Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,514 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 8 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #304

Sep 012009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ticking sound and a exhaust smell in vehicle caused me to take my car to a local repair shop to have exhaust manifold gasket replaced. The technician found that a bolt had broken off a was sitting in the heat shield.

- Groton, CT, USA

problem #303

Feb 142011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
My 2005 Dodge Durango has been spitting back fuel every time I refuel for the last 5-6 months. I took it to a local Dodge dealer for 90K service & asked them to check out what was causing the problem. Service manager called me & I was told I needed to replace the gas tank for over $700. I did not authorize the work. There was no mention of the recall or any other complaints about this problem. I hung up & got online. After a few minutes of searching the internet I see this is a serious issue & I am not alone. It seems to me a recall of only a small number of the effected vehicles is no solution. I intend to contact Dodge & complain.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #302

Sep 152008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the fuel tank could not be filled to capacity and fuel would be spewed from the filler neck when attempting to do so. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 10/06/11 updated 12/13/11

- Charleston, IL, USA

problem #301

Sep 012010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When filling the gas tank with gasoline the gas spits back up out of the gas tank filler tube and all over the person filling up the gas tank. The Dodge Durango has been recalled for this exact same problem on Feb 1, 2005 NHTSA campaign number: 05V034000. After numerous complaints Chrysler on Jan 6, 2009 NHTSA campaign number: 09V003000 expanded the recall and reported to the NHTSA that the problem was fixed in production and the NHTSA closed the case. Well, Chrysler did not fix the problem or the fix has failed. My Durango was produced after the latest recall ending date and has the exact same problem. I have taken my Durango to the dealer on Sept 14, 2011 after reporting the problem to Chrysler (case number 21324740). The dealer confirmed the problem. Chrysler offered to replace the gas tank for $200. I declined the offer because I believe the recall should be expanded. This is a serious life / safety issue and should be brought to light!

- St Augustine , FL, USA

problem #300

Mar 082011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out of the fuel tank whenever it was added to the fuel tank. The contact also noticed NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline tank: Assembly), but the manufacturer stated the vehicle was not included. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage is 130,000. Updated 11/17/11 updated 11/23/11

- Prescott, AR, USA

problem #299

Sep 092011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
When adding gas to the vehicle the gas tank spits the gas out.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #298

Jan 032011

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel would escape through the filler neck at the end of refueling. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) but the failure persisted. The dealer and manufacturer denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 95,000.

- Cambria Heights, NY, USA

problem #297

Jul 122011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
NHTSA action number RQ08005: Inv. Closed 9 Jan 09 the spit back problem continued in the field for vehicles built from mid-October through the end of November. Chrysler reported process modifications were implemented on 11/24/04 to address spit back problems and believes these process changes would have been incorporated in all vehicles built at the assembly plant as of 11/30/04. In the two plus years since the investigation was closed, the nets has received over 300 complaints pertaining to the issue that was supposedly corrected by the expanded recall. Nearly all of these complaints stated that the vehicle with the problem was not included in the recall. Please re-open the investigation! the investigation was closed based on a "belief" without checking the veracity of the claim made by Chrysler! the spit-back problem is still a problem- Chrysler knows it, otherwise they wouldn't have been so quick to make me an offer because they're concerned about the safety of my family. Incidentally, my 2005 Durango was manufactured in Feb of 2005 making it obvious that the "process modifications" were not incorporated in all vehicles and the supplier of the fuel tanks actually did not make the stated manufacturing change. My recommendation: Expand the recall to any 2005 Durango experiencing the known safety issue related to the fuel spit back problem. Unless of course, Chrysler is leveraging risk vs. Cost of an expanded recall and weighing the odds that the nets will just let this one slide. Please advise. Dear customer: Case #: 21232269 VIN: [xxx] vehicle description: Dodge Durango limited 4X4 sport utility 4-door parts: $729 labor: $260.47 total: $989.47 co-pay = $350 vehicle is not covered under recall because VIN does not fall under recall and recalls are VIN specific. Sincerely, sam customer care information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #296

Aug 312011

Durango

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel would spill from the fuel tank when full. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system gasoline: Storage tank assembly) but was advised by the dealer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 129,000.

- Norwalk, OH, USA

problem #295

Sep 012010

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel would leak out from the filler neck and spill onto the ground. The vehicle was inspected by the owner and he noticed that the valve needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified and informed him that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The failure mileage was approximately 48,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 09/28/2011

- Salem , OR, USA

problem #294

Aug 012010

Durango

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when she attempted to refuel the vehicle, gasoline would spill back out from the filler neck. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but offered no assistance. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 89,311. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #293

May 142011

Durango

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spill back out. The dealer was notified and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap tact). The manufacturer was notified and confirmed that the VIN was not included in the recall. They offered no other assistance. The failure mileage was 109,000.

- Wingate, IN, USA

problem #292

Dec 012009

Durango

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated while refueling the vehicle, fuel would escape from the fuel filler neck. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing or to be repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 42,000.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #291

Aug 242010

Durango

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated the vehicle would stall intermittently. The gasoline would spill out of the vehicle while fuel was added without warning. The dealer made the contact aware of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly), but the VIN was not a part of the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 125,000. Updated 09/21/11 updated 2/23/12

- Aurora, IN, USA

problem #290

Jan 152009

Durango

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While adding fuel to vehicle the contact noticed gasoline escaping whenever the fuel tank was full. There was NHTSA recall campaign number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly) which could be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #289

Mar 262009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
2005 Dodge Durango, fuel spews from gas tank everytimei fill up, and it just dies intermittently, it also stutters as though it has bad gas when traveling at a slower rate of speed. I called Dodge on the recall but of course mine is not included, they said had to have proof, so I plan to take a video next time.

- Carrollton, MO, USA

problem #288

Jul 162011

Durango

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated after approaching a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who inspected the failure and informed her she needed to replace the fuel tank, the fuel pump modular and she needed a system update. The manufacturer was contacted but they will not speak with her. The case manager would not return her call. The dealer will not offer any assistance. The failure mileage was 135,000.

- North Zulch , TX, USA

problem #287

Mar 132011

Durango

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel escaped from the vehicle through the filler neck. The failure always occurred when the pump was set to refuel automatically. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer, however the manufacturer was notified. The manufacturer stated that the VIN did not qualify for the recall under NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly).the failure mileage was 100,00 and the current mileage was 111,000.

- Mililani, HI, USA

problem #286

Jan 012011

Durango

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While attempting to add fuel to the vehicle, gasoline would spill out onto the ground. To avoid the spillage, he was only able to add a half tank of fuel to the vehicle. The dealer inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the fuel tank assembly failed. The manufacturer advised the contact that his vehicle was not included in recall 05V034000 fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 63,000. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #285

Jun 102011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
During filling gas on my 2005 Dodge Durango limited (5.7 L hemi), the gas has started running out or spraying out of the filling nozzle as the fuel tank becomes full. This has happened on more than 5 occasions. The manufacturer was contacted and claims my VIN number is not part of the recall for a faulty fuel tank check valve, but I continually have to monitor my gas gauge as I'm filling my vehicle each time to avoid gas spewing out and onto the ground. This is a safety and environmental hazard that must be addressed. This is a similar issue on this model with select VIN numbers, but for some reason, mine is not covered?

- Kronenwetter, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?