CarComplaints.com Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 2
Average Mileage:
27,014 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 9 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

Jan 062015

Dart

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While driving at 65 mph, the vehicle shifted into neutral without warning and caused the vehicle to decelerate. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #68

Jan 072013

Dart

  • 0 miles
I purchased a new Dart, 2013 limited 1.4 turbo (manual) and when I say new, it had to be built because there were't any on the lots yet. I always felt the car lacked power but assumed it was just the way the car was. Getting out of 1st gear was really tough. Around 6K, after a long road trip, I started to hear a grinding noise when cutting the wheel and throttling in 1st gear or reverse, basically parallel parking. I brought the car to the dealer for its 1st major tune up and mentioned it and they said the didn't hear the noise ( I also mentioned the airbag light would not go away) the air bag light was gone but soon to return. At 9K, I brought the car in again for the same issues! air bag light gone (soon to return) but they said they didn't hear the noise. At 19K I was fuming and got them to go on a test drive with me and they heard they noise! they tried to say it was the ca intake I put in, but I assured them it wasn't and gave them the oem part to prove them wrong. Low and behold after a week they come back with "clutch bearings"! I got the car back and it feels like A- brand new car!! it's amazing! it has power, pick up, the clutch is much easier to work and no noise! I was startled by the power! this is the car I thought I was buying. I have no idea how much gas economy I've wasted after 19K, but I'm just glad to finally have this issue resolved! I really hope this helps those out there so if you have a manual shift and no power/pick-up out of 1st, insist they check the clutch bearings! now let's hope the airbag light doesn't come back on.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #67

Mar 072015

Dart

  • 29,000 miles
We have a Dodge Dart, 2013 that has twice lost its transmission while traveling at highway speed and will not move, coast to a stop. One time on 95 just South of new haven conn. And yesterday on I75 near gainesville fla. I think this needs to be checked and see if someone is not covering this up. It creates a real fiasco when in the left lane in bumper to bumper traffic and suddenly lose all power. People will be dying if this continues to happen. The transmission quitting twice in 29000 miles is not just happenstance. This is a very dangerous situation. Thanks for your time.

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #66

Jan 202015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased car brand new. Have driven manual transmissions for 40 years and have never ruined a clutch or any part of the transmission. I was driving all the road and going up a hill and attempted to downshift to get up the steep hill. The clutch went down to the floor and the shifter wouldn't allow any shifting. I veered off the road and call tow truck. I had car towed to landmark Dodge, morrow, ga 30260, and after weeks they say the entire transmission was burned up and broken into pieces?? well, 1st week they ordered wrong part, 3 week they said they had to remove the entire transmission and today (4 weeks later) they said they feel it is a case of customer abuse and want $1500 to repair. I told them up front a certified technician looked at the issue prior to me having pulled to them and he said, "this is defective". he also printed out info from the internet of other Dodge Dart 2012-2013 with the very same issue. Clutch to the floor, and even a class action suit. I will have to get it fixed (but not at landmark). [xxx] @1-800-992-1997 Chrysler, took [xxx] ', service director, landmark Dodge, word that it looks like I burned up the entire transmission and that I would need to have it towed, at my expense, to another Dodge dealer because landmark wasn't certified to work on Dodge. I keep thinking about the dump truck right on my rear who nearly ran me off the road due to loss in shifting power. This could have been lethal and others are having the same problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #65

Feb 072015

Dart

  • 30,000 miles
While pulled over in a parking lot, I had the brake pedal depressed. As I moved my foot from the brake pedal to the accelerator pedal the engine quite rapidly revved to the point that it buried the tachometer's needle. I immediately shut the engine down and the cabin was filled with the smell of burnt trans-axle fluid. When I re-started the engine, it was perfect again. The vehicle did not lunge forward, so the trans-axle appeared to ignore that it was in drive. I have called my dealership to report the incident and see if they knew anything about a rumored software update for the vehicle.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #64

Dec 162014

Dart

  • 45,758 miles
On 12/16/2014 the vehicle flashed a "service transmission" indicator upon turning the car off the car would not start and the gear indicators all turned red showing no available gears. After a short time with the vehicle off the vehicle started again but the "check engine" light was on. It was taken to a local service center where they stated that it needed some reprogramming. On 01/22/2015 the same issue occurred and the vehicle was taken back in for service. Upon looking at the car I was informed no indicators were showing and their were no diagnostic codes (somehow the car mysteriously lost them). 01/25/2015 the issue occurred again and is presently awaiting service.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #63

Jan 202015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 25,018 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at about 40 mph and abruptly the engine stalled and the clutch went to the floor and the vehicle refused to changed gears or move. I allowed it to veer to the side to escape being rear ended or crashed from behind. I had no control of this car.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #62

Jan 162015

Dart

  • 40,000 miles
I was at a stop light, when I attempted to put the car in 1st gear to go the shifter went all the way to reverse, I did not pull the reverse slide selector (not sure what it is officially called, normally you have to pull up on it to be able to access reverse gear). I was lucky to realize it before I started letting out the clutch as there was a car behind me. I was able to find first gear and start moving, I.e. get out of the way of the cars behind me. Then as I was down shifting at the next light I couldn't find 2nd or first gear, however it would go into reverse, again, without pulling up the slide selector that should stop the shifter from going all the way over. I got the car home and popped the boot off the gear shift and there is a cable hanging free, it appears to be what should be controlling the reverse gear selector. The car is not under warranty. This is extremely dangerous, had I let the clutch out I would have hit the car behind me. If you are driving the car at highway speeds and attempt to downshift the car and end up in reverse you could easily cause an accident, or worse, kill someone. I intend to notify my dealer on Monday, however as the car is not under warranty they are not obligated to do anything about it.

- Elk Mound, WI, USA

problem #61

Jan 132015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
2013 Dodge Dart equipped with a 1.4-liter engine and dual-clutch transmission had 3 incidents on 2 different days - safety hazard! faulty mechanics! 1/13 - vehicle stalled when turning right onto on-ramp at interstate going 35mph, took several tries to get vehicle restarted 1/14 - vehicle stalled when turning right onto outer road going 45mph, almost got rear-ended! 1/14 - vehicle stalled after turning right from on-ramp at interstate going 70mph, almost got hit! we researched issues and found there is a recall for this exact problem, but I wasn't notified as my VIN wasn't on the recall list. What"! I encountered two close calls and when calling Chrysler was told there was nothing they could do if my VIN was not on the recall list. I don' get it, I thought the manufacturer or NHTSA could put a VIN on the recall list. What do I have to do to get my vehicle on this list? do I need a lawyer to do this" please advise as to what my next steps are to get my VIN on the recall list. Seriously dissatisfied

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #60

Dec 312014

Dart

  • 18,900 miles
While traveling at a steady 45 mph with the transmission in "drive", the vehicle sounded an audible alert. The dashboard displayed a message that said "service transmission" and the check engine light came on. At this point, I found that the vehicle was no longer under power and was acting as though it had shifted to neutral. I pulled from the roadway. While stopped, I shifted the vehicle to park. The dashboard display advised me to shift the car to neutral and then to drive or reverse. Initially, when attempting to complete this step, I received an alert saying "gear not available". after completing this process several times over 10 minutes, I got my gears back and I was able to get the vehicle to the dealership where they performed troubleshooting. The codes reported by the dealership indicated "neutral engagement" and "multiple gear selection" but the dealer could not replicate the problem so no fix was attempted. They cleared the codes and returned the car to me. The vehicle is the 1.4L turbo engine with the dual dry clutch transmission. A review of this issue online indicates that in addition to multiple complaints to NHTSA there are a number of blog entries and forums on the topic. In fact, the problem occurred during a test drive by car reviewer for yahoo. This problem creates a significant danger to not only myself but other vehicles around me. Had the transmission failed under acceleration into traffic it could have been quite dangerous. I feel like I got lucky in this situation that it happened while traveling in an area where it was safe to pull off without power.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #59

Oct 142014

Dart

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been having the same issue and a burning smell happening. In October the dealer replaced the tcm at 33,000 miles and stated I was lucky to be under warranty since it would cost $600+ out of pocket. Now on christmas morning I had the check engine light, service transmission message, and autostick not available message display. I was able to limp home to have R, N, D show gear not available. After waiting I turned the car on and the messages cleared. Then 2 days later I was an hour late to work since the messages and shifting problem occurred on the highway. During traffic stoppages I could not get up to speed fast enough and almost caused an accident. The message and issue cleared again when I left work and I drove home but now it shifts at 5,000+ RPM when accelerating after a stop sign. Burning smell is back and car is sluggish. Seems like Chrysler is waiting for enough people to die before addressing the issue. Currently have 39,000 miles on car. Before the issue in October there was also a "software update" for this after I had it about a week with 500-600 miles around mid August 2013. I purchased this car new to have reliable transportation for work. Now it seems I have an unreliable car with loan payments and dealer service costs since Chrysler doesn't cover transmission problems with the power train warranty apparently.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #58

Dec 162014

Dart

  • 24,400 miles
While driving, the car sounds an audible alert, the check engine light goes on, and displays "service transmission" on the car's dash/display. When this happens, the car drops into neutral and I do not have access to any gears. Attempting to shift into neutral and back into drive displays a "gear not available" message on the car's dash/display. The car had to be towed to the dealer, or if I power the car down and start it back up, I can get the gears back, but the check engine light remains on and the car does not shift properly and the car is sluggish. This car is the 1.4L turbo with a dual dry clutch transmission. This problem has happened three times now within the last 1.5 months. The first time, the dealer did a "refresh" on the computer and stated that the computer had to "relearn" the transmission. The second time (12/09/2014) the dealer said the transmission control module needed to be replaced. The third time occurred today (12/16/2014) and it is at the dealer now waiting on someone to look at it. Today when this happened, it was very difficult to get my car across three lanes of traffic and onto the shoulder of a major highway in New Jersey. This almost caused an accident which would have resulted in serious injury as it would have involved a motor vehicle accident with an 18-wheeler semi-truck.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #57

Nov 272014

Dart

  • 59,980 miles
To add to a long list of issues with this vehicle we now have a very serious one that Chrysler does not cover in the powertrain warranty. On thanksgiving when getting ready to leave a store my wife put the vehicle into what she thought was 1st only to begin going into reverse. Thankfully there was nothing behind at the time. We discovered that you can put the vehicle into reverse at any speed or anytime without the use of the shift release. Upon taking the vehicle to the dealer they stated that the shifter needs replaced as the cable broke free. They also discover that the reverse shift sensor had gone bad as well which may have been causing the traction control light to come on and the cruise control to stop working. This is but another issue that there where no warning lights, bells or whistles yet everything is ok because the computer says it is. This vehicle is a death trap, they will not fix even though it is a known issue since 2012 when they first release the vehicle. Apparently someone needs to die for it to be a serious enough issue.. Chrysler needs to be made to step up and take responsibility for their shoddy products. Our heater core is leaking, turbo intermittent, engine surges (RPM's) etc.

- Oak Harbor, OH, USA

problem #56

Nov 252014

Dart

  • 23,000 miles
When trying to lift up the metal ring on the gear shift to put the car in reverse, I heard a snap, and could not engage reverse. Luckily I was backing out of a parking space that was on a slight incline. The metal ring is now loose and the car will not go in reverse.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #55

Nov 142014

Dart

  • 52,000 miles
The first time my vehicle didn't go into reverse was when I was leaving work. I attempted to back out of my parking spot and the shift mechanism to engage the reverse in my car would not come up like it has to for reverse to take hold. I tried twice and turned my car off. I waited about 5 minutes and tried again and the car engaged reverse like normal. For about two weeks the car shifted fine until on 11/23/2014 after starting my car and letting it warm up, I attempted to place my car in reverse and halfway through the shift into reverse on my manual car I heard a pop and my car jerked. I then let go of my shifter knob and it returned into the neutral position. Then I tried to put it in to reverse once more and the shifter knob was limp and returned to neutral by its self. I turned my car off and since I am mechanically inclined I removed the leather cover from the shifter knob to see my reverse cable had snapped close to the base of the housing.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #54

Jul 012014

Dart

  • miles
Re: intermittent burning smell in passenger compartment, sometimes fumes observed through the ac vents. Vehicle: Dodge Dart 1.4L turbo 2013 problem description: The problem only occurs at lower gears(1,2,3, R). I have never observed the issue at highers gears. gear shifts are done with clutch depressed. I have seen the issue in following situations: A. car is in neutral cruising at 10­15 mi/hr,  gear is shifted to 2 (like when slowing on exiting of expressway and then merging on local road) B. car is in gear 2,  and gear is shifted to 3. C. car is gear 3,  then put in neutral,  and brakes applied slowly to come to halt (like when coming to halt at traffic light or stop sign) D. car is put in reverse gear.

- Damascus, MD, USA

problem #53

Sep 172014

Dart

  • 21,000 miles
While traveling at highway speed, vehicle suddenly went into neutral, "service transmission" appeared on lcd, then "gear not available". after turning car off and on, "gear not available" appears again if in drive or reverse. After another reboot, only occurs in drive. After an additional reboot, functions in all gears. Dodge attempted to repair 3 times, with the car in the shop for approximately 30 days. Final replacement part was "clutch actuator".

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #52

Oct 202014

Dart

  • 15,000 miles
On the interstate driving 80mph, went to accelerate and the car just revved up to 7500rpm, like it was in neutral. Checked the gear shift and tried again with only getting the car to rev. Pulled over to the side of the road and turned the car off for about 10 minutes, turned it back on it acted like the transmission wasn't catching. Not once did it show any check engine light or any other warnings. Had it towed to the dealership where it took them 2 days to replicate the problem and then it finally turned on the check engine light. It has been being repaired for over a week now because no one seems to know what exactly is wrong with it even though it had a check engine light for the transmission control module.

- Charleston Afb, SC, USA

problem #51

Sep 302014

Dart

  • 44,500 miles
My foot was on my clutch and brake I then stared the car....the car lunge forward into some bushes.. after that the clutch stayed on the floor unable to shift in reverse till I pumped brake and clutch I actually lifted the clutch up with my foot to use it to shift.

- Grover Beach, CA, USA

problem #50

Aug 202014

Dart

  • 25,000 miles
On 4 separate occasions, the automatic transmission has disengaged accompanied by check engine light and warnings on instrument panel (service transmission, blind spot indicator disabled, and automatic high beams off). On all occasions, the car was undrivable (as if in neutral) until the engine was turned off and restarted. At that point, the shift points were completely off and vehicle would often nearly stall out. On 2 occasions, the car would not start after multiple attempts, but would inexplicably start later and drive acceptably for a short period of time. Dealer has performed flash updates and examined all connections. Other reports on Dodge Dart forum explain multiple similar issues and various unsuccessful dealer attempts to identify and fix the problem.

- Westminster, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?