure to which the engine, transmission and entire front suspension are fastened and which holds them all in place. To protect myself against this sort of catastrophe I purchased Chrysler's 8/80 maximum care plan for $1365 in July of 2008 when I bought the Pacifica. My Pacifica was still well within that warranty with only 77382 miles and with the warranty due to expire 03/ 26 / 2014 when to my utter surprise and shock, Chrysler refused to cover any of the repair or even replacement parts ! this is a clear breach of contract and theft of my premiums. Now I find that this has been a chronic defect in all previous Pacifica model years, and Chrysler has gotten away with endangering it's hapless customers without being held accountable to the point of robbing legitimate warranty holders twice. Taking our money for their guarantees in the first place and then making us pay fully for the huge repairs they were supposed to cover but flatly refused to. I want to be reimbursed for the entire repair bill from July, 2013 - or - at least have my $1365 returned to me in full !!

- Natrona Heights, PA, USA

problem #7

Sep 132013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
There are holes and rust all over the engine cradle. I see that the 2004 and 2005 models have recalls on them and was wondering how to start action on this for 2006 models.

- Janesville , WI, USA

problem #6

Aug 172013


  • 117,000 miles
While driving about 40mph I noticed that my car felt as if it had a flat tire. Pulled over to the side of the road and nothing seemed amiss. Get home and look under the vehicle and notice that on the driver's side rear the lower control arm is split in half. There doesn't seem to be any other damage.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #5

May 232013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 114,106 miles
During a routine inspection and oil change an automotive technician identified that the engine cradle (aka sub-frame) was severely corroded. The vehicle was examined by two other auto technicians and both confirmed that the engine cradle is corroded and that the vehicle is unsafe to operate. The vehicle is considered a safety hazard to both its passengers and other vehicles operating in the vicinity. The vehicle is considered to have zero resale value unless this is repaired. Parts for this vehicle have been ordered and repair is schedule to occur within 10 days. Estimated cost for repair is $4,000. A review of the NHTSA database for this model year vehicle indicates 6 complaints of an identical nature filed within the last 12 months. Similar searches of other websites confirm that this is an evolving problem. Pacifica models years 2004 and 2005 have well documented issues relative to corroded engine cradles and both model years have been recalled as a result. It is highly probable that the frequency of reported corroded engine cradles will increase as these vehicles age. A serious accident or injury may be the outcome in situations where this problem remains unchecked. This issue warrants additional investigation as it is becoming apparent that the problem encountered in the 2004 and 2005 models years is also surfacing in the 2006 model year.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

Sep 162012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Engine cradle rusted out, hole in it.

- Hebron, IN, USA

problem #3

Apr 302012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
We bought a chry Pacifica from country club June 25,2011 with 89,000 miles on it. During a routine oil change on April 30,2012, the mechanic stated that the subframe cross member was rotted out and it was unfixable immediately called dealer took it that same day. They agreed that the frame was rotted and we requested a rental while repairs could be made instead they tried selling us a car. Spent half a day at the dealers and had to drive the unsafe car home and still no prevail on getting us a rental car or told us when the repairs could be made or if they could find parts. Still waiting will send another report when problem is resolved.

- Salem, WV, USA

problem #2

Jun 152010


  • 55,000 miles
Driving my car, no noticeable problems. I pulled into my driveway and I saw a lot of fluid on the driveway. I was extremely concerned, checked all my fluids which were ok. Took the car to the dealer and they couldn't find a problem. I then started noticing the car riding "rough" and idling rough along with a 'banging" when starting or stopping at redlights. Took the car to the local mechanic who was not told anything about these issues (there for unrelated item) and was informed I have a bad motor mount. He asked if I noticed 3 specific items.. uh.. yah... all the things I told the dealer! waiting for him to check over the entire car right now to see if anything else is wrong. (problem with the heat and I think with my suspension). Also, the heat will not stop blowing on the windshield (defrost) barely gives off heat to feet etc. Got so hot it melted the plastic on the dashboard where the defrost emits "can not duplicate the problem" but yet all I do is turn on the car, sit there 5 minutes and try to turn the heat to anywhere other than defrost and it's blatantly obvious as you can't breathe from the amount of hot air still blowing in your face off the windshield. Currently have local mechanic looking at it. Previous local mechanic found issue but wouldn't tear the dashboard apart to figure out how to fix it. Recommended dealer as I have an extended warranty. Dealer charged $88 dollars to look at car for all above issues and said nothing is wrong... rather "can not duplicate the problem". bull!

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #1

Jun 192006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
After driving a new 2066 fwd basic Pacifica off the dealer lot, I noticed a general pull to the right every time I accelerated. I returned to the dealer the next day and started a process of complaining and having the car driven by Chrysler employees. I have been told by a technical advisor for the dealership that it is a normal characteristic of the vehicle, by the service manager that he does not even feel a pull to the right and by a senior Chrysler technician that pulling to the right when acceleration is due to road crown sensitivity. I find the vehicle very difficult to control without keeping both hands on the wheel and always being conscience of what I am doing. I find it hard to believe that this should be a characteristic of a vehicle being driven on today's highways and hope that for myself and others purchasing this vehicle that this potential safety issue will be investigated. I have also recently been informed by former employees that this was an issue when the Chrysler van was first introduced.

- Bloomfield, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?