Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,062 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Oct 072015

Grand Caravan

  • 53,000 miles


Van would crank but would not start. After several attempts it started but ran erratic. After driving van for ~20 minutes van began to hesitate while driving at 55 mph on a state highway. I researched problem on internet and noticed other with a similar problem. I also noticed Chrysler announced a recall on 2011 Dodge durango and Jeep Grand Cherokee SUVS for a very similar problem but not for the Grand Caravan. The root cause of the problem appears to be the fuel pump relay in the tipm. I discussed the problem with my local Chrysler dealership and the service adviser indicated that he was aware of the recall and had also seen the similar issue on vans. The dealership bypassed the relay using mopar part cbwpr091aa wiring - fuel pump relay. Part was $18.88 and total bill with labor was $176. The van appears to be operating normally at this time.

- Lacombe, LA, USA

problem #20

Sep 292015

Grand Caravan

  • 115,735 miles
Fuel relay is stuck in the open condition causing a no start. Vehicle will crank but will not start. Further testing revealed open contact on the integrated fuel relay. Vehicle will run if /when relay is by passed. Vehicle was towed in due to no start. Replaced (alternator and starter and serpentine belt) all were tested and found to be defective (internally electrical burnt). Vehicle is a modified wheel chair van with a kneel-er and under floor ramp. Modified by vantage mobility international llc date of conversion 04/17/2012 vmi# U1204166

- Exton, PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 092015

Grand Caravan

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that after the vehicle was turned off, the fuel pump continued to function. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but the contact was unsure about what needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,000.

- Troy, NC, USA

problem #18

Jun 012015

Grand Caravan

  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated to start and stalled several times while driving. The contact's independent mechanic diagnosed that the fuel pump relay failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. MA 10/22/2015

- Fredericktown , MO, USA

problem #17

Jun 302013

Grand Caravan

  • 74,528 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when the ignition key was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician informed that the failure could not be duplicated. In addition, the contact stated that after the vehicle being parked overnight, there was an abnormal noise coming from under the front end. The contact inspected the vehicle and discovered that the fuel pump was operating independently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 74,528.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 022015

Grand Caravan

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. While in park, the vehicle failed to start. In addition, while driving at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The dealer diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #15

Jul 022015

Grand Caravan

  • 93,000 miles


We have had our 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan for 2 years and approximately 30,000 miles. We had to have the tipm replaced in July 2015. We have had several instances that required a tow as the vehicle would not start or stay running. The tipm burned the fuel pump out and that was the last straw. The tipm was replaced under the after market warranty that we paid for but what other damage could this part have caused to our vehicle" it controls everything the car does for the most part. Will there be an investigation of the Dodge tipm" there needs to be a recall for all vehicles affected which seems to be quite a lot.

- Rougemont, NC, USA

problem #14

Apr 012013

Grand Caravan

  • 60,000 miles
The tipm (totally integrated power control module) has caused fuel pump problems so dealer overlayed the fuel pump costing 400 dollars. It has caused my blinker to interment stop working. It has caused battery failure so we have to replace the battery 150 dollars. Now the driver seat will not move it's a power seat and unless we replace the tipm we will have to spend money to overlay the seat. And sometimes it don't want to start we have no way of paying for the tipm and we were told it's not a part that has been updated to replace it with a faulty part is ludacris. This is a safety issue and needs to be recalled before someone is hurt

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #13

Jul 312014

Grand Caravan

  • 80,603 miles
Trouble starting vehicle, draining battery, fuel pump continuously running after vehicle is shut off and key is removed from ignition. I have looked up complaints online and hundreds of other owners have experienced the same problem for faulty tipm.

- Porter, TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 252013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 52,038 miles
Vehicle would not start and when it did it would run at a fast idle then it would go in to limp mode while driving on the road, leaving the vehicle with little to no power to move out of the way of traffic in the middle on an intersection when the vehicle went in to limp mode. Vehicle would lose all engine power while accelerating to speed at random times (making the vehicle bogs down) making the driver and any passengers get thrown forward and then be thrown back when engine power would come back. Vehicle was also giving me problems with the automatic side doors not opening and closing and the HVAC system would come on by its self at random times. The dealer replaced the battery (that I had to pay for) stating that was the reason for all of the problems I was having. After getting vehicle back everything was good for a few days then went back to doing all of the same problems within a few day of getting vehicle back form dealer. Took vehicle back to dealer for the 2nd time and they replaced the PCM (2nd time the PCM had been replace since purchased 12/31/2011) & throttle body (that I had to pay the deductible). Vehicle was still having the same problems so I took it back to the dealer for the 3rd time within a 18 day period. The service advisor told me that I could be the tipm but they would have to see it act up before they could replace the part, dealer told me that the tipm was the cause of all the problems. The tipm was replaced (had to pay for partial of the cost) and everything was working again. I feel that even with the tipm replaced that I could still have gotten a poorly made part as a replacement. I feel at time while driving that some of the problems are starting all over again, like the sliding door not working and the HVAC system turning on by its self. On 1/22/15 I had a fuel injector go bad and had to be replaced, maybe due to the tipm?

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #11

Aug 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles


In August 2014 our Dodge Grand Caravan (2011) began having problems starting up immediately. This continued and progressively got worse as time went on. We were forced to try and coax the van to start by turning the ignition back and forth from accy (accessory) to start repeatedly, at times for up to 30-45 minutes before it would start. We experienced the van's engine shutting off for no reason at stoplights and in the middle of driving. At one point, the fuel pump would not turn off even though the van was off and the key removed from the ignition. We were forced to disconnect the battery every time we got out of the vehicle so as not to cause possible overheating of the fuel pump. Once the fuel pump stopped running we were unable to start the van at all, leaving my stranded in my vehicle until I could be picked up. Because this is our only vehicle we were forced to get the tipm replaced which cost $1114.68.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #10

Feb 072015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
The car have 5 problems : a) the car not start the engine in the morning, consume the battery power without any reason, the fuel pump continue to run and the car is off. The car stop running while driving put at risk the people in the car.sometimes I have to crank the engine for about 15 minutes and then the car run. I know that this problems is the same as about 188,723 more vehicles. I talk to Chrysler and they said my car is from Canada and don't have that problems.but the car do exactly the same as the others and have the same problems.please some body help me quick.because I need the car and I am still pay to the bank the car that its not running well.I am afraid to use the car or have an accident.

- Hormigueros , PR, USA

problem #9

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
2011 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.6L - problems begin around September with issues cranking the vehicle. The engine would turn over but it was having trouble picking up the fuel. After several attempts the van would start and run fine in the beginning. The issue progressively got worse and more complex. On several occasion while driving, the vehicle lost fuel pressure and stalled momentarily, then picked up fuel again. In November the fuel pump begin not shutting off after the ignition had been switched off and other times it would not pump at all. Around the first of January the vehicle stranded us on vacation for 7 hours only to crank once we jumped the van with another vehicle. After that the only way I could start the vehicle in the morning is by jumping it with another vehicle. This week, thinking that there was a short in the fuel pump I replaced it ($300 parts only) and the problem continued. The fuel pump fuse (M25) was not blown but there was no power on it. I bypassed the fuel pump fuse with the rear power accessory fuse (M7) and the pump came on with the ignition switch. While the fuse is bypassed the vehicle starts and runs fine. After researching the problem online it appears that I may have a common problem with the tipm. Hoping for a recall to help with this costly issue.

- Richlands, NC, USA

problem #8

Dec 242014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 51,718 miles
For 1 month the vehicle was difficult to start. It would crank just fine, but the engine would not 'ignite' (especially when cold.) the vehicle would finally start after 5-10 long attempts (turning the engine over and over and then turning the key to the off position before trying again.) this difficult startup issue lasted for 4 weeks. At that point the vehicle began to stall after running for 10 - 20 minutes (sometimes while driving.) finally, after parking the vehicle one evening, the fuel pump continued to run after the engine was shut off and the key was removed. It wasn't noticed right away, so by morning the battery was completely dead. All my research indicated the fuel relay is faulty. But the relay is built into the tipm and there is no easy fix. This seems to be happening on all 2011 Chrysler/Dodge vehicles and there is even a recall on the Dodge durango for the issue. This faulty tipm needs to be recalled and replaced. My local dealership has suggested that I get the relay 'fixed" using the fix mentioned in the durango recall. The service adviser suggested it would be around $400 (no guarantee) and that it would be reimbursed if the recall was extended to my make of vehicle at some point in the future. I'm worried that they are going to make it worse and wreck the tipm, which is a part that costs over $1000 (and hard to find.) I hope to update this complaint after the vehicle is 'fixed.'

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #7

Oct 292014

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the fuel pump failed to shut off after removing the key from the ignition. As a result, the battery was drained and needed to be replaced. The contact also stated that there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear driver side tire. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Dover, PA, USA

problem #6

Sep 092014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
About a year ago the vehicle started sporadically not coming on. Battery was replaced, that was not the issue, alternator was tested, that was not the issue"about 3-4 months ago the problem got much worse and would sometimes take 2-5 attempts before the car would start. Sometimes it would start then immediately stall. Last week it just stopped running; would not turn on at all. Turns out it is the tipm that has gone bad not allowing the fuel relay to work properly. The part is around $1200 to replace, if you can even find one. Chrysler/Dodge has recalled this in various other vehicles but still refuses to recall it in the 2011-2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. We have friends who also have a 2011 Grand Caravan and were having the same problems before us. Their dealer replace all sorts of other parts on the car before they took it to a shop that told them it was the tipm; the Dodge dealership said they doubted that was the issue but if it was they would replace it for them at no cost. Guess what" it turns out that was the issue and now it has been replaced and they have not had an issue since. I have since, after much research on the internet, made a bypass for the vehicle; which will work temporarily but it will not be a permanent fix. I want them to fix my vehicle!

- High Ridge, MO, USA

problem #5

Oct 242014

Grand Caravan

  • 88,000 miles
Bases on what I found with my local mechanic and online my van a faulty tipm. Dodge currently has a recall out for other vehicle with a bad tipm but claims my van in not affected by it. My van has hard starts or it will start the stall. It takes about 8-10 times before it will start and stay running. Also my fuel pump will stay running even after I take the key out. If I do not remove the fuel pump fuse the pump will until the battery dies.

- Seale, AL, USA

problem #4

Nov 132014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
After being told by the dealer our van wouldn't start due to the alternator, we decided to have the alternator looked at. The other mechanic found nothing to be wrong with the alternator. The dealer also said we needed our fuel pump replaced. We have had other vehicles that needed fuel pumps replaced and when the fuel pump went out we were not able to drive it at all. My husband was at an appointment and after turning off van he heard something running. The sound was tracked to the fuel pump. So the dealer wasted our time and money all the time trying to have us replace parts that would not have corrected the problem. After calling and trying to get a fuel pump regulator we discovered the fuel pump regulator is built into the tipm. We have a faulty tipm. I wish Dodge would get off their butt and issue a recall already. The only way a can shut the fuel pump off is to unhook the battery.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #3

Nov 202013

Grand Caravan

  • 79,127 miles
The car cut off while driving, a week before I took the car to the dealer complaining about the car no starting intermittent. The dealer return the car saying no problem found. After this happens cutting off while driving, I took the car again to the dealer, this time the dealer replace the "tipm" P/N 68244893aa, I was charged $890.10, the dealer mechanic informed me that this is well known problem, for the safety of other please force Chrysler to recall this "tipm" as they did to the SUV's.

- N. Miami Beach , FL, USA

problem #2

May 152014

Grand Caravan

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after several attempts. Once started, the vehicle stalled while driving various speeds. The vehicle was able to be restarted and was taken to the dealer. The contact was informed that the totally integrated power module was faulty and caused the fuel pump to malfunction. The vehicle was not repaired because the necessary part was on back order. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 66,000.

- Wichita, KS, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?