If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,646 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Charger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Nov 282014

Charger

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving 60 mph, the instrument panel lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the alternator was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,000.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #28

Jun 012011

Charger

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while starting the vehicle, the key remained in the on position and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,000.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 082014

Charger

  • 72,870 miles
I was accelerating up an entrance ramp to the freeway when the vehicle died, causing loss of power. I coasted to side of road and restarted car. This has happened more than once, but is intermittent. I have noticed no common similarities, it is as if the ignition shuts off.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #26

Apr 122015

Charger

  • 163,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On April 12, 2015 while driving at 65mph on hwy 195 my car died and I was forced to pull over on median. The car has done this at least a couple of times since 2013 and usually starts back up except for 1 time in Dec 2014. Today April 12,2015 the car would not start back up and I had to have it towed to my home. I will call Chrysler llc in the am. However in Dec 2014 my Dodge did the something similar it died at a slower speed 55 mph on hwy 190 and I had to have it towed to home and later had to have my engine replace due to cracked head gaskets costing me $1800 I went to Dodge country in killeen mulitple times in 2014 and 2015 trying to get this problem fixed after the recall was announced on the ignition and there are no parts each time im fed up and im voicing it!!! I have 2 kids that ride with me and its not safe any more!!!!

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #25

Apr 052014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the key was difficult to turn and the vehicle stalled with no warning. The contact stated that previously, the fan and radiator failed to work due to an electrical short and the components caught on fire. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who replaced the radiator and the fan. The contact indicated that months later, the failure recurred. In addition, the contact stated that burning fumes emitted into the vehicle. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the wires, starter and ignition switch were on fire. The contact was able to merge the vehicle over and it was towed to a dealer. The technician replaced the ignition switch and the failure recurred intermittently. The contact was included but was not notified of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V567000 (electrical system). However, the part needed was not available. The vehicle was not. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was not available. Updated 03/24/15

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #24

Jan 012014

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle overheated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the coolant and air bleeder needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Upland , CA, USA

problem #23

Jul 142014

Charger

  • 36,041 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving when the car suddenly stalled out. A few months later there was a recall notice for a faulty ignition switch. A couple of months after that, the car suddenly lost power as I was driving down the road. I took it to the repair shop, and they still can't figure out what the problem is. I'm requesting a loaner vehicle until the recall problem is fixed, before an accident happens.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #22

Aug 192014

Charger

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician diagnosed that the starter and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,000.

- Manvel, TX, USA

problem #21

Nov 142014

Charger

  • 79,800 miles
On my way to the gas station to fill up my tank, when I arrive I put my car in park and as I'm about to step out the car rolls back, I'm thinking maybe I put it in reverse by accident but no it was in park but it got stuck in reverse my car has almost 80K mikes on it 2008 Dodge Charger. This incident almost made me hit the car behind me because it rolled back luckily for emergency brakes it didn't. had to have my car towed the tiw truck driver knew how to put it back in park so he did as I called the dealership they said no recall for my transmission not for my car, you would think since the recall is about the transmission linkage bwcomeing loose or something and startling the driver and can result in a crash it would be covered but nope these dealerships never want to help you, just createmore pproblems. What happens if I didn't get out the car, slow and it rolled back and hit the car until this day my car is stillwhere the tow truck pparked

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #20

Nov 012014

Charger

  • miles
My engine light is on in the car and I have contacted several Chrysler dealerships and they are telling me that the parts for repair are not in. I have a fear of driving because the safety recall is so dangerous.

- West Bloomfied , MI, USA

problem #19

Oct 032014

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 10 mph, the engine stalled and the vehicle failed to restart. The dealer stated that the win module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000. Updated 11/20/14 updated 5/4/2015

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #18

Mar 252013

Charger

  • 56,000 miles
This vehicle occasionally stalls out, it can happen once and not again for 4 or 5 months or it can happen numerous times in a short period of time. This usually happens at low speed and there is no warning when it will happen, the radio, lights and windows all work, however the fuel gauge goes to zero. I have had the vehicle checked by Firestone and also an independent mechanic and the tests shows nothing is wrong.. until the vehicle recreates the situation when it is in the shop, the problem cannot be identified. Although it usually happens at low speeds, it is an extremely dangerous situation. I have had the car stall out numerous times when I am pulling out of a parking lot into traffic, or when I am accelerating after a red light. It is only a matter of time before this causes an accident with injuries.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #17

Jun 112012

Charger 6-cyl

  • 49,048 miles
Car randomly began to shut off right after starting or sometimes while driving. It got to the point where it shut off and it wouldn't start again. I towed it to the dealership and they advised me that I need to replace ignition module and key fob also need to reprogram. The total came up to $ $696.18. Two years went by and it was working ok until one day again, randomly began to shut off right after starting or sometimes while driving. Is this issue related to the Chrysler ignition recall? I would like to know because I am not spending another price now $ 800+ on a new module and fob.

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #16

May 282014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 118,451 miles
I was driving down a street when all of a sudden my vehicle started to shake. I pulled over and found out the my cooling fan had broken off sending the blades into my radiator causing the system to lose coolant. I spent over 400 dollars for repairs. This is a common problem from what I read and I feel that I should be reimburse for the coat of the repairs and have Chrysler perform a check for any other damages it might of caused.

- Borger, TX, USA

problem #15

Jul 192014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 87,521 miles
I was driving and stop to get few things from store, left car running and notice wired noise like something hit the car, I walk out and check for visual damage and notice antifreeze leak out. Got home and find out that driver side radiator fan blade are separated and make a holes on radiator. I don't understand how this can happen.

- Sarasota , FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 122014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 90,700 miles
Cooling fan hit fan shroud breaking off a piece that hit the radiator.. this caused loss of radiator coolant. Fans and radiator had to be replaced along with coolant. According to Dodge forum this problem has been recalled on some same vehicles (2008 Chargers) but mine has not been recalled or notified that this could occur. Fortunately the car was at idle when this happened. No injury occurred. This is a design defect or part failure and owners should be compensated for towing and repair.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #13

Jan 012013

Charger

  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled with out warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the catalytic converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 165,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #12

Jun 202013

Charger

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normally. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on three occasions where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Gary , IN, USA

problem #11

Mar 272014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
I recently been driving (Charger)to work because my other car was in the shop so I was leaving work one day and I hear a noise that was coming from the front of the car I had it towed so I took it to a shop and they told my it was a rod and I said was that and how did that could of happen they explain to me so than I took it to two more shop and everybody said the same thing that my vehicle is well maintain and that this should not have happened and that a lot of people been complaining about the same issue.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #10

Nov 112013

Charger

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle shut off/stalled multiple times while driving or making a stop. Many other people owning Dodge cars, Charger, challenger, and some other models have been dealing with this for years. It has happened to me 4 times since I bought my car in 2012, the first time it happened while braking to make a left turn the car stalled completely all my dash lights came on I had to pull over and restart the engine. Second time I was doing bout 40mph in a local road when the car suddenly shut off for no reason, same thing dash lights came on I put it in neutral and restarted the engine. I did a google search on this problem and I found many complaints from Dodge owners of this models having the same problem and Dodge isn't doing nothing bout it even after multiple complaints from the public. They probably waiting like GM for people to be harm or killed to start doing recalls.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?