Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,765 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Five Hundred engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Five Hundred:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Five Hundred Owner Comments

problem #15

Jun 062009

Five Hundred

  • 13,637 miles


Since 2009 my Ford 500 has had issues with no A/C and surging. They could not figure out what was going on (Ford) and eventually found it to supposedly be the throttle body assembly. After that was "fixed" the car did not surge but the A/C would not work when the car was idle in warm weather. I've taken the car back at least a dozen + times with this issue. Now the car is beginning to surge again too... it happened twice, not always but it happens... it is quite scary when there is a car in front of me and I am at a traffic light or sign and the car surges forward - I have called Ford Motor Co numerous times and taken it to my Ford dealer.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #14

May 212014

Five Hundred

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle was stalling out finally quit, had it towed to a Ford dealer, was advise that the throttlebody had shorted out. They say it is not covered under the warranty. The engine was replace by the Ford dealership due to a manufacture defect 6 years ago. The vehicle has less that 50,000 miles on. What estimate cost of repairing is $970. We have an extended warranty coverage. But I think for should fix it without charge.

- Eagle Lake, FL, USA

problem #13

Dec 212012

Five Hundred

  • miles
2006 Ford Five hundred. Consumer writes in regards to engine idle RPM surges and unsatisfactory service at dealership. The consumer stated the surging happened intermittently. The dealer was unable to perform any repairs, as the vehicle did not exhibit the problem while the vehicle was in their possession. Updated 02/22/13. Updated 03/14/13.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #12

Feb 182012

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 171,064 miles


The vehicle will stall and jerk. The vehicle will lunge out even when the brake is pressed. It has done this in parking lots and while driving. This is dangerous as it almost caused an accident by jerking backward immediately when I shifted to reverse when I was in the parking lot- my foot was on the brake and the car still excelled.

- Country Club Hills, IL, USA

problem #11

Dec 212011

Five Hundred

  • 68,780 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning while driving 30 mph. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer or local mechanic for diagnosis or repairs. The failure mileage was 68,780.

- Hutto, TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 132011

Five Hundred

  • miles
Lately my 2006 Ford 500 has been acting up when I start it...some days it starts just fine, other days it won't start. It doesn't matter the temperature outside either, it may start in the morning & then when it's time to head home after work it won't start or vice versa. The days it won't start the only way I've found to get it to start (without jumping it) is to turn & hold the ignition key all the way down when I'm starting it & give it gas. Took it to the dealer this morning (11/23/11) to find out the problem. We were thinking possibly the starter was needing replaced...we were wrong. The problem is that the throttle body isn't working properly & needs well as doing an induction service to flush out the carbon build up. This is going to cost almost $1,000 to fix. Are you kidding me?? merry christmas to us!! after receiving the call from the dealer's service dept we did a search online & come to find out that this "throttle body problem" is common in this car. Though when we brought it to the service person's attention & questioned them about it they couldn't/wouldn't answer if this was true. Not sure but maybe there hasn't been enough problems reported to have a recall...but with all the same issues that I've found online it makes me wonder. We've already replaced the transmission maybe 2 years after we bought the car..thankfully that was still under warranty. What else can go wrong with this car!! we have been faithful Ford car buyers..however this 500 has turned us off from ever buying another Ford vehicle again.

- Louisville, OH, USA

problem #9

Oct 192011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 74,500 miles


Ford 500 lurches severely at random times while the engine is engaged. This happens most dangerously at high speeds, due to driver's inability to control vehicle adequately to defend against potential crashes or control speed during turns. This has caused problems on the snow and ice here in Alaska because uncontrolled acceleration reduces traction. Also occurs at low speeds, which is more easily controlled through braking, but requires extreme caution if engaging vehicle when pedestrians or other vehicles are near. It has surprised and scared me on many occasions since I first purchased this car a month ago, but the reason I am writing this is because I had a scary incident today when pulling out of a grocery store parking lot (pedestrians in front of me when it suddenly jumped as soon as engine engaged). Took it to the mechanic and diagnostic check says issues with fuel delivery system. The mechanic stated that after researching the issue this is a very common problem for this model and that it is most likely the throttle body, and says the car should not be driven in its condition. It is one of the scariest issues I've ever had to deal with. After reading more about it on the internet this evening it seems that this issue is very common and hundreds of people have had similar scary incidents with this car that they have reported online. If this many people are writing about it online, presumably there are thousands more who are having the same problem and do not have the resources or know how to report the issue.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #8

Nov 072011

Five Hundred

  • 137,000 miles
Cruising approx 65 mph. I heard a thud (like running over a pot hole). The car lurched fwd then seemed to shut off, however it was still running. The RPM dropped below 1000 and the throttle would not work. Placed car in neutral and moved to the side of the road. Noticed the wrench lite was illuminated. Turned the car off and restarted. The car seemed to drive fine after that with no lite. Took the car to have the codes checked. Two codes showed: Throttle stuck closed and the throttle forced to idle (apparently a safety feature). Two days ago had to have the PCM and tcm updated and replaced the upper motor mount. From previous complaints there are several with the car taking off and a few of with my issue. All seemed to be attributed to the throttle body malfunctioning which is apparently the case here. Given the amount of complaints and issues concerning this item, surely there is a recall required. At the very least the manufacture should give us what we paid for the vehicle as credit toward another car (any make and model) if they are no going to fix the problem.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #7

May 202011

Five Hundred

  • 83,549 miles
5/20-7/18/11 car accelerated quickly and lurched backward with brake on while backing out of parking space; wrench light came on. Error codes were for alternative fuel control module and throttle actuator control system. Sometimes car lurched forward while braking, engine revved, car shuddered, and wrench and/or check engine light came on. Started happening almost daily. Very scary and unpredictable. Mass air flow sensor and egr valve were replaced. Had same issues 2 days later. Throttle body and vacuum hoses were replaced. Contacted Ford and they refused to cover parts and labor because car was no longer under warranty. Last repair was done 30 days ago and I've had no more problems, but it cost me $1600 to repair.

- Youngsville, LA, USA

problem #6

Jun 282011

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • 117,500 miles
A/C compressor failed, only worked when at highway speed. Per reputable A/C mechanic this is a problem with Ford 500's.called Ford Motor Company in detroit 7/13/11, Ford will not cover repair, but I was told there have been several incidents for A/C failure. Ford told me to keep my receipt in case Ford some day decides to cover it. Ford knows it has a problem, but not willing to cover it, until they are forced to cover it by NHTSA maybe?

- Ludlow Falls, OH, USA

problem #5

Jul 122011

Five Hundred

  • 58,000 miles


While running the air conditioner, then either briefly shutting off engine or idling in park or neutral, once the car is shifted into drive gear the engine accelerates on its own, foot break is on. Rpms increase for 3-4 seconds then go back down to normal. The car was unable to lurch forward only because I've had my foot on the break due to my shifting of gears (from park or neutral to drive). The first time this happened I only had the break pedal slightly depressed - car jumped forward - I fully depressed brake pedal to stop. Occurs intermittently but intensity of surge increasing. Yesterday had a much stronger surge in drive-thru, then car stalled. Was able to restart, engine light has remained on since yesterday's incident. Top motor mount damper (round rubber disk) is cracked thru as well, probably due to lurching.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #4

Mar 012011

Five Hundred

  • 56,138 miles
Dear sir, my car surges when you take it out of park with the brake applied and release the brake, it will surge either direction forward or reverse, reverse seems to be the most frequent, it does not surge every time about 5 out of 20 times. Very dangerous when trying to back out of parking spaces, Ford dealers said they could find no problem. The problem is very real..

- Monticello , KY, USA

problem #3

Jul 152010

Five Hundred 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Ford Five hundred. Consumer writes regarding premature pad and rotor wear the consumer stated she heard a grinding noise and/or dragging noise coming from the rear wheels. The left and right wheels needed new brakes and rotors. The consumer stated an extended warranty had been issued for the brakes in 2007, because Ford knew there was a problem. Also, the blower motor behind the glove box had to be replaced and the rear window defroster was defective and had to be replaced as well. The gasket between the crank shaft support housing was replaced.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #2

Jul 012010

Five Hundred

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Five hundred. When the contact attempted to stop the vehicle it began to lunge forward. Extreme pressure was applied to the brake pedal in order to keep the vehicle from surging forward. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the motor mounts and throttle body needed to be replaced. An authorized dealer informed her that this was very common failure among her year, make and model vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000 and the current mileage was 74,000. Updated 11/05/10.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #1

Jul 012010

Five Hundred

  • 42,300 miles
Purchased a Ford five-hundred brand new in 2006. At less than 45K miles the A/C no longer is functional, unless driven at higher speeds (such as the case on highways). I have had both low and high side pressure valves checked, thermostat replaced, and A/C unit flushed to no avail.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?