Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,335 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #109

Oct 272014


  • 28,142 miles


The transmission on the Fiesta shutters which causes lack of acceleration, delay of acceleration or a skipping of the transmission. This is a huge safety issue because you may pull out in traffic and lose the ability to accelerate, transmission issue can also cause lunging from a stopped position when it engages unexpectedly. Vehicle has been "repaired" several times with numerous clutches, seals and reprogramming of controls. Repairs usually only last a max of 500 miles and at this time Ford does not have a permanent fix to this issue which I feel is a huge safety concern for drivers. Dealer service department began repair attempts for this issue on 10/27/14.

- Livermore, ME, USA

problem #108

Dec 012014


  • 15,000 miles
In December 2014 I took my 2012 Ford Fiesta to the pacifico Ford dealership for a shutter clutch problem. They "fixed" the problem but my car continues to jerk, stutter, shake when in first gear. The car also makes a noise. I took the car back for a software update in October 2015 but the problems continued. My husband and I were told that there is nothing the dealership can do because it is just how the transmission is made. I was told that it would not cause a problem. I explained that when sitting in traffic it feels like my car is going to stall; it also jerks. The dealership acknowledged this, along with the noise and again told me there was nothing that can be done and that they were changing the transmission in newer models. I have concerns with the transmission, especially since I travel on the highway everyday to and from work and am concerned that the delay in shifting will cause an accident. I am also concerned that the pacifico Ford dealership acknowledged the problem and is doing nothing to help. My warranty it going to expire and my thoughts are that is when Ford will be able to address the problem since they will not be paying for it; I will.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #107

Nov 232015


  • 26,000 miles
Have had many instances of jerking and grinding while the vehicle shifted gears. However now vehicle struggles to accelerate when under load, engine revs but vehicle does not accelerate. This occurs notably when going from 10-20mph and trying to accelerate, as when trying to merge onto a highway from a ramp. Owned manual cars that required clutch replacement, sensation is similar. Vehicle has 26K miles, has had two clutches and three computer updates. Told by dealership that vehicle is safe to drive while they wait for parts, I disagree.

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #106

Dec 032014


  • 77,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #105

Nov 022015


  • 48,000 miles
I've already reported on this site before regarding my 2012 Ford Fiesta with clutch failure (in December 2013 at just over 32,000 miles). Recently my car was acting sluggish and I made an appointment a few weeks from when I called (when an appointment was available). Then one morning while trying to start my car it died and refused to start. I had it towed to Ford, and it had a transmissional control module (tcm) failure which I guess caused my transmission to fail/engine not to start. This was at 48,000 miles. They fixed it and returned the car to me on 11/7 but the clutch still doesn't feel right. My car shudders, shakes, and has trouble kicking into gear which makes it feel dangerous to drive especially in city traffic or in the hilly areas of Colorado. I just had the clutch replaced at just over 32,000 miles and now at 48,000 miles it's giving out again!? it's crazy and it was just at Ford. I'm about to take negative equity on my car and get a safer car for my commute and for winter. I feel bad for who buys it next but I need a car that is safe to drive. I've been holding out hoping for nhsta and Ford to do the right thing and recall the cars/buy them back since Ford still does not have a permanent fix for these issues (3-4 years later and they still manufacture the cars the same way so later models have issues too!). I'm shocked that nothing has been done. After my last scare and fearing that I won't be able to get a good trade in value on my car for a new one if I wait I think I'm done. My next car definitely won't be a Ford

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #104

Oct 192015


  • miles
Our 2012 Fiesta with 30K miles has had constant problems with the automatic transmission. It has uneven and erratic shifts, pronounced shuddering, grinding and rattling. Slow progressive starts from a stop usually result in shuddering, it's actually smoother to mash the accelerator to the floor. Pulling up our steep driveway and into the garage is tricky, also results in shuddering and lurching. The behavior of the transmission is unpredictable to the point that I consider it to be an unsafe distraction. The dealer, and Ford, have issued service bulletins and a recall of sorts. It has been back to the dealer three times but apparently the only fix is reprogramming which isn't working. From conversations with the Ford technician and from what I've seen online I get the impression that it's common knowledge that these transmissions don't work and are potentially unsafe.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #103

Nov 112015


  • miles


The Ford Fiesta we have has had transmission issues for a while. We have taken it in 4 times, twice they claimed they reprogrammed the computer and replaced the clutch. We have continued to notice the vehicle jerking or pulsating when accelerating and braking. Ford has yet to respond to us with a resolution despite multiple attempts to have them address the issue. Our safety concern is that the transmission will eventually fail and put our safety in jeopardy.

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #102

Nov 112015


  • 90,192 miles
Yes did a a letter early to day number 10789799 so what happen next go get in car to go to my other full time job car come out park tranmission not working 2 Fiesta in less than a year with same thing come on now I go to dealer of couse out warrety by 15000 thousand mile really nothing can by about this service dept. Look at in week or longer than if is tranmission parts on back order really so I"M left out in the cold this is not right you think I"M mad you damn right.again please help make this right.

- Rockymount, VA, USA

problem #101

Aug 102015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Yes transmission skipping on take off has under 100000mile had a 2011 did same thing but that lock up so dealer let me trade it in I don't want same thing to happen something has to be done Ford need to fix. Idon't see why its is not a recall I hear same thing from people who own other Ford like my.I dealer they said nothing can be done I say [xxx]! so please help!!!!!!!!!!!!. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rockymount, VA, USA

problem #100

Nov 072015


  • 21,000 miles
2012 Ford Fiesta fails to turn on at random times. Lights from the control panel to the headlights continually blink and turn off while driving. This evening while driving down a busy highway, I made a right turn and the transmission locked up and I could not accelerate or move the car to safety until turning the car on and off again. Also, a few days after I bought the car, the back right door opened while I was driving with my 10 yr old son in the backseat. Ford dealership fixed the door issue but the power and transmission issues are still going on after Ford checked the car and stated it was fine in my service paperwork. The car is clearly not fine.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #99

Nov 012015


  • 49,500 miles


I was driving my 2012 Ford Fiesta on Sunday, November 1st, 2015 when the rear passenger door flew open!!!! I fear for my safety in this vehicle!!!! this is yet another manufacture's defect on this dangerous car!!!! what if I had my pet in the car"?? or a child??? I can not believe you have not made Ford recall this car!!! in addition to my latest episode I have also had my transmission's computer tmc updated 3 times and the entire transmission replaced!!! and my car drives worse. It jerks, almost dies at take off, sputters and hesitates and then suddenly jolts forward!! it is only a matter of time before someone is killed in this car! how can you continue to allow Ford corporation to abuse it's consumers in this manner! I thought this Agency was the governing agent over these types of issues! I will be sure to document all of my problems with this car in the event that something horrible should happen to me while driving this car! we as american consumers need your help! I called Ford headquarters and spoke to a customer relations agent named le roy today, November 3rd, 2015 and was told that Ford will only authorize 1 day car rental to repair any transmission problems! I know of no dealership that can perform the repairs in 1 day! how in the world can this repair be done in 1 day? it took 3 weeks in November 2014 when they replace the entire transmission. I was told I could pay for any remaining days rental if I wanted my car repaired! the transmission is faulty, dangerous and I should have to pay any rental days it takes to repair this car" this is a manufacturer defect and should be repaired at no cost to any customers! I hope you start taking this matter seriously. As an american I try to buy only american made products and this is how a big corporation is allowed to treat it's customers is an absolute disgrace!!!!! recall this car..please before someone dies!!!

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #98

Oct 312015


  • 42,000 miles
This vehicle has had multiple transmission problems since I first purchased it. It now has 42,000 miles on it. After recall #15B22 service was performed on 9/4/15 the problem has gotten much worse. When you are at a stop and then start to pull out into an intersection the car hesitates to the point of almost stopping then it lurches forward followed by severe shuttering. It seems to get progressively worse the longer the car is driven and given a chance to warm up. There are also a wide range of minor shifting problems at various speeds and conditions with loss of power during those times. I have taken the car back to the dealership but they tell me that if they cannot get the car to make the same problem they cannot fix it. After leaving the dealership the car still has the same problem. I have had problems off an on and have went through several Ford updates and fixes for this, but none seem to help. It is to the point now that I feel unsafe driving this car.

- Clinton, MO, USA

problem #97

Oct 252015


  • miles
Although the transmission was updated per the recall it putts or hesitates/stalls with the slightest incline and worse on a real hill. I can't pull out into traffic quicknow because it would cause an accident and it shouldn't be that way. I took it to Ford of escondido and was told that some putting is normal but I know this is not right. It is an ongoing issue. Has been since like 3 weeks after I bought it.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #96

Oct 102015


  • 40,000 miles
I have had consistent problems with the dual automated clutch transmission(powershift) in this vehicle...some of the symptoms include shuddering, hesitation, gear clanging, grinding, and bucking of the vehicle (which I believe are directly related the car's transmission). These symptoms have at times dangerously impacted my ability to control the vehicle during normal driving conditions. I have made several attempts with the dealership and car manufacturer to get these issues resolved, and their attempts have been disappointing and ineffective thus far. I am currently involved in the third attempt to get these issues resolved with the dealership...this is also the second attempt of the dealership to correct the problems by replacing several failing components in transmission. I don't feel confident that these issues can be resolved. I feel unsafe driving this vehicle. The above mentioned symptoms occur intermittently while the car is in motion and in stop and go traffic.

- South Portland, ME, USA

problem #95

Oct 162015


  • 75,000 miles
Transmission is not shifting right. Had it to the dealership on 3 separate occasions. Stalls out when shifting, losing power while accelerating, often pausing before finally shifting. Transmission shifts when it doesn't need too. Usually in motion is when all of the above takes place. Grinding noise and shudder. Clearly it is the faulty transmission.

- Richwoods, MO, USA

problem #94

Oct 032015


  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the clutch shifter failed to shift in or out of any gear. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Hillsboro, OH, USA

problem #93

Oct 112013


  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. While driving at 40 mph, the contact noticed a loud grinding and knocking sound. The contact stated that the vehicle also jerked into gear. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that it needed a clutch or transmission. The vehicle was not repaired, however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Farmville, VA, USA

problem #92

Aug 292015


  • miles
Purchased used with low mileage. Recently had defective clutch plates replaced per Ford recall to solve shudder problems. Dealer also per recall applied a software update to the transmission. Now the car will loose power to the transmission without warning. Check engine light came on - multiple attempts to start car. Back to dealer two more times for software update. Still loosing power (out of gear, no power) to move car forward. Very scary. Taking car back again for possible tcm replacement. All of this occurring over a three month period. Feel very unsafe with this car - without it I am unable to conduct my work with my clients. Please help as I can't afford to keep going back to the dealer to try to resolve.

- Jamaica Plain, MA, USA

problem #91

May 142015


  • 51,370 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. While driving various speeds, the vehicle vibrated and the transmission was abnormally noisy. The vehicle was taken for diagnostic testing. The contact was informed that the PCM, the clutch, and the seals needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the repair failed to remedy the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 51,370.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #90

Sep 052015


  • 65,000 miles
The transmission of the vehicle is sluggish going into higher gears, also has a shutter in lower gears and feels like it may stall going up hills also sometime it jumps forward when you lightly touch the gas. This is a definate safety problem as you cannot control your vehicle. We have just bought this vehicle and are very unhappy with the performance.

- Nesquehoning, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?