Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 13 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #89

Dec 012011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that when the key fob was pushed to unlock the doors, the windshield wipers suddenly activated independently. The failure occurred multiple times. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 200...updated 11/06/14

- Sumter, NC, USA

problem #88

Sep 282014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 69,043 miles
Since January 2014 I have taken my vehicle in multiple times to the dealership for intermittent starting issues.it also has a slow crank occasionally this is more random then it not starting. When I try to start it it just clicks. If I wait a few minutes then try to start it again eventually it will start. This car has left me stranded many times and late for work/appointments. The dealership has replaced the tipm fuse box, starter, battery and all key fobs and it still will not start randomly. I have noticed that most of the time when it will not start it is because the car is hot(after being driven for a significant amount of time) or simply just sitting out in the sunlight. When the dealership hooks it up the their machine it does not throw an error code. So they keep telling me "they are scratching their heads they do not know what is wrong and do not know how to fix it" this is not an acceptable answer to me after looking on this website there are multiple complaints for the same issue. Chrysler needs to figure it out and put out a recall for it. I have called Chrysler customer support multiple times I have had a case open for 4 weeks I have never heard from my case manager just someone calling on her behalf. I can't seem to get anywhere with Dodge. I am taking it back to the dealership tomorrow. I have taken it to the dealership every Monday for the last 5 weeks. They keep it for 3 or 4 days then send it home with no results.. I am not taking it back from this time without better results. This car is only 4 years old it should be a reliable car. I shouldn't be afraid to take it somewhere.

- Grain Valley, MO, USA

problem #87

Aug 142014

Journey

  • 70,000 miles
2010 Dodge Journey which we purchased Nov. 2013, main one being the alarm and horn go off randomly, driving down the street, middle of the night.....etc. Had the tpim replaced 4 weeks ago which took 2 weeks to diagnose and get the part, this past Sunday alarm goes off and won't stop, so in looking for the fuses to remove and stop the alarm I found them in the tpim, basically it is a fuse box that controls the whole electrical system. So back to the dealer again today, again replaced the tpim. One block from home and horn starts going off again. Chrysler is aware that this is a problem on several Chrysler vehicles mainly ones purchased in 4 states. I even found a site for a class action suit. Fortunately we purchased the extended warranty and have only paid a small deductible other than the time and frustration. So back to the dealer tomorrow. I am seriously concerned because it is a safety issue as it can effect airbags, lights, windows and a whole lot more. Good luck! we were told today that one customer had 3 different tpim's replaced so far. They are not new, cannot get a new one only refurbished!!!!

- Beverly Hills, FL, USA

problem #86

Jul 282014

Journey

  • 64,201 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Three to four days per week the car will not start. Turn the key and you get nothing but a click. I have only owned the vehicle for 2 months and it has done it since the very beginning. Have had the dealership and a private mechanic look it over and they have found nothing. It sounds very similar to the issue being corrected by recall now. Although this vehicle, so far, has not stalled while driving thank god. Am not happy that my "new to me" car is so unreliable.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #85

Aug 222014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 48,575 miles
Tried to start my vehicle and it would not start. It would not turn over at all. Checked the battery but the battery was fine. Had the car taken to a repair shop but it then started fine and after an inspection, they did not find anything wrong. This has since happened twice where I was stranded with the car randomly not starting. I have had to wait a period of time for it to start. I called Dodge corporate (Chrysler) but they did not seem to have any answers or be concerned. This is definitely a safety issue at this point as I would hate to be stranded somewhere with my car not starting.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #84

Jun 022014

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
Sometimes the vehicle won't start. It is in the dealership again today. This is the 4th time in the past 2 months. Dodge can't figure it out. They have been trying but to no avail. We have figured out if you wiggle the gear shift the car will start after a little while. Hopefully Dodge will check the sensors in the gear shift during this visit. It is getting old having to keep taking the car back in the shop. Dodge has been great with working with us but we still have the problem.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #83

Aug 312014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was parked and I thought a neighbor was honking their horn for quite awhile, it stopped, but a little while after that I was walking by the car and it just started beeping. Not solid beeping but like it was trying to get my attention. Also the car is slow to start (like a dead battery) but I just installed a new battery and the transmission has been banging hard since the first day I got it. I had it in a number of times for the problem, but it would not do it with them in the car.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #82

Mar 072014

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
I have been having problem with my doors unlocking. I thought it was the key-less remote needing a battery or the car need a new battery, changed both and that wasn't it. The only door that would open was the driver's side. Sometimes all the door will open, then once it opens it will not open again until, maybe a week from then, a month. It just opens when it wants. I have to lean over to open the other doors when I get in. I took it to the dealership and I was told that I need another computer module, but they coudln't find anything wrong with it so that had to be the problem. No one has $600 for that tpn part. I think this should be looked onto.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #81

Sep 122013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Ignition key goes into the off position which depowers all electrical components, ie...radio, air/heat, signals, power windows, wipers, dashboard. Problem has been continuous every since recall issue has been supposedly fixed by dealership after safety recall. Sometimes causes car to not start on first try, have to try 2-3 times before car will actually start but problem persist while driving at least 1-2 times each time I am driving my vehicle.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #80

Jun 062014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Just like many 2009 and 2010 Journey owners, I too have experienced the vehicle not turning over to start. It has happened approximately 2 dozen times in the past 2 months at random. Sometimes the vehicle will not start 3 times in one day and then the problem will not occur for another week. Once the key is in the ignition and I turn it, I have battery power, it simply will not push through to actually start the vehicle. This is very irritating and I have not been able to duplicate for the dealer so of course they will do nothing for me. I also have noticed that on the freeway, when getting above 60 the steering wheel feels shaking which is quite terrifying and then if I go to break, it feels very wobbly. Again, not something that I can reproduce at the dealer and therefore cannot be fixed. I loved my car for the first couple years I owned it, but lately it is not up to par and worries me to drive with my 2 kids in fear of the unpredictable steering issue or being stranded if it decides to not start at all.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #79

Aug 062012

Journey 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving I randomly lose all interior power - windows, wipers, radio, ac, signals. Engine continues to run and steer fine. Shutting off ignition and restarting corrects problem. It happens with no warning and no apparent cause. Ac blower burned out about a year ago; dealer said it was due to a short and they fixed the short for free, but that didn't solve the power loss problem. I've found that pushing the ignition fob slightly in - or pulling slightly out - when it happens can resolve the problem without having to restart the vehicle but I worry that this problem will burn out the ac blower again. This loss of interior power happens on average once every 4 to 6 weeks; it's a safety issue since I the wipers or defog may stop working when it's raining. I don't know if it affects airbag performance and I'd rather not find out that hard way.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #78

Aug 222014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 37,700 miles
This vehicle is equipped with a Dodge oem remote start system which was activated in this situation. I entered the "remote started" vehicle and went to place my key into the run position. I inadvertently took the key to the start position and upon doing so turned off the radio, power windows, air, turn signals, cluster lights. I was able to drive the vehicle during this incident. These particular items were the only ones I noticed to be non-operational, but there very well possibly could be other critical components such as air bags affected. In order to regain functionality, I had to turn the vehicle to the off position restart. I tried to duplicate the situation but was not able to get to get a recurrence at this time. This is the 2nd time I have had this arise. I was able to capture video of the powerless components and show the vehicle was capable to be driven. I've made an appointment with the local Dodge dealership for review. This vehicle did have a win module recall in 2011, and is not currently part of the recent Dodge ignition problem recall.

- Manchester, IA, USA

problem #77

Mar 022010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 191 miles
When you turn the key over to start the vehicle it doesn't start it just clicks, in the beginning it happened at random weeks to months between the won't start earlier period. I reported it to the dealer at first oil change about two months from purchase and they put it on the computer and stated nothing was wrong with the vehicle. They attributed it my not having turned it over fully, or wasn't in gear fully, etc.. because the computer shows nothings wrong. This went on to no avail with constant complaints to the dealer. They would provide a rental keep it for a month say it failed to duplicate and send it home. Once I played musical part replacement based on educational and uneducational guess work, I have replaced the key, battery, starter, ignition module as well as a wind module. Despite the fact that none of these item's showed defective. I was pacified until my vehicle reached 99,6?? miles then told we just have to wait for the part to go out and hopefully it will register what's defective. When it actually had but didn't show anything wrong. They paid for rentals for over a year making me pick up my car and return the rental until it does it again, as they could only authorize rentals one month at a time. This continued for over a year then once my car made 100,000 miles the dealer stated it was out of warranty, it was nothing they could do it could not be fixed. I contacted Chrysler and they are working with fowler Dodge(dealer) who states they are out of options. This vehicle is clearly a manufacture defect and can not be fixed. The dealer was aware in the very beginning and failed to recall this defective vehicle. I'm now awaiting a response from Chrysler case manager who states is going to get corporate involved, please help! ps. I'm still in rentals at their expense.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #76

Aug 052014

Journey

  • 60,672 miles
We bought the car in April 2014. The car's horn will suddenly go off and nothing you do can make it stop. I took the horn fuses out to stop the horn honking. You can still hear clicking under the fuse box. It does it anytime it can be hot outside daytime nighttime sitting still locked up driving down the road. We had to get a new battery a month ago. I thought that might cure the horn honking but it didn't. now we are having same problem other people reported about it taking multiple times to crank it. I think there are serious electrical problems that Dodge needs to correct.

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #75

May 012014

Journey

  • 65,000 miles
Have had all kind of "sensor" problems horn blows at all times have taken to shop 4 times all brake sensor lights came on back in may also bob pforte Dodge in marianna, fl. 32446 can not seem to be able to fix put on one sensor to see if that would stop horn from blowing did not and then my cruise control knob fell off from where they put in sensor took back put on another sensor did not fix took back and they had failed to reprogram after putting on that sensor jeff the service manager told me when I called back about it that they would compensate if this did not fix last week horn started blowing again!!!! 7/22/14 took back today and they are having to keep it overnight lady called me asking if the key fob was the one I had been using I told her that when this first started I started using my spare because I thought maybe the other one was going out we have to pull the fuses every time to keep the horn from seranading the community horn blows while in the yard while not running, while running and driving it may go beep beep beep or sound off for hours I want something done hope someone will tell bob pforte how to fix this!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Bascom, FL, USA

problem #74

May 012014

Journey

  • 65,000 miles
Have had all kind of "sensor" problems horn blows at all times have taken to shop 4 times all brake sensor lights came on back in may also bob pforte Dodge in marianna, fl. 32446 can not seem to be able to fix put on one sensor to see if that would stop horn from blowing did not and then my cruise control knob fell off from where they put in sensor took back put on another sensor did not fix took back and they had failed to reprogram after putting on that sensor jeff the service manager told me when I called back about it that they would compensate if this did not fix last week horn started blowing again!!!! 7/22/14 took back today and they are having to keep it overnight lady called me asking if the key fob was the one I had been using I told her that when this first started I started using my spare because I thought maybe the other one was going out we have to pull the fuses every time to keep the horn from seranading the community horn blows while in the yard while not running, while running and driving it may go beep beep beep or sound off for hours I want something done hope someone will tell bob pforte how to fix this!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Bascom, FL, USA

problem #73

May 282014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 27,122 miles
Driving at 15 mph all of a sudden panel lights turned off, speed and RPM indicators turned off, air conditioner off, power windows would not work. Turn signals, headlamps and brake lamps did not work. Engine was still on so I pulled to the side and restarted the car a few times until all power was restored.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #72

Mar 152014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Like most of the people posting, I have also experienced the same issues. My Journey will often times not start on the first, second, third or fourth try. At times it takes 1 minute to start, at other times it takes an hour or more. Additionally, I have experienced the very concerning random honking. It happens when the car is turned off, driving down the road or just stopped at a red light. The honks can last anywhere from 1 second to minutes worth of intermittent beeps. This is by far and away the absolute worst car I have ever purchased.

- Saginaw, TX, USA

problem #71

May 012014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 75,207 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after inserting the key in the ignition, the vehicle failed to start. The problem recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnose that the win module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the totally integrated power module needed to be replaced. The remedy failed to repair the problem. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,207. Updated 9/8/14 the consumer requested reimbursement for parts and labor. Updated 1/13/2015

- Newark, IL, USA

problem #70

Dec 312013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Since December while driving the vehicle all of a sudden the radio, blinkers and front/back and head lights turn off. I literally have to pull the vehicle over and turn the car off and re-start the engine till it happens again and have to do the samething. I took it to the dealership where we just purchased the vehicle two weeks prior and they stated it was only a fuse. It constantly still happens which is a serious safety issue especially with children in the vehicle. It also takes sometimes 3-5 tries to start the car.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?