Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 142016


  • 60,000 miles


This vehicle was recalled due to a problem with the fuel pump relay which is mounted on the ECU board. We had the repair made in August of 2015. About 4 months after the repair we began having intermittent time status the engine would crank but fail to start or start and run a few seconds and then stop. We found that if you hold the acceleration pedal down while cranking the engine it starts, similar to the days when you had a carburetated engine and it was flooded. Since the problem occurs when the engine is off there is on error code generated so the dealer has not been able to diagnose the problem. I had requested the details of what modifications were made for the recall but the dealer has not provided me with the information.since we did not have the problem prior to the recall being performed we feel it is a result of what was done to the vehicle. We are now keeping a video log of trying to start the vehicle each time this happens. It seems to be more frequent when it is raining or damp outside.

- South Fulton, TN, USA

problem #20

Aug 082016


  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 41,000.

- White, GA, USA

problem #19

Mar 032016


  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the brake pedal required excessive force when depressed in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic ) and 14V104000 (service brakes, hydraulic ). in addition, the coolant was leaking. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #18

Jun 132016


  • 30,000 miles


My car power cut out completely while driving along on the interstate at 75 miles per hour. I was dark and I had to try and pull over with no head lights to a safe place to restart my vehicle 2013 Dodge Durango. This happened several times. I thought that when I got the recalls done it would alleviate the problem, however, that was not the case. I am still having the problem. I called Dodge on the toll free # and they had me take my vehicle to the Dodge dealership and they said my cabin filter, air filter, and fuel something needed to be replaced. This should not shut down the whole car if the filters need to be changed. This problem happened several times, April 22, May 16, May 20, May 28, June 18, June 19 and June 13.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #17

Mar 112016


  • miles
I purchase my vehicle in 2013 and shortly after recvd several recalls. One recall was repaired in a timely manner, however it took from November 2013 to March 8, 2016 to recv an appointment to complete the additional recalls. Shortly before my appointment my engine light illuminated. When I meet my appointment time at nyle maxwell supercenter in austin tx, I informed them of the engine light. After a week, they informed me that not only the countless recalls that need repair that I also needed a part for my transmission. They have no vehicle for me to loan out to me that meets the same needs as my Durango and have informed me that they may keep my vehicle for another 30 days..

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 122016


  • 80,000 miles
My daughter & granddaughter was driving along and the vehicle just shut down while driving no messages no indicators lights no warning nothing just so happen they were on the same street as the Dodge dealership & was able to get it started long enough to get it down the street now I'm being told it could possibly have been running hot & now having motor issues now I've told them before I've smelled coolant and was told there was nothing wrong now there's an issue this is some

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #15

Jun 012015


  • 38,000 miles


"takata recall"sometimes after the car has been driven long or short drives and turned off for a short period of time, when I go to start the engine the starter will grind/engine turns over but will not start this issue was suppose to be taken care of in the summer of 2015. Dealer had our car for over two months waiting on parts but the issue is starting to occur again!(electrical) also I find at different times the interior lights/gauge lights/indicator lights that are on and stay on for a few miles like there is a short in the electrical system. Note: I have never had a recall on the electrical problem.

- Ashland, MO, USA

problem #14

Dec 252015


  • 43,700 miles
I am the first and only owner of a Dodge Durango 2013: On Dec 25th I was left stranded with my car, windows open and unable to move it anywhere. It literally died and had to leave it along the roadside since I was with my 4 small children. I was driving, and the car started with a weird noise, then smoke started coming out, the all the ligths on the dashboard started to flash, the temperature was always informed as normal, then the windshield wippers started to work on its own and then the car literally died. There was no possibility of ignition nor nothing. The car had to be towed away by a special truck since it had to pick up the car and place it on the truck, since there was no possibility to have ignition. The most strange thing is that on December 12, the car was out of the doge workshop for the 40,000 km revision with no problem. So far I have been informed that the central computer of the car died, the battery was burned and the alternator died............ all this information is provided by the garage where my car is at. Is this a problem that I have to pay for or is it a problem that the company will pay for everything? please advice me on how to proceed

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #13

Dec 162013


  • 441 miles
Two weeks after purchasing the vehicle, I noticed the truck was leaking fluid. I returned to the dealer on 2 occasions. The radiator needed to be replaced

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 012015

Durango 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that while driving at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. In addition, the contact stated that while independently replacing the air cleaner, the contact noticed oil in the air cleaner. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the PCV crank case ventilation valve and the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,200. Updated 02/18/16

- Finlay, OH, USA

problem #11

Sep 052015


  • miles


Hemet Chrysler Dodge, 240 carriage circle, hemet, ca.92545, made my appointment to have the fuel pump relay replaced as they said they had the part, and then I go there and wait 2 hours. They come out and said they did not have the part and do not know when they will have it. This is unheard of. I am going on a trip in Oct in this vehicle. I would like to know when something is so unsafe how is it the dealers do not seem to care" what are we suppose to do" I was told to keep calling.

- Romoland, CA, USA

problem #10

Jan 012014


  • 7,500 miles
The car stalls when on reverse or when trying to start up. I've tried different engine temperatures. When hot or cold and it continues to give me the safe issue. I've taken vehicle to three different mechanics and all say vehicle is fine, yet no one can explain why vehicle does not start up.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 092015

Durango 6-cyl

  • 22,100 miles
Alternator diodes in my vehicle may experience a rapid failure variability in the failure mode ranges from no output, reduced output, and /or fully shorted to ground condition depending on the alternator failure mode and timing, electrical system voltage may drop to critical levels, disabling systems such as ABS system, ESC system, ECM system and/or the central body controller.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #8

Dec 082014


  • miles
There have been 6 recalls on my car. I have had my name on the waiting list at my dealer, only to be told it could be about a year. I keep getting recall letters as I'm waiting for one thing and no parts available for another. I always have children in my car and feel extremely unsafe to drive everyday. The weather is getting dangerous and one of the recalls is on my brakes. I was told, "don't worry, it should be ok until the winter." Well, the winter is here and I still have about 6 months left on the waiting list. How is one supposed to drive and feel safe, knowing my car can "stall without warning", have an "under hood fire" or have my "brakes fail" at any moment while in driving? what's even worse is, there's nowhere to turn because everywhere I call "sorry maam, there aren't any parts.." great! now I'm lost and risking my life on a day to day basis. Help!!!

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #7

Nov 112013

Durango 8-cyl

  • 2,481 miles
One month after purchasing vehicle, countless problems with brand new vehicle, but the biggest problem is the stuttering, or "fishbite", problem with the mds sensor that operates the active fuel management system. This supposed characteristic, as Chrysler calls it, causes the vehicle to buck and jerk like the engine is going to cut out, between 40-80 mph on level ground and on hills. Brought the vehicle into the dealership for this continuous problem, star case opened, techs from Chrysler consulted and being told that its required to fuel with 89 octane, which is not stated on the sales sticker or the owners manual, which only states recommends 89 octane, not required. Told to disable the eco system to only run on 8 cylinders, which is not why I purchased the vehicle. I purchased it for power, as well as fuel economy on the highway. So this last time I took to the dealership, the service manager disconnected the mds sensor and drove the vehicle, vehicle performed fine, reconnect the mds sensor and the problem continues. Have also been told that the torque converter is locking up, once again a characteristic per Chrysler techs and engineering. So, which lie is the lie and which lie the is the lie. Lied to continuously, have not had calls returned from dealership to know what the status is of my vehicle, plus have continuously been blown off by Chrysler cares group in detroit with my current case filed with Chrysler, just tonight on 29 August 2014, it took me 8 times to contact my case managers because I was told I would be contacted two days ago, but they have been busy. Load of crap, Chrysler does not care!! months ago we received a recall regarding the brake booster. I called my dealership immediately (seeing as properly functioning brakes are important) and was told that the parts weren't in. Months later and I have still heard nothing.

- Essex, VT, USA

problem #6

Oct 292013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 4,817 miles
Transmission hesitates or "stutters" when going from park to drive and freezes going from 2nd to 3rd gear. Was told there was a "flash update" available and completed. Have taken Durango back to same dealership for the same issue 11/23/13, 06/10/14, and had an appointment on Friday, 07/12/14 but was told by the dealership they would have to take my information/appointment down on paper then call to reschedule my appointment. It is now 08/05/14, and I have not received one return phone call. The engine will surge to a high RPM while I am coasting at a set speed (usually between 20-45 mph). On the visit date of 06/10/14, service repair shows two flash updates (software 1 & software 2) were completed. There is no communication from Dodge concerning the "flash updates" that the dealership says are necessary to the vehicle running properly.

- Benton, LA, USA

problem #5

May 022014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 2,800 miles
Upon pulling out of my neighborhood from a full stop, the SUV was slow to accelerate. It seemed "sluggish", as if it was not switching to the proper gear and had trouble speeding up. Caused an oncoming car to have to hit the brakes to keep from hitting me, when I should have had plenty of time to pull out, under normal conditions. This has happened numerous times. It also happens while I'm driving down the road and try to speed up. This is an intermittent problem. I have taken it to ferman Dodge twice now, and they tell me that they "hooked it up to the computer and could find nothing wrong with it", and when they test-drove it, they could not reproduce the problem. After researching this online, I have come across others who have also experienced this issue. I bought this vehicle new in November 2013, and it did not do this when I first got it. It now has only 3160 miles on it. I do not feel that it is safe to drive, considering its unpredictability.

- Land O Lakes , FL, USA

problem #4

Jun 202014


  • 24,114 miles
When driving the car automatically stalls while in drive so I have to put it into neutral then back into drive and then it drives again. This has happened about 4 times I have taken the car back to the dealership and they seem to think and tell me they found nothing wrong. They say no warning lights were on. I explained to them that no warning lights appeared when this happens.

- Zion, IL, USA

problem #3

Jun 162013

Durango 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
On April 2013 we purchased a brand new 2013 Dodge Durango rs. Two months later, in June, we took a trip, the car overheated on the highway. Within a few minutes the car shut down- we got it towed to the closest service station. Dodge determined the cause of overheating was due to a broken heater hose. On March 2014 we took another trip, two hours into our trip it overheated again, we let it cool down and drove it to the nearest service station. The car was serviced for two days, Dodge determined the cause of overheating was due to thermostat and sensor malfunction. A week later- March 22, we took it back for the same problem. Dodge determined the cause of overheating was due to air pressure in the engine. Four weeks later, April 21, we took it yet again for the same problem, which brings me to today. As a result of this constant problem we have been spending a tremendous amount of energy, time and money (hotels, rentals, ect). This issue has ruined my vacation, has caused me to miss work and meet deadlines. When we had our first incident, I decided to call it a fluke. I said, this can happen to anyone, I decided to forget it and move on. When it ruined my vacation yet a second time and the problem continued after multiple services, we came to the conclusion that this car was unsafe and unreliable for me and my family. I don't think it's fair that I keep this car and risk the chance of this vehicle having some internal damage that will affect my family in the future. I am not looking for a way out of my loan but simply would like for Dodge to put me in a new vehicle. I currently have a claim with Dodge and I don't feel like I been getting the attention I deserve. Just got news on my vehicle today and they want to open the engine and change out the heads. If I can get some help on this matter I would really appreciated. Thanks - case #[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #2

Jan 132014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 20,100 miles
On the 2013 Dodge Durango that I currently own which I purchased brand new in June 2013, the navigation and camera system goes completely blank while driving or backing up. The vehicle started accelerating while in drive gear, as well as the transmission fails to work properly and skips second gear, the vehicle also idles high and low while in operation of drive.

- Lillington, NC, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?