Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The second generation Durango was introduced in 2004 and instantly came under fire for, well, catching on fire.

From 2004-2006 electrical overloading in the driver's side instrument panel caused numerous reports of interior fires. The interior infernos became so commonplace that Chrysler eventually issued a recall.

The problems didn't stop there, however. Owners of the recalled vehicles complained about being treated unfairly and given take-it-or-leave-it low ball settlement offers. "They offered me $2000 under NADA retail as a settlement," said one owner, "and have been rude and hostile to deal with." Nothing says awesome service like treating your customers rudely after their cars have already caught on fire.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,292 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Durango fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #67

Aug 282012

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel was spilling out of the vehicle from the filler neck. The contact stated that the shut off valve was defective and would not stop when the fuel tank was filled to capacity. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 01/18/13 updated 01/22/13

- Cobden, IL, USA

problem #66

May 062010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out from the filler neck while refueling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The dealer stated that they needed to replace the fuel tank inlet check valve. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system). The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 100,000...updated 09/04/12 updated 09/11/12

- Lapeer , MI, USA

problem #65

Mar 152012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out from the filler neck while refueling. The manufacturer and dealer were notified and both stated that the vehicle was not included in any recall. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage was 118,000. Updated 07/10/12 the consumer stated a dangerous amount of fuel sprayed out from around the fuel filler nozzle two to three feet in a conical spray pattern at every fill-up and came in contact with his skin, clothes, fuel pump and other surrounding areas on the ground creating a very serious health and fire hazard. Updated 07/12/12

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #64

Mar 242009

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the filler inlet valve would not stop fuel from flowing into the fuel tank when refueling. The failure would cause gasoline fuel to be spilled out of the tank and onto the ground or the contact. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The dealer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 59,000. Updated 06/01/12

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #63

Nov 012011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel would escape from the vehicle filler neck and onto the ground. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the failure and advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 123,000...updated 04/16/12

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #62

Jun 302011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
On numerous occasions when filling my gas tank the automatic shut off ( that tells you the tank is full) has not kicked in causing the tank to over flow and kick back gas spray all over me, my fiance, or the attendant at the gas station. This is not something that has happened just once, but multiple times in the 9 months I have owned this vehicle. I have checked for recalls and my VIN comes back with no active recalls, I even went as far as reading in detail the NHTSA recall reports (09V003000 and 05V034000) to obtain manufacture dates to compare against my own. Needless to say mine does not fit in the date range (3/1/04-11/30/04) having been manufactured in February 2005, but does infact have the same issue as the models under recall. This is something I want to have fixed but don't feel I should have to pay to do so seeing as this is an issue they knew they had and claimed to have fixed but quite obviously did not. I am tired of being afraid to fill my gas tank and getting covered in gas when I do.

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #61

Jan 262012

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel would spill out from the filler neck while refueling the vehicle. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was refueled. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer to have the failure diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 74,000. Updated 02/06/12 the consumer stated fuel gushed from the filler neck every time he filled up. Updated 03/05/12

- Claysburg, PA, USA

problem #60

Mar 082011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that fuel spilled out of the fuel tank whenever it was added to the fuel tank. The contact also noticed NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline tank: Assembly), but the manufacturer stated the vehicle was not included. The failure mileage was 120,000 and the current mileage is 130,000. Updated 11/17/11 updated 11/23/11

- Prescott, AR, USA

problem #59

Jul 122011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
NHTSA action number RQ08005: Inv. Closed 9 Jan 09 the spit back problem continued in the field for vehicles built from mid-October through the end of November. Chrysler reported process modifications were implemented on 11/24/04 to address spit back problems and believes these process changes would have been incorporated in all vehicles built at the assembly plant as of 11/30/04. In the two plus years since the investigation was closed, the nets has received over 300 complaints pertaining to the issue that was supposedly corrected by the expanded recall. Nearly all of these complaints stated that the vehicle with the problem was not included in the recall. Please re-open the investigation! the investigation was closed based on a "belief" without checking the veracity of the claim made by Chrysler! the spit-back problem is still a problem- Chrysler knows it, otherwise they wouldn't have been so quick to make me an offer because they're concerned about the safety of my family. Incidentally, my 2005 Durango was manufactured in Feb of 2005 making it obvious that the "process modifications" were not incorporated in all vehicles and the supplier of the fuel tanks actually did not make the stated manufacturing change. My recommendation: Expand the recall to any 2005 Durango experiencing the known safety issue related to the fuel spit back problem. Unless of course, Chrysler is leveraging risk vs. Cost of an expanded recall and weighing the odds that the nets will just let this one slide. Please advise. Dear customer: Case #: 21232269 VIN: [xxx] vehicle description: Dodge Durango limited 4X4 sport utility 4-door parts: $729 labor: $260.47 total: $989.47 co-pay = $350 vehicle is not covered under recall because VIN does not fall under recall and recalls are VIN specific. Sincerely, sam customer care information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #58

Jan 022011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Fuel overflow on fill up. Status update. 11/15/11

- Metuchen, NJ, USA

problem #57

Jul 072010

Durango 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while refueling, fuel began to spill out from the fuel filler neck. A dealer was notified and advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for a diagnosis. The vehicle was not yet taken in for diagnosis. The manufacturer was then notified, and the contact was informed that the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap) was no longer valid. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 92,000. Updated 8/29/11 updated 09/28/11

- Flowery Branch, GA, USA

problem #56

Feb 222011

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when he added gasoline to the fuel tank, the automatic shutoff valve did not function and the fuel spilled out of the filler neck. The failure occurred every time the tank was full. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the vehicle was not included in recalls 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage tank assembly:filler pipe and cap) and 09V003000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly). The vehicle was not repaired. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The current mileage was approximately 43,200. The failure mileage was approximately 42,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 11/23/11

- Colonial Heights, VA, USA

problem #55

Jan 012011

Durango 8-cyl

  • 206,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that after dispensing fuel to the full capacity, the fuel would spew out of the filler neck and onto the ground. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id nummer: 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap) and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 206,000. Updated 05/05/11

- Sims, NC, USA

problem #54

Mar 032009

Durango 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that when refueling the vehicle, gasoline would spew back out from the filler tube, similar to the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 07V426000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly). Both the dealer and manufacturer were contacted and advised that the contacts VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 67,000 and the failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 4/01/11 the consumer stated he is able to provide video footage of the fuel spilling out of the filler tube. It occurs on almost every time the consumer fills the vehicle. Each spill over flows approximately 1/2 gallon of fuel on the ground. Updated 07/29/11

- Waseca, MN, USA

problem #53

Dec 012009

Durango

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that every time he tried to put fuel in his vehicle, the fuel would spill out the filler neck. The dealer was contacted and they stated that the vehicle was not included in recall 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap). The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Whitmore, CA, USA

problem #52

Jan 142011

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
When filling up the gas tank, the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve does not function properly. It does not close and gas always spills out. I am afraid that gas spills out while driving. At times, with the keys in the ignition, the car will turn off by itself if I am moving slowly. I bought this truck in 2006. The first year, I brought the car in for stalling on its own. The dealership told me that there was nothing that they could do and the car did not have a problem. I brought the truck in about three times for the same problem and every time, nothing was resolved. After that I did not have the money or the time to continue bringing the truck in for a problem that the dealership was saying they could not find. Over the years, I have just dealt with this truck stalling on its own. About 1 year ago, I noticed that the car started spilling out gas if it was filled up. I did not know there was a recall until I researched the problem online. I found that there was a recall. I contact Chrysler customer care, they looked up my VIN # and told me that they did not have any recalls listed on my particular truck. I explained to the representative that my car had a problem with the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve and that gas spilled out. I told them that I was afraid that gas was spilling from the tank while I was driving. The representative told me that there was nothing that they could do and told me to take the truck to the dealership. I am afraid that if I take the truck to the dealership I will be responsible for all of the expensive charges to fix this problem. I do not have the money for this since I am paying $700 a month for a truck that should never have been financed at that amount in the first place and is not worth the amount still owed. The consumer stated she was involved in a head-on-collision on April 25, 2011 and the air bags did not deploy. Also, the rear wiper made a whistling noise. Updated 08/12/11

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #51

Dec 052010

Durango

  • 58,812 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While adding gasoline to the fuel tank it would spill back onto him. There NHTSA recall #05V034000, fuel system, gasoline storage, tank assembly filler pipe and cap. The dealer was contacted and informed her that her VIN was not included in the recall; therefore she would have to pay for the repairs. The manufacturer confirmed that her VIN was not included in the recall and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 58,812.

- Ham Lake, MN, USA

problem #50

Nov 202010

Durango

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. While adding fuel to the vehicle and after the automatic fuel tank shuts off the fuel leaked out of the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted who stated that his vehicle was not a part of NHTSA recall#05V034000, fuel system, gasoline: Storage: Tank assembly: Filler pipe and cap. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Millersburg, OH, USA

problem #49

Oct 022010

Durango

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Durango. The contact stated when dispensing fuel into the fuel tank to the full capacity level, the fuel would spray out of the filler neck. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 05V034000 (fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly:filler pipe and cap). The authorized dealer was notified and they informed that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Idaho Springs, CO, USA

problem #48

Nov 152010

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 164,986 miles
My complaint is the same as in NHTSA campaign id number : 05V034000 however Dodge refuses to correct it. I have a 2005 Dodge Durango wherein the fuel tank filler tube inlet check valve does not fully close at the end of refueling. This allows fuel to escape from the vehicle filler neck. Consequence: Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in a fire. Dodge has told me that my VIN number does not qualify for a recall even though it is a 2005 Dodge Durango with the same safety issue. They say that the qualifying vehicles were built before 10/12/2004 and that mine was built after that date. I maintain that they either used the same bad part in my vehicle or did not properly fix the problem. I am faced with a $825 repair bill for a design/part flaw that they did not correct and therefore should be responsible for repairing at their expense. This faulty part was replaced on August 12, 2008 in response to my complaint 10219910 but has failed yet again. The recall on the service dicument was listed as E01-410-567-1836 from business center/mark wittholz. The dealer once again has refused to pay for the $825 replacement cost. Please consider ruling once again that this dangerous situation caused by an obviously flawed part should be repaired at Chrysler's expense. The dealer was not able to tell me the make of the replacement tank installed on August 12, 2008 so I have indicated failed original equipment in order to be able to submit this complaint.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?