Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,677 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Dodge Durango engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Dodge Durango Owner Comments

problem #17

Oct 312016

Durango

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed oil leak under vehicle. Upon inspection, discovered it was the oil filter housing. Took to dealer who quoted $474.70 for repair. Vehicle had 47, xxx miles and should have been covered under the powertrain warranty. Chrysler customer care could not state why it wasn't covered other than it was outside the 3yr/36,000 mile bumper to bumper. Mechanic did not specify that part was damaged from oil changes. Just stated cracks were found in the oil filter housing. Service bulletin sb-10058301-5939 dated August 7, 2015 shows there is a known issue. Additional sb-10080203-2280 dated June 15, 2016 proves that fca knows there are numerous issues and want engineers to be called. It is common to all 2014 3.6L pentastar oil filter housings after the apparent design change from metal to plastic. Fca agreed to recoup 50% of the cost after they couldn't explain why it wasn't covered under the powertrain warranty. It's a well known issue across the numerous forums out there. Oil draining down back of motor over transmission bellhousing could be hazardous as a fire could be started due to proximity to exhaust system.

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 052015

Durango

  • 14,000 miles
Car won't start, car stalls and engines sudden shut off

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 262015

Durango

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Durango. While driving 45 mph, the engine misfired and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a tree. As a result, smoke started to emit from the dashboard. Shortly afterwards, the vehicle burst into flames. A police report was filed and all five passengers sustained unknown injuries that required medical assistance. The vehicle was towed to a salvage yard, but it was not inspected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #14

Sep 202015

Durango

  • 26,420 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the alert chime indicated that the key fob was not in range. Then the vehicle shut off. The key fob was in the cup holder. The vehicle was in the drive position. I had to stop. Put vehicle in park, restart the vehicle and then put in drive and continue driving. This is the first time that has happened.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #13

Aug 212015

Durango

  • 6,000 miles
Anti-theft system activated upon exiting vehicle and key fob became desensed due to rf interference in area. Dash display indicated that "key fob not recognized". car has keyless start button and could not be started. All functions on key fob were not operational. Roadside towing assistance had to be requested.

- St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #12

Mar 012014

Durango

  • 10,100 miles
Shortly after 1st acquiring the 2014 Dodge Durango R/T AWD an exhaust smell filling the cabin was noticeable after acceleration and steadily traveling between 40-45 mph w/the front and rear air conditioning units on recirculation. The occurrence was repeatable and noticeable by my spouse and children while riding in the Durango. It was brought to the purchasing dealership multiple times for the exhaust leak but ultimately they could not determine the origination or cause; they attempted a software update. The Dodge Durango was brought to another dealership where the rear cabin air exhausters and lift gate grommets were replaced to no avail. The 2nd dealership ultimately advised they do not know how or why the exhaust is entering the interior cabin and have labeled the exhaust leak as a "smell". a non-feasible vehicle replacement has been offered. Documentation of the exhaust leak issue is available for further review. The Dodge Durango has not been modified.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #11

Jun 132015

Durango

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was in park in a parking space and running with my daughter, mother-in-law, and father-in-law sitting in the backseat. I reached in from the passenger side door of the vehicle and pressed the ignition to turn the vehicle off. The vehicle ignored my command, the dash began flashing, and the car engaged in drive and took off driving across the parking garage. I had to sprint around the vehicle and jump in to the drivers seat to engage the brake and turn the vehicle off before it collided with other vehicles in the garage.

- Platte City, MO, USA

problem #10

Jun 102015

Durango

  • 8,000 miles
Vehicle was parked at a boat launch in preparation of putting boat on trailer. Car was in park, engine idling. Got out of the car to retrieve boat while partner would drive the car out after boat was trailered. While partner was attempting to get behind the wheel, car suddenly started backing into the lake until submerged. The transmission was still in park until tow truck operator got into the vehicle to manually release transmission in order to tow out. Probably not repairable.

- Germantown, WI, USA

problem #9

Dec 062014

Durango

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Dodge Durango. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start on multiple attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Wewoka, OK, USA

problem #8

Dec 042014

Durango 4WD 8-cyl

  • 149,708 miles
Wife went to start up vehicle and it would not crank over.called aaa for a jump. It crank and started with a rattle can sound.I came home to verify sound. It did such sound as she explained. I'm a mechanic and removed valve cover to check for rocker damage none found. I removed intake and found water in #7and #8 cylinder.I looked at seals on intake and found not installed properly. The seals were not square in bores of intake. I have not removed oil pan but I suspect connecting rods bent on start up. I need to know if Dodge new about this issue. I did do a coolant pressure test and it held fine with no leaks. Was there a recall on the intake which destroyed my wife's engine.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 102014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon leaving the dealership after a brand new car purchase a strong gasoline odor filled the cabin with the A/C or heat turned on. Upon exiting the car a strong gasoline odor was present around the hood and left front fender. The odor has rendered vehicle unusable to Transport infant and toddler. Dodge service has had the vehicle for over 2 days with no resolution.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #6

Nov 032014

Durango

  • 10,150 miles
While driving I noticed car wouldn't shift gear. It was stuck on D6 when came to a full stop at stop sign. Then car wouldn't move forward after pressing gas pedal. Getting out of car to ask for assistance to push car on side of road, the car started rolling forward. Ran back to car N drove back home. Parked car in garage and turned off car then back on. Now the car wouldn't go to any gears. It's stuck on park. It wouldn't reverse or drive. Called Chrysler warranty online and they had it towed to the nearest dealer for repair.

- Dinuba, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 162014

Durango

  • 9,615 miles
While driving the car was stuck on D6. It wouldn't shift gears up or down. Pulled over and was at complete stop but car was still on D6. Had turned car off and on then the engine light came on.

- Dinuba, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 092014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
April 9, 2014 " Wednesday morning. I was driving my child to school. He left the car and the car started to chime - key fob not detected. I was still in the car, with the key fob in car, but still could not move until turned car off and restarted. " video taped myself.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #3

Feb 282014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
February 28,2014 " Friday" 7:55am car does not start after 12 attempts. Call Chrysler service. Car is towed to service. Service finds no fault or error message. March 25, 2014 -Tuesday "car will not start " no error code " video taped. April 2, 2014 ? Wednesday ? car will not start ? no error code ? video taped. July 26, 2014 ? Saturday ? car will not start ? no error code - video taped. Bring car in to service Monday, July 28. Module needs to be updated. 2 hours in service. August 1, 2014 Friday " car will not start" no error code. Was able to turn on car via remote start. August 14, 2014 " Thursday "car will not start " no error code. Video taped. Was able to start car via remote start. August 23, 2014 " Saturday" car will not start " no error code. Video taped. Was able to start car via remote start.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #2

Jan 112014

Durango 6-cyl

  • 160 miles
January 11, 2014 - Saturday evening " 9:15pm car begins to seize while driving. Jerking backing and forth. Begins to lose power on busy main road. Have a car full of children and it is foggy & raining. Yellow engine light goes on. Turn car off and restart. Engine light is still on. Had to drive at reduced speed on main road due to lack of power. Car continued to jerk and seize entire ride home. January 13, 2014 ? Monday contact Chrysler roadside assistance and have car towed to service center. They have no loaner car for us. We are informed by service that the car has a ?gear ratio error code that effected the transmission" and is kept overnight for additional road testing. Car is picked up 1/14/14.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 052014

Durango

  • miles
2014 Dodge Durango. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle hesitation during acceleration. The dealer performed tests, and found nothing wrong with the vehicle. However, the dealer did perform a PCM update. Two days later, the vehicle stalled in traffic. When the consumer applied the accelerator pedal, the vehicle made a strange noise and the check engine light illuminated. She turned the vehicle off and back on again, and the sound stopped, but the check engine light remained lit. While returning to the dealer, the vehicle stalled again.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?