Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,328 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Charger fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #85

Oct 112013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up gas tank, without over filling by rounding off, the car will stall out within 1/4 mile of running. It takes time cranking engine to start, then will buck and stall occasionally until it is driven at least 2-3 miles. All power steering and brakes are lost at this time as well.

- Pembroke, NH, USA

problem #84

Dec 172013

Charger 8-cyl Diesel

  • 52,973 miles
Continues to stall after gas fill-up in traffic causing other cars to Dodge to right of left to avoid collusion. Makes for dangerous driving after fill-up. Apparently many other Charger owners are having the problem at an increasing rate. This is something Chrysler should look into before people get injured or worse! this is well documented on the internet.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #83

Dec 172013

Charger 8-cyl

  • miles
My car stalls after every fill up for fuel. I later discovered this was a common complaint causing random fires as well as rear end collisions from stalling onto freeways. I paid $40K for this vehicle. Manufacturer nor extended warranty covers this costly and dangerous defect. I would like for this problem to be rectified by a manufactures' recall or consumer reimbursement. Please contact me at [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Williston, FL, USA

problem #82

Oct 012013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up fuel, went to accelerate and car started sputtering, this happened while merging onto freeway. Second time was when stopped at a stop light, light turned green, pressed the gas pedal and engine light came on and car died. Was able to coast 2 lanes over to the side of road. Car would restart but die after 30 seconds. Had to car towed home. Third time, car died at a busy intersection and was able to get it started and moved to a safe place. Fourth time it died while turning into a shopping center. This is an extremely dangerous fault in the car and should be a recall and paid by Chrysler, luckily I didn't get into an accident with someone rear ending me. My car is at the dealership with a $2000 charge to have this fixed. I should not have to be paying this, as it is a defect in the car itself!!

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #81

Nov 252013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
After a full fill up, while driving car started chugging, and stalled. At red lights, or stop signs, car stalled and died. At a stop, going to start through an intersection, car stalled.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #80

Dec 022013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
After fueling the vehicle I drove about 1/4 mile released the gas pedal to make a left turn at a controlled inter section, the motor died during the turn. The car did not restart easily. The car died 3 more times in route to my home which was less than a mile further. This has happened the last 5 or more times I have filled the gas tank. I have owned this car since new and I am the sole driver. I am afraid this may cause an accident in the future if not remedied. Yesterday I spoke to my local Dodge dealership where the car is serviced, I was informed the fix for this is replacing the fuel tank due to a defective part inside of the tank which is not serviceable. I than call the Dodge Corp. Customer service number were their agent read a prepared statement regarding the expired warranty. I feel this is a design problem which could lead to a dangerous situation as it becomes increasingly worse. Thank you for this forum.

- Mequon, WI, USA

problem #79

Nov 242013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I gassed up, and then drove off. When slowing down for a stop light, my car's oil light came on and stalled out. It restarted, but then shut off again. I was able to re-start and then travel 35 miles each way visiting family. This happened again on December 3rd after gassing up, it shut down on me when I got to work in the morning, then stalled again on the way home. Then again yesterday, Dec. 4th 2013 when I got to work, I backed into my parking spot, and it shut down. Then leaving for the day, I was going down the parking garage about to exit, and it shut off before I could leave my building. I then drove it around the block, and it shut down again, and I had a hard time starting it. It finally started, and I headed home, and it stalled in traffic again, not even 10 minutes later. I was able to start it, and make it home. And it's sitting at home today, December 5th, 2013.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #78

Sep 122013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
This has happened multiple times and seems to be increasing in frequency. When at idle, for example at a traffic light or in stop-and-go traffic, the engine has stalled. This happened again last night as well as this morning and it has me concerned. I have read that others complain of this happening with a full tank but that is not true for me. I never have over-filled the tank and even with it being a little over 1/2 full currently and it has stalled twice. I've found the active investigation (PE13016) and would like to be added to that group please. Please let me know what else I can provide to help with this investigation and possible resolutions. Thanks!

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #77

Dec 032013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 82,930 miles
Car stalled at stop light. Took a few tries to get started again. This happens after refueling the car. This is not the first time this has occurred, I am irritated that it keeps happening.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #76

Nov 112013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 26,400 miles
Car stalls after fill-up! acts as though it's flooded and dies. Only happens after filing it up with gas. Drive about a 1/4 mile then it starts to die. This is very dangerous!!!!!!!!!!!! how about a recall?

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #75

Nov 282013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 86,810 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Filled up fuel tank on 11/28/13 and on 12/1/13 and about 200 feet after exiting gas station the car stalled, I restarted the car and it drove another few hundred feet and it stalled a couple more times. After reading some article I found this has become a common problem on this car. I feel it should be a safety recall due to the car stalling seconds after pulling out into traffic risking getting rear ended or T boned.

- Palmer, MA, USA

problem #74

Nov 262013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 77,260 miles
While navigating a parking lot (approx. 5 mph) minutes after filling the gas tank, the engine died. The oil pressure light came on, the RPM gauge dropped to zero and the steering became very difficult to turn. We were able to shift into park and start the car fairly easily, but the engine turned over for several seconds before starting. The engine stalled twice more when leaving the same parking lot and had to be started again each time. We experienced engine hesitation (seemed to lose all power) while driving at about 40 mph on the way home. There were at least four hesitations and we were worried it would die completely. These hesitations have happened twice before and always immediately after filling the gas tank. The severity of the problem seems to be increasing with each incident. We are very concerned that we will stall in a dangerous situation while driving and are now afraid to fill the tank completely. We never "top off" the car's gas tank and always stop fueling after the station pump shuts off automatically.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #73

Oct 302013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 70,800 miles
On 10/30/13 at approx 9:30am I refueled my '06 Dodge Charger 5.7L hemi rt/daytona edition @the gas station w/89-octane fuel. As I pulled out of the station @under 15mph, my car stalled-engine died, oil light & bell appeared, & steering locked up. It took 2-attempts the 1st time to restart it w/ it acting like the engine had flooded. I drove approx. 2-blocks & it again stalled (including all of the above) as I was slowing for a stoplight. It took 2-3 attempts to restart. I drove approx 1-1/2blocks, including a slight incline, to a stoplight where it again stalled, though this time immediately restarted. After driving 3-blocks more, as I slowed for a stoplight it again began to sputter & buck as though going to stall; I cont'd to brake but maintained pressure on the accelerator attempting to maintain rpms & oil pressure; however as I turned the corner it again stalled & took 4-attempts to restart. After sitting for 15mins I had no other issues this date. Today(11/25/13) I refueled & experienced the sputtering, bucking, stalling, engine dying, oil light, zero oil psi, etc w/ 10-full stalls(engine failure episodes) in less than 20-mins. After allowing it to sit for 2+ hours the engine didn't fully die but did buck several times on the drive home. There was at least 1 add'L day between 10/30/13 & 11/25/13 that I experienced the same problems. All stalls have happened at 35mph or less. Prior to the problems after refueling, I was having problems filling the gas tank. I attempted to refuel the car & the auto pump shutoff engaged after less than 1/2-gal entering the tank; the auto pump shutoff would engage 3-5xs per refuel & required multiple readjustments of the pump nozzle to fill my gas tank. I haven't had the car in for diagnostics B/C of the neg reports on the forums indicating diagnostics show no discernible problems. Sounds like tsb#1803015 to me.

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #72

Nov 072013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 43,523 miles
My car has stalled 3 separate times right after I have re-fueled. When driving away from the gas station and onto the street it has sputtered and then turned off in the middle of the street. My vehicle will constantly turn off making it unsafe to drive it. I have once been in the middle of the intersection when my vehicle stalled, I am lucky I was not struck by another vehicle. But as you can see it is extremely dangerous having this happen when driving.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #71

May 152013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 71,500 miles
I have a 2006 Dodge Charger R/T with a 5.7L engine. My car has started to randomly stall mostly at slower speeds when approaching a stop light or making a turn. There is no warning that it is going to happen, it just sputters, bucks and then stalls. There are no codes after restarting the car. It will restart if I put it in either park or neutral but continues to chug and sputter after restarting. It will do this for awhile and then will not happen again for some time. I never know when it is going to do it or how long it will last. It is very unnerving since it happens at lights and in the middle of intersections. It has happened a few times at highway speeds and thankfully I was able to quickly restart it in neutral and not get into a bad situation! it's very frightening since I live in a big city with heavy traffic. This is very dangerous!!!!! after looking into this issue with the car and seeing the number of complaints, it is obvious that the manufacturer needs to address the problem and fix it. A recall would be appropriate.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #70

Jul 112012

Charger 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
After filling up with gas the vehicle will stall out and die. Especially after a stop or making a sharp turn. If you fill the tank halfway or 3/4 the problem does not happen.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #69

Nov 192013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 80,500 miles
After filling up with gas this morning, as I accelerated away from the gas station the car began to buck and jerk. It smoothed out for a little while, then after accelerating away from the next stoplight it jerked and made a loud noise. This is heavy Suburban traffic, so very stop-and-go. The car began to stall, and only restart if I depress the accelerator all the way to the floor while starting. Go a little bit further, then buck and stall again. Very dangerous! I'm learning through online vehicle forums that this is a relatively common problem with this year/make/model vehicle's gas tank and the integral "roll-over" valve which is supposed to prevent liquid fuel from entering the engine, yet the manufacturer refuses to acknowledge a faulty design that is leading to potentially dangerous situations. Will it take accidents, fires and death to make it a higher priority?

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #68

Nov 172013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 52,879 miles
After fill up my car stalls at stop signs and when making turns. I have to stop to get it started then it runs rough for awhile. This had happen a week before then the same thing happens.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #67

Nov 172013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Since about 4 years ago my 06 Charger daytona has been stalling for unknown reasons. Took it to the dealers only to be told they couldn't find anything wrong. After some research I came to know that Dodge had a real issue with safety concerning the evap system. I was told later that an unserviceable valve on the gas tank was faulty and therefore the gas tank needed to be replaced; its too expensive. It has been very frustrating because the engine stalling after fueling has gotten bad. I've stalled in the middle of a busy road twice and numerous times before a stop or red light. Its only matter of time before some body gets hurt or killed.

- Kirby, TX, USA

problem #66

Oct 022013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Within 15 miles after filling the gas tank, the car just stops running with no warning. It has happened 3-4 times. So far we've been lucky and haven't been hit, but I'm afraid we will get rear ended soon.

- Owasso, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?