Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 2
Average Mileage:
26,364 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 9 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Nov 252014


  • 23,000 miles


When trying to lift up the metal ring on the gear shift to put the car in reverse, I heard a snap, and could not engage reverse. Luckily I was backing out of a parking space that was on a slight incline. The metal ring is now loose and the car will not go in reverse.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #55

Nov 142014


  • 52,000 miles
The first time my vehicle didn't go into reverse was when I was leaving work. I attempted to back out of my parking spot and the shift mechanism to engage the reverse in my car would not come up like it has to for reverse to take hold. I tried twice and turned my car off. I waited about 5 minutes and tried again and the car engaged reverse like normal. For about two weeks the car shifted fine until on 11/23/2014 after starting my car and letting it warm up, I attempted to place my car in reverse and halfway through the shift into reverse on my manual car I heard a pop and my car jerked. I then let go of my shifter knob and it returned into the neutral position. Then I tried to put it in to reverse once more and the shifter knob was limp and returned to neutral by its self. I turned my car off and since I am mechanically inclined I removed the leather cover from the shifter knob to see my reverse cable had snapped close to the base of the housing.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #54

Jul 012014


  • miles
Re: intermittent burning smell in passenger compartment, sometimes fumes observed through the ac vents. Vehicle: Dodge Dart 1.4L turbo 2013 problem description: The problem only occurs at lower gears(1,2,3, R). I have never observed the issue at highers gears. gear shifts are done with clutch depressed. I have seen the issue in following situations: A. car is in neutral cruising at 10­15 mi/hr,  gear is shifted to 2 (like when slowing on exiting of expressway and then merging on local road) B. car is in gear 2,  and gear is shifted to 3. C. car is gear 3,  then put in neutral,  and brakes applied slowly to come to halt (like when coming to halt at traffic light or stop sign) D. car is put in reverse gear.

- Damascus, MD, USA

problem #53

Sep 172014


  • 21,000 miles


While traveling at highway speed, vehicle suddenly went into neutral, "service transmission" appeared on lcd, then "gear not available". after turning car off and on, "gear not available" appears again if in drive or reverse. After another reboot, only occurs in drive. After an additional reboot, functions in all gears. Dodge attempted to repair 3 times, with the car in the shop for approximately 30 days. Final replacement part was "clutch actuator".

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #52

Oct 202014


  • 15,000 miles
On the interstate driving 80mph, went to accelerate and the car just revved up to 7500rpm, like it was in neutral. Checked the gear shift and tried again with only getting the car to rev. Pulled over to the side of the road and turned the car off for about 10 minutes, turned it back on it acted like the transmission wasn't catching. Not once did it show any check engine light or any other warnings. Had it towed to the dealership where it took them 2 days to replicate the problem and then it finally turned on the check engine light. It has been being repaired for over a week now because no one seems to know what exactly is wrong with it even though it had a check engine light for the transmission control module.

- Charleston Afb, SC, USA

problem #51

Sep 302014


  • 44,500 miles
My foot was on my clutch and brake I then stared the car....the car lunge forward into some bushes.. after that the clutch stayed on the floor unable to shift in reverse till I pumped brake and clutch I actually lifted the clutch up with my foot to use it to shift.

- Grover Beach, CA, USA

problem #50

Aug 202014


  • 25,000 miles


On 4 separate occasions, the automatic transmission has disengaged accompanied by check engine light and warnings on instrument panel (service transmission, blind spot indicator disabled, and automatic high beams off). On all occasions, the car was undrivable (as if in neutral) until the engine was turned off and restarted. At that point, the shift points were completely off and vehicle would often nearly stall out. On 2 occasions, the car would not start after multiple attempts, but would inexplicably start later and drive acceptably for a short period of time. Dealer has performed flash updates and examined all connections. Other reports on Dodge Dart forum explain multiple similar issues and various unsuccessful dealer attempts to identify and fix the problem.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #49

Sep 062014


  • 170,800 miles
My 2013 Dodge Dart (limited, 1.4L turbo, ddct automatic transmission) suffered from a tipm (totally integrated power module) failure causing the following problems: - randomly unable to shift out of park - audo system failure - handsfree system failure - odometer blinking (as opposed to a check engine light blinking - digital readout odo) I was informed there is a petition to investigate tipm failures in Chrysler vehicles and wanted to make my incident aware. I also work with a [xxx], who also had his 2013 Dodge Dart replaced (collateral swap) due to the same component failing just last week. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #48

May 232014


  • 14,000 miles
Issues with transmission, gears and power. After parking my car and attempting to restart the car would not turn on, multiple lights came on the dash board, and message read that my car did not recognize the gear. Was not able to start car. It was towed to the dealership. On another occasion, I was driving about 30 mph and my car stop working, lost all power and it took about 5 minutes before I was able to use the gears. On multiple occasions the car wont recognize the gears used and it will act as though it is in neutral. I have also experienced a decline of power while driving as well as back firing in the engine when cylinders misfire. Heated seats don't always work and the key fobs don't always work.

- Fortuna, CA, USA

problem #47

Jul 162014

Dart 4WD

  • 6,500 miles
The clutch pedal stuck to the floor preventing me from being able to shift out of gear or disengage the engine from the transmission. Because I am a mechanic I was able to avoid a crash. This is a complex issue and most consumers will freak out if they can not put there vehicle in neutral and the engine stalls from them trying to use the brakes.

- Balch Springs, TX, USA

problem #46

Jul 262013


  • 8,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the engine stalled, the transmission seized, and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle failed to restart after several attempts. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign: 13V238000 (power train). However, the failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on two occasions, the transmission was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #45

Aug 142014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 1,974 miles
I was sitting at a red light while my 2013 Dodge Dart was in drive on August 14, 2014. The light turned green so the car in front of me went. I attempted to drive and the car acted as if it were in neutral. The RPM's of the car climbed to 6000 and the car went nowhere. I put my foot on the brake because the car was in drive and the RPM's were still high. The RPM's lowered and around 2500 RPM's the car lunged forward as if it caught gear. I drove the vehicle home and parked it. I drove it the next day to the dealership and the transmission was making a clicking noise when it shifted. The dealership kept the car for four days. They said they could not duplicate the issue. I picked my car up on August 18, 2014. I drove the car home. On August 19, 2014 I took the Dodge Dart back to the dealership because it sounded as if the clicking in and out when changing gears was happening. I left the car at the dealership once again because I do not feel safe driving a car with transmission issues.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #44

May 202014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 8,900 miles
I have been complaining since I bought this vehicle there is such a huge pause in the throttle when U anytime from start to go especially when going on the highway I have almost got killed a few times there are so many people complaining about it and they say it's normal yet aftermarket parts are available to buy to fix this issue could someone please contact me before I get killed.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #43

Jul 312014


  • 23,500 miles
I had just gotten off the freeway on my way home, when my vehicle reached rpms of over 7500 and then died. I lost all power, electronics, motor...everything. My steering wheel locked up but I was able to get the vehicle off the road. I tried restarting, but the vehicle showed no signs of power. After about 20 minutes, I was able to get the vehicle running and drove it to the dealership immediately. The dealership has been very good to me. But after replacing the transmission control module twice, they are now replacing the transmission. I still am concerned that the vehicle is unsafe. The dealership is telling me that the tcm caused the other electronics on the vehicle to fail, but as I understand it, the tcm was not faulty, the transmission is. Needless, I do not feel safe driving this vehicle and believe that Dodge should step up and replace it. The vehicle is a year old and has been in the shop numerous times for the transmission issues. Last week, the vehicle became a safety liability for Dodge as it failed while it was being driven.

- Draper , UT, USA

problem #42

May 222013


  • 26,000 miles
Driving at a average speed of 60-70 when passing on the hwy my clutch pedal was stuck to the floor and I had to pull it out with my foot to change gears. This now has started happening on take offs now. The dealer has all ready replace it once and it is still having the same issue. Apparently the part is on back order because they can not keep enough in stock for the cars that are having this replaced. It took 21 days in order for my part to arrive at the dealership. Now I have to wait longer for a new one to replace the one that was put in. This can cause a serious issue almost life threatening because you could be pulling out into traffic and god forbid you can't react fast enough.

- Grandview, MO, USA

problem #41

Jul 252014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
I have a new Dodge Dart that for the past month have been fighting with arrigo Dodge service dept regards to my concerns with issues. My calls went unanswered and was given the blow off. This past Friday my ac quit working was when I took the car in they were forced to address my concerns... when I asked for a rental I was refused...

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #40

Jul 072014


  • miles
I was accelerating from a stopped position and was shifting into fourth gear when the clutch pedal stayed depressed to the floor. I have had this car back from the dealer 10 days. It was in the service department to correct the same problem. This is the third time this car has done this. The case numbers for the first two are 10542516 and 10607620. Like the second episode, I was left in a vulnerable situation in which I was almost hit. The lanes taper from two down to one and I was in the inside lane coming out of the taper. A truck coming up from behind was unaware to the slow speed of my car and I was not able to accelerate. He was able to swerve across the no passing lines into another lane and avoid hitting the back of my car. I was able to coast to next cross road and just make it off the state highway. My vehicle was towed back to the dealership.

- Rushville, IN, USA

problem #39

Sep 162013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Clutch pedal does not return from depressed position. Clutch pedal is soft and clutch mechanism does not function properly for a few minutes of initial operation. After the initial incident this problem has become more frequent and now occurs almost daily.

- Winchester, IN, USA

problem #38

Jun 232014


  • 55,000 miles
I have filed a complaint in Sept. 2013 the incident number was 10542516. I my vehicle was towed to the nearest dealership for repair. The clutch pedal would not return once depressed. It was determined that it was the slave cylinder. That was replaced, taking over a week. The remedied the problem until the end of June 2014 when the car began displaying the same problem. I was getting on the interstate and went to shift from 2nd to 3rd and the clutch pedal remained depressed once again. Not having power at this key point of acceleration was dangerous and I was almost rear ended by a semi. I took the car to a dealership once again and it was determined the slave cylinder was the problem once again. I think this really needs to be examined as it creates a serious potential for injury.

- Rushville, IN, USA

problem #37

Jun 212014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 19,900 miles
Have had transmission issues since have the car 2/13. On 6/21 300 miles from home cars transmission just stopped working while driving. Felt like car was in neutral. Cost me $1000 to town/rent a car etc.they said transmission module failed. Car just stopped very dangerous. Chrysler said my responsibility to pick up car 220 miles away and drive home. I ask them to have someone drive to my local dealer they said no. Drove 4 hours this morning picked up car drove about 10 miles same thing happened today. No service tech to look at. Had to rent another car and drove home. Drove 10 hours 500 miles today for no reason. Someone's going to get killed and I don't want it to be me or my family. I googled this issue and there are others out there with the same problem.

- Aventura, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?