10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,545 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Fiesta drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Fiesta:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Fiesta Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Apr 062015

Fiesta

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When putting the car into reverse it would grind and kick it into netural, shifting to 2nd to 3rd the stick shift woild make me go to 5th instead then go back to 3rd. Jerking when turning at an intersection making it difficult to make a safe turn.

- Mt. Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #35

Oct 032014

Fiesta

  • 36,000 miles
While driving my clutch slips giving a shutter feeling and causing my car to feel as if it will stop. It also, at times, makes a banging sound and it momentarily will stop. Ford has been told of these conditions but still has not fixed the conditions after taking it into the service department on 3 different occasions. I am afraid I will be driving down the road and it will cause me to wreck.

- Piqua, OH, USA

problem #34

Sep 012014

Fiesta

  • 4,000 miles
Upon acceleration, the car shutters and there is a brief hesitation. On going with three reprogramming. Name: [xxx] phone: [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Southport, NC, USA

problem #33

Oct 092014

Fiesta

  • 7,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On October 9th 2014, my new Ford Fiesta at 7500 miles began shuttering violently at low speeds. It jerked the car backward when trying to drive in reverse, and it jerked the vehicle forward when taking off at a safe and normal acceleration from a red light. It felt like the transmission was about to fall out from underneath the vehicle. My mother and girlfriend were in the vehicle while I was driving and this incident presented a great safety concern. Due to being in the military, I had to wait until the first week of December 2014 to take my car to Ford. They tested the vehicle and said that they recognized the shudder I complained about and they reset the computer in the vehicle. On the report they said the vehicle was in factory specs, so as a result of that report, they didn't order new clutches and seals which was explained to me that those new parts would fix the problem. Instead they just did a temporary fix by resetting the computer in order to get me out the door. I picked up the car December 5th 2014 and 6 days later the shudder returned. Now I have another appointment to bring the vehicle in to a Ford dealership on Monday March 30th 2015 and the agent there said that if the test comes back that the car is in factory specs they wont make any repairs on the vehicle and call me to pick up my broken vehicle. This will result in me driving a safety hazard vehicle that I still owe $17,000 on with no repairs being done to fix the problem. I need help! please NHTSA listen to the thousands of complaints and safety concerns and make Ford have a recall for these transmissions. Mine and thousands of others lives could depend on it. Thank you for your time.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #32

Mar 142014

Fiesta

  • 2,420 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Fiesta. The contact stated that the hard edge on the trim of the steering wheel would constantly cut the contact's hand. Also, the contact mentioned that the steering wheel would vibrate and a buzzing noise emitted from the steering column. In addition, the vehicle failed to shift when in reverse, the vehicle would grind and independently shift in to neutral. The traction control and hill assist also intermittently illuminate while driving. The vehicle was taken to two different dealer, on 5 separate occasions. The technician diagnosed that the power steering module, sensors, nvh tape, steering wheel, steering module, reprogrammed main computer, and air bags were all replaced. A Ford engineer was contacted to diagnose the cause of all these failures. However, all failures except the traction control and hill assist light were not rectified. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 2,420.

- Grand Island, FL, USA

problem #31

Mar 072015

Fiesta

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Fiesta. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle jerked and the gears shifted automatically without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- El Prado , NM, USA

problem #30

Mar 082015

Fiesta

  • 35,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission shifts hard and rattles the car. Also causing wheel spin when shifting.

- Middleburg Heights, OH, USA

problem #29

Apr 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
2014 Ford Fiesta SE with about 15,000 miles started having shuttering problems that are extremely violent and could cause loss of control and is thought to be a safety concern to driver and others on road. I have owns this car since brand new from the dealership. I started having problems with the powertrain around 14000 miles. The problem is a severe shutter problem when you accelerate. The only way to stop this problem when it is happening is to let the gas pedal out of give it a lot more gas. This can happen at any speed from 5 mph to 50 mph that I have experienced it. The shutter jerks the driver forward and backward very forcefully. I took the car in under warranty and was told that the this is normal and sent back home. At 15000 miles I took the car in and they said the dual clutch seal was leaking and therefore ruined the clutch. They replaced all parts and called to say it was complete. They left voicemail, and when I called dealership back they said the new parts had broke while on the test drive and they had to order exact parts again. Dealership took another few days to fix and then I received the car. Now Feb 2015 car is doing exact same thing and has 24000 miles on. The shuttering is a safety concern as it could result in my wife or I loosing control of the vehicle when it does this at high speed. I do not understand how this does not cause a safety violation? thanks for your time.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #28

Nov 052014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 15,878 miles
Vehicle exhibits a constant shuttering/jarring effect from the transmission while under acceleration and during shifts. Vehicle transmission issue causes intermittent acceleration which results could cause an accident. Vehicle has been entered for service on 2 separate occasions for this issue, and has yet be resolved.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #27

Jan 262015

Fiesta

  • miles
2014 Ford Fiesta auto with 4982 has developed a serious juddering and loss of power when moving away from stand still or accelerating at low speed. This has caused problems entering major roads and on testing the problem I had to move over quickly to a side turn to prevent an 18 wheeler running in the back of the Fiesta. Moving off forward is very jerky and reversing has the same problem. This seriously affects the ability to drive this vehicle safely and in less experienced hands will lead to serious accidents. I have many years experience in motor sport, road testing vehicles and have passed the institute of advanced motorists in the uk, one of the most difficult driving tests in the world today. The Ford Fiesta in question is used on the roads of Florida usa in my opinion there should be a major recall before there is a fatality.

- Eustis, FL, USA

problem #26

Sep 202014

Fiesta

  • 7,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While at a stop light and attempting to accelerate the car hesitated and did a jumping like shudder/shaking. It stopped after the car was just above the 20 mph mark. Since it did not happened again for a few weeks did not take it into consideration, and did not attempt to take it to the dealer. Most of the times they tell you the hesitation and shaking need to be present when the inspect the vehicle to determine the cause of it. I was researching some tsb# and found out this shaking and hesitation was a more serious problem that we (my spouse and I) thought and wanted to file a complaint about this.

- Imperial Beach , CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 152015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 33,274 miles
Since I purchased the vehicle in September 2013 I have been having issues with the vehicle accelerating, stalling, and jerking forward. On Thursday, January 15, 2015 at 8:00 pm I was driving and the engine light randomly turns on and the vehicle clicks on and off, the vehicle stalls and I almost hit the car in front of me. There have been several instances where I almost got into car accidents because of the transmission on this vehicle. Currently going back and forth with the dealer every time who states a certain amount of variation such as shuddering and jerking is normal with these transmissions however this car is not safe. I can only hope that enough people will complain where something will be done soon to get these cars into operable driving conditions.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #24

Jan 052015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 8,037 miles
Bought car on June 1 2014. Transmission shutters (slips) from 1st to 3rd gear. Try to accelerate and it shutters (slips) from gear to gear. Could be a safety issue as going into traffic or a light it hesitates which could lead to an accident. After reading articles on this issue with the transmission (Fiesta's & Focus's) this should be looked into as a safety issue by the NHTSA. Ford seems to not know how to fix correctly. Adjust computer, put new clutch pads on, etc. Seems no clear fix to problem. I feel this should be considered for a recall.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #23

Dec 212013

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 3,527 miles
I've brought the vehicle to Ford dealership service departments several times now for the same transmission shuddering and slipping issue. When taking delivery of the vehicle, and on every subsequent visit to a service department, I was warned that the powershift 6-speed automated manual transmission requires a "break-in" period of several thousand miles and that I may notice harsh shifting or noises. In reality, the transmission hasn't ever functioned correctly, and on each dealership trip, a lets-try-the-next-step approach is taken. First a engine malfunction indicator lamp was cleared for a known firmware bug in the transmission control module (tcm), for a problem whose fix was not yet released by Ford. Next, the tcm was updated. Driveability improved for a while but then degraded again, getting worse day by day. Next, the tcm couldn't be updated (it was already up to date) so a new clutch assembly was ordered. Finally, the clutch assembly was replaced, but not the transmission intake seals because they were brown (latest spec?). it has only been a few days since the most recent repair (clutch replacement) but the dealership advised that the new clutches will eventually fail in exactly the same way as Ford has not yet corrected the underlying issue. When the vehicle shudders during acceleration, there is an increased risk of an accident from oncoming cars (while making a left turn) or from cars behind me.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #22

Jan 082015

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 8,713 miles
When the car is stopped in traffic and I push the pedal to accelerate and there is a delayed reaction. When the car finally does accelerate, it does it in a "hopping" motion. When the car gets up to 20mph, it starts shaking and doesn't stop until I accelerate even further. Sometimes the car has acceleration problems at higher speeds, but most frequently has acceleration problems at lower speeds. It feels like the transmission is slipping and sometimes the car is jerky while driving.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #21

Dec 232014

Fiesta

  • 12,400 miles
I purchased a 2014 Ford Fiesta in May 2014. In December 2014, the vehicle began exhibiting significant shuddering and would slip out of gear when accelerating from low speeds and from a complete stop. When I contacted the Ford dealership for assistance, they did not seem concerned and offered to schedule an appointment for a month later. I am currently waiting for that appointment. Internet research has shown that this is apparently a common problem with this vehicle, which needs to be addressed by Ford asap.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #20

Dec 012014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 9,680 miles
I have been taking off after stopping and the transmission or fuel injection misses causing the vehicle to not engage the drive train just right. The vehicle hesitates, lurches, and shutters. The vibration is bad and I'm worried if I take off from a stop light or sign, the vehicle does not engage the drive train, I might be hit by another vehicle because I cannot get the vehicle out of the path of traffic due to the hesitation. This is a very serious safety issue and something must be done to correct the problem.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #19

Nov 172014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 18,500 miles
Transmission shudders going into gears. It shudders going from 2nd to 3rd and then 3rd to 4th. When if finally goes into 4th gear it lurches. Transmission will also shudder while cruising at low speeds of 10 to 15 mph and if braking then accelerating suddenly. When I finally took it into the dealership, it was slipping in and out of gear.

- Etiwanda, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 062014

Fiesta 4-cyl

  • 6,780 miles
When we take off from a stop sign. The car stutters, loses power like it is going to stall. Has a roll back issue from a stop on a hill. My biggest problem if I am entering an intersection and someone were to run a stop sign I have no ability to step on the gas and get my car out of the way. Has the stutter between the gears in the lower range. I had it into the Ford dealer and he said they get 10 to 15 complaints a day on this problem. And they know it is there but can not do anything because Ford is telling them it is ok. I have wrote to Ford vie E mail and they are not responding. I would give up the so call extra mileage it is supposed to create for a safe vehicle to drive.

- North Ridgeville , OH, USA

problem #17

Mar 142014

Fiesta

  • miles
The vehicle hesitates, grinds and jumps whenever you press on the gas to accelerate. Sometimes the car will jump and just slow down even if my foot is all the way to the ground with the pedal. The transmission is the issue since I have taken it to Ford numerous times and every time the tell me the "grinding, jumping, hesitation is normal for an automatic/manual transmission". apparently this is new for Ford as they have what they call an automatic/manual transmission. Meaning the car drives like it would be a stick shift but automatically does it. It is unsafe! sometimes the jerking is so bad my head will jerk!! I feel like I was ripped off with this car and am so mad that I made this purchase!

- Glenside, PA, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?