Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 14 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #184

Sep 252010


  • 87,000 miles


Fuel (approximately 1/4-1/2 gallon each event) sprays out of fuel tank filler neck during refueling when tank reaches full point. Exact same problem as referenced in NHTSA campaign id 09V003000. However, Dodge reports my VIN is not one of the affected models included in the recall. Initially thought it may have been a one-time fluke, but has since continued to eject fuel from the tank every time I refuel the tank upon reaching the full point during refuel. Had no indications of any problems prior to first event; received no malfunction lights. After first event, noticed loud venting sound coming from tank approximately 5-10 minutes later while driving down the road - initially thought I had air quickly escaping from the driver's side rear tire, but realized it was coming from the tank. Has not done this since. To date, I still have not received any malfunction lights or indications, other than the consistent fuel spill every time I fill up that will soon begin to eat into the paint if not remedied soon. I depend on this vehicle to make long-distance trips frequently, travelling through locations with no services, so not completely filling the fuel tank is not a safe or viable long-term option. Vehicle now has 90,000 miles.

- Benson, AZ, USA

problem #183

Nov 242010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I own a 2005 Dodge Durango and at about 68,000 miles it started spewing gas from the filler tube just after the pump clicks off. The first time this happened I thought it was just the gas pump but at every refueling since the initial incident the same thing happens. After doing some research on this issue I found that Dodge had recalled several 2005 Durango's but my VIN was not included in the recall. I feel Dodge has underestimated the scope of the recall needed to correct this issue. Gas being spewed out of the filler tube is not only a danger to those refueling and surrounding the area where refueling is occurring but also harmful to the environment. I would estimate about 3 to 4 cups of gas spew out in each instance.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #182

Nov 152010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 164,986 miles
My complaint is the same as in NHTSA campaign id number : 05V034000 however Dodge refuses to correct it. I have a 2005 Dodge Durango wherein the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve does not fully close at the end of refueling. This allows fuel to escape from the vehicle filler neck. Consequence: Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in a fire. Dodge has told me that my VIN number does not qualify for a recall even though it is a 2005 Dodge Durango with the same safety issue. They say that the qualifying vehicles were built before 10/12/2004 and that mine was built after that date. I maintain that they either used the same bad part in my vehicle or did not properly fix the problem. I am faced with a $825 repair bill for a design/part flaw that they did not correct and therefore should be responsible for repairing at their expense. This faulty part was replaced on August 12, 2008 in response to my complaint 10219910 but has failed yet again. The recall on the service dicument was listed as E01-410-567-1836 from business center/mark wittholz. The dealer once again has refused to pay for the $825 replacement cost. Please consider ruling once again that this dangerous situation caused by an obviously flawed part should be repaired at Chrysler's expense. The dealer was not able to tell me the make of the replacement tank installed on August 12, 2008 so I have indicated failed original equipment in order to be able to submit this complaint.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #181

Jan 022006


  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that for four years while adding gasoline to the fuel tank it spilled back out of the tank. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed him that his VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Christianburg, VA, USA

problem #180

Apr 092008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
When filling the fuel tank the gas pump will stop pumping, within seconds nearly a gallon of gas will pour out of the tank. The gas not only covers the vehicle but has sprayed me nearly hitting my eyes. The gas poured all over the grounds of the gas station requiring me to report it to the clerk. This happens every time I decide to fill my tank. It has gotten to a point in which I fear to fill my tank. I researched to see if there were any recalls on the vehicle which I did find. After calling Chrysler I was told my VIN number did not apply to this recall and they were not liable until more vehicles were reported.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #179

Oct 152010


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated when dispensing fuel into the fuel tank to the full capacity level, fuel would spray out continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where they informed the contact that the fuel tank would need to be replaced due to defective inlet check valves. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) yet the contacts VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact notified the manufacturer to file a complaint and no further assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #178

Oct 312010


  • 92,000 miles


Gas spills when pumping gas started at 98322 miles. Took it to a Dodge dealer and the dealer said it was not under the recall. My Dodge Durango does what the recall claims needs repair. Vehicle at 126000 and still spills gas all over the cement of the gas station. What a dangerous situation! I will never buy another Dodge again!! transmission went out and now I'm having another problem. The tcm has an error and the vehicle turns off and doesn't want to accelerate. Many people are having this same problem with the tcm.

- Porter, TX, USA

problem #177

Aug 152010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango began spitting gas back out after the pump has clicked off. Approximately, 1/2 gallon is wasted, it on lands on the car, ground and myself. This occurs each and every time the car is fueled. Dodge has a recall on the gasoline:storage:tank assembly recall for 2005 Dodge Durango's but my VIN is not included. I have called Dodge and they have informed me that I must pay a diagnostic fee, deductible and possibly a percentage of the cost. However, other 2005 Durango's with this same issue were corrected/repaired at Dodge's expense.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #176

Oct 212010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
I have a 2005 Dodge Durango VIN # [xxx] manufactured March 2005. Everytime I fill up with gas, at least a pint to a quart sprays out when the tank is full, the same problem as in recall #NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000. I have talked to dealers and Chrysler corporate reps who bluntly tell me "nothing we can do..... your's was manufactured after November 2004. This happens every time I fill up with gas, and has been doing it for several years. My family knows who to file suit against if or when I get burned up. Including NHTSA. Obviously Dodge has more problems with more Durangos than they want to admit to with the fuel splash problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Conway, SC, USA

problem #175

May 152009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Gasoline spewing from the gas tank of my 2005 Dodge Durango could potentially cause burns and/or skin reactions. This needs to be a recall on all vehicles that have had this problem, not just a select few according to the VIN.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #174

May 042010

Durango 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve would not fully close when refueling the vehicle. The failure would cause fuel to spew from the vehicle through the filler neck at the end of refueling. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The manufacturer advised the contact that the vehicle was not under recall and offered no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 01/13/11 updated 01/24/11.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #173

Oct 082009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango fuel overflow/splash. About a year ago I noticed the fuel pump would not shut off when refueling which cause a great amount of fuel to splash back at the person filling the tank. I took my vehicle in for maintenance and was told by Dodge that it was not under recall and it would cost me $600 plus to fix. I went to a different dealer recently and was told the same. This is a severe safety issue! believe this is related to NHTSA action number : RQ08005.

- Geneva, OH, USA

problem #172

Mar 012010


  • 48,000 miles
My vehicle started few months ago to squirt gas out of the tank once the pump clicked off at the gas station. I recently learned that there have been two recalls for this particular problem 05V34000 and 09V003000 for a 2005 Dodge Durango, which I own. I have contacted Dodge and they have told me that my vehicle is not one of the ones affected. I asked the person how I would get my vehicle under the recall he then told me to go get a diagnostics check and accused me of causing the problem by putting a marble in the gas tank. This is a problem with the vehicle design and a safety concern because I continue to dump gas onto the ground.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #171

Jul 142010


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact was refueling the vehicle as approximately one half gallon of gasoline began to spew back out from the filler tube and onto the contact. The contact stated that the failure would occur whenever the vehicle was refueled. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap) and stated that he was advised by the manufacturer that the recall work had already been performed on his vehicle. The contact also inquired about a second recall (NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000, fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly) but was advised by the dealer that his vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 59,000 and the current mileage was 59,500.

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #170

May 232010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Every time I fill up my car at the gas station, it overflows. It's a 2005 Dodge Durango. I was told there was a recall associated with this problem but never received a notice about it. The problem started about 3 or 4 months ago.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #169

Aug 312010


  • 89,100 miles
Overflowing gas at the end of fillup. The pump shuts off as it should, but then gas overflows out. We are not topping off - this happens with the first shutoff of the gas pump.

- Smithville, MO, USA

problem #168

Aug 012009


  • 53,000 miles
Upon completion of fueling, when removing hose, gas splashes out with force, enough to soak a body from neck to ankles with gas.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #167

Aug 212009


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out from the filler tube and would occur frequently. The dealer advised that there were no related recalls on the vehicle. The vehicle was neither inspected nor repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000 and the current mileage was approximately 65,000.

- The Villages, FL, USA

problem #166

Jun 172008


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact was refueling the vehicle as fuel began spewing from the filler tube. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. There were no prior warnings of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #165

Aug 012010


  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2005 Dodge Durango limited. I have a safety issue on the vehicle when I'm fueling the vehicle up and the gas pump safety switch clicks and shuts off the pump when the tank is full, fuel spews back out of the tank. This fuel spray can fly 2 to 3 feet in any direction depending on the fuel nozzle used. I called about this safety issue to a local Dodge dealership and they told me my Durango is not included in the recall even though there is a recall for that exact problem and I would have to pay for a new fuel tank to get it fixed.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?