Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,769 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Durango suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #168

Mar 152008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 167,030 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Durango. While driving at any speed, but mostly during take off, the vehicle makes popping and clunking noises. The dealer stated that the vehicle had been previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 04V596000 (suspension:front:control arm:upper ball joint); however, the contact disagrees. The current mileage was 167,230 and failure mileage was 167,030.

- Mayfield, KY, USA

problem #167

Mar 012007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notice in March of 2007 for the front ball joints. She immediately had the vehicle repaired. When she took her vehicle to the dealer for an alignment, they stated that the upper and lower ball joints (which were repaired less than a year ago under recall) needed to be repaired again. She feels that her vehicle was repaired with the same defected component. The vehicle was repaired. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 126,000 and failure mileage was 80,000.

- Humble , TX, USA

problem #166

Aug 212006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
When I bought the truck I put on a new set of tires and had the alignment done at a fire stone on 8/16-21/2008. The fire stone told me my ball joints were going out. And they said the good news is that they are under recall. I took it to the dealer they looked up the VIN. # and charged me little over $60. In the end they told me that the service was done already and told me the miles that it was done at. At that time I still had 20,000 miles to go before I hit that amount. The shop manager told me that "someone must have put the wrong miles in because we check it and there done that is why we are charging you a fee. So I went to another dealer and asked them. They looked up the VIN.# and said "this service has already been done and if they take it in it will just cost me another $60." I contacted Chrysler and told them my story and asked them about all the wear and tear that these bad ball joints are causing. They said that the service was done and there is nothing that they can do. 1year later and 1 set of tires, on 5/20/07 I looked myself under the truck and looked for what the fire stone manager told me to look at. Just to find that the service had never been done. The reason I did this, because fire stone would not replace the tires due too poor upkeep. I had moved to pineville la when all this took place. I went in to a dealer there and told them my story and asked if they would look at the pictures that I took. They said yes and they said the service had not been done, so the check into it and the dealer (West side in Illinois had it in the computer as done on there site.) they put in the wrong VIN#. the dealer in la did the recall, but I am out $60, 1 set of tires, cost and work of the lower ball joints (due to upper ball joints going out) and all that time running around. What should I do ? a lawyer cost too much! and now I have the recall on the steering column gear shift blocker.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #165

Apr 152007

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle is 6 years old, about 2 months ago I noticed my car began vibrating really badly and my tires were wearing flat on the drivers side. I took my Durango to the 76 service station and they inspected my vehicle and I was told that my right front wheel bearing was worn, my front ball joints were worn and the sway bar bushings were worn very badly as well as the upper control arms were bad. I have only seen recalls on the vehicles with 4X4 but I think the 4X2 models need to also be inspected. This is not normal wear for a vehicle only being 6 years old and driven only 14,280 a year. I cant afford to pay the 1500 dollars that was quoted to have it fixed, so now it sits unless it has to be used, because I am afraid that my front tire is going to fall off.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #164

Feb 022006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Dodge Durango SUV. There was a loud clicking noise in the front end and the steering wheel pulled. The dealer stated that there was a recall on the ball joints. However, it didn't apply to this vehicle. Also, the front and lower arm ball joints were worn out and could be repaired at cost to the contact. The contact was aware of the safety risk involved and observed related complaints. The current and failure mileage were 50,000.

- Cardova, TN, USA

problem #163

Nov 102006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought my 2001 Dodge Durango sport in November 2000. Over the course of the past six years I have had to have so many repairs and replacements of parts, brakes, tires, electrical fuses & resistors done that I can honestly say that I will never buy another Dodge vehicle again. The biggest concerns to me have been around brakes needing replacement three times, upper ball joints replaced due to recall, lower ball joints exhibiting excessive wear as well (but not being able to get daimler/Chrysler to fix them because it isn't covered under my warranty or the recall notices) and ABS & brake lights on the dashboard showing up intermittently. I had to have the power steering line replaced completely due to it rusting through and continuously leaking steering fluid. The dealership replaced my steering fluid and told me it would be fine to drive until the part came in. They said they would call me as soon as the part arrived. Two weeks later I had to chase them down to get an answer as to whether or not the part had arrived and was told I would need to wait another week to bring the Durango in for repairs. Just recently my check engine light came on, I drove straight to the dealership to ask them to look at it and they asked me if the car was bucking or stalling. I said no and they told me it was nothing to worry about then. I tried to make an appointment, but couldn't even be seen for a week and a half. I asked for a loaner vehicle and they said that Chrysler doesn't provide those, but they could certainly get me a rental...why bother buying from a company that doesn't offer even minimal things to their customers?

- Amesbury, MA, USA

problem #162

Nov 062006

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while turning the wheel to either side regardless of speed, there was a creaking noise in the steering column. This was accompanied by a vibration in the steering wheel, and the vehicle pulling to the right. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, who determined that the upper control arm needed replacement due to wear. There was a NHTSA recall # 04V596000, which pertains to the upper ball joint on the front suspension. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Palmetto Bay, FL, USA

problem #161

Aug 032003

Durango 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
2001 Dodge Durango upper ball joints were corroded. The consumer received a recall letter after she had already experienced the failure. With only 64,000 miles on the vehicle, the engine failed.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #160

Feb 272006

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
: the contact stated a recall letter was received for the upper ball joints, #04V596000. The contact performed the recall work prior to the recall and sent in the paperwork available. The manufacturer requested the original receipt. The contact did not have a receipt and was denied reimbursement. Also, since purchase, the ABS jerks and the vehicle swerves when stopping at any speed. The dealership determined this was how the vehicle was manufactured and no repair was available.

- Avon Park, FL, USA

problem #159

Aug 172005

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact states received a recall letter on 8-17-05 regarding the upper ball joint on 2001 Dodge Durango. She called and set up an appointment, and they told her they do not have any parts because there is a backorder. She thinks the recall should be fixed in a timely manner. She reported having problems with the brakes, and her husband told her this might have something to do with the recall because the front end may be wearing out the brakes. The steering wheel jumped around in her hand when she applied the brakes.

- Rocky Mount, VA, USA

problem #158

Jul 272005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The consumer was complaining that after recall #04V596000 was fixed. The vehicle had to be realigned. Consumer was upset that he had to pay for alignment. The manufacturer should have paid for this, and it should be included in the recall expenses. The recall was on the upper ball joints on both sides of the front suspension. The owner had the recall fixed on 7-27-05. The consumer did not have enough money to pay the extra charge. He will have this fixed and go back to a mechanic for another realigned. The consumer was going to do this at a later date. Called the manufacturer, and they said that the realignment wasn't something that they were concering. They were only concerned with the recall.

- Walcott, IA, USA

problem #157

Jul 112005

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
Consumer states: She has a Dodge Durango that was recalled for the ball joints. The recall number was not available. She received the recall letter around 1-05. The dealer does not have the parts. He name was put on a waiting list in 1-05 for the parts. She still has not heard anything. She has contacted the dealer again and they tell her the part has not come in yet. They could not offer her a loaner to use until the parts were in.

- Lebanon, IN, USA

problem #156

Mar 092005

Durango 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,500 miles
While the vehicle was being sericed for the upper ball joints on the NHTSA recall, the lower ball joints were were defective.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #155

Jan 102005

Durango 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,286 miles
Dealer flatly refused to service the vehicle for upper ball joints NHTSA recall 04V396000, since consumer did not purchase the vehicle there, and the parts were available only for their customers.

- El Centro, CA, USA

problem #154

Dec 062004

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer was involved in two frontal collisions. Upon impact, the air bags failed to deploy. The cause had not been determined at this time. The first incident occured on a slight snow covered road. The consumer lost control of the vehicle which resulted in front and side damage and the vehicle was backed against the concrete barrier. The second incident occured while the vehicle was in motion and the consumer lost control whenthe vehicle was driven over a small ice patch. The consumer had run into a light pole and completely damaged the middle front of the vehicle. The consumer was informed of recall# 04V596000, which may have been the cause of both incidents.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #153

Dec 102004

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
A recall for the upper ball joints was issued. However, the dealer stated the part was on national back order. Consumer has been waiting since December 2004.

- Salisbury, MO, USA

problem #152

Dec 012004

Durango

  • miles
Dodge Durango 2001 upper ball joints and air bag defect. Vehicle involved in an accident. The consumer received the ball joint recall notice after the ball joint failed resulting in an accident. The front end of the consumer's vehicle crashing into a concrete protection barrier. The driver's air bag did not deploy and as a result he hit his head against the windshield. The consumer contacted the dealer about the ball joint recall but was told that the part was not available. The day of the consumer's appoint to have the ball joint replaced the consumer lost control of the vehicle and hit a light pole. Once again the air bags did not deploy which caused the driver to hit her chest on the steering wheel and head against the windshield.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #151

Feb 072005

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
After taking the vehicle into the dealer, the consumer was told the ball joints were not defective and did not need to be replaced. After taking the vehicle into another dealer, they found the defect and replaced the ball joints. NHTSA ball joint recall 04V596000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #150

Jan 102005

Durango

  • 1,700 miles
During a routine inspection, the dealership informed the consumer of the loose upper/lower ball joints. The dealership did not resolve the problem.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #149

Jan 192005

Durango

  • 47,000 miles
No parts were available for recall campaign 04V596000 concerning upper ball joints. Hanover, Dodge, 717-637-1101.

- Hanover, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?