Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 2
Average Mileage:
26,364 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 8 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #76

Apr 232015


  • 25,000 miles


When first started on a cool or cold morning, the clutch on the 2013 Dodge Dart will not have any pressure and stick to the floor. The clutch peddle would have to be physically pulled up from the floor and pumped to develop any peddle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer that could not replicate the problem nor would make any indication to make the repair. The next week (around May 18, 2015), the manual transmission was parked in first gear and when the clutch was depressed, there was little to no peddle. The car started and began to lunge forward and stopped. The clutch almost stuck to the floor.. other times, the car is parked in neutral and the car will not allow the driver to shift into gear. There is fluid visible on top of the transmission which is suspected by the owner to be from the hydraulic clutch. Chrysler is aware of this problem and are being sued in the state of California over other claims. This is a safety issue with these cars and the volume of complaints for the same issue is indicative of a larger problem.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #75

May 162015


  • 35,993 miles
Engine light came on while driving noticed a failure in power when stepping on the gas felt no go with the turbo. Stopped to have vehicle checked at advance auto diagnostic indicator stated turbo failure. Vehicle had not reached 36000 miles.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #74

Mar 022015


  • 80,000 miles
Clutch pedal depressed and would not return to normal position. Pressing down on clutch pedal would not disengage the clutch from the flywheel so continued to attempt to move forward requiring foot more strongly on the brakes. This wasn't the only time, and seems to occur after the vehicle has been sitting a few hours. Its getting frequent enough that I'm going to try to trade the vehicle in. I don't trust Chrysler/Dodge products any more and their quality is going down hill with their drive by wire vehicles. For the record, 90% of my mileage is all highway and I don't "pop" the clutch to peal out at stop lights and the like. Searches of the internet are finding more and more posts with clutch and transmission problems.

- Strasburg, VA, USA

problem #73

May 132015


  • 58,253 miles


I went to get in my car to go to work and when I started my car the clutch pedal went to the floor and would not come back up. The vehicle got stuck in first gear untill I manually bent down and pulled the clutch pedal up and turned the car off several times. When I sopke to Dodge they acted like they had never heard of this issue (which I know is not true from various forums and complaints ive seen). Now I am worried about the saftey of the car becasue if this happens while im on the road and not parked I or someone could get seriously injured. The Dodge dealer I spoke with said to fix the issue I would have to replace the master cylinder, slave cylinder, and replace the clutch. I dont feel I should have to worry about this there should be a recall issued.

- Woodbridge , VA, USA

problem #72

Feb 022015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 19,800 miles
I always let my car warm up, especially when it's cold. The weather started to get better and twice I stopped at a red light and the car almost stalled. I had to put the car in neutral and pump the gas to stop it from stalling completely. I know it's not the gas because it happened within two different time periods. At the time the temp was in the low 30's. I also notice when it's very cold the car makes a screech when it's started. Although there is a power train recall (N32) my VIN has not been addressed. I do not want to drive down the street and stall with my two-year-old in it.

- Cold Brook, NY, USA

problem #71

Jan 202015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Clutch went completely to the floor and had to veer car into a terrain in order to avoid being run over by dump truck directly behind. There was no warning and car is fairly new. (was purchased new). Quick investigation, and there is a law suit with Chrysler indicating they are aware of this defect but their dealerships are not and refused to repair without charging. Insisted I take car to another place that really works on Dodge ("?"). this lost of gear shifting is going to get someone killed! unfortunately it is hard to reach me by telephone but I would really like to have some details as to how to handle this issue. I had an independent dealer "who really works on Dodge" to repair and they confirmed the clutch was defective and caused it to crash and burn. I'm not the only one who has experienced this.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #70

Mar 122015


  • 12,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While driving approximately 40 mph and switching gears, the vehicle violently jerked backwards and the transmission service warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was operating as designed. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #69

Jan 062015


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While driving at 65 mph, the vehicle shifted into neutral without warning and caused the vehicle to decelerate. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #68

Jan 072013


  • 0 miles
I purchased a new Dart, 2013 limited 1.4 turbo (manual) and when I say new, it had to be built because there were't any on the lots yet. I always felt the car lacked power but assumed it was just the way the car was. Getting out of 1st gear was really tough. Around 6K, after a long road trip, I started to hear a grinding noise when cutting the wheel and throttling in 1st gear or reverse, basically parallel parking. I brought the car to the dealer for its 1st major tune up and mentioned it and they said the didn't hear the noise ( I also mentioned the airbag light would not go away) the air bag light was gone but soon to return. At 9K, I brought the car in again for the same issues! air bag light gone (soon to return) but they said they didn't hear the noise. At 19K I was fuming and got them to go on a test drive with me and they heard they noise! they tried to say it was the ca intake I put in, but I assured them it wasn't and gave them the oem part to prove them wrong. Low and behold after a week they come back with "clutch bearings"! I got the car back and it feels like A- brand new car!! it's amazing! it has power, pick up, the clutch is much easier to work and no noise! I was startled by the power! this is the car I thought I was buying. I have no idea how much gas economy I've wasted after 19K, but I'm just glad to finally have this issue resolved! I really hope this helps those out there so if you have a manual shift and no power/pick-up out of 1st, insist they check the clutch bearings! now let's hope the airbag light doesn't come back on.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #67

Mar 072015


  • 29,000 miles
We have a Dodge Dart, 2013 that has twice lost its transmission while traveling at highway speed and will not move, coast to a stop. One time on 95 just South of new haven conn. And yesterday on I75 near gainesville fla. I think this needs to be checked and see if someone is not covering this up. It creates a real fiasco when in the left lane in bumper to bumper traffic and suddenly lose all power. People will be dying if this continues to happen. The transmission quitting twice in 29000 miles is not just happenstance. This is a very dangerous situation. Thanks for your time.

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #66

Jan 202015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles


Purchased car brand new. Have driven manual transmissions for 40 years and have never ruined a clutch or any part of the transmission. I was driving all the road and going up a hill and attempted to downshift to get up the steep hill. The clutch went down to the floor and the shifter wouldn't allow any shifting. I veered off the road and call tow truck. I had car towed to landmark Dodge, morrow, ga 30260, and after weeks they say the entire transmission was burned up and broken into pieces?? well, 1st week they ordered wrong part, 3 week they said they had to remove the entire transmission and today (4 weeks later) they said they feel it is a case of customer abuse and want $1500 to repair. I told them up front a certified technician looked at the issue prior to me having pulled to them and he said, "this is defective". he also printed out info from the internet of other Dodge Dart 2012-2013 with the very same issue. Clutch to the floor, and even a class action suit. I will have to get it fixed (but not at landmark). [xxx] @1-800-992-1997 Chrysler, took [xxx] ', service director, landmark Dodge, word that it looks like I burned up the entire transmission and that I would need to have it towed, at my expense, to another Dodge dealer because landmark wasn't certified to work on Dodge. I keep thinking about the dump truck right on my rear who nearly ran me off the road due to loss in shifting power. This could have been lethal and others are having the same problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #65

Feb 072015


  • 30,000 miles
While pulled over in a parking lot, I had the brake pedal depressed. As I moved my foot from the brake pedal to the accelerator pedal the engine quite rapidly revved to the point that it buried the tachometer's needle. I immediately shut the engine down and the cabin was filled with the smell of burnt trans-axle fluid. When I re-started the engine, it was perfect again. The vehicle did not lunge forward, so the trans-axle appeared to ignore that it was in drive. I have called my dealership to report the incident and see if they knew anything about a rumored software update for the vehicle.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #64

Dec 162014


  • 45,758 miles
On 12/16/2014 the vehicle flashed a "service transmission" indicator upon turning the car off the car would not start and the gear indicators all turned red showing no available gears. After a short time with the vehicle off the vehicle started again but the "check engine" light was on. It was taken to a local service center where they stated that it needed some reprogramming. On 01/22/2015 the same issue occurred and the vehicle was taken back in for service. Upon looking at the car I was informed no indicators were showing and their were no diagnostic codes (somehow the car mysteriously lost them). 01/25/2015 the issue occurred again and is presently awaiting service.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #63

Jan 202015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 25,018 miles
I was driving at about 40 mph and abruptly the engine stalled and the clutch went to the floor and the vehicle refused to changed gears or move. I allowed it to veer to the side to escape being rear ended or crashed from behind. I had no control of this car.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #62

Jan 162015


  • 40,000 miles
I was at a stop light, when I attempted to put the car in 1st gear to go the shifter went all the way to reverse, I did not pull the reverse slide selector (not sure what it is officially called, normally you have to pull up on it to be able to access reverse gear). I was lucky to realize it before I started letting out the clutch as there was a car behind me. I was able to find first gear and start moving, I.e. get out of the way of the cars behind me. Then as I was down shifting at the next light I couldn't find 2nd or first gear, however it would go into reverse, again, without pulling up the slide selector that should stop the shifter from going all the way over. I got the car home and popped the boot off the gear shift and there is a cable hanging free, it appears to be what should be controlling the reverse gear selector. The car is not under warranty. This is extremely dangerous, had I let the clutch out I would have hit the car behind me. If you are driving the car at highway speeds and attempt to downshift the car and end up in reverse you could easily cause an accident, or worse, kill someone. I intend to notify my dealer on Monday, however as the car is not under warranty they are not obligated to do anything about it.

- Elk Mound, WI, USA

problem #61

Jan 132015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
2013 Dodge Dart equipped with a 1.4-liter engine and dual-clutch transmission had 3 incidents on 2 different days - safety hazard! faulty mechanics! 1/13 - vehicle stalled when turning right onto on-ramp at interstate going 35mph, took several tries to get vehicle restarted 1/14 - vehicle stalled when turning right onto outer road going 45mph, almost got rear-ended! 1/14 - vehicle stalled after turning right from on-ramp at interstate going 70mph, almost got hit! we researched issues and found there is a recall for this exact problem, but I wasn't notified as my VIN wasn't on the recall list. What"! I encountered two close calls and when calling Chrysler was told there was nothing they could do if my VIN was not on the recall list. I don' get it, I thought the manufacturer or NHTSA could put a VIN on the recall list. What do I have to do to get my vehicle on this list? do I need a lawyer to do this" please advise as to what my next steps are to get my VIN on the recall list. Seriously dissatisfied

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #60

Dec 312014


  • 18,900 miles
While traveling at a steady 45 mph with the transmission in "drive", the vehicle sounded an audible alert. The dashboard displayed a message that said "service transmission" and the check engine light came on. At this point, I found that the vehicle was no longer under power and was acting as though it had shifted to neutral. I pulled from the roadway. While stopped, I shifted the vehicle to park. The dashboard display advised me to shift the car to neutral and then to drive or reverse. Initially, when attempting to complete this step, I received an alert saying "gear not available". after completing this process several times over 10 minutes, I got my gears back and I was able to get the vehicle to the dealership where they performed troubleshooting. The codes reported by the dealership indicated "neutral engagement" and "multiple gear selection" but the dealer could not replicate the problem so no fix was attempted. They cleared the codes and returned the car to me. The vehicle is the 1.4L turbo engine with the dual dry clutch transmission. A review of this issue online indicates that in addition to multiple complaints to NHTSA there are a number of blog entries and forums on the topic. In fact, the problem occurred during a test drive by car reviewer for yahoo. This problem creates a significant danger to not only myself but other vehicles around me. Had the transmission failed under acceleration into traffic it could have been quite dangerous. I feel like I got lucky in this situation that it happened while traveling in an area where it was safe to pull off without power.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #59

Oct 142014


  • 32,000 miles
I have been having the same issue and a burning smell happening. In October the dealer replaced the tcm at 33,000 miles and stated I was lucky to be under warranty since it would cost $600+ out of pocket. Now on christmas morning I had the check engine light, service transmission message, and autostick not available message display. I was able to limp home to have R, N, D show gear not available. After waiting I turned the car on and the messages cleared. Then 2 days later I was an hour late to work since the messages and shifting problem occurred on the highway. During traffic stoppages I could not get up to speed fast enough and almost caused an accident. The message and issue cleared again when I left work and I drove home but now it shifts at 5,000+ RPM when accelerating after a stop sign. Burning smell is back and car is sluggish. Seems like Chrysler is waiting for enough people to die before addressing the issue. Currently have 39,000 miles on car. Before the issue in October there was also a "software update" for this after I had it about a week with 500-600 miles around mid August 2013. I purchased this car new to have reliable transportation for work. Now it seems I have an unreliable car with loan payments and dealer service costs since Chrysler doesn't cover transmission problems with the power train warranty apparently.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #58

Dec 162014


  • 24,400 miles
While driving, the car sounds an audible alert, the check engine light goes on, and displays "service transmission" on the car's dash/display. When this happens, the car drops into neutral and I do not have access to any gears. Attempting to shift into neutral and back into drive displays a "gear not available" message on the car's dash/display. The car had to be towed to the dealer, or if I power the car down and start it back up, I can get the gears back, but the check engine light remains on and the car does not shift properly and the car is sluggish. This car is the 1.4L turbo with a dual dry clutch transmission. This problem has happened three times now within the last 1.5 months. The first time, the dealer did a "refresh" on the computer and stated that the computer had to "relearn" the transmission. The second time (12/09/2014) the dealer said the transmission control module needed to be replaced. The third time occurred today (12/16/2014) and it is at the dealer now waiting on someone to look at it. Today when this happened, it was very difficult to get my car across three lanes of traffic and onto the shoulder of a major highway in New Jersey. This almost caused an accident which would have resulted in serious injury as it would have involved a motor vehicle accident with an 18-wheeler semi-truck.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #57

Nov 272014


  • 59,980 miles
To add to a long list of issues with this vehicle we now have a very serious one that Chrysler does not cover in the powertrain warranty. On thanksgiving when getting ready to leave a store my wife put the vehicle into what she thought was 1st only to begin going into reverse. Thankfully there was nothing behind at the time. We discovered that you can put the vehicle into reverse at any speed or anytime without the use of the shift release. Upon taking the vehicle to the dealer they stated that the shifter needs replaced as the cable broke free. They also discover that the reverse shift sensor had gone bad as well which may have been causing the traction control light to come on and the cruise control to stop working. This is but another issue that there where no warning lights, bells or whistles yet everything is ok because the computer says it is. This vehicle is a death trap, they will not fix even though it is a known issue since 2012 when they first release the vehicle. Apparently someone needs to die for it to be a serious enough issue.. Chrysler needs to be made to step up and take responsibility for their shoddy products. Our heater core is leaking, turbo intermittent, engine surges (RPM's) etc.

- Oak Harbor, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?