Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,388 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #117

Mar 202015

Fiesta

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would shake and shudder. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, however the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clutch and catalytic converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, however the failure recurred a second time. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a software update. The vehicle was repaired. However, the contact stated that the vehicle began to exhibit the same failure shortly after that repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Sacremento, CA, USA

problem #116

Nov 212013

Fiesta

  • 51,000 miles
I'm filing this complaint against Ford Motor Company concerning my 2012 Ford Fiesta the vechicle has severals recall 0N it about the transmission I have put the vechicle in the shop six times since I purchase the vechicle in 2013 the vechicle jerks/shudder/climb up hill slow/roll back on hills/I almost been in several accident because of this vechicle I was driving on the freeway/stop on a hill vechicle roll back almost bump vechicle behind

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #115

Jan 142016

Fiesta

  • miles
I got my 2012 Ford Fiesta in September and every time I am at a complete stop(sometimes when im in the middle of driving it will do this also), when I push on the gas, you can geel the tranny slipping. Ford tried telling us it was because 2012 Ford Fiestas have a transmission like a stick shift. Even if it was supposed to run like a stick shift, it shouldnt be slipping as hard as it does. My car feels like its going to die everytime it does this. Its getting worse and worse.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #114

Dec 232015

Fiesta

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission slips, shudders and makes very unusual noises, I've had the clutch in it replaced just a few months ago and 2 weeks ago it starts the same thing all over again only now it's making a grinding noise when I start off until I get out of second gear, on occasions I could be stopped at a red light and the car would't even go, it's very difficult dealing with Ford on this matter because they need to keep my car and leave me with nothing to drive, they refuse a rental car. I have to drive my car many miles with my 7 year old son in it and it's not safe at all.

- Williamson, GA, USA

problem #113

Jun 022015

Fiesta

  • miles
Car has had transmission problems delay in shifts and jerky loud grinding noises. Have had 3 clutch repaires to solve and now to my forth. I've had three close calls as the car failed to accelerate acting almost if the brake was applied when entering trafic. These have been spaced over my ownership since 10/2011. The dealer and the tech tells me this is a design defect and that Ford will no longer offer this transmission design. This is a truly unsafe car when the clutch fails. The car was purchased new and had been reprogrammed 6 times and now will have its 4th new clutch installed and it only has 58,800 miles.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #112

Dec 092015

Fiesta

  • 80,000 miles
I purchased a 2012 Ford Fiesta new from a local dealership in March 2012. I always had problems with shuddering and was told that the car was just going to run that way. In March of 2015 my car started stalling and shuddering in low gear while in motion or when stopped. I took it to my local dealership, was told that it was a mass airflow sensor problem and it should be corrected. Before making it home it did the same day and then started showing a transmission malfunction service now message. I returned to the dealership, still driveable just with an error message. 30 days later I called to check on my car and was told it was not drive-able, the speedometer was not working, all the check engine lights were on and they could not drive it off the lot. After fighting to get my car fixed back to its original state, I paid more money for a ABS module that they stated was wrong as well as the transmission control module. Went to pick up the vehicle in September, car would not crank and had to be jumped to leave the dealership. Was told my battery was dead. After driving the car since September with continued shuddering, I awoke this morning December 9, 2015 to another transmission malfunction service now light and poor driving ability. Not sure if taking it to the dealership is going to do any good. If this is a repeated problem, and the transmission is giving multiple issues for everyone, this needs to be corrected. The value of the car is not even close to the pay off left on the vehicle, so I may have to just deal with the car sitting and not even being drive-able.

- Lugoff, SC, USA

problem #111

Sep 172015

Fiesta

  • 32,889 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the car less than 5 months ago and have driven it 2,580 miles. The transmission and clutch are defective. It has been to the shop 3 times, they have already reprogrammed it, replaced the clutch and now they are replacing the transmission control module. The car has not shifted right from the day I bought it. It feels like it is going to "stall" when I'm in reverse (in motion), or when going from stop to go. I have been braking on numerous occasions, when it decided to upshift, lurching the vehicle forward, once into a crosswalk, once very close to another vehicle. This is very dangerous. It never drives the same way twice. When entering traffic, it doesn't always want to shift properly, and has lack of acceleration or a delay. It shakes, hard sometimes (in motion and stationary), it feels like you are in a massage chair. It makes a weird clicking noise, at times (in motion.) other times a weird grinding noise. Today it wouldn't get out of 1st gear (in motion) and had to be towed back to the dealer. I had to call out of work and I am concerned for my safety. Car bought 7/72015 - problems have been going on until today - 12/7/2015

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #110

Nov 112015

Fiesta

  • 25,000 miles
The 2012 Ford Fiesta has a known problem with its transmission. The dealer replaced the transmission module but the car jerks, stalls and sometimes dies out. Talking to the dealer today, we found out it is a problem with the clutch. The dealer stated Ford is aware of the problem but has yet to provide a "fix" for it. However, if the engine maintenance light goes on, then the problem will be addressed. In the meantime, we are supposed to drive this car hoping the engine maintenance light will go on, possibly enduring the possibility of having the car stop completely in an unfortunate situation. To us, this poses a real safety problem. You could be on the interstate travelling at a high speed and suddenly have the car glonk out, or even the car could suddenly lose all power in city driving leading to an unfortunate accident. This problem is supposed to be covered under Ford's ten year extended warranty on the transmission, but Ford does not want to fix the problem until, as in their words, "your problem worsens." I cannot believe that this safety issued can continue to be ignored by Ford Motor Company.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #109

Oct 272014

Fiesta

  • 28,142 miles
The transmission on the Fiesta shutters which causes lack of acceleration, delay of acceleration or a skipping of the transmission. This is a huge safety issue because you may pull out in traffic and lose the ability to accelerate, transmission issue can also cause lunging from a stopped position when it engages unexpectedly. Vehicle has been "repaired" several times with numerous clutches, seals and reprogramming of controls. Repairs usually only last a max of 500 miles and at this time Ford does not have a permanent fix to this issue which I feel is a huge safety concern for drivers. Dealer service department began repair attempts for this issue on 10/27/14.

- Livermore, ME, USA

problem #108

Dec 012014

Fiesta

  • 15,000 miles
In December 2014 I took my 2012 Ford Fiesta to the pacifico Ford dealership for a shutter clutch problem. They "fixed" the problem but my car continues to jerk, stutter, shake when in first gear. The car also makes a noise. I took the car back for a software update in October 2015 but the problems continued. My husband and I were told that there is nothing the dealership can do because it is just how the transmission is made. I was told that it would not cause a problem. I explained that when sitting in traffic it feels like my car is going to stall; it also jerks. The dealership acknowledged this, along with the noise and again told me there was nothing that can be done and that they were changing the transmission in newer models. I have concerns with the transmission, especially since I travel on the highway everyday to and from work and am concerned that the delay in shifting will cause an accident. I am also concerned that the pacifico Ford dealership acknowledged the problem and is doing nothing to help. My warranty it going to expire and my thoughts are that is when Ford will be able to address the problem since they will not be paying for it; I will.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #107

Nov 232015

Fiesta

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have had many instances of jerking and grinding while the vehicle shifted gears. However now vehicle struggles to accelerate when under load, engine revs but vehicle does not accelerate. This occurs notably when going from 10-20mph and trying to accelerate, as when trying to merge onto a highway from a ramp. Owned manual cars that required clutch replacement, sensation is similar. Vehicle has 26K miles, has had two clutches and three computer updates. Told by dealership that vehicle is safe to drive while they wait for parts, I disagree.

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #106

Dec 032014

Fiesta

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #105

Nov 022015

Fiesta

  • 48,000 miles
I've already reported on this site before regarding my 2012 Ford Fiesta with clutch failure (in December 2013 at just over 32,000 miles). Recently my car was acting sluggish and I made an appointment a few weeks from when I called (when an appointment was available). Then one morning while trying to start my car it died and refused to start. I had it towed to Ford, and it had a transmissional control module (tcm) failure which I guess caused my transmission to fail/engine not to start. This was at 48,000 miles. They fixed it and returned the car to me on 11/7 but the clutch still doesn't feel right. My car shudders, shakes, and has trouble kicking into gear which makes it feel dangerous to drive especially in city traffic or in the hilly areas of Colorado. I just had the clutch replaced at just over 32,000 miles and now at 48,000 miles it's giving out again!? it's crazy and it was just at Ford. I'm about to take negative equity on my car and get a safer car for my commute and for winter. I feel bad for who buys it next but I need a car that is safe to drive. I've been holding out hoping for nhsta and Ford to do the right thing and recall the cars/buy them back since Ford still does not have a permanent fix for these issues (3-4 years later and they still manufacture the cars the same way so later models have issues too!). I'm shocked that nothing has been done. After my last scare and fearing that I won't be able to get a good trade in value on my car for a new one if I wait I think I'm done. My next car definitely won't be a Ford

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #104

Oct 192015

Fiesta

  • miles
Our 2012 Fiesta with 30K miles has had constant problems with the automatic transmission. It has uneven and erratic shifts, pronounced shuddering, grinding and rattling. Slow progressive starts from a stop usually result in shuddering, it's actually smoother to mash the accelerator to the floor. Pulling up our steep driveway and into the garage is tricky, also results in shuddering and lurching. The behavior of the transmission is unpredictable to the point that I consider it to be an unsafe distraction. The dealer, and Ford, have issued service bulletins and a recall of sorts. It has been back to the dealer three times but apparently the only fix is reprogramming which isn't working. From conversations with the Ford technician and from what I've seen online I get the impression that it's common knowledge that these transmissions don't work and are potentially unsafe.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #103

Nov 112015

Fiesta

  • miles
The Ford Fiesta we have has had transmission issues for a while. We have taken it in 4 times, twice they claimed they reprogrammed the computer and replaced the clutch. We have continued to notice the vehicle jerking or pulsating when accelerating and braking. Ford has yet to respond to us with a resolution despite multiple attempts to have them address the issue. Our safety concern is that the transmission will eventually fail and put our safety in jeopardy.

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #102

Nov 112015

Fiesta

  • 90,192 miles
Yes did a a letter early to day number 10789799 so what happen next go get in car to go to my other full time job car come out park tranmission not working 2 Fiesta in less than a year with same thing come on now really.so I go to dealer of couse out warrety by 15000 thousand mile really nothing can by about this service dept. Look at in week or longer than if is tranmission parts on back order really so I"M left out in the cold this is not right you think I"M mad you damn right.again please help make this right.

- Rockymount, VA, USA

problem #101

Aug 102015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Yes transmission skipping on take off has under 100000mile had a 2011 did same thing but that lock up so dealer let me trade it in I don't want same thing to happen something has to be done Ford need to fix. Idon't see why its is not a recall I hear same thing from people who own other Ford like my.I dealer they said nothing can be done I say [xxx]! so please help!!!!!!!!!!!!. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rockymount, VA, USA

problem #100

Nov 072015

Fiesta

  • 21,000 miles
2012 Ford Fiesta fails to turn on at random times. Lights from the control panel to the headlights continually blink and turn off while driving. This evening while driving down a busy highway, I made a right turn and the transmission locked up and I could not accelerate or move the car to safety until turning the car on and off again. Also, a few days after I bought the car, the back right door opened while I was driving with my 10 yr old son in the backseat. Ford dealership fixed the door issue but the power and transmission issues are still going on after Ford checked the car and stated it was fine in my service paperwork. The car is clearly not fine.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #99

Nov 012015

Fiesta

  • 49,500 miles
I was driving my 2012 Ford Fiesta on Sunday, November 1st, 2015 when the rear passenger door flew open!!!! I fear for my safety in this vehicle!!!! this is yet another manufacture's defect on this dangerous car!!!! what if I had my pet in the car"?? or a child??? I can not believe you have not made Ford recall this car!!! in addition to my latest episode I have also had my transmission's computer tmc updated 3 times and the entire transmission replaced!!! and my car drives worse. It jerks, almost dies at take off, sputters and hesitates and then suddenly jolts forward!! it is only a matter of time before someone is killed in this car! how can you continue to allow Ford corporation to abuse it's consumers in this manner! I thought this Agency was the governing agent over these types of issues! I will be sure to document all of my problems with this car in the event that something horrible should happen to me while driving this car! we as american consumers need your help! I called Ford headquarters and spoke to a customer relations agent named le roy today, November 3rd, 2015 and was told that Ford will only authorize 1 day car rental to repair any transmission problems! I know of no dealership that can perform the repairs in 1 day! how in the world can this repair be done in 1 day? it took 3 weeks in November 2014 when they replace the entire transmission. I was told I could pay for any remaining days rental if I wanted my car repaired! the transmission is faulty, dangerous and I should have to pay any rental days it takes to repair this car" this is a manufacturer defect and should be repaired at no cost to any customers! I hope you start taking this matter seriously. As an american I try to buy only american made products and this is how a big corporation is allowed to treat it's customers is an absolute disgrace!!!!! recall this car..please before someone dies!!!

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #98

Oct 312015

Fiesta

  • 42,000 miles
This vehicle has had multiple transmission problems since I first purchased it. It now has 42,000 miles on it. After recall #15B22 service was performed on 9/4/15 the problem has gotten much worse. When you are at a stop and then start to pull out into an intersection the car hesitates to the point of almost stopping then it lurches forward followed by severe shuttering. It seems to get progressively worse the longer the car is driven and given a chance to warm up. There are also a wide range of minor shifting problems at various speeds and conditions with loss of power during those times. I have taken the car back to the dealership but they tell me that if they cannot get the car to make the same problem they cannot fix it. After leaving the dealership the car still has the same problem. I have had problems off an on and have went through several Ford updates and fixes for this, but none seem to help. It is to the point now that I feel unsafe driving this car.

- Clinton, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?