Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,973 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Five Hundred transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Mar 012008

Five Hundred

  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle slipped out of gear and the RPM's increased. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not provide a remedy. The contact feels that a crash could occur due to the over acceleration. The current mileage was 120,000 and failure mileage was 60,000.

- Saint Augustine, FL, USA

problem #18

Apr 192009

Five Hundred

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While placing the vehicle into park, the contact noticed a loud whining noise coming from the engine. When placing the vehicle into reverse, she heard a loud noise coming from the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they determined that the transmission was failing. The repair could cost up to $5,100. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that no compensation would be provided because her vehicle was not under warranty. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 44,000 and current mileage was 48,000.

- King Of Prussia, PA, USA

problem #17

May 162009

Five Hundred

  • 62,500 miles
The awf21 transmission on my 2005 Ford Five hundred is "bucking" on downshifting and up shifting after it is warmed up and driven for about 35-45 minutes. This is dangerous and causes confusion to the other drivers in my family. This has been occurring on and off for about 30 days.

- Mansfield Center, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 192009

Five Hundred

  • 76,000 miles


When the car is very warm (start after a short time of being parked or 100+ degree day), when the transmission is shifted into drive or reverse, the engine revs to 1,500 RPM and the transmission engages making the car lurch forward, then stalls occasionally. The service indicator (wrench) light comes on and the engine operates in fail-safe mode. If this happens, then the car lurches when you let of the throttle (transmission "clunks"). turn the car off and let it sit until it cools and the service light turns off and the car drives normal again. It's a cvt transmission.

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #15

Nov 072008

Five Hundred

  • 25,000 miles
Hi I'm from Mexico and I got a problem with my Ford Five hundred 2005 transmission which I have read a lot of consumers also got, in fact I was on my way to the job (in the chaotic city of Mexico) when suddenly it began to jerk and then the car got no traction, I cant accelerate neither sustain velocity, fortunately the car that was behind me realize of my problem and aware the traffic to de-accelerate, after that I stop the car and see that it was spilling oil from the transmission. I turn it off and restart the engine but the car still does not move by itself so I wait for the wrecking crane to take the car with the dealer. What impressed me is that the car only got 25,000 miles and it was spilling oil. The told me that the transmission must be changed, but my warranty run out on January and the change of will have a cost of 10,000 us dollars. I'm writing to you to check with Ford this problems cause the lose the lose control of the engine and the jerk spilling oil will probably have caused an accident.

- Mexico, 00, USA

problem #14

Sep 012008

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. When driving above 50 mph, the vehicle shakes and experiences difficulty switching gears. The vehicle has not been diagnosed to determine the cause of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000. Updated 10/16/08 the consumer was informed there was a possibility there was some internal damage to the transmission. Updated 10/20/08.

- Lugoff, SC, USA

problem #13

Aug 012008

Five Hundred

  • 640,000 miles


For the past month or so my Ford Five hundred (2005 @ 64,000 Texas hwy miles) has been shifting hard and changing gears erratically, while making clunking noises. We took it to our repair shop and they were mystified so they sent it to their transmission specialty shop. It turns out that they have another Five hundred in the shop getting its transmission replaced because of the same problems. We just had the transmission flushed and oil changed but that did not help. The transmission shop contacted the Ford dealer service center and they gave them the codes to ┐flash┐ the newest codes into the transmission & throttle computers. No change. They tested new transmission modules with no change. So now they say they have to change out the transmission @ $4,300. This is not good! the transmission specialist says this is the 4th Five hundred he has had this problem with and that they cannot get parts to repair the transmission so they have no other option but to replace it. I contacted my Ford dealer and they also say they cannot get parts for the transmission. Tomorrow I am going to the big guys at Ford and get an answer from them about what is going on.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #12

Oct 252005

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Five hundred. While approaching a stop sign, the vehicle would no longer go forward. The vehicle would only move in reverse. The contact was close to her residence and drove there in reverse. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they checked the fluid levels and the transmission light. A diagnostic was performed and the PCM and tcm were reprogrammed. In April of 2008, the vehicle hesitated and the check engine light illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a service center for another diagnostic and was charged over $500. The current mileage was approximately 17,000 and failure mileage was approximately 4,000. Updated 07/15/08. Updated 07/15/08

- Newtown Square, PA, USA

problem #11

Nov 112007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,016 miles
Driving at approximately 40-45 miles per hour a loud noise emanated from the bottom of the car, engine rpms raced from 1500 to 4500, a clattering noise followed sounding like a metal spoon dropped into a running garbage disposal, car dramatically slowed complete loss of acceleration control, steering control uncertain as car wandered. No unusual events occurred prior to this incident, its occurrence came without warning and was totally unexpected. Event occurred on two lane rural road, vehicles following and oncoming had to take evasive action but no collision occurred. Passengers stranded. Vehicle towed to dealership. Right axle shaft broken in half. Right axle carrier bearing broken transmission and splines damaged. Old parts are available. Axle shaft and carrier bearing were replaced and transmission splines filed down.

- Fenwick Island, DE, USA

problem #10

Aug 212007

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Car randomly stalls. On occasions when the accelerator is depressed the car does not move it stutters, I even tried to depress the gas pedal to the floor and still nothing. I have taken my car to the local Ford dealer for service. The only thing that I was told "the computer chip in the transmission needed updated." Ok this hasn't corrected my problem. I am afraid that this could cause me to get into an accident. I have two small children, I hope that they are not in the car when it happens. I am assumely that the reason this hasn't been recalled yet, is because Ford doesn't have a repair for this. Besides the obvious, replacing the transmission. Please look into this. You may need to drive one, I will let you use mine. Just so this gets taken care of.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 222006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles


Purchased Ford Five hundred in February 2006, an sel automatic. Around 15,000 miles began noticing transmission issues, mostly hesitation when shifting into gear. First major incident occurred Oct. 22, 2006 while traveling at 65 miles per hour on the freeway, engine revved while pressing the gas pedal but vehicle slowed as if it was in neutral. Then it punched violently and resumed driving normally. We pulled over thinking something major was wrong with the vehicle. We began our journey again and had several incidents of minor punching of the transmission, like it was slipping out of gear and going back in again. After we returned home, these problems were very intermittent. About 2 weeks later while driving on the freeway, the vehicle slipped out of gear and almost came to a complete stop before re-engaging. We brought it to the Ford dealer the second week in November. They said they could not duplicate the issue, however they said there was a computer technician log that suggested a reset. They reset the computer, changed the oil, checked the transmission fluid, etc. A few days later the transmission was back to slipping intermittently. On November 20, 2006, the severe punching began again, so bad this time the vehicle almost came to a complete stop. We had to shift the gear into 2nd before it engaged and we were able to accelerate. Since we were on vacation, we had to continue on our trip with the transmission slipping in and out of gear. When we returned from our trip, back to the Ford dealer we went. We took the transmission technician guy for a test drive and luckily we were able to duplicate the problem. He was amazed, hadn't seen anything like it before. He talked to other transmission tech's who were stumped by the problem, too. He ended up calling Ford headquarters and spoke with the engineers. They decided a complete replacement of the transmission was in order because they weren't sure what was causing the problem.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 072006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
2005 fore Five hundred- the following problems have occurred; 1)four times the check transmission light has come on, and car then was unable to drive faster than 40 mph. Each time car was brought to the dealership for repairs, including replacing modules and the trans axle pan. Currently the car at the dealership for this problem. 2) on two separate occasions driver's side front window would go to the down position when the button was pressed for the up position. The window motor and harness were replaced after the first incident. Currently at dealership for this problem also.

- Monmouth Junction, NJ, USA

problem #7

Sep 222006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Brand new 2005 Ford 500 purchased on September 24 2005 began at 15000 miles with brake problems. Same problem occurred at 30,000 miles. My job is 100% sales and my car is my only revenue provider. At 35,000 car showing problems when hitting the gas, it would not run. At 39,000 miles an electric short circuit. At 39,000 I asked the dealer to recheck the whole car that it was showing transmission and brake problems. At 43,000 miles now is sitting in the Ford dealer where I purchased at since last Friday Sept 22,2006. The Ford dealer mechanical director was inside the car and me test driving it, and could not believe the problems with the transmission. His words were' if this was my car I would not be sitting in it, it's a risk to anyone's life" today, Ford informed me that they have to bring the transmission down and open it. They ask me every time to sign in acceptance they will pay for everything. It is being reported to Consumer Affairs department tomorrow, I have notified the bank who gave me the loan. This does not include all the car rental expenditures I've had to incur in addition to constant repairs prior to car reaching 1 year.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #6

Jan 092006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,060 miles
On the two occasions that we had snow this past winter, my Ford 500 began to surge uncontrollably and the engine failure light came on when accelerating. It became necessary to pull to the side of the road and turn the vehicle ignition off. When I restarted, the trouble light was off and I continued my journey home. Within a few minutes the same problem occurred, engine failure light and the surging. Needless to say, it took quite awhile to get home. I brought the vehicle to an authorized Ford dealer the fist time and they could not find anything wrong. After the second snow storm, and the same symptoms, the dealer said the problem occurred because the filter was installed backwards. Somewhat skeptical, I accepted their explanation because of my good relationship with the dealer owner and service manager. While at work the other day, I noticed a co-worker with a similar type vehicle and inquired as to how she liked the Ford 500. Her response shocked me when she stated that she liked the vehicle, but had trouble this past winter in the snow. She described the same problem that I had experienced and now I wonder how many other 2005 Ford 500 owners have experienced the same problems. I am hoping that you will be able to assist me in determine the cause of this problem.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #5

May 012006

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,450 miles
: the contact stated while applying pressure to the accelerator pedal and the vehicle hesitated. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was contacted. Updated 05/30/06.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 282005

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,908 miles
Last Sunday the consumer discovered she had a flat tire. When she attempted to start the vehicle, the motor starting racing and making a loud noise like it was revving up. The transmission light came on. The consumer placed the vehicle in park then put it into drive and it would not move at all. The transmission would not engage. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer who could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. They think it was just a glitch.

- Gibsonia , PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 252005

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford 500 sel. The vehicle was made with a six speed automatic transmission. When going down hill it has a overdrive in the transmission. When the consumer removed his foot from the accelerator the vehicle began to speed up going down hill and if pressing the brakes for a long distance, the brakes will get hot. Manufacturer told him that this was the way the vehicle was designed. The contact felt that there should be some way to turn the overdrive off. He owned other Ford vehicles that had the option to turn the overdrive off.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #2

Aug 022005

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford 500 sedan did not have an intermediate or second gear for gearing down to going down mountains. This was a safety issue, and needed to be brought to Ford's attention.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #1

Jan 172005

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 560 miles
Vehichle constantly shifting. "searches" for for correct gear. Had computer replaced and a week later reoccurred. Reprogrammed computer again and reoccurred. Ford unable to repair. Losing 6-8 mpg.

- Ashland, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?