Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
113,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestar drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 6 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #110

Dec 302011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles


Was stalled out several times during the month of January and February of this year. It would just stop responding. It acted much like a transmission going out, but that was not the problem. After multiple towes and trips to the mechanic to attempt getting this vehicle repaired, it was determined that the PCM had gotten water inside and had to be replaced. I spent several thousand dollars trying to get this vehicle to run as well as it had before. Once the PCM issue was discovered, it did run much better, but by this time I had lost my faith in the vehicle. I cannot believe that Ford positioned a computer component where water would run down onto it, and they have not been forced to fix this issue. As a result of all of my problems with this vehicle, after many years of being a Ford owner, I sold this van and purchased a Chrysler Town & Country.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #109

Mar 122012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles
Ford recall safety notice 11S25/NHTSA recall 12V-006. Received letter dated March 2012 for the torque converter replacement parts available the second quarter, as of today, July 24, 2012 we have not heard anything from Ford about the parts being available.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #108

Jul 262011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 1 miles
The car lost power as I was trying to drive it. It took several seconds to go from 0 to 20mph. This is every day. Once it gets to 20mph the car drives normally. Also sometimes the car wont move when put in drive or reverse. I have to put it back in park, and then in drive or reverse for it to move. Also, when I stop at a stop sign or a red light, the car drives very slow until it reaches 20mph. My car is on recall but I was told by Ford that the part is not yet in stock. I have been waiting and having problems and spending money on this car since I purchased it. I've been waiting more than 8 months for the part from Ford. They say the car is not dangerous to drive. I disagree but I need my car for work. I feel that they should give me a replacement. I am still making payments. Updated 08-09-12 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. It has been traded in. Updated 08/09/2012

- Far Rockaway, NY, USA

problem #107

Jul 142012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles


This is an amendment to complaint #10465607 filed yesterday. I was informed today by my dealer, herlong Ford in edgefield, SC, that it is total transmission failure. They stated that they could not tell if the transmission failure is due to the recalled part unless they tear the transmission down completely. This tearing down would be at my expense along with the towing of my vehicle to their dealership from North augusta, SC where it stranded me. The only options I have is tear down and repair or trade. Neither of these options are good for us. We just purchased my husbands truck and we are on a tight budget. I guess we will have to be the ones to take the hit for something that is obvious to anyone who has researched it that Ford is at fault and should be held accountable. I have to have my van for work and personal use. I do not have another vehicle to go to work in. Ford should be made to replace these transmissions completely at their cost. These vehicles are a death trap waiting to happen. It should not take this long to get the repair parts to the dealers. If there is a class action lawsuit out there count us in!! I guess it will take someone dying before anyone makes Ford step up to the plate and be held accountable for their defective vehicles! I was a loyal Ford owner but I am seriously considering changing my preference. Ford do the right thing and help your loyal customers out that bought your vehicle to Transport their families in since you advertised it as a family van!! NHTSA needs to do something and fast or we are going to lose faith in the Agency to protect us and our families! this many powertrain and torque problems are not a fluke but a very serious problem that needs to be made right. It's not hard to research this year make and model to find hundreds of complaints regarding the minivans shutting down in the middle of traffic! please help us soon!!

- Edgefield, SC, USA

problem #106

Mar 172012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving my transmission is sticking and jerking. After it does that it shuts off in the middle of the road. A couple of months ago I took it to the dealer and they said it wasn't the recalled part and it cost me $800 to repair. Ever since then it has still been having little jerking and sticking issues. Today, July 13, 2012, it shut off again in the middle of one of the busiest intersections in North augusta, South Carolina just like the last time. This is the fourth time that I have almost been in a wreck in my minivan because it just shuts off without warning you. I think I have been patient enough waiting on recall parts for my van. Right now I wouldsay that my van is a hazard to drive. The not changing of gears can and has happened at a variety of speeds, even at 35. Everyone with this van should be put in a rental vehicle at the expense of Ford until repair parts are available. I need my vehicle for work and personal.

- Edgefield, SC, USA

problem #105

Jul 112011


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. While driving approximately 65 mph, the transmission began to hesitate in a jerking motion. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The failure had not been diagnosed. There was recall related to the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission:torque converter). The part was currently unavailable and has been for three months. The technician was unable to provide a date when the part would become available. An authorized dealer was unable to provide a date when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Annaopolis, MD, USA

problem #104

Jul 092012


  • 49,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission:torque converter). After the repair, the dealer only replaced five quarts of the transmission fluid instead of the full thirteen that were necessary. The contact expressed concern that this would lead to another torque converter failure. The contact also stated that due to the way the vehicle was repaired, it would need to be realigned. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #103

Jun 092012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I had gotten a letter from Ford Motor Co. Stating they were having problems with the tork converter and transmissions on my model car. I live 160 miles from a Ford dealer, but I was going into town to shop so thought I would stop in at kendall Ford and talk to them about it. They had no idea what I was talking about and looked it up on the computer, and there it was. They could not tell me much except it could go uot at any time with no notice. They also said that they could not even help me if it did. I was on my own. And it did, in the middle of rush hour traffic. It just stopped. I could have been hit and someone could have been hurt or even killed. A nice man helped me get it across 3 lanes of traffic, pushing by hand where I had to have it towed back to kendall Ford, I called brad, the man in charge to let him know it was there. To date, July 7, 2012 I finally got a call from them (had to bum a ride 160 miles home and have had no car since), they said the tork converter was so shot they wondered how I got that far (a little help from god). They also said that it would cost between 3 and $4,000 to repair the transmission. I nearly passed out. First put me in a car that could have killed me, then charge me more than the car is worth to fix it. I know for a fact that if the tork converter is not working properly neither will the transmission. I feel they should be responsible for the converter and the transmission for using cheep parts and putting our lives in danger.

- Glennallen, AK, USA

problem #102

Jul 032012


  • 102,586 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Torque converter) and took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. The contact stated that he believed that the torque convertor that was replaced under the recall was defective. The contact had not experienced any failures with the recently installed torque convertor. The vehicle was not taken to dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and offered a reimbursement for the previous repair or a second replacement of the torque converter under recall. The current and failure mileage was 102,586.

- Selma, NC, USA

problem #101

Nov 172010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
While on main highway traveling 55 mph transmission stopped working. Engine was running but when attempt to accelerate nothing happened, making for a very hazardous condition. Ford was notified of recall and sent letter in March 2012, saying condition would be completed by end of 2nd quarter of 2012, but they have not even started.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #100

Jun 192012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 90,100 miles


Was stopped at stop sign gave it gas to turn left loss power engine was running. Almost got hit by oncoming traffic was able to coast down hill no power in transmission. Checked fluid ok. Tried to put in reverse and drive nothing pushed to side of road. Very dangerous situation.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #99

Aug 182011


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and would not shift into drive or reverse. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who replaced the torque converter, the banner kit, and various other components. The torque converter was replaced at least three times. The manufacturer was notified and would not offer any assistance because the contact installed aftermarket products. The failure mileage was 110,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #98

Nov 152011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
ABS warning lamp comes on, as well as the powertrain malfunction warning lamp, speedometer fails to register.......was told at local Ford dealership that PCM/ cluster would have to be replaced at a cost of $800-$1200.....when problem began would do this upon cranking, and has gotten to the point that vehicle now has this happen while driving. Transaxle light is also illuminating.....which just discovered may be due to problems that are already covered in another recall.......very disappointed in our choice in this vehicle. After investigating this problem see that the design flaws in this vehicle should not be ignored, these system failures are of no fault of the owners and cause great safety concerns to the owners and passengers who have to depend on these vehicles on a daily basis.

- Chatsworth, GA, USA

problem #97

Mar 232010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 69,087 miles
Vehicle lost power while driving through a residential area going up a hill. I was able to coast backwards into a parking position -- vehicle would not go in forward or reverse. Vehicle had to be towed and transmission replaced.

- Orange, VA, USA

problem #96

Dec 122011


  • 89,000 miles
The vehicle first lost power at 50 mph beginning 12/12/2011. The vehicle would not accelerate above 50 mph. Two mechanics checked the vehicle and suspected a transmission torque converter problem or an ignition system coil firing problem. There was no other indication of a transmission problem so I had the ignition coil, wires and plugs replaced at a cost of $780 on 1/13/2012. The vehicle remained drivable with that service. On 2/24/2012 I was driving in normal in-town traffic. During a right hand turn in heavy traffic I lost all forward and reverse power in the transmission. I could not control the vehicle's forward or reverse power. This occurred in heavy traffic with no shoulder or driveway available. I was stranded in the right hand lane of traffic. I felt extremely unsafe, turned on the vehicle's hazard flashers and left the vehicle because I was concerned it would be hit and cause an accident, until the tow truck arrived. I had the vehicle towed to the shop which performed the earlier ignition repair who informed me the problem was an internal transmission problem they could not service. I then had the vehicle towed to a heavy mechanical shop which recommended a rebuilt transmission at a cost of $3,200. I then had the vehicle towed to a transmission shop which rebuilt the transmission on 2/24-4/1/2012 at a cost of $2,142. I received the safety recall notice 11S25 / NHTSA recall 12V-006 from Ford dated March 2012 on 4/2/2012, mailed on 3/29/2012. In addition to the danger and cost this defect caused me, I am unsure if the replacement transmission torque converter is any better than the original transmission torque converter, since Ford states in the safety recall notice that replacement parts are not currently available.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #95

Mar 292012


  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving on the highway, the vehicle emitted a loud noise. A local mechanic diagnosed that the vehicle would need a new transmission. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 106,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #94

Apr 032012


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000. The contact was then informed by the dealer that that the vehicle could not be repaired because the parts needed for repairs were not readily available and would not become available until June 2012. The contact was not pleased with the time expectancy of having the recall defect repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 80,000.

- Des Plains, IL, USA

problem #93

Sep 212011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 51,379 miles
On September 21, 2011 I noticed that my 2005 Ford Freestar was hesitating when I pulled out of a parking spot in front of my home. I was able to get to my final destination, a local supermarket, without incident but could tell that the car was not shifting gears as smoothly as I was accustomed to. On the return trip home, upon merging onto the expressway I typically take, my Freestar's engine began to sputter then immediately shut down. All power to the engine was lost. Power steering was lost as well making the car impossible to maneuver. The electrical system completely shut down and I was forced to come to a complete stop, shift into park and reengage the ignition. From that point on, until I arrived home, the Freestar would not shift beyond second gear. If I made an attempt to accelerate, again the engine would sputter and all power to the engine, power steering and electrical systems would shut down completely. I managed to get home that day by stopping and restarting my Freestar what I can only estimate to be 50 to 75 times. The most harrowing part of this experience was the lost of power and control without warning. Prior to this day, I had never experienced anything remotely like this with the Freestar, and then from one day to the next, I was helpless on the expressway expecting a fatal collision with an unsuspecting driver.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #92

Jan 242012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 71,900 miles
Was driving around 30mph then the RPM's went up to 5000 let off gas RPM slowley went down..2nd time it happened took it in they said it was a sensor "fixed" it...the 3rd time was going threw an intersection died on me in middle of intersection almost got smashed by oncoming traffic with my kids in the van...had it towed they could not find anything wrong....4th or 5th time was going to work got of highway rpms went up to 5000 and the van wont go no wheres reverse no drive just sits there sounding like [xxx]they way Ford made waiting on them to tell me whats wrong with it.... information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #91

Feb 192012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 59,983 miles
I have a 2005 Ford Freestar minivan that just turned 59,983 miles on it. Have had not issues with transmission and it had been driving just fine. Drove it all day Saturday with no issues - then on Sunday morning, when I went to take my daughter to work the car would not move when engaging it in reverse, drive etc. No warning at all... the transmission just went. Had it towed to my mechanic and he said it was the transmission and he advised me to look up to see if there were any recalls and sure enough there is. I had to pay to have it towed again to a family members house where it had been sitting as I don't have the $$$ to fix it. I am no happy with Ford. I will never purchase another Ford after this car. I just put close to $600 for 4 brand new tires in November - I hope these haven't been ruined! a family member recently found this site. I have been using a family members car to get to work, kids to school etc. Not happy at all with this situation!

- Salem, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?