10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,639 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 5 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #81

Jul 232014

Fiesta

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission started vibrating and causing the car to jump and shutter. And wear my tires down.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #80

Dec 182014

Fiesta

  • 40,000 miles
I have had multiple incidents with the transmission of my 2012 Fiesta, beginning roughly in November of 2014. The first specific incident I can recall occurred on December 18, 2014. I was driving from toledo, Ohio to the detroit, mi airport and back. I had two other passengers in my car who noticed the violent shaking/shuddering problems that my vehicle was having when trying to accelerate. The shuddering occurs at both low speeds and high speeds. The shuddering does not occur daily but roughly 4-5 days a week, causing difficulties with acceleration, breaking, and controlling the vehicle. About two months ago I was stopped at a red light at a busy intersection. When I began to accelerate my car started shaking so violently that it could not move forward any more. At that time a semi-truck was coming up behind me and had to swerve to avoid hitting me. The speed limit at this busy intersection is 40mph. At this point my car is unsafe to drive, even though I have taken it in to the dealer multiple times to fix the transmission. So far, the repairs have been unsuccessful and I am told the potential parts to fix the issue (the clutch) is on back order for a minute of 6-8 weeks. I was told to continue driving my car in the mean time, and that no one can assist me at this time, even though I have been trying to rectify this issue since January 2015. Also, the clutch is not guaranteed to fix the problem, as it is the same make as the one currently in my car.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #79

Jun 102015

Fiesta

  • 30,000 miles
At at stop light making a left turn the car failed to accelerate. I hit the gas and nothing happened. The car was still running but did not move. I had to turn the car off and restart it. Twice. The same thing happened on the highway about 15 minutes later after traffic came to a stop. The car has a voluntary recall to fix the trans but the parts are not available. I have been waiting over 2 months for the parts.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #78

Jan 112012

Fiesta

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has a powershift automatic transmission that acts like a manual: Roll back assist not working properly: Vehicle jerking: Vehicle lurching at stops: 2nd incident May 2013: Same issues added car losing power: November 2014: Same issues: Transmission drivability issues: Roll back issues loss of power issues. March 2015, all same issues: All issues and check engine light on this last time due to transmission circut issue reported continue to fix transmission: Continues to break down. The vehcile has never ran "good" always transmission issues: Loud noises, car losing power while driving, lurching at stops accelerating at stops, no response to acceleration. Four times in three years in for fixes that do not work. Car is unsafe as the loss of power is now more frequent.

- Cannon Falls , MN, USA

problem #77

Oct 102012

Fiesta

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The vehicle also jerked when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #76

Jan 012015

Fiesta

  • 45,000 miles
Ford Fiesta 2012 transmission has been shuddering for several months and now at 50,000 miles very bad mis shifting and not shifting (sounds like jumping into neutral) I have it in dealer and praying that it is covered with my premium warranty and special extension given by Ford for tranny problems

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #75

Apr 022012

Fiesta

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle excessively shuttered and shook when attempting to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the power train software needed to be reprogrammed and the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failures persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Kansas City , MO, USA

problem #74

Apr 152013

Fiesta

  • 21,000 miles
When coming to a complete stop and pulling out I feel a shudder, feels like car is jumping. You can definitely feel and hear it. Day Ford in monroeville pittsburgh pa said I needed a new clutch kit system. A year later on April 15th same incident. Came back to me as they could not find anything wrong. They stated it was in the cars limitation, (RPM). Three weeks later brought it back to them and said it as getting worse. They looked over car and stated yes they felt the shudder but the car was in limitation. They also stated many complaints on this issue so they extended the care warranty from 50,00 to 100,000. I stated that I was not satisfied and said I will file a complaint.

- North Versailles, PA, USA

problem #73

Feb 162015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Transmission sputters on take off shaking car and slipping on incline, also transmission slips on cruise control at 70mph. Dealer refused to give rental for this even though we have an extended warranty. Also told that they will only reset computer and the problem will never go away completely. In other words Ford has no permanent fix for this problem and should be held accountable for still selling these autos knowing it has a serious transmission problem and not disclosing it to the consumer. The consumer is being ripped off. When will someone demand they recall these autos"???"

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #72

May 082012

Fiesta

  • 822 miles
Purchased my Fiesta in March 2012. Shortly after purchase started having problems with the shuttering and hesitating issue due to this new clutch design. The vehicle has been in to the service department where I purchased it the first time the clutch issue was repaired the second time they installed a part of the clutch system. The third time it was in to the service department there was no repair done. The warranty guidelines required the failure to rate at a 270 my failure was a 250. I have contacted a lawyer to get me released from this "death trap". on March 6, 2015, I went to turn left across two lanes of on coming traffic and it shuttered at acceleration and nearly stalled. Keep in mind this is automatic. I was nearly broad sided. I made arrangements for a vehicle because I was told that they did not have a loaner for me to drive while they repaired mine. So on, March 10, 2015, I took the Fiesta to another local Ford service center and upon their inspection was told that the clutch had to be replaced again. The wonderful news to this story is the part is back ordered from the factory and it will take eight weeks for them to receive in the part needed to repair my vehicle. I refuse to drive this vehicle. The Ford Fiesta is not a vehicle that should have the safety recommendations that it has. It isn't safe for consumer use.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #71

Jun 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 38 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have bought my car in 2014 January for a good mileage and stylish look.the vehicle perform well for couple months. Later, I have brought my car to the Ford service in 2014 July with a complain of transmission and safety. Since then I have been in and out of the dealership with automatic transmission problems. My Fiesta now has 43K miles and has been to the dealer 2 times for transmission work if I would have time I would definitely bring my car to the service more. It is very unsafe. The last two visits have resulted in major repairs in an attempt to fix the problem and still the problem persists. The transmission shudders, hesitates, and lurches in stop and go traffic or when slowing then starting up again such as at a stop light or stop sign.again it is very unsafe to drive this car I am going to claim a lawsuit against them.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #70

Mar 182015

Fiesta

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, the front passenger's side door opened independently. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the and road. The door failed to close in a secured position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who informed that the front door latch would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, the transmission clutch was replaced previously on three separate occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #69

Mar 112015

Fiesta

  • 64,500 miles
Transmission will no shift property.

- Lillington, NC, USA

problem #68

Mar 062015

Fiesta

  • 15,233 miles
I purchased my Fiesta in March 2012. Shortly after purchase started having problems with the shuttering and hesitating issue due to this new clutch design. The vehicle has been in to the service department where I purchased it the first time the clutch issue was repaired the second time they installed a part of the clutch system. The third time it was in to the service department there was no repair done. The warranty guidelines required the failure to rate at a 270 my failure was a 250. I have contacted a lawyer to get me released from this "death trap". on March 6, 2015, I went to turn left across two lanes of on coming traffic and it shuttered at acceleration and nearly stalled. Keep in mind this is automatic. I was nearly broad sided. I made arrangements for a vehicle because I was told that they did not have a loaner for me to drive while they repaired mine. So on, March 10, 2015, I took the Fiesta to another local Ford service center and upon their inspection was told that the clutch had to be replaced again. The wonderful news to this story is the part is back ordered from the factory and it will take eight weeks for them to receive in the part needed to repair my vehicle. I refuse to drive this vehicle. The Ford Fiesta is not a vehicle that should have the safety recommendations that it has. It isn't safe for consumer use.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #67

Apr 252013

Fiesta

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph, there was a delayed response when the accelerator pedal was engaged. The failure recurred two times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the transmission clutch was replaced. The vehicle was not repaired for most recent failure. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Crown Point , IN, USA

problem #66

Jan 152015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 55,456 miles
I bought a 2012 Ford Fiesta and had the transmission sensor replaced under factory warranty. Did not drive the car 5000 miles and the trans sensor messed up again causing the transmission to not shift out of first and second gear without hesitation and vibrations. Shifts fine from second on! per the dealer they stated this is a huge issue with Fiestas and focuses from 2010 and up!

- Johnson City , TN, USA

problem #65

May 072014

Fiesta

  • 24,000 miles
Car shakes and it feels like the tires skip. It happens mostly when the car is warm and I'm going around a corner. Has been to the dealer several times for the same thing.they replaced the clutch and did other things but it keeps happening. It is currently at the dealers (rochester Indiana Ford)again for the same problem. This last time I was driving on ice and the car started shaking.I lost control and went up a curb. I popped the tire. I could have killed someone if they were standing there.it was very scary and I'm afraid to drive this car again knowing it's not safe.

- Rochester, IN, USA

problem #64

Jul 212014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 53,160 miles
The vehicle had an abnormal idle while at a stop, and would sometimes stall. Upon acceleration the vehicle would hesitate and jerk forward. I took the vehicle to the dealership to rectify the issue. I was told that the mechanic cleared the code for the check engine light, but the internal wiring harness needed to be replaced, on a car that was a little over 2 years old. The internal wiring harness was not covered under any type of warranty. The repair was completed at a cost to me of $245.99. Less than 2 months later, the vehicle was having the same issues, abnormal idle, stalling, and hesitant and jerky accelerating. Again, I took the car back to the dealership for repair. This time the dealership replaced the transmission and clutch front seals, input seals, and axles seals, changed transmission fluid, added 2 quarts of transmission dual clutch transmission fluid. This repair was covered under the Ford 5 year, 60,000 mile power train warranty. About 5 weeks later I was still having the same issues, abnormal idle, hesitant and jerky acceleration. Again, I took my car to the dealership. This time I was told that the throttle body was bad and needed to be replaced. With no choice, I need to get to work, I told them to go ahead with the repair which once again was not covered under any type of warranty. The total for this repair cost me $720.26. In less than 3 years I have had to go to the dealership for major repairs 3 times and spent just under $1,000, plus the inconvenience of rental cars, days off of work, and the general annoyance of knowing my new vehicle has major mechanical issues.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #63

Jan 012014

Fiesta

  • 4,500 miles
The transmission on the car will start giving out and when your trying to drive in road it will start to slow down. I have taken my car for service to Ford for the same reason and other repairs have been done to the car since I bought it brand new from Ford. I believe my car should be bought back I have to keep taking it to get work done on it.

- Adelanto, CA, USA

problem #62

Sep 022013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Shortly after purchasing my 2012 Ford Fiesta (new) in December, 2012, it began shuddering when changing between gears. It also made a "rattling" noise when accelerating or sometimes even when cruising at a steady speed. The first time I brought the car to the dealership, they kept it for a few days but told me they could not duplicate the problem. The second time I brought it (October, 2013, approximately 30,000 miles) they kept it for a week and told me there was something leaking on to the clutch and they fixed it. Now, at 57,000 miles, the car is shuddering worse than ever, particularly between first and second gears, and the rattling noise has gotten progressively worse. People riding with me constantly ask what in the world is wrong with my car. I finally brought it back to the dealership, where it has now been for two weeks. They've called twice - the first time to say that they were going to have to remove the entire transmission, so it would be a while longer before it was repaired. The second time was a week ago when they said Ford had something they wanted them to try (not sure what exactly it was). Have not heard from them since. I'm fearful that at less than 60,000 miles I'm going to have a vehicle that a) can never be fully repaired and B) is possibly unsafe. And certainly I'll never be able to sell it or get any money for it, who wants to purchase a used vehicle that has a reputation for so many problems, as both the Fiesta and the Focus do.

- Lexington, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?