Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,767 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Five Hundred engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Jul 262011

Five Hundred

  • 87,000 miles


Car has a problem with throttlebody that causes safety concerns with stopping the car. Car lunges forward causing near accidents as a result of this common issue. This problem is referenced by many people at the following location which explains further the issue and why this needs to be a recall:

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #33

Jul 122011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 160,500 miles
Throttle body bad all most had wreck car would not go just idled.

- Blytheville, AR, USA

problem #32

Jul 202011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 77,778 miles
Backing out of the driveway in a 2005 Ford 500 AWD, car stumbles then launched backward violently. Luckily I had my foot on the brake or the car would have kept going. "failsafe engine mode" appears on the dashboard. This has happened several times before. Should be a recall on this car.

- Darien, IL, USA

problem #31

Jul 112011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 70,258 miles


The vehicle in question was idling in park. Vehicle was shifted into reverse with the foot on the brake. Once foot was released from the brake the car lunged backward, the tachometer read about 3000 RPM, with no pressure on the gas pedal. Just as quickly pressure was applied to the brake and the car entered "engine failsafe mode" and shut down. Turning the vehicle off and restarting would clear the problem. This has happened 4 more times since the reported incident date, all with the same circumstances. The vehicle had the A/C on and was idling in approximately 90 degree Fahrenheit temperatures with +50% relative humidity.

- Woodridge, IL, USA

problem #30

Jun 012011

Five Hundred

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle would surge forward without warning when attemping to shift gears. The failure occurred whether the vehicle was in drive or reverse. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer had not been notified of the failure. No repairs were performed. The approximate failure was 106,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

- South Port, NC, USA

problem #29

Jun 292011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 94,400 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While attempting to park, the contact stated that the vehicle surged forward. The failure recurred when the air conditioner was activated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician advised that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 94,400. Updated 09/08/11 updated evoq 12/01/11 updated 2/9/12

- Elkton, FL, USA

problem #28

May 202011

Five Hundred

  • 195,000 miles


When stopped at a light or when putting into gear the car will rev real high lunge forward and sometimes die. Then go into "engine fail safe mode" I believe there are others with this same problem if you look at this site ( you will see everyone on there is there to discuss this issue.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #27

Jul 072010

Five Hundred

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that when starting her vehicle and placing her foot on the brake pedal, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the RPM's increased. She was able to stop the vehicle forcefully by depressing the brake pedal. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised her that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Within a year she experienced the identical failure. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who advised her that the transmission failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified offered her no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.

- Maumelle , AR, USA

problem #26

Jun 122010

Five Hundred

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated the rpms increased when the brakes were applied in order to stop the vehicle and when they shifted in reverse gear. The vehicle would occasionally default into an engine fail safe mode when the failure occurred. The fail safe mode was dangerous because the vehicle would suddenly stop moving. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told the throttle body needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 88,000.

- Pangeurn, AR, USA

problem #25

May 162011

Five Hundred

  • 61,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the check engine light would illuminate on the instrument panel and the vehicle would begin to decelerate. Whenever the failure occurred, the vehicle would be moved to the shoulder and shut off. After repeated restarts, the vehicle would operate as normal. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where the contact was informed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,200.

- Crossvillve, TN, USA

problem #24

Apr 152011

Five Hundred

  • 82,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While the brake pedal was depressed the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact shifted into reverse gear, the vehicle accelerated backwards and stalled. The failure occurred approximately four times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the repairs would not be covered under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Canton, MS, USA

problem #23

Jan 132007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • miles
I just read a report that you were investigating cases of unexpected lunging in 2005-2007 Ford freestyle wagons. I own a 2005 Ford Five hundred and I have had that same situation happen to me on random occasions. I have entered a randomly chosen date below because this has happened only a few times over the last six years.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #22

Jul 232010

Five Hundred

  • 104,361 miles
Defective electronic throttle body (etb) on 2005 Ford 500, freestyle, and Mercury montego. Causes car to move forward or backward in drive or reverse without using any pressure on the gas pedal. Must place foot on the brake to avoid running into something, especially while parking. Ford has a technical service bulletin (tsb 05-25-13) on this but has not notified any owners of vehicles affected to date. It appears that Ford has come up with a new replacement part for the etb unlike the original that was just made available in July 2010. I paid a local Ford dealer $128.08 to have this problem diagnosed and another $615.83 to have it fixed. I was told the etb part number was "5F9Z-9E926-aa". another number for the new etb part on my sales slip dated 07/30/10 was fmc 6F9Z 9E926 a. they called it a kit for the electronic throttle body. The price for the kit was $495.86. Since I have heard of this problem coming up on more than one occasion, I thought I would turn it in for your investigation. Since the affect of the defective etb actually can cause the car to move on its own, forward or reverse, and requires you to use your brakes simultaneously to keep it from hitting adjoining objects, I thought this is a safety hazard that should be addressed on several Ford and Mercury 2005 products, it is not the money, it is the safety issue I am most interested in. To parallel park or get into a parking stall with this problem was a real chore keeping you foot on the brake as you tried to maneuver in and out of a parking space. If you did not hold your foot on the brake, the car would move in its own either in drive or reverse. This is not acceptable and a true safety hazard, but I have not seen the problem on the recall lists for my car or others affected in the Ford tsb. Nor have auto owners been notified by Ford or offered compensation for the expense to have the kit installed.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #21

Jan 272011

Five Hundred

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact noticed that the vehicle would violently jerk and surge intermittently. Also, the throttle body assembly would intermittently become stuck in the open throttle position. The dealer was notified of the failure who informed the contact that there were no related recalls. The contact did not inform the manufacturer of the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where a diagnostic test was performed which concluded that the throttle bottle module would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The current and failure mileage was approximately 79,000.

- Port Washington, WI, USA

problem #20

Dec 072010

Five Hundred

  • 103,000 miles
As I was slowing to turn off of a state highway, my car shut off and displayed a message that said "failsafe engine mode." I was somewhat able to steer, so I completed my turn onto a side street, where the car drifted to a stop. I was able to restart the car and drive home. The next morning, the car would start but immediately shut off, displaying the same error message. I had it towed to a garage, which indicated that the diagnostic test revealed a failed electronic throttle body. They ordered a replacement part, which was then installed. Incidentally, the part had since been redesigned by Ford. Once that part was reinstalled, the computer was reflashed to "learn" that a new throttle body assembly was installed. The computer would not learn the new part, though, so a new computer had to be ordered and installed. Over the last five years, this same problem (shutting off while driving) had occurred, but in each case I was able to restart the car without any further problem. This was dangerous in that my car simply shut off while I was driving, making a left turn across oncoming traffic. Fortunately nobody was coming the other direction, so I was able to safely drift through the oncoming lane to another side street. Also, it is important to note that while my car was at the dealership having the throttle body replaced, I was told that there were approximately five other Ford Five hundred vehicles in the shop at the same time for the same problem with their electronic throttles as well.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 042010

Five Hundred

  • 51,000 miles
My 2005 Ford 500 has a fail safe mode that comes on with a wrench symbol on the dash. When this occurs the car accelerates quickly and jumps while my foot is on the brake. The car still goes while hold the brakes down. This occurs to my vehicle every year. It is happening to my car again and I have to pay for the repairs. I feel this is a safety issue and the consumer should not have continue to have to pay for this problem. It is very alarming when this occurs and you feel as if you have no control over your vehicle. This has occurred with my vehicle every year since I purchased it new and I am very lucky that when it happened I did not have a vehicle in front of me. I love the Ford 500 but this is a scary thing when it happens.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #18

Jul 032010

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Ford Five hundred. Consumer states problem regarding dangerous and potentially lethal failure mode the consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration while in reverse gear. While backing out slowly, the vehicle suddenly accelerated on its own. A considerable amount of force had to be applied to the brake in order to stop the vehicle. The incident occurred on four other occasions. A computer diagnostics revealed no anomalies except for an inlet airflow disturbance attributed to a distorted filter. The filter was replaced and normal airflow was restored.

- Cedar City, UT, USA

problem #17

Aug 232010

Five Hundred

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While driving 40 to 45 mph the throttle body failed. The vehicle began to hesitate, lunge forward and would not move normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced, but the parts were on back order and would also cost $400 to repair. The Ford manufacturer was not contacted. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Pembrooke Pines, FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 272010

Five Hundred

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. The contact was reversing at an unknown low speed when the vehicle abnormally accelerated backward until pressure was applied to the brake pedal. The failure became an intermittent failure and the vehicle was never taken to have the failure diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 63,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #15

Aug 112010

Five Hundred

  • miles
When driving at slow speeds or accelerating from a stopped position, car will lurch forward, then stall. Check engine light, "fail safe engine mode", and lighted yellow wrench indicator light appears in dashboard. Turning off the car and restarting will help sometimes.

- Elmwood, WI, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?