10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,136 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 11 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #86

Aug 012012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine stalls while idling or driving at low speeds, especially around corners. Problem only occurs when gas tank is full or near full. This is a safety issue and needs resolved immediately.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #85

Nov 012013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Every time I fuel up mt Charger R/T, it stalls when I am stopped. It has happened the last 3 times I have fueled my car. No lights come on in dash, nor any warnings. Sometimes it will just sputter when I go to take off. After a day it goes back to normal.

- Kempner, TX, USA

problem #84

Aug 152013

Charger

  • 89,000 miles
My car will stall intermittently for the first 2-3 days after I fill the fuel tank. Usually at a stop, but it has happened at highway speeds twice.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #83

May 082013

Charger

  • 59,045 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalled again today (October 19th, 2013) with no warning while making a left-hand turn at a major intersection. Filled up earlier today with no top off. Has happened multiple times prior since (May 2013). Dealer can not diagnose. Normally happens after fuel fill up. After complaining multiple times to the dealer, replaced all spark plugs and performed a transmission flush and re flashed the PCM at my expense, despite having warranty coverage through 2015 120K miles because they could not repeat the problem on a 5 minute test drive. The vehicle stalled again two days later. After more visits no solution has been met and this car is extremely unsafe.

- Ogdensburg, NY, USA

problem #82

Apr 252013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 110,305 miles
After fueling up, I pulled out of the gas station and onto a main road. About 300yards from the gas station. I accelerated to approximately 40mph, in the middle of the intersection my car "dinged" the oil light came on and my engine shut down. I lost all ability to turn, or break. This is a very dangerous situation. I feared for my life. I originally thought it was because I let the fuel levels get too low, after, I realized if I fill up all the way, this always occurs. God forbid if I were to be entering on to a freeway at a higher rate of speed. Since this has happened to me 3+ times, I am very scared and nervous to drive my car. Something as to be done. Please, before someone gets killed because the gas tank and evap canister are screwy! I. ant get any dealership or mechanic to fix it without replacing the whole tank, ($$$$$$$).

- Port Aransas, TX, USA

problem #81

Oct 142013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
This is a brand new engine put in by Dodge and has only 3000 miles since it was replaced 4 months ago. I filled up the gas tank today and within a minute of pulling away from gas station as I was making a left turn, the engine ceases and stops. I tried to re start it didn't start right away. After 2 tries it started and about a minute later as I pressed on the brakes to turn left the car stalls out again.

- Northvale, NJ, USA

problem #80

Oct 042013

Charger

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated the piston had failed causing the engine head to fracture. The mechanic stated the engine would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #79

Nov 222011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Every time you fill up the gas tank the car wants to stall. I'm told there is a solenoid in the gas tank that fails and it lets raw fuel go to the evap canister causing a stall condition. This solenoid valve is molded into the gas tank and the only way to fix it is to replace the gas tank. This stall can happen while your sitting at a stop light or just pulling out into an intersection. The intersection situation is very dangerous.

- Bartonville, IL, USA

problem #78

Oct 092013

Charger

  • 70,000 miles
Engine stalled out while driving on freeway after filling up with gas. Three different occasions dropped valve seats, 8/2011 and 9/2013.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #77

May 222010

Charger

  • 50,000 miles
2006 Dodge Charger R/T. this has been going on for years, I read about others having similar issues and decided to contribute mine as well as it happened again the other day when I accidentally refilled all the way. When you fill the tank all the way, the vehicle stalls immediately and will continue stalling until the gas tank is no longer "completely full." The only easy way to fix without taking something apart is to repeatedly restart the car until enough gas burns off. Even with taking care to not fill the tank all the way, going up certain hills seem to cause the stall as well. No check engine light, just power cuts off. One single chime from the car as the oil light turns on. You can restart it but obviously this is bad when it happens in traffic. Seems to stall most at stoplights and other idle conditions but can also stall in low speed scenarios. Never got fast enough to tell if it would happen there too. According to both independent mechanic and dealer, this is a valve inside the fuel tank which would require an expensive fuel tank replacement to fix - the mechanic said they had seen a lot of them, but there was no recall so it would be at my expense to fix.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #76

Oct 072013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling the car with gas, and driving approximately 1 to 2 miles, the car stalled after making a left turn and starting to accelerate. I was able to restart the car and drive home. The next day the car acted like it was going to stall again after making a turn and starting to accelerate, but it didn't. this problem started in December of 2012 when the car had about 40000 miles on it. After researching the problem on the internet, I stopped topping off the gas tank and the problem did not re-occur until October 2013. I am concerned that the problem is getting worse and even if I don't fill the gas tank, the car will stall after driving it a few miles. Fortunately, every time the car stalled I was turning on to a quiet street with little traffic, but this is a very dangerous problem that requires a recall from Dodge.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #75

Oct 072013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 116,682 miles
This has been an on-going problem that we've been chasing for several years. The car will stall while driving, usually without warning sometimes the gauges will drop and the warning "ding" will sound. Most of the time the car will restart, however there has been instances that it has to sit for awhile before restarting. In any case, it is a safety concern since it will stall while driving. I've had it happen on the highway as well as on city streets. There are times in which we have to restart the car multiple times in order to get the gauges and headlights to turn on when this happens the tail lights, and brake lights don't work either. It is clear there is an electrical issue with these cars, I hope Dodge takes care of their customers and resolves the issues that are occurring before someone gets killed.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #74

Aug 182012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I was traveling on the highway and my car stalled and had to coast to the shoulder in August 2012. This again happened May 2013. The last incident occurred September 21st pulling out of a parking lot. The car started back up after each occasion.

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #73

Sep 302013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 55,835 miles
I had refueled the car and drove about 10 miles toward my home, as I turned into my neighborhood the car stalled and would not restart. I coasted to my residence and stopped the car and turned the key to the off position. After 10 minutes I tried to start the car and it did, then surged and died again. Restarted the car again and pulled it in to the garage and shut it down.

- Broken Arrow , OK, USA

problem #72

Sep 252013

Charger

  • 90,300 miles
I just got done filling my car with gas and while pulling up to the very first light after the gas station the car completely shut off. I kept trying to start it and it would just shut back off. After 5 minutes of that I was finally able to drive away. Now my engine light is on also.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #71

Sep 112013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 103,285 miles
After fueling vehicle, the engine died within half mile on road. Put car in neutral to start engine, drove another 1-2 miles where car stalled and died again. Has happened after filling up car and only with full tank, stalling occurs within 0-15 miles, then does not stall. Have read several posting and discussions about this issue with same model/year cars. Heard about possible investigation for faulty fuel/vapor separator valve with cuts off fuel to engine and causes engine to stall. Had this happened to a driver who did not know how to react properly, or had a distracted driver not see my car stalled or stopped, this could have resulted in a serious problem. I had no power steering or power brakes and was not able to immediately restart vehicle in traffic, after momentary loss of power and finally able to restart the engine was I able to maneuver off the roadway safely.

- Goodyear, AZ, USA

problem #70

Sep 122013

Charger

  • 100,600 miles
Car drove perfectly fine I stopped at family dollar for 5 minutes came out car would not start heard a engine noise towed it home mechanic said he pulled the plugs they were bent from the piston hitting it. Also, the piston had a hole in it I need a new engine no warning signs or nothing. Mechanic says he sees this very often on 06 Chargers.

- Byram, MS, USA

problem #69

Aug 012006

Charger

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and all of the warning lamps illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileage was 27,400.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #68

Sep 122013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I was driving my 2006 Dodge Charger after just getting it out of the shop. With no notice the car began to overheat I immediately pulled over and called a tow truck. When the tow truck arrived the car wouldn't start. Went to Dodge where they said I either needed a new engine or they might be able to save the other one first I had to pay $370 for the test. I should not be dealing with engine issues at 95K miles. The government needs to fix this or everyone should file a class action lawsuit against Dodge for this defect.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #67

May 062012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 45,425 miles
First instance was on Sunday, 6 May 2012. Car stalled after turning onto city street while accelerating to posted speed: 35 mph. If fuel tank is filled to click on gas pump (full tank) this continues to happen, especially in very humid weather conditions/rain. Car has also stalled on hills at stop signs or traffic lights and has stalled at on-ramps to local interstate highway/city bypass, given the above full fuel tank issue. If I don't fill the tank above the 7/8 mark on the fuel gage indicator, the car does not stall. If I exceed the 7/8 mark, then the car does stall, multiple times if very humid conditions exist and will continue until the fuel tank is at or below 7/8 capacity. I've had approximately 22 stalls since Sunday 6 May 2012. It's inconvenient to have to guess when to stop the fuel pump at gas stations and very frightening to stall in traffic, especially at on-ramps to highways.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?