Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,695 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestar transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 16 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #76

Aug 102009


  • 31,577 miles


The transmission on our 2005 Freestar will not engage either R, D, 3 or 1. there were no warnings whatsoever and the incident took place at a crossing which left my wife & my kids with no power to cross to the other side of the two lane road. This is a serious safety issue that most be address and corrected by the manufacturer.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #75

Jun 212009


  • 47,000 miles
I was driving my 2005 Ford Freestar when I pushed on the gas it would not accelerate it felt like the car was in neutral. Thank god my kids were not in the car at the time this is going to cause a serious accident or even a death due to this issue. It is scary when you go to merge onto the highway and you do not accelerate with cars coming up on you fast. I coasted off to the side of the road. My van has 47,000 miles on it and never had no problems not even gave any type of warning there was something wrong. Had it towed to bob townsend Ford on colerain ave. Cin, Ohio. They informed me that is was my torque converter and it was going to cost 1475 to fix it. Needless to say I am a mother of 4 kids and don't have that type of money at this time. I am trying to save to get it fixed. This happened on fathers day June 21,2009. Please help.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #74

Aug 052009


  • 53,000 miles
The transmission fail without warning. The engine revved up and the transmission was gone. Fortunately this happen at a very low speed in our residential neighborhood and the van was safely pulled to the side of the road. The van was towed to the Ford dealership and they said the torque converter output shaft had fail and the cost would be $1,900 to fix.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #73

Aug 052009


  • 92,000 miles


I have a 2005 Ford Freestar. The van stopped accelerating while driving at 70mph. I drifted off the side of the highway, and it would not move forward or backward. There was no warning sign of transmission problems prior to this incident.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #72

Dec 102007


  • 38,483 miles
We were driving down the interstate and preceding up a hill when the transmission completely disengaged. I was able to make it to the side of the road and get stopped. The transmission would not engage no matter what I tried. Every time I took my foot off the brake we would start rolling down hill. Had purchased extended warranty with Ford. Called the Ford hot line they sent a tow truck and I got a rental. Ford covered the repair and the rental. No warning just disengaged or broke, resulting in engine reviving and van slowing. Dangerous business on a busy interstate. 2005 Ford Freestar with 38,483 transmission replacement handled by Ford. Incident date 12/07. Have over 63000 miles on the van now without further incident.

- Stanardsville, VA, USA

problem #71

Aug 042009


  • 28,863 miles
Driving my 2005 Ford Freestar taking a right turn when suddenly lost all ability to go forward. Pulled over to the side of the road, engine would rev and idle, but no movement forward or back. Pushed car (in neutral) to a safer location and towed to dealer who has determined that the problem is the failure of the torque converter in the transmission. Estimated cost of $1400 to repair(warranty is expired), but may be more when they remove the transmission. No warning lights, no symptoms, just sudden failure to be able to move forward while driving. Luckily was not going very fast and was able to pull over relatively safely. Car is 4 years old and has just under 29,000 miles on it. Dealer says has not seen a lot of this problem but that they also do not get a lot of Freestars in for service at his dealership. Ford corporate had heard of the problem, I started to say torque problem and he corrected me to say it was the torque converter. Cannot believe with the issues found online regarding this that Ford won't do anything. This is a major safety issue. I cannot imagine how this would have turned out if I had been going any faster or on a busier street. My children were in the car with me. Luckily I was coming from a stop and making a turn, so could not have been going faster than a few mph. Ford implied to me that if I purchased the extended warranty on the car for an additional $1650 that they would maybe be willing to negotiate on the cost of the repair. We may have to buy it if this is going to be a repeat problem. Something needs to be done about this.

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #70

Nov 052007


  • 66,000 miles


Freestar problem while driving down seawall boulevard in galveston, tx late on the night of 11/5/2007 my 2005 Ford Freestar simply lost the power to move forward. The transmission was in drive and yet the car behaved as if it had been placed in neutral. I was able to coast to a stop alongside a business driveway and call for a tow. The car was towed to sand dollar Ford in galveston, Texas for repair. According to the repair bill, the torque converter was replaced and guaranteed for 12 months or 12,000 miles. It has since failed again (07/31/09).

- Texas City, TX, USA

problem #69

Feb 012009


  • 52,000 miles
I am an owner of 2005 Ford Freestar. While driving to work on morning, my van with approximately 52K miles on it stopped moving. It was like I hit the gearshift into neutral. After coasting into a parking lot and have my vehicle towed to the repair shop, I was told that it was a known Ford Freestar transmission issue. I contacted my Ford dealership who informed me that my vehicle was out of warranty. I have had a multitude of problems with this vehicle since the day after I purchased it, starting with heating/cooling issues to a leaking hatchback. My service, or lack of service, at the dealership is inexcusable. When I purchased the vehicle in 2005, I never imagined that I would be dumping thousands of dollars into it with only 50K miles.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #68

Jul 262009


  • 65,000 miles
Our 2005 Ford Freestar suddenly quit working on the highway July 26, 2009 with only 65,000 miles on it. It was in cruise control and the rpms started revving up but would no longer go forward or into reverse when we tried that. It is currently in the shop and we haven't had the complete diagnosis yet.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #67

Jun 032009


  • 64,500 miles
2005 Ford Freestar transmission died.

- Benton Harbor, MI, USA

problem #66

Jul 192009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 74,986 miles


I was driving my 2005 Ford Freestar SE w/3.9L V6 engine on mi hwy M-29 just North of algonac, Michigan. I was driving about 45 mph, and at one point, I was pressing the accelerator and the van was slowing down. I coasted over to the shoulder and stopped my Freestar safely, without any damage to property. I tried shifting into reverse, but no engagement of the transmission took place. There was also no engagement in forward gears 1 or 3. I was "found off road dead". :-) I had van towed home to saint clair shores (37 miles) at a cost of $50 to allstate road service and $116.25 out-of-my-pocket. I had my van towed again (covered under allstate's $50 limit) to my selling dealer, roy O'brien Ford, also in saint clair shores. I was informed late the next day that to diagnose the problem would cost $850. Then the tech gave more info to my service writer that he thought the torque converter splines were stripped. Revised estimate was $1525 to remove the transmission, pull the torque converter and replace same and reinstall the transmission. The transmission pan was "dropped' for examination, screen and gasket change, and new trans fluid was added to fill the system again. Actual outlay today was $1524.72. I had no warning that I was about to lose power to the wheels. I'm glad I was on a quiet semi-rural road with homes around. One homeowner checked on my wife and I to see if we were ok. He even offered to let me use his lavatory. At least there is some kindness left. The phone call to allstate was exasperating, as the call center staffer was using a paper map of Michigan and had no idea where we were. Being stuck on a Sunday evening after business hours could have been very eerie. Everything turned out ok, but at a substantial cost.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #65

Jun 122009


  • 62,144 miles
On 5/26/09 we took our 2005 Ford Freestar in for an oil change, fluid, belt and filter checks and front brakes. On 6/12/09 we left nw oh for Washington, D.C. we were 18 miles East of cumberland, md, on rt. 68, going downhill when the van suddenly and without warning, went out of gear. The tachometer raced as if the van had been put in neutral, but we still had the van in drive and my husband had his foot on the gas pedal. After it went out of gear, the master lighting switch icon came on. We coasted over 3 miles to the nearest exit as it was not safe to pull over on the side of the road because we were going downhill. When we got onto the exit ramp and stopped, we turned the engine off and restarted it. The van would go into park, but reverse, neutral and all 3 drives would not engage and the van would roll freely. We checked the transmission fluid and it was still full and clean. It was towed to hagerstown Ford in md on 6/13/09. On 6/15/09 while we were in Virginia beach, we got a call from the service dept. Saying that the transmission was shot and it would cost $3100 to replace it with a brand new transmission. When we asked what inside the transmission was broken, all we were told was that it was shot. We didn't pick it up until 6/19/09 because we were in Virginia beach until that date. On 6/22/09 we took the van to our local Ford service shop and explained what had happened. After giving the details of the break down to one of the mechanics, he came back out with a rod with rings ground into it. He told us this part was probably all that was wrong with the transmission and that we probably didn't need to have the entire transmission replaced.

- Swanton, OH, USA

problem #64

Jul 182009


  • 128,000 miles
On Saturday, July 18, 2009, my family and I were traveling on hwy 9A (in jacksonville, fl just off of I95). We were traveling at approximately 70mph when our 2005 Ford Freestar simply stopped accelerating. My husband attempted to shift from drive to neutral and back to drive but nothing happened. The transmission simply lost power. We coasted as far as we could off the busy highway and contacted roadside assistance. Today we finally got an estimate from our repairman. He says it is the torque converter and pump and it is going to cost $1100 to replace them. We are a family of 7. my husband is in the navy and deploying soon. I need reliable transportation! my van has 128000 miles on it and has been cared for very regularly. Upon researching the issue, I see that this is a very common problem with 2005 Ford Freestars and it has been reported numerous times here. Supposedly there is an investigation going on by ODI in regards to this same problem. The old part can possibly be available depending on how soon I hear that you need it.

- Saint Marys, GA, USA

problem #63

Jun 282009


  • 66,691 miles
Transmission stop working crossing an avenue traffic light. It was like going neutral.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #62

Jul 082009


  • 61,238 miles
I was running an errand at about 1pm edt in my 2005 Ford Freestar limited minivan. I was stopped at a traffic light and proceeded to go when all of a sudden my transmission went out. I had no forward or reverse gears. I only have 61K miles on the car which was purchased brand new back in 2006. Luckily I was able to coast onto a dirt road off the main road. It was also very lucky that my wife and kids were not in the car or I was not on a highway when this happened. I had to have it towed to a Lincoln/Mercury dealer in the area and have now been informed by the service dept. That it will cost me about $3,000 to have a rebuilt trans installed to fix the problem. This is totally ridiculous for a car with only 61K miles on it. Plus this is a serious issue that it happened all of a sudden w/O any previous warning. Had no previous transmission issues with my vehicle and take great care to have it serviced regularly. I've filed a complaint with Ford and have seen all the other numerous complaints on this web site and other sites about the same problem affecting my vehicle and its Mercury cousin the monterrey. Not only my model year but also previous model years and other Ford vehicles which share the same transmission Ford needs to own up to this serious issue, which could have caused me and/or my wife and kids harm due to the suddenness it just quit and all I could do was coast to safety.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #61

Jun 142009


  • 84,000 miles
We lost torque as the engine revved. Lost all gears, even reverse. There was no warning.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

problem #60

Jun 122009


  • 140,000 miles
Freestar stalled out and would not go into gear while I was driving. I almost got rear ended by a Transport truck.

- Welland, CA, USA

problem #59

Jun 302009


  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. While driving uphill at 25 mph, the vehicle began to roll backwards halfway up the hill. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the transmission needed to be replaced at 39,000 miles. The manufacturer stated that he was out of luck and would have to pay for the repair. The contact was given a $500 rebate towards a new vehicle. The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Sycracuse, NY, USA

problem #58

Jun 132009


  • 80,000 miles
My 2005 Freestar fails to accelerate when entering the highway, I had this problem when I bought the van in 2005, the van seems to do fine once its up to spend. The danger comes in when I enter traffic press the gas and the van doesn't respond, I lift up off the gas try it a couple of times before the van respond and go.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #57

Jun 092009


  • 42,000 miles
While driving our 2005 Ford Freestar home from greenwich, ct to wilton, cton I-95 the van suddenly lost speed. The rpms were still up but the speed decreased to 20mph. My wife was able to make it to the Ford dealership they informed her that we needed a new transmission. As the van has only 42,000 miles on it and there was no hint of transmission problems before this incident, this surprised us. It is out of warranty and will cost approx. $3500. As of this posting, the work has not been completed by the dealer. I have since discovered that this is a relatively common problem for Ford Freestars and there Mercury cousins.

- Wilton, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?