Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,924 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 10 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

Dec 162013

Charger

  • 144,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car stalled a number of times in traffic. I had just filled the tank.

- Beltsville, MH, USA

problem #98

Nov 082012

Charger

  • 31,050 miles
After refueling engine stumbles and then stalls. This happens every time after refueling. Often multiple times. Power steering and brakes are inoperable after stall.this is an alarming and dangerous situation.

- Chickamauga, GA, USA

problem #97

Nov 182013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 87,351 miles
My 2006 Dodge Charger stalled on multiple occasions without any warning. Usually when I fill the gas tank. The car just stops in the middle of the road. I can restart the car but it will happen atleast 5 or 6 more times after. I use the book recommended level of gas at two different reputable gas stations, with the thought that it was bad gas. I dropped off my car to my local Dodge dealership and it cost me $130.35 for them to just look for the problem. They said that it is the "roll over valve" and it would cost over $1200 to fix!

- Nesconset , NY, USA

problem #96

Nov 242013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I gassed up, and then drove off. When slowing down for a stop light, my car's oil light came on and stalled out. It restarted, but then shut off again. I was able to re-start and then travel 35 miles each way visiting family. This happened again on December 3rd after gassing up, it shut down on me when I got to work in the morning, then stalled again on the way home. Then again yesterday, Dec. 4th 2013 when I got to work, I backed into my parking spot, and it shut down. Then leaving for the day, I was going down the parking garage about to exit, and it shut off before I could leave my building. I then drove it around the block, and it shut down again, and I had a hard time starting it. It finally started, and I headed home, and it stalled in traffic again, not even 10 minutes later. I was able to start it, and make it home. And it's sitting at home today, December 5th, 2013.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #95

Sep 122013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
This has happened multiple times and seems to be increasing in frequency. When at idle, for example at a traffic light or in stop-and-go traffic, the engine has stalled. This happened again last night as well as this morning and it has me concerned. I have read that others complain of this happening with a full tank but that is not true for me. I never have over-filled the tank and even with it being a little over 1/2 full currently and it has stalled twice. I've found the active investigation (PE13016) and would like to be added to that group please. Please let me know what else I can provide to help with this investigation and possible resolutions. Thanks!

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #94

Dec 022013

Charger

  • 81,000 miles
Fueled the car, car stalled several times while driving. Happens each time car is fueled. I have tried fueling slowly, and fueling small amounts, nothing works. Car will stall 2-3 times either while sitting or while driving.

- Hardin, IL, USA

problem #93

Dec 202011

Charger 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

5.7L hemi engine. For the past 2 yrs, engine will stall after filling-up the gas tank. This doesn't happen after every fill-up, but occurs at random fill-up intervals. The engine will stall multiple times until it's burned off approximately 1 gallon of gas, then operates normally. Stalling mostly occurs when vehicle comes to a stop. However, I've had several instances when the stall occurred on the highway at 60 mph.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #92

Oct 302013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 70,800 miles
On 10/30/13 at approx 9:30am I refueled my '06 Dodge Charger 5.7L hemi rt/daytona edition @the gas station w/89-octane fuel. As I pulled out of the station @under 15mph, my car stalled-engine died, oil light & bell appeared, & steering locked up. It took 2-attempts the 1st time to restart it w/ it acting like the engine had flooded. I drove approx. 2-blocks & it again stalled (including all of the above) as I was slowing for a stoplight. It took 2-3 attempts to restart. I drove approx 1-1/2blocks, including a slight incline, to a stoplight where it again stalled, though this time immediately restarted. After driving 3-blocks more, as I slowed for a stoplight it again began to sputter & buck as though going to stall; I cont'd to brake but maintained pressure on the accelerator attempting to maintain rpms & oil pressure; however as I turned the corner it again stalled & took 4-attempts to restart. After sitting for 15mins I had no other issues this date. Today(11/25/13) I refueled & experienced the sputtering, bucking, stalling, engine dying, oil light, zero oil psi, etc w/ 10-full stalls(engine failure episodes) in less than 20-mins. After allowing it to sit for 2+ hours the engine didn't fully die but did buck several times on the drive home. There was at least 1 add'L day between 10/30/13 & 11/25/13 that I experienced the same problems. All stalls have happened at 35mph or less. Prior to the problems after refueling, I was having problems filling the gas tank. I attempted to refuel the car & the auto pump shutoff engaged after less than 1/2-gal entering the tank; the auto pump shutoff would engage 3-5xs per refuel & required multiple readjustments of the pump nozzle to fill my gas tank. I haven't had the car in for diagnostics B/C of the neg reports on the forums indicating diagnostics show no discernible problems. Sounds like tsb#1803015 to me.

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #91

Nov 072013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 43,523 miles
My car has stalled 3 separate times right after I have re-fueled. When driving away from the gas station and onto the street it has sputtered and then turned off in the middle of the street. My vehicle will constantly turn off making it unsafe to drive it. I have once been in the middle of the intersection when my vehicle stalled, I am lucky I was not struck by another vehicle. But as you can see it is extremely dangerous having this happen when driving.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #90

Aug 262013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Car stalls out and loss of power while stopping for stop light. Oil light comes on after stalling out but no engine light or fault code shows up. Car usually starts up right away but does take a couple of tries at times. Car also jerks around like starving for fuel. Had a tune up done, fuel system cleaned and was told that the shop could not duplicate the problem. This is very discerning to myself and my family due to safety. A car that stalls for no reason or warning is a huge safety issue.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #89

Jul 112012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up with gas the vehicle will stall out and die. Especially after a stop or making a sharp turn. If you fill the tank halfway or 3/4 the problem does not happen.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #88

Nov 192013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 80,500 miles
After filling up with gas this morning, as I accelerated away from the gas station the car began to buck and jerk. It smoothed out for a little while, then after accelerating away from the next stoplight it jerked and made a loud noise. This is heavy Suburban traffic, so very stop-and-go. The car began to stall, and only restart if I depress the accelerator all the way to the floor while starting. Go a little bit further, then buck and stall again. Very dangerous! I'm learning through online vehicle forums that this is a relatively common problem with this year/make/model vehicle's gas tank and the integral "roll-over" valve which is supposed to prevent liquid fuel from entering the engine, yet the manufacturer refuses to acknowledge a faulty design that is leading to potentially dangerous situations. Will it take accidents, fires and death to make it a higher priority?

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #87

Nov 142013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
While I was driving approximately 35 mph my vehicle suddenly stalled causing me to lose power to the motor and power to the steering and brakes. I had to quickly pull off to the side of the road as the traffic was heavy and I had no power to control my car. This was a dangerous situation and I fear it may happen again. I have read about (Dodge Charger forum) many other owners of similar vehicles that this problem occurs shortly after you fill up the gas tank. I did just fill the gas tank prior to my car stalling incident. I feel this is a dangerous defect that develops on this vehicle and it needs to be looked into immediately.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #86

Aug 012012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The engine stalls while idling or driving at low speeds, especially around corners. Problem only occurs when gas tank is full or near full. This is a safety issue and needs resolved immediately.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #85

Nov 012013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Every time I fuel up mt Charger R/T, it stalls when I am stopped. It has happened the last 3 times I have fueled my car. No lights come on in dash, nor any warnings. Sometimes it will just sputter when I go to take off. After a day it goes back to normal.

- Kempner, TX, USA

problem #84

Aug 152013

Charger

  • 89,000 miles
My car will stall intermittently for the first 2-3 days after I fill the fuel tank. Usually at a stop, but it has happened at highway speeds twice.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #83

May 082013

Charger

  • 59,045 miles
Vehicle stalled again today (October 19th, 2013) with no warning while making a left-hand turn at a major intersection. Filled up earlier today with no top off. Has happened multiple times prior since (May 2013). Dealer can not diagnose. Normally happens after fuel fill up. After complaining multiple times to the dealer, replaced all spark plugs and performed a transmission flush and re flashed the PCM at my expense, despite having warranty coverage through 2015 120K miles because they could not repeat the problem on a 5 minute test drive. The vehicle stalled again two days later. After more visits no solution has been met and this car is extremely unsafe.

- Ogdensburg, NY, USA

problem #82

Apr 252013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 110,305 miles
After fueling up, I pulled out of the gas station and onto a main road. About 300yards from the gas station. I accelerated to approximately 40mph, in the middle of the intersection my car "dinged" the oil light came on and my engine shut down. I lost all ability to turn, or break. This is a very dangerous situation. I feared for my life. I originally thought it was because I let the fuel levels get too low, after, I realized if I fill up all the way, this always occurs. God forbid if I were to be entering on to a freeway at a higher rate of speed. Since this has happened to me 3+ times, I am very scared and nervous to drive my car. Something as to be done. Please, before someone gets killed because the gas tank and evap canister are screwy! I. ant get any dealership or mechanic to fix it without replacing the whole tank, ($$$$$$$).

- Port Aransas, TX, USA

problem #81

Oct 142013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
This is a brand new engine put in by Dodge and has only 3000 miles since it was replaced 4 months ago. I filled up the gas tank today and within a minute of pulling away from gas station as I was making a left turn, the engine ceases and stops. I tried to re start it didn't start right away. After 2 tries it started and about a minute later as I pressed on the brakes to turn left the car stalls out again.

- Northvale, NJ, USA

problem #80

Oct 042013

Charger

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated the piston had failed causing the engine head to fracture. The mechanic stated the engine would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?