Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,545 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Dodge Charger electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Nov 152016

Charger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle has been having a pop up message which was stated battery save mode. I then replaced the battery for the key thinking it would help. I then started the vehicle battery and was no problems.today when I stared my car a white screen popped up where I see the messages in the dash board of speedometer. There after when I started my car it sound like was having a hard time turning.later that day while driving 25 mph my cst dcteem completely shut off. I tried jumping it, testing battery and it sounds as if alternator has went out. This is very unfortunate when this is a newer car and warranty just expired. I was driving

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 022016

Charger

  • 34,680 miles
While driving my 2014 Dodge Charger SXT on the freeway today (11/02/16) the engine stalled & I barely made it to the relative safety of the median to attempt to restart my car. After multiple attempts, it eventually restarted, however it stalled again shortly thereafter on the freeway & 3 more times once I got off the freeway. I just got it back from the dealership last week for the same problem (they claimed that they "updated" some software but couldn't replicate the problem). It is currently at the dealership, but I am concerned that I may not be able to safely avoid injury/damage if this problem isn't fixed & continues to happen. I have multiple photos & videos on my phone of this occurring & would be happy to email them.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #31

Oct 232016

Charger

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was examined by an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the alternator was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 23,000.

- Monticello, AR, USA

problem #30

Aug 292016

Charger

  • 81,332 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been working with fca since 8/31/16, so for 28 days now, that I have been without power steering. I filed my first complaint on, or around 9/12/16. I experienced the exact same symptoms as stated in NHTSA PE14022 while driving down the highway at apporximately 65mph. Every warning light went off flashing, service transmission message, service power steering, and tach, and speedo would drop to zero, and I would lose engine power, and power steering. I captured the incident on video, and provided the video to NHTSA, I will again provide a link for the video here : https://youtu.be/E96hvqpep10. In dealing with fca llc, they refuse to replace the electric hydraulic power steering pump that was fried from this incident occuring. Fca is saying that it was the "2 year old mopar battery" that caused the incident, and refuse to replace the ehps pump that worked perfectly fine before this occured. I replaced the alternator per NHTSA recall no. 14V-634 a great deal of time prior to this incident occuring. Fca is trying to circumvent having to replace the pump by changing the origin of the means to the battery, instead of the alternator. I have been extremely frustrated with how fca refuses to acknowledge all of the proof given to them. I am not alone in this, there had been many complaints filed with similar results as mine in dealing with fca. It's time for NHTSA to do something to remedy this issue with fca. Fca offered to replace the $1400 ehps pump if I pay a $500 co-pay, I refuse to accept this offer based on the principle of the matter. The true origin of all of the issue's I'm currently having, is from the original alternator that was in the car for a year and a half initially, and during that time it was improperly charging the battery that possibly caused the battery to ultimately fail on 8/31/16. Please see attached files. Failure mileage 81332

- Howe, IN, USA

problem #29

Aug 292016

Charger

  • 81,332 miles
On August 29th 2016 I was returning(driving on US20) home from some official business, when my dash started flashing, all the warning lights would flash, the speed displayed would go up, and down, and the car started changing gears. There was a ticking sound coming from my gear shift, like it was trying to select gear. The power steering light, and service transmission message keep coming up as well. I would intermittenly lose power steering during this, and power from the engine would lag also. I have a three minute, and thirty-five second video of what was occuring. I contacted some mechanic friends that work on Indiana state police Chargers, and they thought it could be the battery shorting out. The next morning I replaced the battery, and installed properly with positive post first. This seem to resolve the dash flashing symptoms, but I then had no power steering at all. I took to our local Dodge dealer in lagrange, in they ran a diagnostic analysis, and determined the electronic power steering pump was no good. The power steering pump worked perfectly fine with no issues at all, ever, before these electrical issues occured. This vehicle is used to Transport the us congressman, when he is in the district on official business, and we need it repaired asap. It is my opinion, the power steering pump was destroyed by the electrical issues concerning the recall on this vehicle. It is also my opinion that fac llc should replace the power steering pump at no cost per the consent order pertaining to this recall. I am trying to get the video to email, at this point, the video is to long to email.

- Howe, IN, USA

problem #28

Jul 042016

Charger

  • 54,000 miles
Vehicle lost all power while in motion at 60mph. Vehicle would not stop, would not turn back on, shift gears, anything. I was forced to drive the vehicle off the road to avoid death by accident. Vehicle was towed to local Dodge dealership where they diagnosed the vehicle with a failed tipm. Not covered under warranty and no assurance that this will not happen again.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #27

Aug 112016

Charger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sons car was parked in garage after returning from picking up lunch in columbus oh. Minutes later while in house he notice fire, explosion type sound, saw flames coming out of garage, called 911... burned garage- completely destroyed, car totaled, flames spread to side of house. Fire officials report said cause of fire was from engine and an electrical mechanical issue in engine. He has photos and the official report. He contacted the Dodge dealer that very afternoon. His address is [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #26

Jul 032016

Charger

  • 55,000 miles
My 2014 Dodge Charger has 55,000 miles. The car has a total loss of power. The car was stationary when this happened. This is a safety hazard. If my car was to lose all power while driving I run a risk of crashing into someone or something possibly killing another person or myself. I was told by the Dodge dealership that it is a "faulty" totally integrated power system also known as the tipm. As upon reading consumer complaints on this vehicle there has been recalls for Chrysler "faulty" tipm. Please help me fix my issue as this is a dangerous vehicle to drive being that it could lose power at any given time.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #25

Jul 132016

Charger

  • 23,000 miles
My 2014 Dodge Charger is brand new off the lot of lhm Dodge in tucson, AZ. By 13,978 my car smelled like sulfur while in motion. Driving sluggishly, and the "battery saver mode" light on. Brought into larry H miller for repair. Was told the alternator needed replaced after 13,975 miles on the vehicle. At 14,100 miles the vehicle was making the same smell, and the battery safer mode light was on again. Returned it to lhm with complaints. They say "it's normal" manager told me "Dodge just didn't make the alternator big enough for that engine, manufacturer flaw"at 14,432 miles, the vehicle not blowing cold air. Battery saver mode light was still on, smelled like sulfur and car was driving sluggish. I opened case with corporate. They "fixed" it, and sent me on my way. On June 17, 2016, my vehicle was driving sluggishly, the engine light on, called Dodge immediately and was assigned a case manager. I called jim click immediately to get my vehicle in. My vehicle was 23,900 miles. Dodge claimed they could not get me in until July 1st and that its "fine to drive my vehicle as long as the light isn't flashing". brought in for "repair" on June 1st. I drove a rental car from Friday June 1st-June 8th, the "cluster" in the dash was not reading and needed to be replaced. I was told it was "all fixed". when the vehicle pulled up I got in and began to pull away as my dashboard went black. I turned around. My advisor brought it back and explained that it needed to be "reset" but that he'll order a new cluster. I get into my vehicle there is an "error" sign where the milage is supposed to be. I that I didn't feel comfortable driving this vehicle. I expressed how upset I was about the situation and he said to me "you'll be fine to drive it, it won't shut off". I get home started it, and the entire dash shuts off. My car is now being towed again to jim click Dodge.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #24

May 182016

Charger

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Charger. When the contact activated the air conditioner, hot air emitted from the passenger side and rear vents. The contact mentioned that only the driver side vent emitted cool air. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #23

May 052016

Charger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Charger. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V046000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #22

Dec 162015

Charger

  • 15,000 miles
My Charger was within the year rage of the 160amp alternator recall however my VIN is not included for some reason. I have got "power saving mode" a couple times when just sitting in one spot. I just hope I don't end up the next one losing power on the highway because my VIN is not included for some reason.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #21

Feb 212016

Charger

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Dodge Charger. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the brakes and steering became inoperable and the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. A police report was filed. The passenger in the other vehicle sustained injuries to the lower back, which did not require medical attention. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 052015

Charger

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Charger. The contact started the vehicle and a loud whining noise emitted from underneath the hood. The failure occurred only after the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the remedy was insufficint. The contact attempted to contact the dealer numerous times. The vehicle was not repaired for the second time. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 092015

Charger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle hesitated and there was a sudden loss of power without warning. The contact mentioned that on another occasion, the failure recurred accompanied by an abnormal noise. The vehicle was towed to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V467000 (air bags and seat belts) and 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #18

Nov 232015

Charger

  • 30,000 miles
While driving I-405N at approx 63mph, my cel & tc lamp illuminated and car stalled out leaving me with no steering functions, then suddenly it turned back on and red-lined for almost 20secs straight leaving me at wot speeding straight towards the vehicle in front of me. The dash flashed something in the instrument cluster right before it shuts off but too quickly for me to be able to read it, the white box that highlights the selected gear turns orange and highlights all gears, then tachometer and speedometer fall to zero. This has happened on multiple occasions. I was able to record the the dash display on my phone when it was occurring back -to-back. I pulled fault codes(U0101, U1110, U1120, U11bc, U0121, U0100, U212). I took the car to dealership 2 weeks previously, they just reset my cel lamp and said bring it back if it happens again. This is dangerous and needs to be taken care of before it causes serious injury or death! I believe the problem is with the ECM and tcm programming, or the modules themselves. Included is screenshot from the video I recorded as it stalled on the fwy for the 3rd time in 10 minutess.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 022015

Charger

  • 110 miles
We bought our car new, it has been at the Dodge dealer for repairs for the same things over and over for 6 months total time in shop. 1. the battery saver mode comes on, and then the steering gets hard, the alt. Has been replace, extra wiring added to add more grounds. This affects the way the car drives. When the battery saver mode is on the power steering stops working or works less. The power steering pump and rack and pinion has been replaced twice. This problem happens every day, in town or on the freeway. 2. the radio keeps shorting out, it's been replaced 3 times. This happens daily, it quits, blew out the speakers, navagtion stopped working. 3. the heater keeps getting stuck on either 100% hot or 100% A/C on cold. Settings will not change. Controls have been replaced 3 times, the heat/cold door motor was replace twice. The car has spent 185 days in service this year. When they give the car back it acts up in about 5 mins. The car is going back in for the radio and battery saver mode and steering on Monday. I picked the car up Friday and it failed less than a mile from the dealership.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #16

Nov 012014

Charger

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly shut off and the driver was unable to steer or stop the vehicle before crashing into a tractor trailer and a guardrail. The driver sustained an injured back during the incident, but did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. Prior to the incident, the failure occurred on multiple occasions and the vehicle was serviced by the dealer who replaced the ABS sensor, ABS module, transmission module, and the main computer, but the failure continued to occur. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #15

Feb 042015

Charger

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Charger. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available for repairs. The dealer was unable to provide a timeframe for when the parts would become available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. In addition, the contact stated that the check engine, ESC, and anti-lock brake warning lights illuminated and the engine rpms increased. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 04/04/16

- Deer Park, TX, USA

problem #14

Sep 202015

Charger

  • 13,900 miles
While driving on interstate at full speed a message appeared on vehicle instrument panel: Battery saver mode. Was concerned as I did not know what the message meant. Was not mentioned in the owner manual. Looked up message on Dodge Charger forum, realized that my vehicle falls within years for recall, with 160 amp alternator, but my particular VIN number is not included in recall nor have I been contacted. Perhaps it, along with others, should be to warn owners of potential issues. There was nothing in the message to indicate that the vehicle needed to be serviced, although to my understanding it can cause loss of power to the entire system.

- Jackson, TN, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?