Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,292 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Jul 022009

Durango 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact received a recall notice on May 26, 2009 regarding NHTSA campaign id number 09V003000. The recall letter stated that the dealers would order the parts and have them available in case a repair was needed. The dealer stated that they had the option of ordering the parts upon inspection of the vehicle. The contact was not satisfied with the inconvenience of the nearest dealer being one hour away. If she needed the part, she would have to drive back and forth. There had been no failure to date. Updated 08/04/09 updated 08/06/09.

- Swainsborough, GA, USA

problem #26

Dec 192008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. When the contact filled the gas tank, the pump would shut off with a second delay and fuel would 'spit' back out. The failure occurred everytime gasoline was placed in the vehicle. The dealer advised her to have the vehicle inspected for NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000, but later stated that her VIN was excluded and could not be repaired according to the recall. The manufacturer could not assist. The current mileage was approximately 66,700 and failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 06/24/09. Updated 06/26/09.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #25

May 032009

Durango 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. As soon as the contact fills his tank with fuel, gasoline sprays back on him. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The contact researched the failure online. The failure mileage was 91,000.updated 06/09/09. Updated 06/09/09.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #24

Apr 172009

Durango

  • 55,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel would "spit out" when she attempted to fill the fuel tank. The issue occurred every time she attempted to place fuel in the vehicle. The dealer stated that they needed to replace the gas tank and filler pipe at the cost of $815. The manufacturer informed her to take the vehicle to an approved dealer so that they could pay for the repair; however, they are not responding to her calls. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was approximately 55,540 and failure mileage was approximately 55,200.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #23

Oct 312008

Durango

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact observed fuel leaking from the lower portion of the fuel tank. The failure occurred without warning. Whenever he fills up the fuel tank, gasoline sprays back out of the tank. The gas nozzle stopped when the tank was full, but gasoline still sprayed out of the tank. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap), although the failures were identical. The vehicle is in the process of being taken to the authorized dealer for possible repair. The VIN was not accepted by the system. The failure mileage was 85,000 and current mileage was 91,000. Updated 6/29/09 the consumer stated when the gas tank was filled up, gas would shoot back out. The consumer stated he experienced the same problem as stated in 05V034000. Updated 06/30/09.

- Marion , IA, USA

problem #22

Apr 252008

Durango

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact has experienced failures with the fuel system in her vehicle since the date of purchase. When filling her vehicle with gasoline, she noticed that a large amount of fuel comes back out of the gas tank. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and inspected by a technician, who determined that the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve was failing. The vehicle has not been repaired and the estimated repair cost would be a $200 deductible. Upon further investigation, the contact discovered NHTSA campaign id numbers 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap) and 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that because her VIN was not included in the recalls, no compensation would be provided. The failure mileage was 32,000 and current mileage was 44,000.

- Hebron, IN, USA

problem #21

Jan 012009

Durango

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About a month ago my, after filling up our Durango, it sprayed fuel all over my wife. It seems every time we fill up our truck, fuel sprays all over. I researched this issue on he internet and found out a recall was issued: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline storage tank assembly filler pipe and cap), but my Durango VIN was not covered in this recall when I called my local dealer. It's a very dangerous problem.

- Springville, CA, USA

problem #20

Nov 272008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Whenever I fill my vehicle with gasoline it sprays back out of the tank. This started to occur in November and happens every time I fill it. It was repaired at a Dodge dealer by replacing the gas tank. They said there was a recall back in 2005 for this and again in 2009 but was told my car was included. Updated 03/03/09.

- Darien, IL, USA

problem #19

Dec 042008

Durango

  • 74,000 miles
The filler tube inlet check valve not fully close and allows fuel to escape from the vehicle filler neck. There is a recall on this but when I call they said my VIN number was not covered for this recall. NHTSA campaign number: 05V034000. This has been happening since the beginning of December everytime I fill my tank.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #18

Dec 062008

Durango

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. Whenever the contact fills the fuel tank, gasoline sprays out of the tank. The fuel nozzle stops when the tank is full, but fuel still sprays out of the tank. The contact discovered NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage;tank assembly;filler pipe and cap). The VIN was not included although the failures were identical. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 41,000 and current mileage was 44,000. Updated 2/5/09 updated 02/10/09.

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #17

Dec 102008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. Whenever the contact fills the fuel tank, gasoline sprays out of the tank. The fuel nozzle stops when the tank is full, but fuel still sprays out of the tank. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer for inspection. The technician discovered NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage;tank assembly;filler pipe and cap); however, the VIN was not included although the failures were identical. The failure and current mileages were 65,000. Updated 01/09/09. Updated 01/09/09

- Leawood, KS, USA

problem #16

Nov 012008

Durango 8-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
Please reference NHTSA action number : RQ08005. This complaint is for a 2005 Dodge Durango, when filling gas tank, and at the time tank is full, the back flow valve of the filler nozzle seems to be stuck open and does not close. This causes fuel to back flow out of the tank and under the wheel well and onto the ground. Also it has been observed that gas sprays out a high pressure. I have been totally soaked by the fuel back flow and the fuel contact on my skin/clothing caused irritation. I have seen the problem 3 times and now have the SUV in the dealer shop for repair. This issue seems to be related to NHTSA recall no. 05V-034, but the dealership insists that my vehicle is not included in this recall even though my vehicle was manufactured 10/2005 and obviously has the defect reported by the recall. Since the vehicle is now out of warranty, but only has 26K miles on it, the dealer told me it would be repaired via "goodwill" (but only after I threatened to take the dealership to small claims court over the issue...... really, dealers need to know that this problem is still happening and should formally recall all year 2005 vehicles. I was pretty lucky not to get sprayed in the face with fuel. Is it necessary to wait for injuries before taking action? updated 12/09/08.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #15

Oct 162008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While placing fuel in the vehicle, gasoline spilled out onto the ground. The contact took the vehicle to the repair shop and the mechanic stated that the filler pipe neck did not close, which allowed the fuel to spill. A report was filed with the manufacturer and they stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline storage tank assembly filler pipe and cap). She was advised to take the vehicle to the dealer for repair. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 85,000 and current mileage was 86,000. Updated 11/14/08 updated 11/18/08.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 282008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. Whenever the contact fills the gas tank, gasoline sprays out of the tank. The gas nozzle stops when the tank was full, but gasoline still sprayed out of the tank. Through research, the contact discovered NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The dealer was unable to assist. Dodge stated that the recall did not apply to his VIN due to the manufactured date. The contact believes that if he is experiencing the same failure, the vehicle should be included in the recall. The failure mileage was 45,000 and current mileage was 55,000. Updated 09/16/08 updated 09/22/08.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #13

May 012008

Durango

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact noticed that there was no check valve on the fuel tank filler. Therefore, if there is a fuel leak in the presence of an ignition source, it could result in a fire. The dealer stated that his VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The contact would have to pay $600 for the repair. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. The manufacturer did not provide any assistance. The failure and current mileages were 84,000.

- Belvidere, IL, USA

problem #12

Dec 142006

Durango

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. Soon after the vehicle was purchased and fuel was added, it would spew gasoline back at the contact and the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times, but no failure was ever found. The vehicle was taken to another dealer and they replaced the fuel tank because the inlet check valve was stuck. The following month, the contact discovered NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap); however, the dealer stated no recalls were available. The current mileage was 88,504 and failure mileage was 44,000.

- Clinton Corners, NY, USA

problem #11

Mar 112008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,215 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While refueling the vehicle and removing the fuel nozzle, fuel shoots back at the contact, covering her in gasoline. The first occurrence was on March 11, 2008, which is also the purchase date. There had been no further occurrences. The failure mileage was 30,215 and current mileage was 31,586.

- Wickliffe, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 262008

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I was contacted by daimler Chrysler, stating my 2005 Dodge Durango was the subject of a recall, and to schedule an appointment with our dealer. I scheduled the appoint for the recall and for additional maintenance. I investigated the recalls, and found 2: a potential instrument panel failure, and a problem with fuel spilling out of the inlet during refueling. I scheduled the appointment, and off the Durango on 2-26-08. The next day, mike (from our dealer) called and said that the recall had already been performed. He stated that daimler Chrysler sometimes made mistakes like this with recalls. He also said that the only recall the Durango was eligible for was for the issue with the instrument panel, and the the recall for the issue with the inlet valve did not apply to vehicles made after 10-12-2004 - ours was made 10-15-05. I explained to mike that the Durango had the identical problem that was the subject of the recall. Just a few weeks ago, my wife was doused with gas as she filled the Durango - gas escapes frequently when filling up. Mike said that there was nothing he could do, except perform the repair - the exact same thing the recall was for, but at my expense, and that I should contact daimler chyrysler to see if they would do anything for me. I contacted DaimlerChrysler twice after I found documentation on the NHTSA website, from DaimlerChrysler to NHTSA, stating that all Durangos from VIN 5F500001 to 5F535219 would be recalled. The VIN on my Durango is 5F529730 - well within the recall range. The letter I found on NHTSA's website (dated 3-18-2005) from stephan J speth (director, vehicle compliance) to Ms. Kathleen C. demeter (acting associate administrator, safety assurance) at NHTSA, indicating a "date range" for affected vehicles. Daimler chrylser assigned a reference number (17265274), but stated there was nothing they would do to correct the problem. I believe they have a responsibility to perform the recall. NHTSA campaign number: 05V-034.

- Whiteland, IN, USA

problem #9

Feb 112008

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,500 miles
When I fill up with gas at any gas station, and the tank is full, the automatic cut-off doesn't close in time in the gas tank causing gasoline to spew/spray out of the gas tank nozzle dousing me, my vehicle, and creating a pool of gasoline on the ground underneath the gas tank nozzle. This has occurred in the last three months. When I did research, I realized that Dodge had a recall on my year model of my vehicle. When I attempted to get it fixed on 02/11/08, Dodge advised me that although there is a recall on this problem, my vehicle wasn't covered because my VIN didn't fall under that recall. Dodge has refused to repair this severe safety hazard unless I pay for the repairs. I was quoted by bankston Dodge of frisco, tx that it would cost $717 for parts and labor to repair this problem that they are aware of due to the recall they have issued on this problem on this specific vehicle.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #8

Sep 012007

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel escaped from the filler neck when refueling the vehicle. As of January 4, 2008, the dealer had not inspected the vehicle. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap). The failure mileage was 95,000 and current mileage was 108,000. The consumer stated would like to be reimbursed for the cost of the repairs at the tune of $677.43. The dealer stated replaced rear pinion seal. Updated 01/29/08

- Argyle, TX, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?