Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 11 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #129

Jun 102013

Journey

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In June of 2013 my car alarm started to come on randomly. First while car was in parked position. Days after it then started sounding while driving, leaving my then 6 year olds hysterical. It was happening so much that we took out the fuses. In Nov 2014, while entering the interstate exit my car shut off going 35mph around a deep curve. I lost all control of steering and acceleration, brakes locked up. I was able to force steer to shoulder and turn car off and back on. It ran ok until a couple weeks later it did it again. Coming home off interstate w/ kids in car, car shut off while going 40 mph in mid curve! now beginning Feb 2015, my battery goes dead repeatedly. I've had to have it jumped off almost every morning for last month. I took it to auto store and battery tested good. March 2015, battery going dead again. I've had accredited mechanic look at it who tested everything along w/ relays. He stated battery was good but basically alarm, although it's not heard, its still waking up and drain battery. He couldn't go beyond this point to fix because he believed it's something in computer system? I took to dealer and after I explained everything to them & been without a car for week, they insisted it battery was bad. So we have replaced battery, yet they did not address random alarm/horn. So I took back same day to address this issue B/C it will continue. They now are suggesting to replace horn switch of which after looking at other consumers I don't think will fix the problem. There is something in the cars computer triggering the alarm but for some reason they refuse to check that. I'm not sure if it's just because they can't get as much money from resetting computer or not. I know I don't have money to throw away on trail & error. With all the complaints on this I can't figure out how the dealers/company Chrysler Dodge Jeep doesn't have a solution.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #128

Dec 182014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 37,424 miles
I went to the store got what I needed came out and the Journey would not start. I had it towed to the Dodge dealership and they told me the tipm was bad.they replaced it and has been working so far. It cost $900 dollars to fix with only 37424 miles on it.the other problem was the brakes all had to be replaced with just over 20000 miles on the car. The dealership covered the front brakes but with a deductible of $100 dollars but I had to pay for the back brakes.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #127

Feb 242015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 24,575 miles
Engine stalled while driving causing loss of power steering & power brakes. Diagnosis revealed that engine would stall if key was moved slightly. Could have caused a serious accident. Superstition springs Chrysler replaced the win module at a cost of $492.46. How many people have to die or be injured before the manufacturer accepts responsibility, initiates a recall and takes care of the problem at no cost to the vehicle owner?? I believe that Chrysler Corp should reimburse me for the cost of this repair.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #126

Mar 102015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 44,787 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving into work this morning my horn began to go off on its on and randomly. Nothing I did would stop the horn from going off. I called both my dealer and Chrysler directly neither said they have heard of any issues regarding this. Some of the warning lights on my dash also came up and then went off. This seems to be a safety issue and I am concerned.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #125

Jan 152015

Journey

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. While driving at various speeds, all of the warning indicators on the instrument panel illuminated continuously. The headlights flashed on and off and the doors and windows locked. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was approximately 125,000.

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #124

Oct 052012

Journey 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Driving vehicle locally, making several stops. The last stop, when I return to car about 8:00pm with my children, car wouldn't start. Attempted to get it jumped off and that didn't work. About 10:00P it started. I stopped by the gas station to fill up, cut it off, and it wouldn't start again. I contacted aaa, when they finally arrived about 45 min later, it started. This occurred around October 2012 it occurred again around April 2013, again May 2013, again January 2014, March 2014, December 2014, and March 2015.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #123

Mar 022011

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A couple months after purchasing my vehicle, it stopped in the middle of the street. This happened periodically over a course of three year.. last week, my car stopped in the middle of the street, almost killing my children and I. when I reported this to Dodge, I was told that it had been recalled for an ignition issue (I was not aware of) and it had been repaired before I purchased it. The recall issue was causing the the same type of issues that I was having. Now my car wont start and lo and behold, im being told its my ignition, yet im being told that its not Dodge problem. We almost died and Dodge could care less.

- Inkster, MI, USA

problem #122

Jul 102014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased vehicle Dec 2012, May 2013 horn on vehicle goes off in middle of night, turn car on and then off and horn stops. May 2013 driving down road and horn starts going off. Take car to stanely dealership May 29 2014 and they can not find anything wrong with horn. Horn continues to go off, take fuse out of fuse box. July 2014 battery was dead, replaced battery July 2014. 2-3 wks later battery was dead again. Took to dealership in gatesville tx and they stated the could not find why battery was drained. Took battery back to vendor and was replaced. 2 months later battery dead again, took car to dealership and they recharged battery free of charge. Dec 12 2014 driving car at 6:20 am 1 block from house car turns off going 30 miles per hour. Had to come to complete stop put in park and car restarted. Dec 16 2014 battery is dead, go and buy new battery at walmart. Dec 20 2014 daughter borrows car and claims the car shut off on her on the hwy in town going 40 miles per hour. Jan 20 2014 afternoon after pick up son from school, driving 30 miles per hour and car shuts off while driving. Take car into dealership Jan 24 2014, mechanic claims Monday morning car battery is dead. Told mechanic everything going wrong with vehicle, they can not find why the battery is draining also stated the horn switch needs to be replaced. They reboot tipm and the wcm. Pick up car 1/27/2015 take battery back to wal-mart 1/28/2015 and replace and install. Feb 9 2015 pull out of drive way and get about 100 feet and car shuts off, restart and proceed. That afternoon car shuts off on the way home from work while driving 15-20 miles per hour on street. Return car to dealership they still can't find what is wrong with vehicle battery dead, they recharge battery. Feb 23 2015 battery dead. Taking to a different mechanic Feb 28th.

- Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #121

Sep 012014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Car covered under recall 14373000:RQ14002...car was repaired before I brought it, but now the problem is happening again. I called Chrysler, they agreed to fix it, but said the needed parts were on back order and had no ideal when the need parts (ignition switch and retention ring) would be back instock!!!) chryser said my VIN # didn't show up because it had been repaired before I brought it, but they would add me to the list for repair, but they don't know when the parts would be available...I can't drive my car because of the ignition switch and retention ring problems!!!

- Knightdale, NC, USA

problem #120

Dec 292014

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
My vehicle failed to start. After research and finding information that there is an issue with tipm and the fuel pump relay that is built into the circuit card fails and cuts out the fuel pump and shuts off the engine. Luckily that this vehicle was not on the road when it failed and cause a serious accident. My understanding that there is a legal law suit for same issues but for newer models. 2012 Jeep and Caravan ect... I have checked for power for the fuse box and no power coming from and 2 points for fuse. I have called Dodge recall list and under my VIN there is no recall for this issue.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #119

Feb 132015

Journey

  • 85,774 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck is on the side of the road at this very moment. I picked up my truck from a Dodge dealership this morning. No even 10 hours later, I'm riding down the street and the ignition goes to the acc.. I loose power steering and brakes! my daughter and I could have been killed! I see that this is a known issue on other 2010 Dodge Journeys....however... Dodge tells me that my VIN# is not included in the recall....it's the same issue that other 2010 Dodge Journey owners are experiencing. I live check to check...and I just spent over $500 today on it for other repairs!! now I still don't have use of my car for this problem!! what will it take....someone to get killed...when Dodge is aware that this is a known issue!! I am horrified!!

- Laveen, AZ, USA

problem #118

Feb 082015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 27,668 miles
I was at a traffic light when all of a sudden the horn started to go off on its own without anyone touching it. As it started it stopped. Approximately 2 1/2 weeks later the vehicle was inside my garage and at about 2:00 a.M. the horn started to go off again. I had to disconnect the fuses in order ot have it stop sounding. I took the vehicle to the Chrysler Dodge dealer, they claimed that they did not know what was happening with the horn. That they did not have any recalls on this matter and never heard of this problem with this vehicles. I looked on the internet and have found that other consumers who have purchased this vehicle have had the same problem. Why has Chrysler Dodge refused to help its clients?

- Toa Alta, PR, USA

problem #117

Dec 082014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
December 8, 2014 I was driving my 2010 Dodge Journey when the horn started to randomly honk as if the alarm had gone off....there was no control over the honking and it startled me and distressed the other drivers in vicinity. Airpark Dodge dealership in scottsdale AZ stated the computer software needed updating and that should fix the problem. Feb 1st, 2015 the car randomly started honking within the garage no key in the ignition and no one had driven the car all day. These episodes, 10 in all, were different than the last time as the honks were short in duration, I was able to capture it on video. Airpark Dodge was unwilling to do more than what Chrysler star recommended and wanted to give me back the car with the problem undiagnosed. I am still awaiting a proper diagnosis as I see random uncontrolled honking as a safety issue.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #116

Dec 182014

Journey

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the engine failed to start. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. The VIN was not available.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #115

Jan 222015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 51,518 miles
While driving at approx. 55 mph dash lights came on, gauges went to 0, and windshield wipers turned on. Vehicle never lost acceleration, but turn signals and brake lights would not work. This has happened at least once for the last three days. This is very dangerous especially with children in vehicle.

- Austin, IN, USA

problem #114

Oct 312014

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated the ignition key seized within the ignition switch. The contact mentioned that the ignition key would not go into the start position preventing the vehicle from turning on. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Knightdale, NC, USA

problem #113

Jan 222015

Journey

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Aroara, NC, USA

problem #112

Jan 152015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
This vehicle is experiencing issues with the power door locks. The drivers door will lock / unlock intermittently, while the drivers rear side passenger door, passenger side front and rear doors as well as the liftgate door will not unlock.

- Washington, MI, USA

problem #111

Dec 182014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The car would not start.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #110

Dec 312014

Journey

  • miles
After getting off from a long day at work. Leaving the parking lot on the second floor from work I was coming down the ramp when I lost complete control of the vehicle. The vehicle completely shut down on me leaving me to floor the break to stop the vehicle almost causing me to crash into the curb. All service lights come up on dash board windshield wipers started going on and the car completely shut off worst thing is after doing research about my vehicle is that it's been a common problem with all Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge vehicles. Repairs for this is about 1,200$ something customers are subject to pay due to not being covered under warranty. Chrysler needs to address this issue for their customers safety!!!!

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?