Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,323 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #80

Jan 022015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) was received in January of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Glendale , AZ, USA

problem #79

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated while having the vehicle serviced, the dealer removed the rear vent switch in July 2014 for safety reasons. The consumer was informed the parts were not available. Updated 08/25/15

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #78

Mar 132015

Grand Caravan

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at 35 mph, the front driver side window switch caught fire. The contact was able to extinguish the fire. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the front driver side door needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and sent a fire inspector to inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- Mechanicsburg, OH, USA

problem #77

Jan 022015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 14V234000 (electrical system) was received in January of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rabun Gap, GA, USA

problem #76

Jun 112014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who disconnected the vent window switch in the driver side door arm rest as a temporary repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hiuntersville , NC, USA

problem #75

May 192015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #74

Apr 092015

Grand Caravan

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving approximately 30 mph and the vehicle just shut down, the powering steering went out and the engine stalled which we later found out was due to the faulty tipm. We had also been having a few issues with the fuel pump.....the fuel pump was not shutting off and all lead to problems with being able to start the vehicle sometimes it took several attempts to even get vehicle started.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #73

Apr 302015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician disconnected the rear window switch as a temporary remedy due to the part not being available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #72

Jul 212014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Orville, CA, USA

problem #71

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Ambridge , PA, USA

problem #70

Mar 102015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 51,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving home on the highway my 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan crew died. Traveling 60 mph on a slight incline. All power shut down without warning. Dash lights/accel./power steering all died. I struggled to pull to the shoulder and tried to restart 10 times. It would try to crank and sound like it was starting, but then never would stay running. Called a relative for a ride home, thinking I would need to have the van towed to the shop. After waiting about 15 min. For my ride I decided one last time to try to start it. It fired right up. I kept it running; my ride followed me home the 5 miles to ensure no more shut downs. Took it to our Dodge dealer and had to leave it. 2 days later finally got someone to report the problem. They had trouble getting the van to duplicate the failure to start. According to the technician, it needed a new totally integrated power module, at a cost of $900. I purchased this van as the third owner May 2015 with just 40,900 miles. Shortly after purchasing the van my windshield wipers started on their own and wouldn't stop no matter what setting you turned the wiper control to. That was the only other time we've had this van in the shop other than oil changes. We paid $179 to fix the 'wiper mechanism'. looking back, I see that problem was surely related to the failing "tipm" the technician even stated that this was certainly a related issue. The van has sat in the garage unable to start the last 40 days. Now that I've researched Dodge and their history of faulty tipm's, I am hesitant to even have it repaired-but I need my van. I can't sell it to anyone in this condition. It's my daily driver, and has way too low mileage to get rid of it. We have been stuck sharing a vehicle. I'm reading about numerous others having this same problem. Dodge, please do the right thing and recall the tipm.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #69

Apr 172014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #68

Apr 012015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to parts to complete recall not available and rear windows switch disconnected by dealership. Recall # 14V234000.

- Lake Stevens, WA, USA

problem #67

Apr 022014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The vehicle stall in the middle of the highway, and the water pump won't shut off and it is causing the battery to die and other issues with the car. After spending hundreds of dollars to look into the vehicle, it was determined it was the tipm. After research there are thousands of cases regarding faulty tipm's on 2007-2012 Chrysler vehicles, included multiple deaths. Chrysler should be responsible to issues a recall immediately to the customers affected.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #66

Apr 062015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #65

Jul 082014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 58,858 miles
On July 8, 2014 we had the van oil changed with dealership. Was told after the service that they disconnected the rear quarter vent window switch due to safety recall. The parts are finally coming in very slowly and we were told today by the dealership that they will notify us (we are on the list). We have not been able to use the rear windows since July....over 8 months ago!!!.... getting very frustrated...have been on hold with Chrysler now for 38 minutes!!...

- Creekside, PA, USA

problem #64

Jul 082014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 58,858 miles
Recall rear quarter vent window switch was disconnected by dealership due to safety recall. The dealership told us that the needed repair part is only coming in slowly now...(March 27, 2015) and that we will be noticed. We have not been able to use the rear windows from July 8, 2014....am getting very frustrated...

- Creekside, PA, USA

problem #63

Mar 012015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Vehicle would not start all the time. A few times it the engine stopped running while driving-no warning. Diagnosed as faulty tipm. Cost over $1000 to fix. Chrysler has recalled some vehicles but not the 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan.

- East Falmouth, MA, USA

problem #62

Oct 252013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 52,038 miles
Vehicle would not start and when it did it would run at a fast idle then it would go in to limp mode while driving on the road, leaving the vehicle with little to no power to move out of the way of traffic in the middle on an intersection when the vehicle went in to limp mode. Vehicle would lose all engine power while accelerating to speed at random times (making the vehicle bogs down) making the driver and any passengers get thrown forward and then be thrown back when engine power would come back. Vehicle was also giving me problems with the automatic side doors not opening and closing and the HVAC system would come on by its self at random times. The dealer replaced the battery (that I had to pay for) stating that was the reason for all of the problems I was having. After getting vehicle back everything was good for a few days then went back to doing all of the same problems within a few day of getting vehicle back form dealer. Took vehicle back to dealer for the 2nd time and they replaced the PCM (2nd time the PCM had been replace since purchased 12/31/2011) & throttle body (that I had to pay the deductible). Vehicle was still having the same problems so I took it back to the dealer for the 3rd time within a 18 day period. The service advisor told me that I could be the tipm but they would have to see it act up before they could replace the part, dealer told me that the tipm was the cause of all the problems. The tipm was replaced (had to pay for partial of the cost) and everything was working again. I feel that even with the tipm replaced that I could still have gotten a poorly made part as a replacement. I feel at time while driving that some of the problems are starting all over again, like the sliding door not working and the HVAC system turning on by its self. On 1/22/15 I had a fuel injector go bad and had to be replaced, maybe due to the tipm?

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #61

Jan 062015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kernersville, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?