Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 2
Average Mileage:
27,096 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 10 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Jul 162014

Dart 4WD

  • 6,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The clutch pedal stuck to the floor preventing me from being able to shift out of gear or disengage the engine from the transmission. Because I am a mechanic I was able to avoid a crash. This is a complex issue and most consumers will freak out if they can not put there vehicle in neutral and the engine stalls from them trying to use the brakes.

- Balch Springs, TX, USA

problem #46

Jul 262013

Dart

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the engine stalled, the transmission seized, and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle failed to restart after several attempts. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign: 13V238000 (power train). However, the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on two occasions, the transmission was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #45

Aug 142014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 1,974 miles
I was sitting at a red light while my 2013 Dodge Dart was in drive on August 14, 2014. The light turned green so the car in front of me went. I attempted to drive and the car acted as if it were in neutral. The RPM's of the car climbed to 6000 and the car went nowhere. I put my foot on the brake because the car was in drive and the RPM's were still high. The RPM's lowered and around 2500 RPM's the car lunged forward as if it caught gear. I drove the vehicle home and parked it. I drove it the next day to the dealership and the transmission was making a clicking noise when it shifted. The dealership kept the car for four days. They said they could not duplicate the issue. I picked my car up on August 18, 2014. I drove the car home. On August 19, 2014 I took the Dodge Dart back to the dealership because it sounded as if the clicking in and out when changing gears was happening. I left the car at the dealership once again because I do not feel safe driving a car with transmission issues.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #44

May 202014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 8,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been complaining since I bought this vehicle there is such a huge pause in the throttle when U anytime from start to go especially when going on the highway I have almost got killed a few times there are so many people complaining about it and they say it's normal yet aftermarket parts are available to buy to fix this issue could someone please contact me before I get killed.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #43

Jul 312014

Dart

  • 23,500 miles
I had just gotten off the freeway on my way home, when my vehicle reached rpms of over 7500 and then died. I lost all power, electronics, motor...everything. My steering wheel locked up but I was able to get the vehicle off the road. I tried restarting, but the vehicle showed no signs of power. After about 20 minutes, I was able to get the vehicle running and drove it to the dealership immediately. The dealership has been very good to me. But after replacing the transmission control module twice, they are now replacing the transmission. I still am concerned that the vehicle is unsafe. The dealership is telling me that the tcm caused the other electronics on the vehicle to fail, but as I understand it, the tcm was not faulty, the transmission is. Needless, I do not feel safe driving this vehicle and believe that Dodge should step up and replace it. The vehicle is a year old and has been in the shop numerous times for the transmission issues. Last week, the vehicle became a safety liability for Dodge as it failed while it was being driven.

- Draper , UT, USA

problem #42

May 222013

Dart

  • 26,000 miles
Driving at a average speed of 60-70 when passing on the hwy my clutch pedal was stuck to the floor and I had to pull it out with my foot to change gears. This now has started happening on take offs now. The dealer has all ready replace it once and it is still having the same issue. Apparently the part is on back order because they can not keep enough in stock for the cars that are having this replaced. It took 21 days in order for my part to arrive at the dealership. Now I have to wait longer for a new one to replace the one that was put in. This can cause a serious issue almost life threatening because you could be pulling out into traffic and god forbid you can't react fast enough.

- Grandview, MO, USA

problem #41

Jul 252014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 9,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a new Dodge Dart that for the past month have been fighting with arrigo Dodge service dept regards to my concerns with issues. My calls went unanswered and was given the blow off. This past Friday my ac quit working was when I took the car in they were forced to address my concerns... when I asked for a rental I was refused...

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #40

Jul 072014

Dart

  • miles
I was accelerating from a stopped position and was shifting into fourth gear when the clutch pedal stayed depressed to the floor. I have had this car back from the dealer 10 days. It was in the service department to correct the same problem. This is the third time this car has done this. The case numbers for the first two are 10542516 and 10607620. Like the second episode, I was left in a vulnerable situation in which I was almost hit. The lanes taper from two down to one and I was in the inside lane coming out of the taper. A truck coming up from behind was unaware to the slow speed of my car and I was not able to accelerate. He was able to swerve across the no passing lines into another lane and avoid hitting the back of my car. I was able to coast to next cross road and just make it off the state highway. My vehicle was towed back to the dealership.

- Rushville, IN, USA

problem #39

Sep 162013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Clutch pedal does not return from depressed position. Clutch pedal is soft and clutch mechanism does not function properly for a few minutes of initial operation. After the initial incident this problem has become more frequent and now occurs almost daily.

- Winchester, IN, USA

problem #38

Jun 232014

Dart

  • 55,000 miles
I have filed a complaint in Sept. 2013 the incident number was 10542516. I my vehicle was towed to the nearest dealership for repair. The clutch pedal would not return once depressed. It was determined that it was the slave cylinder. That was replaced, taking over a week. The remedied the problem until the end of June 2014 when the car began displaying the same problem. I was getting on the interstate and went to shift from 2nd to 3rd and the clutch pedal remained depressed once again. Not having power at this key point of acceleration was dangerous and I was almost rear ended by a semi. I took the car to a dealership once again and it was determined the slave cylinder was the problem once again. I think this really needs to be examined as it creates a serious potential for injury.

- Rushville, IN, USA

problem #37

Jun 212014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 19,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have had transmission issues since have the car 2/13. On 6/21 300 miles from home cars transmission just stopped working while driving. Felt like car was in neutral. Cost me $1000 to town/rent a car etc.they said transmission module failed. Car just stopped very dangerous. Chrysler said my responsibility to pick up car 220 miles away and drive home. I ask them to have someone drive to my local dealer they said no. Drove 4 hours this morning picked up car drove about 10 miles same thing happened today. No service tech to look at. Had to rent another car and drove home. Drove 10 hours 500 miles today for no reason. Someone's going to get killed and I don't want it to be me or my family. I googled this issue and there are others out there with the same problem.

- Aventura, FL, USA

problem #36

Feb 152013

Dart 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Dodge Dart. Consumer writes in regards to transmission malfunction, broken tire sensor and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated the transmission has been on going since, the first day the vehicle was purchased. Apparently, it was a factory default, that could not be fixed. The transmission down shifted into second gear, the clutch would stick, the gears were grinding when in reverse and a metallic noise was heard when down shifting in any gear the dealer replaced the second gear and synchronizers. The sun visor no longer stayed in its position.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #35

Sep 172013

Dart

  • 10,000 miles
I have had quite an experience with my Dodge Dart. It is in the shop this week. I had complained first about the hesitating when I first started the car and it was cold outside. The engine seems to give out and a tiny back fire. I have the computer navigation on the dash and it began to flicker and my mileage started to flash. My check engine light would come on for no reason and the navigation began to fail. I had parked my Dart in the driveway and it had rolled out into the street and a county worker knocked on the door to tell me I was blocking access to the drivers. I went to move my car and the clutch was stuck to the floor of my car. I could not get it in or out of gear. So far Chrysler has replaced the electrical/computer part, the part for the clutch. I just found out about the recall for the brake and transmission. Last my door is darker then the rest of the car and they are having it painted.

- Red Lion, PA, USA

problem #34

Mar 202013

Dart

  • 13,000 miles
For the past year and a half my clutch has been losing all resistance. This usually happens when the vehicle is cold and at times I am unable to put my car into gear. Sometimes this has happened while at stop lights or even pulling out into traffic. Every time I take my vehicle to the dealership aim told there is nothing wrong. Eventually they replaced my clutch master cylinder about 8 months ago the first time. Problem seemed to resolve then about 2 months ago it started doing it again. Went back to the dealership and told nothing was wrong. After multiple trips to dealership they finally agreed to replace master cylinder and discovered the slave cylinder is leaking. Vehicle back in the shop for the past week replacing slave cylinder. Any perspective Dart buyers out there, I really caution against this purchase. This is only one of multiple issues I have had. On a side note, I purchased this vehicle new in July 2012 with 120 miles on it. Since then I have had 2 ignition coils replaced, 2 clutch master cylinders, slave cylinder, 3 turbos, catalytic converter all replaced. Buyer beware.

- Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #33

Nov 142013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
On multiple occasions, worse when it is hot outside, the clutch pedal will be soft and not come up off the floor. When the clutch is soft, I am not able to shift in or out of gear. If the engine is on and in gear, you cannot pump the clutch until the vehicle is off, or if you manage to get it into neutral. As I prefer to park the vehicle in gear, when the clutch goes soft, it makes it difficult, if not impossible, to remove the shifter from gear to prevent the car from moving and hitting an object. I have almost hit a concrete pillar and driven through my garage when this happens. I get the feeling the clutch is not fully disengaged, despite the pedal stuck on the floor. Without parking in gear, I run the risk of the car rolling away if the parking brake fails. There have been no leaks and the dealer has been unable to locate the problem.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #32

May 122014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 9,103 miles
On the morning of May 17th, 2014, the check engine light appeared after restarting the vehicle while in line at the dealer service department. Error messages appeared on driver information center ("park assist off, side blind zone alert off, automatic high-beams off"), gear selection was unavailable and vehicle would not start. The vehicle was started after five minutes of rest with the "vehicle is not in park" error message displayed. The service adviser found codes for transmission and body control modules with multiple communication errors. The transmission control module was replaced on May 18th. On the morning of May 27th, the vehicle was brought back for cosmetic warranty repairs. The vehicle exhibited the same transmission problems after the engine was restarted at the dealer service department. The transmission control module was replaced again on May 29, 2014.

- Celebration, FL, USA

problem #31

May 112014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 16,800 miles
As we were crossing a large bridge in New York city, the engine light came on. Within a minute after the light came on, the engine light started blinking, and the car began to run very roughly. Smoke began to come from the vents, the car began to shake and overheat. After another minute, the car lost all power and became more difficult to control. We stopped at the closest area to pull off. Chrysler roadside assistance had us wait for two hours before notifying us that our car was located 100ft shy of being able to be towed. We managed to fudge the car another 100ft, and reached a side street where we needed to wait another two hours to be towed. This was May 11th. The verdict from the local dealer is that the entire bottom end fell off after just over one year of typical use (less than 17000 miles), and the engine must be rebuilt (crankshaft, engine block, everything). We still have not received an estimated time of completion, and only estimates of when the engine will be in (over a month later) detachment or partial detachment of these components is extraordinarily dangerous, particularly at the speed that we were moving, and we were very fortunate not to be injured, or be in an accident. We were even lucky to get off of the bridge.

- Shillington, PA, USA

problem #30

Dec 232013

Dart

  • 27,000 miles
Went to start my car in the morning pushed the clutch to the floor and it did not return, just stayed depressed against the floorboard. Took it to the dealership and they said everything is functioning as designed. Well its not! I called Chrysler customer service and they told me the clutch is only under warranty for 12000 miles. My previous 3 cars have been manual transmissions and all went well over 100000K without any clutch issues. My car now does this regularly at least once every other day. I am extremely disappointed in Dodge and thought they were "focusing on quality". the lack of concern by Dodge regarding this safety issue is downright disgusting. After speaking with the customer service rep she stated she would contact the dealership and call me tomorrow. No call, no E-mail. Then they have the nerve to send me a survey on how was my issue resolved. It wasn't that's why you got all 1's. why don't you actually stand by your product?

- Vacaville , CA, USA

problem #29

Dec 262013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I went out in the morning to start the car and it would not go into reverse. The gear stick felt stuck and I had to have my husband come out and put the car into neutral and roll the car back so we could start it in first. This happened again one month later, only the car would not even go into first gear. We had it towed to dealer and were told we had to pay for a new clutch-it was burned out. Burned out at 18,000 miles. We paid for a new clutch, and now 4mths later, the car is doing the same thing. Problem going into reverse. Dealer can find nothing wrong with it-I am scared the clutch will burn out again-never know when this car will leave me stranded. Worst experience ever.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #28

Apr 142014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 24,141 miles
I was at work(4-14-2013) getting ready to go home and started the car put it in gear car started to jerk engine light came on. I went to dealership it was closed. I called made an appointment for Tuesday 22 April, 4-15-2013 ) light went off. April 18 2013 light came back on took it to dealership they kept it over night. They said there were some computer up dates. I picked my car up 4-19-2013. On 4-22-2013 light came back on drove back to dealer ship, I ask to see the updates. Service department said Chrysler doesn't allow them to give us the codes for the updates, they did. I have owned my car seven weeks. Paid $17000 + for it.

- Elizabethtown , KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?